Skip to content

Demo Dance!!!

May 22, 2009

Today, you are all going to learn a new Mallu phrase: “Demo Dance”!!!

You will find this phrase being used a lot in most of the colleges in Kerala.

A “Demo Dance” is basically a st(r)a(n)ge performance but it is different from other normal routine dance performances. The Demodance-smriti was laid down long back and you need to follow a few rules to the T.

The minimum criteria for a dance to qualify as a “Demo Dance” are:

Complete Lack of Coordination:

Generally during formal dance competitions, choreography and coordination win points. But in that same competition, for a demo dance, you need to follow the opposite. There should not be any coordination!!!! People should do what they want!!! The demo dances should not be rehearsed for more than 15 minutes (as a rule) before the dance.

Stupid Choreography:

The steps should be stupid, course and funny; it should definitely not be hard.

Utter Disrespect for Authority:

Any Demo dancer worth his salt should completely disrespect authority, especially when the principal or other senior staff members are also present to watch the dance show.

Song Mix:

The Demo dancers should dance for more than a single song. The choice of songs can be anything (should be weird) but it should include a “Paandi song” (fast Tamil number).

No Special Costume:

Generally the lungi is worn for the occasion but the main rule is that, people should be dressed normally. No special costumes allowed.

Have a blast:

Most importantly, the audience should have fun. If they don’t, then the very ideology behind a demo dance is lost!!!!! The judges should generally be seen sweating!!!

Hence, Ladies and Gentlemen, I present to you that classic dance; which happened in Trivandrum in 2005 when I was a student. As “Royal Mech” students, we had to maintain a minimum level of decency!!!!

Warning I: The inherent volume of the video is very high. So I suggest you reduce volume to zero (before starting the clip) and increase till it reaches comfortable levels.

Warning II: No, we did not win that dance competition!!!! Our dancing was poor, but yeah, we had some great fun!!!!

Warning III: If you do not like it, please do not break your computer/laptops or hate OG!!!

Warning IV: If you’ve become a fan of OG after watching the clip and want to express your gratitude, then only money orders will be accepted!!!

(Who do you think OG is?)

59 Comments leave one →
  1. May 22, 2009 1:59 am

    Well OG. Me first. 😛
    OG: yeah you first 😛
    I love this post. It’s so funny. 😛
    Well OG I don’t know which one is you. Can’t seem to recognise you. 😦
    BUT all I can say, the guy seems like the best dancer and the most wildest. 😉 BUT not the best looking. 😛
    OG: 😛 LOL!!!!! keep guessing 😛
    Clue: I would be the worst looking guy

    • May 22, 2009 3:59 am

      OG. I already knew you were the guy in the white shirt. Don’t my comments kind of hint it. 😛
      OG: yeah they do 😛 😛 😛

    • May 22, 2009 4:05 am

      And BTW, you’re not the worst looking. So don’t put yourself down.
      Although you’re not the best looking in the video either. 😛
      You know which guy I like don’t you? 😉

      OG: LOL!!! ahhahahahahahaha 🙂 yeah, I know who you like 😉 unfortunately he has a GF!!!

      • May 22, 2009 4:16 am

        I know. 😦

      • May 22, 2009 10:20 am

        which one do you like Badz? 😉
        OG: what do you mean by “Which one do you like”….. 🙂 we are not doggies on show, you know 😉
        say “whom”…….. 😛 😛 😛 😛 😛 😛 LOL LOL LOL

        • May 22, 2009 11:07 am

          The guy in the red. 😀
          OG: Hey saala 😛

        • May 22, 2009 2:53 pm

          😆 at – ‘we are not doggies on show, you know
          say “whom”…….. ‘
          OG: 😛 😛 😛 LOL

        • May 22, 2009 5:08 pm

          Hahahahahahahahahaha! 😆
          Doggy show! 😆 😛

        • May 22, 2009 5:11 pm

          Sorry OG! I had to get there before you, otherwise you’d come out with some witty comment. 😛

          The guy in the denim jacket is cool too. BUT he’s married. 😦

        • May 24, 2009 7:39 am

          ROFL!!!
          😆

          *ahem*

          😉

  2. May 22, 2009 2:09 am

    Sanjay Leela Bhansali is looking for his latest heroine..pliss to apply.
    OG: 😛 😛 😛 LOL!!!! hahahahahahaha

    Can I rename this dance as TORTURE dance? Ha..ha…ha..ha.. And what steps!!! Mashallah! Anyone who dances like this deserves to have a girl friend. What’s that? Ms. X left you after seeing this? 😆 😆
    OG: 😛 Sob Sob, yeah she did 😛 LOL!!!!
    You are the one in White Shirt and specs. Excuse me….do you use Santoor?
    OG: OMG, how did you find out? I did not get the santoor jooke????????

    • May 22, 2009 2:18 am

      Santoor soap joke is an old joke. Just like that we ask each other ‘Excuse me do you use Santoor’? Means wow! you are pretty. Since here you did Dola re Dola…I asked you that. 😀
      OG: hhahahahahahahahahahahahahaha 🙂 handsome would be a better term to use 😛 but seriously, how did you find out Sololi?????? ki that was me…….

      • May 22, 2009 2:25 am

        I told you. Nothing can be hidden from moi. From various Lungi poses and other caricatures you posted in the past, it was easy to identify you.

        OG: 😛 hmmmmmmm :P. Aint I a handsome devil??? 😛 LOL LOL LOL…….

    • May 22, 2009 4:02 am

      Hahahahahahahaha! 😛 😆

    • May 22, 2009 10:20 am

      ROFL@Bhansali and his heroine 😀

      OG: we are what we are 😛

  3. May 22, 2009 2:11 am

    BTW I watched your Sky dive video too and many other uploaded by you on youtube. 😉
    OG: 😛 LOL….. how did you find those out…..yeah, I get it……
    I should have been more careful in not exposing my identity 😉 LOL!!!!

    • May 22, 2009 2:19 am

      Ha..ha..ha.. see this is Solilo Don. Don ke aankhon se kuch nahin chup sakta.
      OG: LOL LOL LOL!!!!!!!!!! 😉 I just hope police from 11 countries are not searching for yiou now :PP

      • May 22, 2009 2:23 am

        😆 😆 Still 11 countries? At least now increase the number of countries.
        OG: 😛 LOL!!!!! hahahahahahaha 😛

  4. May 22, 2009 2:17 am

    OG! WOW for your sky dive. That’s something I want to do one day but I need to muster courage.

    OG: dont I look like a buffoon in the video 😛 especially with my mouth open 😛 LOL

  5. May 22, 2009 2:22 am

    Jokes apart. You dance REALLY well!

    OG: as rajni would say, kuudave poranthatu 😛 (it was born with me) LOL

    • May 22, 2009 2:23 am

      Ungalkku kindalpanna theriyuma Saaaaaaaaaar.
      OG: I thought I was doing that above 🙂 LOL!!!!!!

  6. May 22, 2009 3:40 am

    Gosh I am in splits!!!! This is too funny, since the music was loud everybody ran to the laptop to see what was going on and they declared the steps are fine but video quality not good 🙂
    OG: 🙂 well, that is why I had put up, warning I 😛 😛
    You are in blue – not on stage. (I hope I am right!!).
    OG:: I am not that short fat guy with childish looks 😛 :P:P how can you say that IHM!!!
    Solilo has given us the answer 😛

    Enjoyed the video, and they are not bad you know, I prefer this to any super coordinated dances.
    OG: Thanks!!
    Too late for lol challenge?
    OG: yeah, too late for LOL challenge 😛

  7. May 22, 2009 4:00 am

    What ? I was wrong you are the good looking guy in white?
    Well now I know why you get asked that tenth question that is emo- atyachaar for you 🙂

    OG: LOL!!!!!! hahahaha!!! you remember that question 😛 LOL too good ihm 😛
    yeah, I am that white guy 😉

  8. May 22, 2009 4:29 am

    OG. I’m gonna put this up on the big screen in my hostel. who knows, you might get some deal. 😉 And if not, it will be the idea exam stress relief. 😛

    BTW, I should put some of my crazy dace thing I got up to recently up. We played garba (to wind the DJ up) to an English song. It was funny. He got soo pissed off with us because everyone joined in. We felt so proud of ourselves. 😀

  9. May 22, 2009 5:09 am

    These guys got guts! Hats off!
    OG: I was also up there…. 😉 so it should be “you guys” …… 😛

    • May 22, 2009 5:33 am

      “You guys” it is…what moves…Mallika Sherawat or for that matter any gal would have got a complex looking at the jhatjkas of the patli kamars! :p
      OG: HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA 😛 kollam!!!!!! comparing us to mallika!!!! 😛 😛

      • May 22, 2009 2:52 pm

        Mallika Sherawat will die!! And a lot of Mallika Sherawat fans will be coming to kill silverine for that 🙂
        OG: LOL!!!! 😛 hehehehehe

  10. monikamanchanda permalink
    May 22, 2009 5:24 am

    lol this was so funny i am still laughing 🙂

    OG: thanks!

  11. May 22, 2009 6:01 am

    ROFL!!! I knew u were the guy in white! Did you learn dancing from Sreesanth? I agree with Silverine, you guys have guts…
    OG: 😛 Hahaha Thanks Bones 😛 😛
    would you be suprised if I say that I have played scholl cricket with sreesanth….. 🙂 same city….cochin 😛

    yeah, we have guts 😛 😛 😛

  12. Mystery permalink
    May 22, 2009 6:14 am

    lol..
    The LOL challenge must have been re-extended. Now i know why everyone was so eager to nominate your posts for it 🙂

    OG: 😛 LOL!!!! 😛 Thanku Thanku!!!

  13. May 22, 2009 8:45 am

    haha..man this reminds me of old times..i was part of the skit of 2003..and i had run all the way till chechi kada in my skirt after samson sir chased me…;-D
    OG: Aliyaaaaaa!!!! I very vaguely remember that incident 😛 LOL at samson Sir… .and shit Man, I still miss chechi kada and sallap…….

  14. May 22, 2009 9:29 am

    MAN O man…

    there is nothing more funnier than visiting OG’s blog… !!

    what are you upto man… first poses in lungi… then accents… and now dance video… !!

    lol…. i just cant stop laughing !! 🙂 😀 😆
    OG: 😛 just in experimental phase 😛

  15. May 22, 2009 10:18 am

    😆
    OG I started watching the video after reading the comments so I knew which one was you 😛

    OG: half the fun was the guessing part 😦 😦 😦 shesh you missed it 😛
    hilarious!!!!
    dola re step was the greatest! 😆
    OG: Thanku!
    gals will have trouble moving their kamar like that 😛
    OG: LOL!!!!
    the first warning was so necessary 😀
    and the last one about the money orders?

    did you get any money orders yet? 😉
    OG:No, 😦 but I thought I would get a few love letters 😛 That also did not happen 😛

    • May 22, 2009 10:19 am

      btw only very confident and secure guys can carry it off.
      so for that hats off!and also for sharing this 😀
      OG Thanku Thanku 😛

      • May 23, 2009 2:03 am

        Yes. I second Indyeah on that. Hats off to you OG. 😀

    • May 22, 2009 2:50 pm

      love letters???? OG – you took all that advice we gave you for ‘falling a girl’ seriously 🙂
      OG: 😛 😉 try try will you succeed 😛 😛 is our mantra!!

    • May 23, 2009 9:06 am

      😆
      love letters?
      saying what…?
      Dear OG I loved your jhatkas …even I couldnt do them in this leftime 😛

      thats the kind of love letter you want matey? 😀

      OG: LOL LOL!!!…… 😛 maybe something like, “if you love me, also I love if you :D” hahahahahahahaa

      • May 23, 2009 9:11 am

        lifetime
        typo 😛

        • May 23, 2009 10:16 am

          Hahahahahahahaha! 😆 Indyeah. That’s not romantic enough for OG. He wanted some flowers too. 😛
          OG: yuck yuck!!! no flowers……..

  16. May 22, 2009 12:12 pm

    I agree! Dola step was the funniest 😀 😀

    btw.. I guessed the white one was you even before I saw the comments!
    OG: the best dancer always gets noticed first 😛 😛
    one question.. were you guys in your last year? Coz it seems like you guys owned the college! And only guys from BE have the guts or the inclination for such a thing. else you would be sitting at the end making comments on any one and everyone like any self respecting College student 😉 or may be wooing girls in the canteen 😛 😛
    OG: yeah, we were in final year at that time…. nobody to question us 😛

  17. May 22, 2009 1:00 pm

    I was betting on the White Guy too, he looked the closest to what we’ve seen of you – only to see it confirmed!! You should have left it a mystery – to see how many of us guess it right 😦
    OG: I actually wanted you play a guessing game but Sololi, just knew it was me 😛 😛 that I could not eveb start it…. hahahahahahah 😛
    That was the best ever!!! And I actually went back and saw the video again – after seeing Badz’ comment – wanted to see the guy in red – properly 🙂
    OG: you too smithus 😛
    Can’t believe that you guys danced to ‘Dola re’!!! Now if I ever hear it again – I wil have this mental image of ‘Royal Mechs’ dancing 🙂 But for a dance that you claimed to be ‘uncoordinated’ – it was surprisingly good 🙂 I have seen worse, have to say 🙂
    You are getting funnier and funnier!! We will soon have to set up a competition to select the ‘Best of OGs’ 🙂
    OG: thanku Thanku 😛 so much!!!!!!!

  18. May 22, 2009 1:57 pm

    You ROCK man . No other words . I wish I had a video of my crazy rain dance . Would love to give you some competition . 🙂
    OG: I wish you had that raindance 🙂 it would have been great!! Thanks!

    • May 22, 2009 6:16 pm

      Kislay, Now don’t tell us that you have one ‘Kaate nahin kat-th ye din ye raat’ type of rain dance. 😆

      What is with you guys? Choose a male song and leave Kaate and Dolas to women. Ha…ha..ha..
      OG: 😛 😛 😛 😛

  19. May 22, 2009 2:54 pm

    OG – I have started stalking your blog – everytime I want to laugh – I head here 🙂 and accidently find posts which reader does not feel the need to update me about !!!
    OG: 😛 LOL!!!! Thanku Thanku 😛 😛 😛

  20. May 22, 2009 3:45 pm

    had a feeling u were the guy in white while watching the video (esp after having read ur sky-dive post and seen its pics) but then after that i scrolled down and read the comments too… so now i’m sure 😛
    OG: 😛 LOL!!!! so you have guessed right 😛 and also read my skydiving post!!! wah wah!!!!

    listen this ain’t fair… u lied..! u said no co-ordination in the beginning of the post… i was expecting a haphazard dance.. it wasn’t so! it had its moments of proper choreography too. but i dont deny it wasnt a hell load of fun! 😀 esp the turn-around parts and the way u all run after one another on the stage. the ending was too good… the guy in red!! hahaha
    OG: 😛 I miss those days……. 😛 LOL at the guy in red!!!!! he was our muscle man 😛 still is 😛
    Yeah, we had great fun making that dance 😛

    for the record, i nearly fell off my chair laughing at dola re… ROTFL!! 😀 😀 classic! hrithik roshan’s dexerity and aishwarya rai’s grace… woohoo!! hehehe
    OG: LOL!!!!! yeah, I have the combined strength of both 😛 LOL!!! Thanks!
    and last but not the least, jokes apart: you. dance. well.
    OG: 😛 Thank you Madam 😛
    honestly… u shud go around with a t-shirt that has ur blog as the logo. girls wud know u’re tall, u dance well, u have a good sense of humour… (see? i shud’ve been ur lawyer… i’m already adding up points in ur favour LOL)
    OG: 😛 LOL!!!!! you missed one point….. 🙂 “rugged good looks” 😛 LOL!!!!! hahahahahahahahahaha 😛
    Thanks for adding points in my favor 😛 lemme get the shirt made 😛

    • May 22, 2009 4:34 pm

      Rugged good looks? or rigged good looks? 😛 😛

    • May 22, 2009 5:24 pm

      LOL @ Winnie the Poohi

      @OG
      chey! nashipichu!! dont go around with ur plus points written on that t-shirt… it shud have only ur blog URL… and some catchy slogan like ‘meet this cool dude there’ or something 😛 to appear (in mallu accent) “misteeerioussss” 😀
      OG: 😛 okay…… point noted 😛

  21. May 23, 2009 3:57 am

    Lol! I had a great time watching the video. Guessed right too 🙂

    Dead giveaway, those looks, and the enthu 😛 😛 :P!
    OG: 😛 😛 😛 thanks!
    In 15 minutes if you could choreograph and coordinate like that, you should consider going pro :D!

    But please, like Sol has said, leave out he Dola re and Kaate nahin kat the .. stuff :P!

    Loved this!
    OG: 😛 LOL!!!!!! yeah, anyways my dancing days are over 😛

  22. May 23, 2009 9:33 am

    LOL machi… 😆
    now I found the reason for you not getting prize.. there is too much co-ordination.. 😆

    and steps are cool 🙂
    OG: 🙂 Thanks da!!! yeah, there was too much co-ordination 😛 LOL!

  23. May 26, 2009 6:50 am

    ROFL 😀 ……Aliya gimme the contact details of the choreographer 🙂 …….he is simply awesome…..
    OG: 😛 I am the choreographer 😛
    u guyz could have tried ‘our Lungi’ instead of jeans and blend some kuthu numbers like apdi podu…have seen u’r other videos in youtube…..love that “college day” dance…simply superb 🙂
    OG: 😛 yeah dude, we could have but did not have time to bring in lungis 😛 and yes, thanks for watching the other videos as well…… Thanks!!!!

  24. May 31, 2009 3:31 pm

    Why the hell are eight guys dancing on Dola re????? 😯
    I really can’t place you but when the song started, I thought that this was some sort of a ragging session. 😐

  25. Nancy permalink
    June 4, 2009 8:22 am

    ROFL…..thts a good one. If Sanjay Leela Bansali ever saw it he’ll be disiilusioned for life :-D.

    Never ever guessed it was u in the white shirt. I actually was carefully watching the other guy[checked shirt] with glasses. U dance pretty good.

    Great post!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  26. June 24, 2009 7:47 am

    *whistle whistle*

    which one is u OG????
    tellllllll meeeeeeeeeeeeee

    can i guess two ppl? (more chances of being right…)

    u r either the one in the jacket or the one in the white shirt….
    OG: white guy!
    am i right??? what do i win???? coffee powder????? 😆

    hahaha! actually those r the two guys i cud see properly n the were center stage….if u are anyone else, then i want a separate dance video that has u in focus!!!
    OG: ROFL!

    LOL @ st(r)a)n)ge dance!!!! 😛
    this looks like so much fun!!!

    so u promise to dance like this when u will be first on blogs??
    heck OG, be any rank, just do this dance okies??!!!
    OG: I promise…….. 😛

    “The judges should generally be seen sweating!!!”
    ROFL!!!!! i’m so sure they did!!!

    Warning V:
    If you are in a cyber or public place when viewing the contents of this post, please reduce ur own volume to zero, and increase it to public comfort level slowly…

    Warning VI:
    Warrning V is very difficult to follow, so ideally, just watch it at home in privacy, where there’s more space to roll around while u laugh…
    OG: well…. hahahahahahaha 😛

    😀 😀 😀

    Hugs!!!!
    OG: hugs !!!!!!!

  27. June 24, 2009 7:54 am

    wait OG! i read the comments!!!!! u r the guy in white!!!

    when will i get my prize of year’s supply of coffee powder??

    😆
    OG: yes you do!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a comment