Skip to content

Not just another weekday

July 7, 2011

Tuesday was just another ordinary weekday until about 6:30 PM as I was trudging back to my house from office.

As soon as I entered my housing society, I spied upon a wallet on the pavement. My first instinct was to ignore it and mind my own business and I almost started walking away when something inside urged me to pick it up before someone else stole it.

The wallet belonged to person called “Sergio”; it had a lot of papers in it, an ID from Guatemala, a health insurance card, a photo of Jesus, and more importantly about 150 dollars of cash in it.

Thankfully the ID card also had a local American address, which was thankfully within my own housing society and I walked up to the house and returned the wallet.

The old lady who opened the door was taken aback when I returned the wallet and as I left said “God bless you, my child” with a huge smile!

That pretty much made my day and I was filled with an inner glow which lasted for more than 15 minutes; and I walked back home with a spring in my step.

I realized at that moment that the line was in fact a powerful mantra!

It just reaffirmed the fact that no amount of money could ever equal that feeling; that inner joy of having a clear conscience; that satisfaction of simply being humane.

As it turned out; it was not just another weekday…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 7, 2011 12:51 pm

    Awww very sweet.

  2. July 7, 2011 1:52 pm

    🙂 Very true… no amount of money can replace a good feeling

  3. July 8, 2011 3:39 am

    Thanks guys!

    agree with u on that aathira!

  4. lakshmy permalink
    July 10, 2011 1:05 pm

    you did an excellent job ……bcz…. Money can’t buy happiness, but it can buy you the kind of misery you prefer…..anyways gudluck…
    OG: 😛 😛 😛

Leave a Reply

