Skip to content

Science Vs Intelligent Design

July 12, 2011

A friend of mine Mr. X had come home recently and as we were having tea, the discussion veered towards the complexity of the universe and what is beyond the edge of the universe.

No, we generally do not talk about such stuff. And no, we are not geeks.

That was when Mr. X looked at me and said, “It really is fascinating, just like the marvel which is the human brain. The creator must be great.”

I generally do not let such statement fly without a suitable riposte and I replied, “Well dude, I don’t exactly believe in the concept of a divine creator.

 “What?” he said, “You don’t believe in God? Then in that case, how can you explain the complexity of the universe? Can ‘your’ science explain what is beyond the edge of the universe?

I smiled and replied, “My friend; this statement that you just made, is exactly the difference between you and me! You just said it now.

And what is that?” he asked, intrigued.

I replied, “I am humble enough to say that I do not know the answer. But on the other hand, you have already decided on the answer. That is your first mistake!

And I continued, “If we were having this discussion 2000 years back, you would have also claimed that the earth is flat and the center of the universe and the Sun is revolving around it. Science has really come a long way in explaining many things from that day. I am still willing to give science a chance, but you are not. That is the basic difference between you and me; the difference between a Rationalist and a Theist.”

With a look of mild contempt, he asked, “So what if one day, you finally realize that there is God?

I replied, “My friend; this statement that you just made, is another perfect example which shows the difference between you and me!

And what is that?” he asked.

I said, “I would be pleasantly surprised if that day ever comes. But on the other hand, my friend; you would be crushed if that day comes when you realize that there is no God.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. July 12, 2011 7:42 am

    wah wah finally I can steal a line to shut up the aunties who come home and enquire about why we don’t have any thing related to god in our home :mrgreen:
    OG: best of luck on that one saks!

  2. July 12, 2011 12:05 pm

    Mr. X is back! Nice one OG. All good? Still in the US?
    OG: HEY QI! how have you been…….. long time…. yeah, all is fine and I am still here in california….

  3. July 14, 2011 8:17 pm

    nice conversation OG 🙂 🙂 Loved both the sides 🙂
    OG: danks!

  4. July 15, 2011 2:56 pm

    There is no god? **whimpers and falls by the wayside**
    OG: 😛

  5. lakshmy permalink
    July 15, 2011 3:36 pm

    People see God every day, they just don’t recognize him..Your talent is God’s gift to you. What you do with it is your gift back to God. …There are two kinds of people: those who say to God, “Thy will be done,” and those to whom God says, “All right, then, have it your way…I wish you a very good journey to an unknown you’ve never seen….so Focus on the journey, not the destination. Joy is found not in finishing an activity but in doing it…… God’s blessing may come as a surprise, and how much u receive, depends on how much, ur heart can believe.may u be blessed beyond wat u expect….
    OG: hey, thanks for the comment…….really well said………..

    • lakshmy permalink
      July 16, 2011 9:10 am

      ……..thnx…….
      OG: you are welcome!

      • lakshmy permalink
        July 26, 2011 4:09 pm

        New updates onnum kaanunnilallo enthupatti ???????????
        OG: I dont write that often!

        • lakshmy permalink
          July 27, 2011 11:19 am

          ……….oh k………….

  6. July 19, 2011 5:45 am

    You should read on the latest work on Darwin’s theory of Evolution. There are too many gaps. Apparently, Intelligent Design cannot be ruled out . And by intelligent design , I imply that it was in the blueprint of the universe .
    OG: well dost, I will wait for science to answer those “gaps”.

  7. July 26, 2011 7:33 pm

    Wow…a good post. My first time on your blog and am going to follow it. …I guess this is how we humans are..we question everyone’s belief, and have the right to exercise our judgement….Liked this part..[“I would be pleasantly surprised if that day ever comes. But on the other hand, my friend; you would be crushed if that day comes when you realize that there is no God.”]…….Somethings in life are worth believing in …whether they exsist or donot…to each his own.
    OG: hey! thanks!

  8. August 26, 2011 8:02 am

    Awesome ! I agree to every word u said! 🙂 I wanna see their faces whn they finally realize E.T was infact jesus! :mrgreen:

  9. Rajani Ram permalink
    September 25, 2011 12:30 am

    Nice one… 🙂

Leave a Reply

