Skip to content

Laptop Fever!

June 26, 2010

Aliya, it really is easy. All you have to do is open up the laptop, clean the heat sink, and then patch it up all together”, remarked Mr. FR, nonchalantly as if he did it to his own laptop everyday.

Last month, the shining light in my otherwise stoic life, my laptop started giving me problems. It would overheat and shut down eventually. I would be playing “Age of Empires”; a serious matter of life and death and suddenly without warning, my laptop would shut down. It was almost like it did not like the blood and the gore. I would be watching a fantastic mass-hero film with wonderful over-the-top stunts, and again it would auto shutdown, thus showing its true intent.

But seriously, I think that these gadgets have a mind of their own and will only behave properly when you treat them with care and respect.

There are many in the world under the impression that, AI will become a reality in the future!! I would like to personally shake them up from their slumber and tell them that, it is a reality now!!! The sooner we realize this, the better for us.

I tried reasoning with my laptop; did not work. I tried ignoring it; again did not work. Then I tried battering it into submission with Prithiviraj’s punch dialog from “Puthiya Mukham”; and failed miserably.

I have personally known Mr. FR for quite a few years now. Any problem with any computer, the chap would observe, “The heat sink dude; it always is the heat sink and the cooling fan”.

According to him, if the system performance is bad; the heat sink is bad.

According to him, if the monitor display is weird, the heat sink is behaving badly.

According to him, if the system holds up on you, the cooling fan is the culprit.

And so Mr. FR, the local computer expert wanted to go in there and fix it himself. It was almost like he took it upon himself to “work” on my laptop without my permission.

When I asked him if he had any experience in such matters, he very mildly observed, “I have watched multiple videos on youtube. This thing is easy; I can even do this blindfolded”.

And I could not but believe in his conviction and granted him my permission. And so, last month, armed with a 30 dollar screwdriver set, he got down to “work” on it.

He was actually right; he had it spread open in approximately 10 minutes. And he was also right in his observation; the heat sink was covered with many layers of dust.

We cleaned it with Johnson’s ear buds and then it was time to patch it up all together.

Mr. FR was literally “on” the laptop for 10 minutes after which I realized that the smirk that he had maintained right through the “disassembling process” was not in place for the “assembling process”.

After struggling to fit a screw in for a good couple of minutes, he finally said, “This screw does not seem to fit here. What do you think Aliya?”

I had also noticed the same thing and I said, “That is because it is not supposed to fit there.”

And that was when Mr. FR (and me), realized that there were multiple screws of different sizes and shapes and we had about 50 of them totally.

Strange thing; but the video on youtube never made any mention of the different types of screws,” he observed, not knowing what to do.

I told him that I did not care about those videos, but all I cared about, was my poor laptop!!!!

And since it was my laptop, I took a keen interest in the “assembling process” and it took us 3 hours of literal hard work to patch everything up again.

After we were done; had everything assembled; we were left with a single screw with us.

What do we do with this?” I asked.

 “Next time we open it up again, we will find a home for it. Don’t worry”, was all he said with a big foolish grin.

A month has passed now and thankfully, my laptop is behaving decently, even without that screw and I don’t have to cajole it to start.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. June 26, 2010 1:48 am

    So, basically, manufacturers charge us for parts not required – CHEATS!
    OG: hahahahaa. good one bones!!!!!!!!!!

  2. June 26, 2010 7:36 am

    Second!!! ROFL at ‘I would be playing “Age of Empires”; a serious matter of life and death’
    U actually took out every screw from the laptop.. man… that takes guts!!! And Bones’ comment is bang on 🙂
    OG: yeah, thanks 😛

  3. June 26, 2010 8:05 am

    disassembling your laptop to its piece just by watching few videos – that’s quite a stunt.
    OG: we try our best 😉

  4. June 26, 2010 10:53 am

    dude u wont believe this,but my pc has been behaving in the same way for a couple of weeks!
    tell me wht to do! 😦
    OG: complete pollicha madhi 😛 ellam sheri avum 😛

  5. June 26, 2010 5:57 pm

    Oh Christ!
    Incidentally, I also have a problem relating laptop heating and age of empires. 😦

    My DVD drive stopped getting detected and some dude also blamed it on the heating sink, it apparently burnt some chip down or some jazz like that!
    Anyway, I couldn’t play on the age of empires cd. Now I’ve to get it copied onto a pen drive and all. 😦
    OG: hahaha!!!!!!! great that you are an AOE fan………. and best of luck with the system 😛

  6. June 26, 2010 6:10 pm

    Hahaha… God bless you… or rather, your laptop ..
    Hope it doesnt break down again like that! 😛
    OG: it better not 😛

  7. June 28, 2010 7:31 am

    You and your funny friends, OG !!! 🙂

    May be that was the missing screw from ur friend’s head !!!! LOL !!!! 😉
    OG: or maybe mine 😛

  8. June 29, 2010 1:18 pm

    My husband loves to try these stunts and he tries on his and my laptop. I sit in utter terror as to what shall happen, but he usually whistling a song, or listening to some music on the non attached laptop while at his job!

    Crazy guy!

    • June 29, 2010 1:19 pm

      Oh god… what english…. ‘ he’s usually ‘….. ‘ non attacked ‘

  9. July 1, 2010 12:54 pm

    tagged!

  10. July 3, 2010 11:30 am

    Cripes!

    I do this, but not on lap tops. REmotes, and bits of machinery, only to find I am left with a nut or a screw that has not found a place 😀

    Hope you’re doin good Ajit. Long time 🙂 🙂

  11. July 4, 2010 4:26 pm

    hahahahaha!!! A good kick does it always 🙂

Leave a Reply

