Skip to content

Team Building Exercises

October 21, 2010

It was 1:30 PM in office; a time when either one is extremely hungry or one is dreamland thanks to a heavy lunch. I was in the latter state! Those Persian beef kebabs, I tell you……..

My Project Manager (PM), a lion he is; strolled into our lab; and I mentally went over my work status, “It would take me another two days to complete activity X. I am just a paavam Indian from India”; when he suddenly exclaimed, “Guys; I have an important announcement. We are all going on a team building exercise next Friday!”

That statement pretty much woke us all up. All the blokes were extremely happy; excited actually since we have had some tough times in the past month!

I am pretty sure that thoughts of food/drinks/fun crossed everybody’s mind and as we reveled in our own imagination, he quickly added, “We are going on a trek to Mission Peak, Freemont; 5.6 miles of pure ascent; of pure unadulterated fun!

His statement was met with a cold, almost indifferent response. The “enthu” died an instant death much like a small kid’s excitement, when he realizes that the Sivakasi manufactured rocket he has just lighted, is a damp squib.

Not a single person ventured to say anything, which somehow seemed to surprise PM!

Guys”, he said, “It is going to be a lot of fun!” with an expression that seemed to suggest that we all missed the “obvious” in his statement!

Finally my “team lead” rose up admirably to the occasion, “Treeeeeek???” was all he said and he let the word hang in there for added effect. Maybe in his previous birth, the dude was from Laconia!

Yes”, my PM said who was beaming, “A 5.6 mile hike on Friday starting at 8 in the morning!

8 in the morning?” asked another senior developer. There was nothing subtle in his statement. It was obvious that he did not like being stoic. Everybody could feel the pain in that line.

Yes, 8 in the morning”, the PM said, “You have got to conquer these peaks before the Sun comes out. That is how people do it!

The way he said it offhandedly, reminded me of a very famous person who once said, “Let them eat cake!

I have personally not checked the rulebook of trekking, but, 8 in the morning seemed a tad too early for indulging in physical activity in any form!

I mean, the worst physical activity there is in the entire world is the “very act of waking up in the morning” and I usually do that at around 8:30 AM! And here, we were talking about trekking at 8, which meant that I would need to get up by atleast 7.

Endhoru kalippu adae! This is so not fair,” my mind screamed.

But that that moment, my lips were sealed. I still maintained my inscrutable look; a look that I usually reserve for the very important situations, like when I get asked about “my future plans” by amma!

There was dissent in the ranks about this decision and it was clearly visible; but PM did not seem to care!

Finally one member of the intelligentsia asked, “Why exactly are we doing this?

PM said, “We will start the hike to mission peak around 8.00 AM and spend the next three hours to go up and down. Team members will support and encourage everyone to reach the top; 2541 feet from where we can all enjoy a spectacular 360 degree view. We will conquer the peak as a team; not a single person gets left behind.

With that, he swept out of the lab. A lion he truly was……………….

Which brings me to the all important question? Does it actually work? Any bright people with equally bright opinions out there?

15 Comments leave one →
  1. October 21, 2010 1:23 am

    Why don’t you let us know after you’ve ascended the peak?

    I personally think all these team building exercises are crap…
    OG: same here bones!

  2. October 21, 2010 2:09 am

    Looks like the lion got motivated reading some leadership books, this exercise is fine if al the team members are physically sounds..else some of them wud drop half way due to fatigue and finally only 2 will reach the peak..had this experience once 🙂
    OG: aah, nautankey! good to see u. I am also sure this is gonna happen 😛 pretty sure!

  3. October 21, 2010 9:23 am

    Good Luck 🙂 Can you try convincing your manager to set up a stall selling Persian kebabs on the peak top ?
    OG: good one mate!

  4. October 21, 2010 9:57 am

    LOL !!!! OG, looks like u are surrounded by weird ppl… 😉 🙂 🙂 Anyway, all the very best…I dont think any one of you are going to help the other…to prove your PM very wrong… 😉 😉
    OG: haha 😛
    Persian kebabs ????? Drool……:P 😛 😛

  5. October 21, 2010 12:55 pm

    I love my sleep, but I love early morning hikes even more 🙂 It is awesome, to see fall in all its glory, when the sun is still not beating down hard on your back. Go! I don’t care about team building etc though, but early morning hikes are sure fun.
    OG: I hate hiking and I hate early morning 😛 😛
    If it is high elevation gain then 5.6 miles is a lot to hike 😀 find a good friend who you can joke and talk with for 3 hours without killing him of boredom..haha
    OG: yeah, good point!

  6. October 21, 2010 2:08 pm

    Bulls**t! That’s what all these exercises are! We have one next week!
    OG: best of luck!

  7. October 21, 2010 6:32 pm

    The men who went to conquer Mt. Everest set out at 6am everyday! 😀 Compared to that this is peanuts, right? 😉

    We had a 3 day offsite at Agra…was good fun…and that including a lot of outdoor games…although no mountaineering….
    Have to admit…was a lot of fun…and helps build teamplay and coordination…
    OG: team building is fun as long as no physical effort is required 😛
    But the 8am idea… * shudder *…that IS horrible…! 🙄

    Good luck…and come back and tell us how it was!
    OG: will do!

  8. October 21, 2010 8:09 pm

    LOL!!! Team building exercise will certainly work. You can jointly push your PM off the cliff 😉
    OG: ROFL!!!!!!

  9. October 22, 2010 2:54 am

    Hello did you do it yet?? well I am sure you are gonna kill your PM if you guys are gonna hike Mission Peak. It’s one damn hard hike my boy 😛 Ver very steep and mind numbing :mrgreen:
    OG: gonna do it next friday saks………… not tom

  10. October 25, 2010 4:47 am

    Push the guy once you get to the peak 😛

  11. November 10, 2010 7:22 pm

    Oye! Trekking is fun! Try it atleast once

  12. November 15, 2010 2:12 pm

    ohh, i love waking up early in the morning; my fav time of the day is 6 😀 😀 😀 Thats when my wife is sleeping away to glory and i get to sit on my laptop ! 😀 😀 😀

    btw, physical activity at 8 is difficult, eh ???? You ARE getting married, rt? Buhahahhahahaaha !!! :mrgreen:

    • November 15, 2010 2:12 pm

      wait a minute, the last line has nothing to do with team building exercises ! 😀 😀 and send me the password for the new post, will ya ?
      OG: haha aliya password is my fav word beginning with “k” 😛

  13. Rajani Ram permalink
    September 22, 2011 7:00 pm

    And how was the trekking? i am eager to know how that felt or how that day was for you? :-)…
    OG: The trek was awesome, to say the least!

Leave a Reply

