Skip to content

Manushanmaarude Chathurangam!

August 12, 2010

Please leave now”, Tina said; “If the house owner sees you here, then he would throw us both out. And you know how hard it is to get an apartment in this part of Kochi”.

It was 8 PM and thanks to the half an hour mandatory power cut, they had both ventured out into the balcony. Thankfully, since their apartment was on the tenth floor, they did not have to deal with the pesky mosquitoes.

From the balcony, as they both sat there on the cold floor; hand in hand; her head resting on his shoulder, they could see the endless stream of people walking up and down the Marine Drive walkway. The famous “Chinese Fishing Net Bridge”, which they could see from a distance, was brilliantly lit and the wonderful view of the bay from their vantage point was literally soul cleansing.

Over the last couple of months, they had come to love this ritual; this half an hour ritual that they both had. As Aditya took another sip of his beer, she said it again:

Aadhi, you need to leave now. The house owner is in town and I don’t want him seeing you here”.

Aditya said, “Nope!!! I am not leaving now; not until we get the lights back at 8:30”.

Do you love me, Aadhi?” she asked.

Stalle Kalippu!!!! Now where did this suddenly spring up from?” Aditya thought to himself. He then decided that the best response would be to remain mum and wrap his giant arms around her.  

After a few seconds, she again said, “If you love me Aadhi, you will leave”. But this time around, her voice did not have the conviction it earlier had.

He finally said, “I have already said it; I am not leaving now. And please don’t bring the deceptive thing called ‘love’ into this discussion.”

What?” she exclaimed; “How can you call our love a deception?

He very gently looked into her eyes and said, “You can thank your genes for that and I can thank mine. It is the way of the world. Feelings like love, hate, lust, affection are all manifestations or avatars of the genes inside us; coupled with a set of circumstances. It is really simple. A lot is engraved in our genetic code; our DNA.”

Why do you always give such long, meaningless answer to such questions?” she sounded rather exasperated.

And she continued, “Can you for once, stop being an ‘Einstein’?

In riposte, he said, “Well, I was actually being a ‘Darwin’ not ‘Einstein’!” and started laughing.

Unfortunately for him, she did not get the humor in that and said, “Ooh God, you truly are incorrigible!”

One hearing this, Aditya got up and ambled into the apartment and lit a candle; and she followed him in.

He said, “Don’t take the Lord’s name in vain. Do you know that even the concept of God comes from our genes? Have you heard about the concept called the God Gene?

No! I don’t know and I don’t care!!! So what are you trying to say now?” she asked with her arms folded.

She looked all the more beautiful now that she was angry; with one eyebrow slightly raised. The dull luminance emanating from the candle enhanced her features; especially her sharp eyes. “Damn, she melts my heart every time I look at her”, he thought to himself.

He then continued, “Nothing much. What I am trying to say is that we are all just pawns, billions of pawns on a very big chess board.

Who is controlling the game? God?” she asked.

He said, “Don’t bring God into this. He must be having a hard time controlling the balance of the entire universe with the millions and millions of Galaxies in it. Why should he be bothered about a tiny speck called earth?

Darling; it is us; ultimately who are our own drivers. Just like the pawns on a chess board are bound by the rules and regulations of the game, we are also bound by certain rules; rules set by the society and more importantly, rules set by our genes. The selfish gene is always in the game whether you realize it or not!”  

Why are we even having this discussion?” she asked.

With a wink, he said. “What I have been trying to say is that I am not leaving this house now; not now; not because some dinosaur of a house owner deems it so. I am not leaving now, because I am selfish enough to realize that I love spending time with you.”

She rushed into his open arms; buried her face in his chest and said, “Aadhi, I just love it when you talk about rubbish and still make me feel better.”

It is in your genes babes; the rules of society have evolved over thousands of years; many are good in fact; but you need to realize that our genes have evolved over millions of years. You have got to give the poor blokes inside a fighting chance!” was all he ventured to say.

So what about the house owner then”, she asked again suppressing a laugh.

We will risk it! Let us hope that he does not spot me when I leave at 8:30. After all, what is life without Risk or Hope? Two of the purest, most abstract human emotions!

The full moon beckoned them to step outside onto the balcony, once again. Strange was the fact that the moon could talk to couples in love. The stars too, played their part to perfection but for Aditya and Tina personally, the view was impeccable as they could also spot Mars and Venus shining brightly…………………..

PS:

  1. What I have tried to bring about in this humble attempt is a thought about “Rules of Nature/Genes” Vs “Rules of Society” as compared to a game of chess.
  2. The title of the post in Malayalam means “The Human Chess Game”.

PPS:

I just got the news yesterday that Prithviraj has started acting in a new Santosh Sivan film called “Urumi”. The film is also going to be made in English with the title “The boy who wanted to kill Vasco-Da-Gama”. Does it ring a bell? I had actually talked about a similar concept in my earlier post called “Roudrabhavam”. I found the news interesting.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. August 13, 2010 1:16 am

    hey hey hey, now are our script writers turning to blogs for original inspirations? OG, van kalippu! 😀
    OG: nothing about the actual post eh??? 😛

  2. August 13, 2010 1:33 am

    Hmmm hmmm Einstein and Darwin together in one sentence should have been enough to make me shut down the laptop, but yeah I had immense faith in your writing, hence took the risk of reading till the end 😛 😛 😛
    OG: ROFL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Classic 😛 so what do you think about the post? 😛 😛
    Tina must have been a truly blessed child to feel all so romantic after hearing all that, me?? I would have definitely jumped off the balcony I tell ya 😦
    OG: it is just not in your genes Saks 😛 😛 😛
    Btw did you forward this story to that train friend of yours? who had thrust that bible? hmmmmm
    OG: Hey, I have never met him after that day 😛 and he was not actually my frd…… a frd of a frd.. and in the real story, there was no bible scene 😛 that was only for the story 😛 😛

  3. August 13, 2010 1:36 am

    Ps: You just made me feel so pathetic about my rusting Malayalam by translating the title. I had thought “Manushanmaarude Chathurangam” meant something like Men in Checkerd Lungi 😳

    OG: ROFL!!!!!! 😛 kollam!

  4. August 13, 2010 1:51 am

    Are you by any chance planning a career as a script writer in the Mallu film industry?
    OG: no plans as of now 😛 😛 😛
    Very good…It would have been better if you hadn’t put the PS…
    OG: Thanks Bones!! I will just leave it in now since it already there 😛

  5. August 13, 2010 4:40 am

    All that is evident in the post is that the guy is madly in love with her but does not know how to express it so says utter nonsense instead!!! :mrgreen:
    OG: Appo ninnakku onnum manasilayilla le?? :mrgreen:

    • August 13, 2010 4:41 am

      Turning into an interesting fiction writer arent u? 🙂

      I love the way all your settings are in Kerala/Tamil Nadu…usually. It shows an element of nostalgia and how u are digging into past memories for the setting….
      OG: yeah, I find that I writing them more nowadays 😛 dont know why 😛

  6. August 13, 2010 5:34 am

    At this rate, I will have to rename u as “Educator OG” !!!!!!!
    OG: haha 😛
    God Gene…. it was an interesting read..
    OG: well, thanks!
    Speaking of interesting reads, this was was a lovely mix of fiction blended with ideology… and her dialogue .. “u speak all rubbish and still make me feel better” 😛

    I am selfish enough to realize that I love spending time with you
    A brilliant way for him to have tied the explanation of the Selfish Gene with his rendition of saying what Tina was waiting to hear all along … Him expressing his love 😛 😛

    OG: I liked it myself 😉

    If all men can be like Aadhi… they shall be salvaged!!!!!!!! :mrgreen:
    OG: ROFL! 😛 kollam!
    The scene of the dimly lit night…and glimpses of her face….. Ezhuthukaran!!!!!! Romantic setting and all!!!!

    *crafty has begun calling for EOG’s family ppl but he has held her mouth shut tightly and is dragging her away from the scene*

    mpffmmpfffffmmppff MATRI ppmmfffppp MONY ammpffsffffff TIME pfmmfffffff
    OG: podi podi!
    On a serious note: U do get some interesting concepts… no wonder ur Roudrabhavam got flicked :mrgreen:
    OG: it did not get flicked, u devil!!!!!! but similar topics 😛

    • August 13, 2010 4:35 pm

      *Sakshi Poirot after spending a considerable time twisting her upward curled hair came to the conclusion that unscrambling “mpffmmpfffffmmppff MATRI ppmmfffppp MONY ammpffsffffff TIME pfmmfffffff” does not reveal the name of OG’s love interest as Ms. Arti Nomy, but rather Crafty was trying desperately to send an SOS to her Punjabi Munda to get her a big rock to flash on one of her pig tails” :mrgreen:

      • August 13, 2010 4:43 pm

        Che che Sakshi partner!!!Have u forgotten our sole ulterior motive here is to rain comments here about EOG’s matrimony and similar related topics?

        U are losing focus! 🙄

        *has a small chat in corner with sakshi*

        now come on, yell with me…. EOG”S MATRIMONY TIME!!!!!!!!!!

        • August 13, 2010 6:09 pm

          hey sis!!! how can u forget me in the process???!!!! 😀 😀 😀 me too me too!! or rather, me three!! let’s all join in to pull OG’s leg…?

  7. August 13, 2010 1:28 pm

    Absolutely interesting read….after your blog break decision, you are churning out awesome posts. 🙂 My God, this is damn good. 🙂
    OG: danku danku!
    God gene, selfish gene….we are on the chess board playing the game, using the genes….WOW, mind boggling !!! 🙂
    OG: hahaha 😛
    Your narrative is excellent. 🙂 Good one OG. 🙂

    BTW, today’s lunch was fab…missed you…the cake was tooo yummmmyyyy…. 😉 😉
    OG: I missed the cake wonly 😉

  8. August 14, 2010 3:42 am

    first of all, thanks for introducing me to two new concepts. Gotta read them now ! 😀
    OG: yo aliya!
    I always say this aliyaa, we create our own destiny and fate and its not god, god man or even an astrologer who controls our life.
    OG: same thoughts machu!
    Good one; and let me know when this couple breaks up ! no, not for me; I need to do a lill bit for marketing for you !
    OG: haha 😛
    Btw, when I read the news on Urumi a month back, that post of yours came running into my mind ! 😀 😀
    OG: really interesting right 😛

  9. August 16, 2010 10:13 pm

    :))))))))))))
    OG: 😛 😛 😛 😛 😛 😛 😛

Leave a Reply

