Skip to content

Getting a haircut !!!

February 22, 2010

Is an experience, an epic, a tribulation…..well, I could go on and on with the help of a thesaurus but I will not.

The closest saloon near my house is a center run by a few middle aged Chinese ladies who are all experts in the art of “shearing” and not exactly “cutting”.

They speak Chin-glish and I speak In-glish and that does pose a challenge when I need to get my views across.

Just yesterday, I decided that I needed a haircut and paid them a visit. The very first question that I got asked was:

Lady:How you come?

I did not quite understand the question nor it’s relevance to the protocol which was about to unfold.

I told her that I did not get her and she repeated the question.

I replied tentatively, “I came walking”.

“No No No. How you come??” she asked again gesticulating with major hand signals much like a harried traffic constable back home in peak travel hours.

My Chacha Chaudhary brain also came with a second possibility as to what the question could be but well well, it most definitely could not be that……………. 😛

Finally, in a moment of brilliance, I fathomed out the meaning in her wise words.

The question was meant to be, “How do you comb (your hair)?” and I gave her the required answer.

Her next question was, “How you want? Short?? Very Short?? Medium?? Long??”

Medium would be just fine” I said and sat down in the hot seat.

I assume that one of the sights that would even have rattled the great Attila, back in those day might have been the sight of a Chinese women wielding big “Aruvals” but I was no Attila and I could feel the butterflies in my stomach when I saw her bring out the big electric-clippers.

With the finesse of a person who shears off wool from sheep, she went about in clinical fashion and the whole procedure was done in approximately 2 minutes. Just 2 minutes!!!

More for formality case than applying the finishing touch, she then used the scissors for another minute and then she was done.

She smiled for the first time and said, “Ate dollar” and I coughed up the required amount.

When I came out, I thanked my stars that I had asked for a “medium” and not a “short” cut. She had really given me the military cut but thankfully I will not need another haircut for another 3 months…………………….

PS: Please watch this brilliant video of one of my favorite comedians now.

32 Comments leave one →
  1. February 22, 2010 4:03 am

    ROFL @ how u come 😀
    OG: ROFL!!!!
    In-Glish hehehe is can also be a very funny language and is best spoken in Gujarat. Snacks become snakes & waist size becomes west size 😉
    OG: every state has its set of quirky words 😛
    Glad u saw the silver lining in the whole incident 😀
    OG: I had too!!!!!!!!!!

  2. February 22, 2010 4:54 am

    OG !!! ROFL !!!! You have such lively fun with ppl like these around you !!!
    OG: 😛 😛 😛 anyways ends up like this!!!!!! 😛
    Chin-glish and In-glish !!! 😆

    How u come !!!! Ate dollars !!!! My God !!! LOL 😆
    OG: hahahahhahaha
    So, its $8, spent wisely…no need for hair cut for next 3 months. Put up this pic of yours… 🙂
    OG: ROFL!!!!!!!! no pic any time soon!!!!!!!!!!! I look like jayam ravi in peranmai!

    • February 22, 2010 7:54 am

      I am trying to picture you, in Jayam Ravi’s haircut !!!! ROFL !!! OG !!! 😆
      OG: ROFL!!!!!!!!!!!! 😛 best of luck 😛

      • February 24, 2010 3:51 am

        ahem ahem… the difference is jayam ravi looked good even in that haircut in peranmai while you…umm… 🙄
        OG: 😛 😛 😛 😛 😛
        P.S.: Pls remember you are talking to an ardent Jayam Ravi fan 😛 even tho he chose to get married 😥
        Its like ur 3-sha obsession 😛 😛 old habits die hard!!!
        OG: I know 😛

  3. Swaram permalink
    February 22, 2010 5:53 am

    LOL .. I hd some gr8 experiences with ppl in Indonesia .. so can totally relate to this one 😛
    OG: ooho, no tales then??????
    No pic of the hair-style 😉
    OG: cannot let u guys have fun at my expense….. 😛 😛 😛 😛

    • February 22, 2010 8:22 am

      cannot let u guys have fun at my expense
      uh OG?
      *taps OG on shoulder* thats precisely what we have been doing all these months :mrgreen:
      OG: on blog is good enuff for the moment :mrgreen: 😛 😛 😛 😛

  4. February 22, 2010 8:18 am

    Picture!!! Picture!! 😀 😀
    I am checking aarkut right NOW 😛
    OG: nothing on aarkut aunt!!!!!!!!! 😛

    • February 22, 2010 9:11 am

      What? no haircut pics there? 😦
      😛 😛 😛

      wait! Aunt kisko bola? 😛 😛

  5. February 22, 2010 8:20 am

    ROFL!! *cough* no comments on what she said and your interpretation 🙄
    OG: ROFL!!!!!!! no comments 😛

    Miltary cut I want to cccccccccccccc 😀
    OG: 😛 😛 😛 no ways!!!!!!!!!!

  6. February 22, 2010 8:22 am

    Which video is it?The video space is blank for me 😦
    OG: it is working for me here………….. 😦

    • February 22, 2010 8:26 am

      can u see this indy?

      • February 22, 2010 9:09 am

        haan I can…so sweet OG:) awww you out it as a comment 🙂
        OG: so did you like it?????
        PS:-also Indy is extremely pleased to note that the bloodthirsty notes have resulted in prompt responses :mrgreen:

        bhagooo! 😛 😛
        OG: yes yes, please run!!!!!!!!!! 😛 😛 😛

  7. February 22, 2010 8:36 am

    Where is the picture?
    OG: 😛 😛 😛 😛

  8. February 22, 2010 12:13 pm

    I cant believe you had no reaction to her question, ” How you want” !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :mrgreen:
    OG: did not mention it for decency sake 😛

  9. February 22, 2010 1:25 pm

    ROFL @ ‘how you come’… those women have an eye on you, eh OG? Interesting 🙂 So you move from Raj-amma to Chine-amma 🙂
    Guess Tanglish is better than Chinglish now 🙂
    OG: you will not let me live in peace eh 😉

  10. February 22, 2010 3:33 pm

    You went for a haircut ??? Ahem Ahem !!! Are you sure ??? Since we met last month and now that I had seen you….seriously??? HAIR cut ???? 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀
    OG: podae podae!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    So now with that ‘hair’ cut, you must be looking like Kurudippunal Kamal…or wait, like Sethu Vikram ??? 😀 😀 😀 😀
    OG: jayam ravi in peranmai 😛

    (My last three comments including this (which you hadnt replied yet btw) has been written only because I know that it would another year for you to meet me 😀 😀 :D)
    OG: well, replied to this one and yes, oru kollam will pass so fast aliya!!!!!!

  11. February 22, 2010 5:23 pm

    My god you are telling me this now? My husband has gone for a haircut…shiva…shiva. Hope the lady doesn’t ask questions which might end up in us fighting 😥
    OG: hahahahahahahahha
    It’s a pain for me too to get a haircut here. Every time I go for one, I come out like Sai Baba! doesn’t matter whatever style I ask for. And then they have the nerve to say Ohhh what beautiful natural curls!!! 😡
    OG: curls are good right???!
    Picture plzzz and that too in lungi plzzzzzzzzz :mrgreen:
    OG: not the possible!!!!!! :mrgreen:
    Damn you have a way with words and I can’t stop laughing!!!
    OG: thanks u!

  12. February 22, 2010 6:45 pm

    ROFL machi… Another classic postu :-P:-P
    The chin-glish and in-glish is the best 🙂
    So ate dollars well spent… No cut for 3 months 😀 😀
    OG: thanks machi!

  13. February 23, 2010 10:09 am

    Only you have encounters like these.. 😛

    or we don’t know how to see humour in real life…. 😀 😀
    OG: Good question 😛 I think I see it in every thing I do 😛

  14. February 23, 2010 5:15 pm

    Hi machi,

    you are awarded and tagged:

    http://kanaguonline.wordpress.com/2010/02/23/i-am-honest-honest-honest/
    OG: honored!

  15. February 23, 2010 7:40 pm

    Ate dollars. Hahaha the place where I get my nails done is owned by a Vietnamese woman and she pretty much speaks the same way. You do dis or dat.
    OG: you get your nails done??????? I thought a devil’s nails would be long and unkempt!!!!!1 😛 😛 😛

    • February 24, 2010 9:51 am

      nails done !!!!! geeez… I definitely am not letting my wife meet the DON !

    • February 25, 2010 1:00 am

      @Hitchy ke bachche: Chup kar.

      @OG: I was on your side but not anymore, you devil! 😡
      OG: ROFL!!!!!!!!!!! 😛 😛 😛 you never were on my side!!!!!!!!!

  16. February 23, 2010 7:41 pm

    Lady: “How you come?”

    ROFL you know right what ‘come’ means? Hahahaha
    OG: 😛 😛 😛 😛 😛 😛 😛

    • February 25, 2010 1:01 am

      Hahaha I still can’t stop laughing at ‘come’. God!
      OG: hahahahahahha 😛 me too 😛

  17. February 24, 2010 3:54 am

    I liked that Chinglish and In-glish comparison! 😀 😀 😀

    Like Pal said, u’ve moved to Chine-amma from Rajamma and Dosamma… ho! ee dosappakuttante oru karyam! 🙄 😛 😛
    OG: 😛 😛 😛 ahhahahahhahaha
    ROFL @ “how you come”!!!!! I’m still laughing!!! 😆
    OG: hope u have stopped now 😛

  18. Thoma permalink
    February 24, 2010 9:53 am

    I have few of these in Bangalore.
    Who, every time I go for a chop-chop, ask me if “Ate los?”
    Which is them asking me if I want to join their weight-loss programme.
    Though the Mrs. feels that it is their comment on why they think I have gained weight.

    But in any case, frequent insults sent me back to good old, good old.
    So here I am back at Macho Men’s Salo(o)n.
    And, not a word.
    After he’s done his thing to my mane, he catches my eye in the mirror and says, ‘Maalish?”
    Have found my roots, if I could say that.
    OG: best of luck dude!!!!!!!!!!!!

  19. February 25, 2010 3:33 am

    BTW see your God in Japan

    OG: have seen this earlier !!!!!!!!!1 classic video!!!!!!!!!!!!

  20. February 25, 2010 12:02 pm

    LOL @ How you come 🙂 Thank goodness you figured out what she meant 🙂 It must have been fun while it lasted 🙂

    And no haircut for 3 months? Full paisa vasooli in that case 🙂 I had friends who would be delighted that their haircuts were short – less dollars spent on haircuts, you see 🙂

  21. February 26, 2010 10:09 am

    Hilarious…I have seen a lot of north east girls hair stylist in Chennai.Though never dared to experiment with them 🙂

    @ ate dollars …like my nephew tells ‘atte’thu’ for matethu

  22. March 12, 2010 6:41 am

    LMAO!!

Leave a Reply

