Skip to content

My friend’s flashy blue shoes

September 7, 2010

Some people are unique, inimitable and unmatched. This is the way of the world!

In some, it could be their personality; in a few others, it could be their sense of humor and in a few others, it could be their sense of style.

For my friend, Mr. FR, it definitely was in his outlandish fashion and his flashy blue shoes, this weekend!!

My friend, the peerless Mr. FR had come over to SFO this weekend from LA and I had to pick him up from the San Jose Airport, early Saturday morning.

I would not be exaggerating if I said that I could spot him from a mile away, thanks to those shoes. It stood out like a beacon amidst the mass; much like a lighthouse on a dark night.

And when he got into the car, I had to question his “intent”.

I asked, “Dai, why are you wearing those ghastly shoes?” pointing to the shoes.

And I had to listen to a little sad tale on the way back home.

Mr. FR, in a moment of madness about a year back, bought this 150 dollar “thing”. His intentions were pure at that time; so he tells me. The shoe was literally on the cutting edge of technology, specifically designed for joggers who wanted to build leg strength.

And as almost every story unfolds, his jogging stint did not last for more than 3 days. At first he found it distinctly in bad taste every morning, when he got ready for office. The flashy shoes would stare back at him, and he told me that he felt “judged” every morning.

And hence, after a few weeks, he stacked them away in his attic; but the problem was, it gave the attic an unholy glow almost like it housed a spirit or something. His roomie almost got a heart attack when he ventured into the dark attic looking for something.

And hence, Mr. FR had no other choice but to keep them in the shoe rack, open for everyone to see and ridicule. The problem was he did not even try to jog after that. He could not wear them for any occasion nor could he risk wearing them to office and so, the “situ” remained the same for about a year. A dead-lock!

This Saturday morning, as he got ready to come to SFO from LA, something inside urged him to use the shoes. And hence, without thinking twice he came in them.

And soon, we made our way to pick up Mr. HPU (another friend) as well. When we met him, his first question was, pointing to the shoes, “What the hell is that? I am not coming with you if you wear them”.

Mr. FR said, “Dai, I cannot wear them in India nor can I wear them to office”.

Mr. HPU’s classic reply was, “Not just India, you should not be allowed to wear them anywhere in the world. The cops could probably use this as the sirens they flash”.

But Mr. FR was determined that he would get through a weekend wearing this; his test to see if they could pass the minimum criteria.

I also had a couple of other friends come in from other parts of the country and we were singularly dogged by bad luck. We went to see the GG Bridge, it was covered in fog. We could not get any reservations to the Mystery Spot. Late night, when we hit San Jose downtown, there was not a single soul in sight and we then came to the conclusion that it is all due to those damn shoes.

But we had some fun this weekend.

In case you guys are wondering if I am exaggerating, I have PROOF!

I took a photo of the specimen; especially for this. The photo, taken from a phone camera does not do it enough justice, but still, here it is.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. September 7, 2010 5:16 am

    FIRST !!!! 🙂
    OG: yes 😛

    • September 7, 2010 5:21 am

      How do you attract such weird friends ???? 😉 😉 😉
      OG: Mr. FR is not weird 😛 not by any standards I know!

      OMG !!! What a pair – you are just right in defining it as the lighthouse !!! LOL !!! Whaaat ??? Some spirit in the attic ???? LOL !!! 😆 😆
      OG: hahahaahaha
      Now, has he left for his home ???? Never thot such weird style could be a matter of bad luck too… 😉 😉
      OG: yup, he had gone back to LA!
      Have fun with ur friends !!! That Mr HPU – Oh, yes, I remember him from the previous posts !!! 🙂
      OG: 😛 😛 😛

  2. September 7, 2010 6:06 am

    😆 😆 a ghostly pair of shoes that could serve for a lighthouse or flashlights for the cops 😆
    OG: haha!
    :lol:I am glad that at least your friend understands that these white spirited souls aren’t fit to be worn to work 😛 😛
    OG: good for him, I say!
    I can imagine how much fun you friends must have had 😉 😀

    Enjoy!!
    OG: Thanks!

  3. September 7, 2010 6:46 am

    These look VERYsober to my eyes Apoopan

    🙄

    OG: first of all, great to see you here indy madam!!!!!!!!!!! and the photo does not do it justice 😛 you have to see em in real life

    PM has Electric blue AND yellow shoes ..

    Yep! *nods head* BOTH colours in the SAME shoes

    Imagine! 😯
    One of these days I am goin to click a pic too :mrgreen:
    OG: well, he is in the armed forces 😛 he has the license to wear such things, apart from rajni offcourse 😛

    • September 7, 2010 4:11 pm

      Indy? Electric blue and yellow? Both colour…same shoes? I hear you… ur PM shud meet my BF, and every day will look like the aftermath scene of Holi…

      • September 9, 2010 4:04 am

        Indy, Crafty….that goes on to say that shoes are only a trivial part of the relationship…LOL !!! 🙂

  4. September 7, 2010 6:55 am

    ROFL!!! When I came to the end of the post, I was actually thinking of leaving a comment, asking for a picture of the shoes. And voila! You had already obliged. How did you friend ever buy that ‘thingy’ for 150 dollars? I mean, I can understand someone picking it up for 10 or so. But 150? LOL! Poor guy. I do hope he uses it sometime, and you guys are all rewarded by the local council or something for social service contribution (aka siren shoes) 😉
    OG: haha 😛 yeah, he has to use it atleast for the 150 dollars spent 😛

  5. September 7, 2010 7:03 am

    heheheee so much for $150!
    OG: I know aliya…..

  6. September 7, 2010 8:06 am

    LOL, some friends you have ! 😀

    Ask him to atleast tie his shoe lace properly, that reminded me of two bunnys !! 😀 😀
    OG: 😛 😛 😛
    and with that shoe, he becomes the most eligible person to be a tenant in one of the buildings where I stay now ! 😀 😀
    OG: a good idea……….. 😛
    Btw, is that guy related to sakshi in any way ??? When I read the title of the post, I thought you had met her (god alone bless you if you do) and this post was about that meet ! 😀 😀 😀
    OG: hahaha, nope and I did not meet her 😛

  7. kanagu permalink
    September 7, 2010 9:43 am

    LOL 😆 me too thought u have met Sakshi 😀 😀
    OG: elle machi 😛
    But I have bought a white and blue combination chappal sometime back.. but thankfully it didn’t glitter 😀 😀
    OG: his actually did in sunlight 😛

  8. September 7, 2010 10:48 am

    The other two shoes in the pic are also not so sane.
    OG: I would not go that far 😛 haha, they looked decent compared to his 😛

  9. September 7, 2010 4:05 pm

    Those shoes are not ghastly at all… they look…well… DIFFERENT!
    OG: haha 😛
    *pliss, crafty is not to be questioned why she is wearing glares indoors… it’s just her style*

    i don’t mind a pair!! *Mr FR packs the shoes in box*
    No, not the same one….. *Mr FR unpacks them in noticably lesser enthusiasm*

    it gave the attic an unholy glow almost like it housed a spirit or something

    Good grief!!!!!!!!! I have changed my mind about owning a pair… a glow like that at night shud be enuff to finish me off…

    HPU threatened to disown him?!! 😆
    When you say you guys are thick pals, u sure weren’t kidding… :mrgreen:
    OG: nope, we are thick as thieves 😛
    I had red sport shoes for a period of time. It really cleared out who were my real friends…
    🙄

    Speaking to Mr FR. – Listen! Pliss do not succumb to “peer pressure” about those shoes…. you go ahead and shine forth!!!!! 😀 It’s not as bad, and lets not even get started on the other pair of “identifiable colour” footwear we see in the snap… 😈
    OG: so you support him in his foolhardy attempt??? kollam 😛

  10. September 7, 2010 4:09 pm

    They are not too bad 😀
    OG: 😛 good for you 😛

  11. Brat permalink
    September 7, 2010 11:05 pm

    Those shoes somehow reminded me of cochin haneefa’s dotted baniyans!! :mrgreen:
    OG: kollam aliya, like in Punjabi house??? eh?

  12. September 13, 2010 4:43 am

    I agree with Indy and Crafty. they are naat that baad, besides anyone with a taste in blue shoes can never ever go wrong with fashion ;mrgreen: :mrgreen: *Panicky sakshi urgently browsing for a new DP*
    OG: haha 😛 they are real bad in actual life saks!!!! seriously!

Leave a Reply

