Skip to content

The Perfect Dinner!

August 25, 2010

For the past few days, I have had this feeling grow upon me that I have not been eating properly! It could be attributed to the fact that I am trying to stick to the insipid chapatti as part of my “diet plan”. And hence today, I ended up making this elaborate meal:

Main: Rice with Arachavitta sambar (with pearl onions and brinjal)

Side dish: Beans/carrot fry with coconut and micro-waved pappadam.

JANNAT!!!!!!!! Is what it was!!!

At that moment (20 minutes back), I could have given my every worldly possession I had, for a parcel of Beef fry straight from Kerala! But that moment of weakness has passed now! But I had to post this here!!!

 

15 Comments leave one →
  1. August 25, 2010 5:16 am

    We need to exchange places aliya…. that beans with carrot with coconut in it!!!!!!!!!
    My mom will be adopting u…
    OG: haha 😛 one set of parents is good enuff for me :mrgreen:
    Congrats on the dish. Except for papadam, I would give everything a miss 😛 😛
    OG: total waste!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    U would give all your worldy possesions??? *hmmm…this NRI bloke earns dollars*

    Okies…contact me next time before the moment of weakness passes… At least with ur money i can retire!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    PS: I will not send you cow meat…anything but that. 🙄
    OG: then no point!
    PPS: You are not eating well? Go foll someone else, u fridge!!!!

    😀 😀 😀
    OG: hahaha! I said that I felt that I was not eating well
    Now tell the truth… how come u have restarted posting (read showing off) about cooking abilities?

    :mrgreen: mrgreen: mrgreen: mrgreen:

    tee heee!!!! HUGS!!!
    OG: podi podi!

    • August 25, 2010 5:18 am

      Correction:

      The second last line is –

      :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
      OG: podi podi!

    • August 25, 2010 5:55 am

      listen, the reply to “Hugs” cannot be “Podi”

      U are disqualified!!! 😛

    • Vinay Ramesh permalink
      August 25, 2010 7:20 am

      De nee kollalo da nee oru kidilam thanney sambharum beans thoranaum. Nee ethayalum kalyanam kazhchalum ptni kidakula .
      OG: haha 😛 kollam 😛
      Good manchu

      JD de karyam marakanda
      OG: athu sheri! oru commentinda vela, JD annalae?

  2. August 25, 2010 7:03 am

    Thats a damn good meal – I am loving it…looks like you are becoming more an expert cook, before getting married. I’ll never miss an opportunity to remind u of that… 😉
    OG: yeah yeah yeah 😛 u never miss an opportunity! 😛
    But rice, sambhar, veggies – is a damn good combo – nothing to beat it. 🙂 Enjoy. 🙂
    OG: enjoyed!

  3. August 25, 2010 8:46 am

    And I thought this post was about a dinner date with a nubile lady…
    OG: how I wish it was 😛

  4. August 25, 2010 8:47 am

    Ahhh…. Kerala Beef fry! Nothing can taste like that 😦
    OG: agree!

  5. August 25, 2010 11:00 am

    Cho, ee kerala food illengil nammalokke endu cheyydene alle ? 😀 😀
    OG:: satyam!

  6. August 25, 2010 11:11 am

    I love arachivitta sambar!!!
    OG: me too!

  7. August 25, 2010 12:47 pm

    It looks yummy, especially the carrot, beans fry(the coconut in such fries makes me droool)! Isn’t it amazing that the same foods we hated as a kid, we now love so much? I used to hate eating at home when I was younger, now I can give an arm and a leg for my mommy to come stay with me and cook 🙂
    OG: haha 😛 yeah, if I could have amma’s food now, it would be great as well!

  8. August 25, 2010 4:11 pm

    LOL!!! Kerala aaharam ki JAIIII! 😀 😀 😀
    Adu kaanathe kidakkumbo ariyaam adinte vila!

  9. August 25, 2010 5:47 pm

    That’s a pappadam which was electrocuted in the microwave? 😯 and I thought it was some fancy oyster type fish 😳 Trust you men to put something like a noble pappadam into the microwave, whatever happened to the normal way of deep frying it in oil?

    Ums said you are gonna be an expert cook before getting married. I suggest you hire a food tester in case you don’t want nice food loving wannabe Mrs. OG girls to reject your proposal. Ahem you can hire free food tester in Santa Clara in case you didn’t know 😎 Some people there do anything to get free meals you see 😛

  10. Arvind Chandran permalink
    August 26, 2010 7:14 am

    nice man! how many such platefuls did you eat??!

  11. August 26, 2010 8:33 pm

    Thats a wonderful food 😀 😀

  12. Brat man permalink
    September 2, 2010 11:14 pm

    where is the achaaaar?? man?

Leave a Reply

