Skip to content

Thank you ErosTamil!

November 20, 2010

 For making me laugh so hard yesterday; I salute you guys!

For entertaining me in such a way that the combined likes of Jagathy, Suraj, Salim Kumar, Mukesh, Jagadish, Vadivelu, Vivek and Mast Ali have not been able too.

Imagine a scene in front of the police station in a small village in southern TN, where the forces of good and evil have both gathered to discuss the future of their world. Also in the scene, imagine that both the parties are engaged in war; not the physical type but highly emotionalized word play. As we South Indians call it, the situation is apt for and demands something that we all love: “Punch Dialogs”.

I was watching a powerful clip (in youtube) from the mass film Silambattam, where the hero confronts his enemy’s dad and utters a few powerful punch dialogs, complete with raised eyebrows and neatly combed mustache. The setting is as described in the above paragraph.

So when the villain’s dad tells the hero, nonchalantly that he would bring his son out of jail in a jiffy, the hero utters an iconic war cry, “pirichu menjuduven”, which if translated literally would mean “tear open and graze upon his remains”, but if translated logically would mean, “I will tear him open and finish him off”!

But this was the English subs I saw in the clip! It is a sin to be this creative!

Another one from another clip from the same movie, the hero says, “unakku aapu vecha thanda vandhurukkain”, which basically means, “I have come to create trouble for you”.

But this was the English subs I saw in the clip! I was rolling on the floor.

Seriously, I need to meet the blokes who come up with these; I could never do it!

PS: ErosTamil has about 750 (and counting) clips uploaded on youtube and I am pretty sure that there must be a zillion other hidden gems in them. Going to watch them all now!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. November 20, 2010 2:50 am

    Watching such clips with hilarious English subtitles is one of my fave activities, besides putting torturous loongish comments 😛 You should watch some hindi songs with subtitles!! They are a riot. even those songs which is not pleasant to the ears, or those ones sung by a certain Himesh which causes a major brain quake never fails to bring a grin on my face when watched with these subtitles :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

    “unakku aapu vecha thanda vandhurukkain” doesn’t mean “I have come to feed you appam????” 🙄

  2. November 20, 2010 3:40 am

    ROFL !!! must be the same guys who are responsible for translating the movie names like “The Eraser” as “Naam aur nishaan mittaaney waala” !! 😀 😀 😀 😀

    ok, you know what you should do, find such amazing clips and publish another post with all the links. puhleeez !!! 😀

  3. November 20, 2010 5:13 am

    OMG!!! Literal translations are an absolute scream!!! 😀 😀 😀

    Would you actually believe….that in the classic ‘Chemeen’…
    There is this scene when Sathyan calls Sheela… “ente thanka kudame” which would roughly translate into “my darling”. The translator literally took it…and said “my golden pot”…
    ROFL!!!! 😆

  4. November 20, 2010 6:28 am

    Going by my escapades in Tamil translations… It’s best I maintain a dignified silence. And it will be helpful if you would wipe that grin off your face, EOG 👿

    Yeah, direct translations can bring one such joy!! 😛

    If you ever watched a channel called B4U music, they had these programme fillers, which were hindi songs with subtitles… “Chal chaiya chaiya” was “Come in shade shade”
    And “Paani paani re” from Maachis was “Water water oh”

    😆

  5. November 20, 2010 8:16 am

    Lol! I so have to go and watch some youtube now:) guess they must be just translating literally.

  6. November 21, 2010 2:59 pm

    ROFL!!!! I love the translations of punch lines.. they look awkward..

    Even the English punch lines will be funny in Tamil 😀 😀 ‘anda kodiya mirugam varuthu.. ellam odunga’ LOL 😆

  7. November 22, 2010 4:06 pm

    LOL!! I love such translations!!!

  8. November 24, 2010 6:42 am

    ROFL…..am laughing so much OG, after so many days….thanks to u….. 😆

  9. Rajani permalink
    September 29, 2011 1:46 pm

    ROFL!!! … OMG! thats hilarious!… there are youtibe clips of songs too that I have seen … with the literal translation…. let me see if I can find it….. its a riot, I tell you…. :-))

Leave a Reply

