Skip to content

A Vacation Over!

February 3, 2010

After spending about 20 days in India, I have very calmly come to the conclusion that I don’t give a rat’s ass about the American economy and about Obama’s health care plan; coz these were the kind of questions that I had to answer when I met people.

Many of my erudite relatives personally must have thought that I have a part time job in Obama’s cabinet coz I had to answer so many questions with regards to the socio-political-economic-cultural-climatic scenario of America. Some people, even now, I am sure are still under the impression that I must have been some form of ambassador sent by the Obama personally to improve ties with Chennai.

Some people made me feel like a complete NRI when I got asked questions like, “Ajit, it must be difficult for you to be driving here in India, right???” and also “Is it difficult for you to drive on the Left???”!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

But after logging about 900 kilometers on my pulsar in just 20 days (driving only in Chennai), I did not think so.

After eating a ton of rice, drinking gallons of filter coffee and developing a fine tan, I am thankful to have just put on about 4 kilograms during those 20 days. It was an awesome trip; I met a lot of people including a few great bloggers and a few devils likewise and it was fun.

My grandmother could not believe that I could cut vegetables (of all the things). She watched on with mild disbelief as I cooked for my relatives and I even shared a few masterful recipes of mine with her.

My mother could not believe her eyes when I gave her company during the evening puja sessions at home. The truth was that it felt good to be doing that.

My aunt, who is used to my antics, personally could not believe that I reached home with a bag full of washed clothes coz earlier; it used to be the opposite.

My sister, whose hair color evolved from burgundy initially to a bright red and finally to a decent brown (thankfully) all in a span of 20 days, could not believe that I behaved in a very responsible manner and played the part of an elder brother with perfection.

But the highlight of the trip was that I got to meet the new addition to the clan; my 10 month old nephew and he is such a darling!!!!!!!!! He is a bundle of energy and at 10 months, has already started taking a couple of unassisted steps!!!!!!!!

But as they say, good things don’t last all that long and I am back here to the drudgeries of normal life and the insipid chappatis.

The physical body may be in America, but my heart is still hovering over India like a geo-stationary satellite.

On my return trip to America, I also got to meet singer/rapper BLAAZE at the Chennai airport. He was flying out to LA for the Grammies. A pretty decent guy I have to add.

PS: I just love this song from the hindi film striker.

30 Comments leave one →
  1. February 3, 2010 6:59 am

    What is that thing i used to yell? what is it??????

    oh yes….

    FIRST!!!!!!!!

    😆
    OG: 😛 😛 😛 😛

  2. February 3, 2010 7:46 am

    American economy and Obama’s health plan are THE MOST IMP issues ever! U are so ignorant!!!! I am disappointed in you!!! 🙄 crafty spell checks if she wrote Obama or Osama
    OG: 😛 😛 😛 😛 😛 😛
    ambassador sent by the Obama personally to improve ties with Chennai
    😆 😆 😆

    ROFL @ driving questions! How long have u been there? A year right? It’s enough to be americanised aliyaaa! Don;t blame relatives!! 😛 😛 😛
    Why, I know of people who just go to the airport to drop a friend going to the USA, and when they return, they have an accent and wanna eat idli and sambar with fork and spoon 🙄
    OG: seriously rafty!!!!!! I know such people as well!
    satyam parayalo? The wonly reason i have an accent when i speak in mallu with u is coz i am speaking to a guy who is seven seas away in USA…… *ignoring the eye rolling *
    OG: you dont have faarign accent…….. you are have pseodo mallu accent 😛 😛
    U developed a tan?!!!……. spoken like an NRI!!!!! *ducking dosa pan flung*
    OG: ROFL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    JUST 4 KGS!!!!! All that hogging!!!!!! Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmm! What a pity! I thought from 1 litre fridge, u wud graduate to 2.5 litre fridge….sheeshu….. this post is nothing but disappointing! There is no justice in this world!!!!!!!! *some dramatic poses follow*
    OG: ROFL!!!!!!!!!!!yes, there is no justice in the world!!!!!!!!!
    AHA! How kind of u to bestow the title of “Great Blogger” on me….. but u know, u shudn’t have called the other bloggers as Devils….what will they think?!!!! 😈
    OG: do you want me to write about the meet???? u devil!!!!!!!!!
    u shocked ur folks with cooking skills eh? i hope they are fine?
    U shud let your grandma see ur blog! All the chef avataar et all!!!!!! 😛 😛 😛

    AIYOOOOO! Pujamurri!!!!!!!!! Tell the truth…. u prayed u wudn’t gain weight no matter what u ate…right??? eh? Eh?
    NO WAIT!!! I KNOW!!!!! it was the devotion to speed things up with Rajamma / Dosamma / Ms Z?! Hee haw haw haw :mrgreen:
    OG: yeah yeah, I have heard this before……………

    your nephew is a DOLL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    sigh!!!!! Sigh sigh sigh!!! Touchwood aliyaaa! 😀 so he will be another in the clan with the Vendaka love and the 3MIAB readership! 😀 😛
    OG: he should have the above loves…………we are all watching out for the signs to give him membership
    Insipid Chapatis? How dare you!! 👿 don’t u dare abuse chapattis!!!!!!!!!!! *folding lungi high – quotation style*
    OG: I am eating them now 😛
    The physical body may be in America, but my heart is still hovering over India like a geo-stationary satellite.
    SO that’s what’s been causing those panic news coverages on India TV?!!!!
    😀

    ((((((((((((((hugs))))))))))))))))
    Great ur vacation was really nice! 😀 😀 😀 so all went according to your planned menu? 😛 😛
    And when can we expect some kalippu goof –up stories of your legendary friends???? Don’t tell me there aren’t any…… we all have high hopes!!

    *crafty gets a chair and sits waiting for kalippu narrations*
    OG: no kalippus 😛 everyone was decent 😛 😛 😛 😛

    • February 3, 2010 6:25 pm

      *standing and counting….*

      24!!!!!!!!!! in all there are 24 tongue smileys in ur reply to me…..
      pen is mightier than sword and tongue is mightier than pen!!! sheesh!!!!!!!!!
      OG: 😛 😛 😛 😛 😛
      u called me PSEUDO MALLU?!!!!! Same to you aliyaaaaaaaaaaaaaa 👿 👿
      enne kondu onnu parayipikinda ayitte!!!!!!!! *said in perfect mallu tone & accent*
      OG: I am more mallu than u 😛 😛

      ur nephew is automatically enroled in my personal “Adorable Angel Club” 😆

      EOG = “everyone was decent.. no kallipu”
      Crafty = LIAR LIAR PANTS erm….LUNGI ON FIRE!!!!!!!!!!!

      really? no stories? what good was this trip? a big loss to blogsamaj!!!!! 😥
      OG: ROFL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I had a decent 20 days 😛 😛

      • February 3, 2010 7:13 pm

        me gets a vision of ajit running for his life with his lungi on fire 🙄
        😆 😆

      • February 20, 2010 1:19 am

        Crafty kutty good to see your post at least here 😛 😛 😛

  3. Swaram permalink
    February 3, 2010 7:47 am

    Second!
    OG: 😛 😛

    • Swaram permalink
      February 3, 2010 7:49 am

      ROFL @ all those qs .. can’t believe ppl r still so obsessed with NRIs and phoren land 😛 😛
      OG: people I tell ya 😛
      What a trip that ws uff .. blog meets, meeting ur nephew …. awesome!
      OG: met some great bloggers and a few devils as well 😛
      Ur nephew is a darling no .. looks so so cute and he hs started taking a few steps already? Must be thinking, U wait till next time mama .. I will make u run all around 😀
      OG: hahahahaha, Let me start joggin 😛
      Luv that pic of Ramana Maharshi in the Puja room 🙂
      OG: 😛 😛 😛 😛

      • Swaram permalink
        February 3, 2010 7:50 am

        And u met Blaaze too . woww! icing on the cake!
        OG: yeah, a very down to earth guy!!!!

      • February 3, 2010 8:47 am

        Swaru, I doubt that its the Ramana Maharishi !!! It looks like the Kanchi Mahaperiyavar !!! OG, clarify, please !!!
        OG: it is ramana maharishi 😛 😛 😛 my mom is a major devotee………….. 😛

        • Swaram permalink
          February 3, 2010 9:36 am

          Buhahahahahha … I won 🙂
          There r 2 pics Uma .. I meant one @ the top .. there’s another one on the LHS … may be u r talking abt that one 😉
          OG: yeah, even I did not notice the photo on the LHs 😛 hehehehehehehehehe yes Uma, you are also correct 😛

        • February 4, 2010 6:05 am

          OK !!! Both me and Swaru WON !!! So, whats the prize, for guessing the pics correctly ??????
          OG: ROFL!!!! u decide 😛

  4. February 3, 2010 7:51 am

    When I read ur comments in some posts, I was just wondering whether your vacation is over – so time to keep busy with blogger frnds.
    OG: yes, vacation over 😦 😦 😦
    Such is the wonderful feeling of being home – small things around can make u happy !!!
    OG: I know!!!!!
    It happens – when my niece, studying in Canberra, came to Chennai for a function – everyone was attacking her verbally abt the state of Indians in Oz !! My God !!! She cant have all the answers – maybe she also reads them in the papers or watches the news on TV.
    OG: hehehehehe I pity her 😛
    So, you surprised everyone, with ur clean clothes, veg cutting skills, attending evng puja, cooking – WOW !! I am impressed OG !!!

    And, it was nice meeting you !!! 🙂
    OG: thanks and it was nice meeting you as well!!!!!!!!!!!!! I just loved the cake !!!!!!!!!! seriously

  5. February 3, 2010 8:07 am

    so aliya…finally u r back…… yeah can understand the obama effect …last year everyone were concerned about recession and all
    OG: they still are worried about the recession dude 😛
    you have got a nice pooja room…
    between it was nice meeting you(but we missed the main course 😦 , okay next time )
    OG: yeah, next time dude 😛 we can make more fun of vims 😛

  6. February 3, 2010 8:15 am

    LOL @ the questions you were being asked! 😆
    Everyone seems to be worried about it!
    OG: 😛 😛 😛 😛 😛 😛
    You nephew is so so cute! 🙂
    OG: thanks!!!!!!!!!
    so, your parents, relatives and granny had to finally acknowledge that OG has finally grownup!! 😉
    OG: I know!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    You met Blaaze… sigh! niiiiceee…. 😀
    OG: 😛 P 😛 😛

    • February 3, 2010 8:39 am

      OG’s finally grown up and ready to be married – he can now wear a lungi on his own!
      OG: you spotted the lungi eh??? ROFL!!!!!!!!!!!!

  7. February 3, 2010 8:44 am

    Ah, cooling heels off in India! I was wondering where the heck has OG gone hiding into…
    OG: now back aliyaaaaaaaa!
    Well, man tell me one thing…how difficult is it to adjust to this left-right driving? I got almost fucked up while in Switzerland, almost got killed trying to cross roads on foot!
    OG: ROFL!!!!!!!!!!! it was not hard at all………. the first hour, I was cautious while driving my pulsar and then it all came back to me 😛

  8. February 3, 2010 8:53 am

    and what you didnt know nothing about the american economy ?????? 😛 😛 😛
    OG: yes man, I knew nothing about it 😛
    I hope with the vacation also ends the blog break !!!! seriously how we start doing and loving things we used to hate earlier… only being away from things sometimes makes us realise the values and joys… !!!!
    OG: yes man, blog break over!!!!!!!!!
    loved reading this… !!!! 😀 😀
    OG: thanks!!!!!!!!

  9. February 3, 2010 10:19 am

    Obama must be heaving a sigh of relief that his most important adviser in all important matters in back after vacation 🙂 Now we know why his approval ratings were goind down – you were on vacation 😉
    OG: hahahahahaha, good one!!!!!!!!
    So you managed to shock your whole family 🙂 Were they in such a shock that they forgot to get you married off before you returned to America 🙂
    OG: 2012……………… 😛 😛 😛
    Filter coffee- what I wouldn’t do to get my hands on some! And only 4 kgs? How did you manage that ?
    OG: I exercised daily 😉
    Your nephew does look very very cute! 10 months – that is such an adorable age! You must have had a great time with him!
    OG: yes except for when washing him 😛 😛
    Great to have you back and great to see a post from you after ages! As Hitchy says – hope this also ends your blog break.
    OG: YES!!!!!!!!

  10. February 3, 2010 12:03 pm

    ROFL!!! Actually, my turn to say ROFL now 🙂 Obama’s emmissary! Too much, man!!
    OG: yeah, ROFL all u want !!!!!!!!!!! 😉

  11. February 3, 2010 1:27 pm

    Welcome back OG. 😦 I know how it is like to leave your family and all the fun behind and come back to a cold and dark US(especially in winter)….sigh! What all we have to do, and the weird part is that most of us are not even that fond of being in the US of A!
    OG: 😛 😛 😛 😛 😛 such is life!
    LOL at the questions people asked you and how they assume you would have changed so much that you would forget to drive! Hehe!
    OG: 😛 😛 😛 😛 P hehehehehe

  12. February 3, 2010 4:08 pm

    and we met up remember?
    OG: I mentioned that I met a few “great” bloggers 😛 😛

    • February 3, 2010 6:29 pm

      yeah vichu…. EOG mentioned about meeting “great bloggers” like you and me….. what a pity he called the rest of them devils!!! chey chey!!!

      😈
      OG: u devil!!!!!!!

  13. February 3, 2010 9:00 pm

    Hahaha

    Let me use that line you used on my blog long back. ‘Nalla chammathu payyana aayiteenge’.
    OG: hahaha, I have always been one 😛

  14. February 3, 2010 9:05 pm

    You ask me to come and see your cutie pie nephew and then post a blurred picture. Still let me go Awww…. what an awwwwesome picture of Mama and bhateeja.
    OG: 😛 😛 😛 😛 yo!
    “The physical body may be in America, but my heart is still hovering over India like a geo-stationary satellite.”

    Mwahaha this is when I start torturing this deshadana kili.
    OG: please dont do that!!!!!!! I have not been able to eat food this whole week 😛
    Oho! cutting veggies and all and impressing grandma so that she starts looking for girl. 😉
    OG: yeah yeah 😛

    • February 5, 2010 6:11 pm

      You ask me to come and see your cutie pie nephew and then post a blurred picture. Still let me go Awww…. what an awwwwesome picture of Mama and bhateeja. Exactly!!! OG apoopan! 😛

      and keep your nephew away from your dusht influence 😛

      errmmm just 4 kilograms OG? is that why you are not sharing pics with us eh? eh? :mrgreen:
      but cant pull your leg too much 🙂 you are already feeling homesick and that comes through…

      all in all a great time spent at home OG:)

      oye great bloggers toh I can understand..KRS, Adopted dawter ofcourse are…and I see Ums and Vichu too:D who are the devils eh? 😛 😛

  15. February 3, 2010 9:06 pm

    “I don’t give a rat’s ass about the American economy and about Obama’s health care plan; coz these were the kind of questions that I had to answer when I met people.”

    Sad..very sad. Poor curious disappointed people.
    OG: heheheheheheh

  16. February 6, 2010 3:17 pm

    Lovely post OG…..dont why but I felt sad by the time I reached the end….maybe I cd sense ur regret at leaving them….yet again :-).

  17. February 20, 2010 9:17 pm

    I was reading your post yday and put one comment and Kabooooom….!!! Guess Obama’s people chucked me out of their secret site 😥
    OG: ROFL!!!!!!!!!!!! hahahaha
    So you are back and my god did u get some secret potion from India?? U are blogging like a maniac :mrgreen:

    *sakshi off to read the rest of the Mahabharat *
    OG: classic!!!!!!!!!1 the india trip was the secret portion 😛 😛 😛 😛

  18. March 12, 2010 7:08 am

    It is always hard to leave home.. and home is where heart is *hugs*

Leave a Reply

