Skip to content

A Prayer!

July 27, 2010

Under normal circumstances, I generally do not pray; coz I believe that I am the master of my own destiny, but this weekend, under trying circumstances, I was forced to pray.

On Saturday, we made plans to go for the 7:45 PM show of the new Tamil film, “Thillalangadi”.

We (Mr. D and me) decided that we would leave by 7 PM sharp.

 And so by 6:45 PM, I was ready, all geared up when Mr. D went for his shower.

 Now here is a punctual bloke. Why can’t more people be like him?” I thought to myself.

And soon, he came out by 6:55 PM and started praying.

Now here is a good religious bloke; I need to learn from him,” I thought to myself.

At 7 PM, he was still praying; and I had to interrupt him. As a rule, I generally do not interrupt people when they pray but this time, I had to do it.

Dude, we need to leave,” I told him.

Give me 5 minutes,” he said.

5 minutes is ok. We still have loads of time left,” I thought to myself.

At 7:10 PM, he was still praying; and I had to interrupt him again.

Dude, we need to leave,” I told him.

I am still reading the Vishnu Sahasranam dude”, he said.

We can still make it in time,” I thought to myself.

At 7:20 PM, he was still praying; and I had to interrupt him again.

Dude, we need to leave now,” I told him.

I am now reading another one now”, he said.

And so I did the only thing I could do in this scenario.

I also started praying; praying to God that he finishes his prayers; praying for divine intervention so that by mistake, he skips a page or two in that book of his.

Finally at 7:30 PM, Mr. D was done and we went for the film. We missed the first 10 minutes; got seats in the very front of the hall but still, saw the film.

I still have not figured out why he had to pray for such a long time when we were running late.

This is the not the first time that I have been late for a film; but usually when we are late, we have good solid reasons like inertia, laziness, drowsiness, sluggishness etc. This is the first time in my life that I have been late to a film thanks to praying.

PS: Vadivelu has rocked as usual in the film!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 27, 2010 1:52 am

    LOL! Now I may be generalizing but I do feel people from the South are more religious than the rest of the country…Why? There are people here who ‘force’ their 2-3 year olds to recite mantras etc. for 15-20 mins. in the morning and the same at night…When I was in Chennai, I used to see my neighbours going to the temple nearly every day…Just my observation…
    OG: hahah bones………. I think that is a generalization………. 😛 Kerala has the highest number of athiests in the country 😛 I have never dont much of it and reciting mantras is not that bad a thing either 😛 but not when we are running late for a film 😛 LOL

    • July 27, 2010 2:46 am

      Maybe he was praying for the film to be worth his time and money?
      OG: ROFL!!!!!!!!!! good one bones 😛

  2. July 27, 2010 3:46 am

    but usually when we are late, we have good solid reasons like inertia, laziness, drowsiness, sluggishness etc.
    LOL! 😀 😛 😛 yea right!!!
    OG: haha
    btw i heard the film is not half as good as the other Jayam Ravi-Raja remakes…
    OG: it is not, but vadivelu has rocked 😛

  3. July 27, 2010 11:09 am

    LOL!!! Why could he just not pray on the way to the cinema?? Btw, how was the movie?
    OG: yeah, that was a possibility 😛 but I did not want to hurt any religious sentiments 😛 movie was ok……….

  4. July 27, 2010 11:53 am

    LOL….new reasons for praying !!! 🙂

    Does this frnd read Vishnu Sahasranamam ???? WOW !!! Learn from him to read that – maybe you’ll be blessed with a lovely wife….he he he…. 😉 Jokes apart, seriously, I am amazed at this guy, who reads this. 🙂
    OG: yeah yeah 😛 crash course has started 😉
    U enjoyed the movie….see prayer helps !!!! 😉

  5. July 27, 2010 4:34 pm

    Yet to watch the movie.. but I don’t think I will watch it…
    OG: just watch vadivelu’s comedy 😛
    ROFL @ ur friend’s praying… I would have pulled him and took that Vishnu Sahasranam and asked him to pray while travelling… 😀 😀
    OG: hahahah

  6. Arvind Chandran permalink
    July 28, 2010 7:53 pm

    hehe kollam aliya…you had stopped praying! really??

    I guess you were so patient because it was only a movie, now food matters would have been totally different….

    ps: this comment is in advance so that you can call next week….:-)

  7. July 29, 2010 8:31 pm

    What a character!! OG one of these days you have to write a book and put all these characters in it!

Leave a Reply

