Skip to content

Another Weekend, Another Classic Roadtrip!!!

September 15, 2009

When I got up this Saturday morning, I thought that I would enjoy the perfect weekend by doing  just three things: sleeping, eating and catching up on my blogging.

But as I later found out, I did everything but those three things!!

I got up at around 11 and when I chatted with crafty; told her that I had no real plans for the weekend which was in fact true at that time. I then had my lunch and then slept for the entire afternoon and evening. At about 8 PM, we went out for our usual game of tennis. The weekend had started off on a good note and I was feeling great.

At about 9 PM on Saturday, I got a call from my dear friend Mr. HPU. HPU (whose last name cannot be pronounced by a non malayalee), who is also incidentally my roommate in Mumbai is currently here in San Francisco for an onsite assignment.

If you have read my blog in the past, you would have read about Mr. FR, my other roommate. That guy is in India now, and Mr. HPU is currently here. Mr. HPU, in very simple terms is a walking disaster. If anything can go wrong with him, it definitely will and he is obsessed about two things in life, namely food and body building.

And so coming back to the story, I got a call at around 9 PM from him.

Aliya, we need to go somewhere. Get ready now” said HPU.

Ok aliya, but where are we going” I asked a bit surprised.

Dai, we need to go to Los Angeles now. We have seen a good car there and I need to buy it tomorrow. We need an extra driver for the trip, so yes, get ready now” said HPU nonchalantly as if Los Angeles was only a mile away (in fact 330 miles).

Since I could not let down a dear friend, I cut short my game and got ready in a jiffy.

At about 10 PM, HPU along with AT (nicknamed Bacha), came in their rickety rental car.

I asked him about the “plan”.

HPU very coolly said, “Aliya, we will go to LA, buy car tomorrow morning and be back in San Francisco by 6 PM tomorrow. A very simple plan”.

That is Mr. HPU for you. His plans are always idealistic and generally don’t work out.

And so, we hit the road, reached Los Angeles at 3 in the morning, gate crashed our friends house and finally slept at 5 in the morning.

Sunday was a total disaster. We got up at 8, saw the car, did not like it and then after a heavy lunch, got caught in a great traffic jam. Interstate freeway I-5 was totally blocked thanks to an accident and we finally reached at around 12 in the night after an 8 hour nightmare. Mr. HPU slept through the whole journey.

DSC00342

(Me and Mr HPU)

DSC00333
DSC00332

 I also took a small video of this. The very first time, I actually walked on a freeway here in america.

This trip so reminded me of college days……… road trips without any real plans!!!!

PS: If I have not been blog hopping for the past week, kindly excuse. I am going to blame my work and my tennis schedule for it.

42 Comments leave one →
  1. September 15, 2009 7:09 am

    FIRST!!!!!!!!!!!
    OG: YAY 😛 😛 😛 😛

    • September 15, 2009 7:19 am

      Konfusion teerkaname…. ende konfusion theerkaname!!!!
      shiv shambho shiv shambho shiv shambho shambho!!!!!

      *crafty ties hanky on head, wear glares and moves shoulders and dances like jayram*

      :mrgreen:
      OG: ROFL!!!!!!!!! what a song!!!!!! actually one of my favs!

  2. September 15, 2009 7:14 am

    OMG!!!!!! I am really honestly first without any cheating erm…. assistance???
    OG: yeah, we are always first without cheating.. like how I came first in your latest post 😉
    Lemme tell u how i landed here! my collegue drew a PIE CHART on her notepad…. and i was giggling. She asked the reason … i thot i will “show her the reason” and came here to look for that first post i read!!!
    OG: ROFL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1 😛 😛 😛
    teeeeee heeeeeeeee

    😀 😀 😀

    Crafty has colleague waiting to see. she lands here. sees new post. exclaims “OMG, i can be first!” She jumped and started typing “first”

    Colleague = ❓
    OG: ROFL!!!!! 😛 you are too much I say

    That’s one more colleague off my list of ppl who speak with me…
    my social life is dipping precariously!!!!

    😆

    OG: and that is why we have blog friends 😛 😛 😛 a world which only we can understand 😛

  3. Mystery permalink
    September 15, 2009 7:21 am

    2nd
    OG: YO!

    • Mystery permalink
      September 15, 2009 7:24 am

      me too no cheating only hardwork 🙂

      well..to be frank have one of ur post still unread and came to read it and luckily no one has reached here except crafty..

      *mystery joins the dance with crafty*
      OG: ROFL!!!!! wokays 😛 😛

      • September 16, 2009 5:31 am

        *mystery and crafty dance typical southie style dance… waiting for EOG to join*

  4. September 15, 2009 7:45 am

    Traffic block ?????…that too in US
    Even i too got a similar friend in college,who were obsessed with bodybuilding and food(2 hours morning and evening in gym,and will be sleeping during class time).We tried a lot to clear him. But it was too late,when he realized his mistake(18 arrears in final year).
    Yeahh tennis and badminton are very addictive .Now a days after reaching my apartment from office ,i will just wash my face ,change my clothes and run to the badminton court 🙂 ….
    OG: that is nothing to clear for HPU…. he is perfect as he is :mrgreen 😛 yes yes, YAY to sports!!!!!!!

  5. September 15, 2009 7:55 am

    4th 😛

    • September 16, 2009 5:36 am

      omg swarooo!!! that is like the most adorable gravatar ever!!!! seriously sooper!!!!!! ((((((((((hugs)))))))

      peek-a-boo from tea bushes!!! 😀

      • Swaram permalink
        September 16, 2009 6:15 am

        Thankus muchos sis 🙂

  6. September 15, 2009 7:58 am

    N I cn post only when there is no traffic jam 😛 Bcoz thatz gonna b news 😉
    OG: ROFL!!!!!!!!!!!
    Plan something for the cmg weekend OG 😉
    OG: this weekend will be in office 😛 unfortunately

  7. September 15, 2009 8:19 am

    The road trip does sound quite eventful!
    Traffic Jams in the US would be worse because you aren’t used to it!! 😀
    OG: since I lived most of my life in india, I am used to it 😛 heheheheheheh

  8. September 15, 2009 8:42 am

    U r turning out to be a true American – going on road trips…
    OG: and wasting money 😛
    The accident must have been a major one but at least you got to walk on the freeway freely…
    OG: yeah…….. 😛 first time I did it 😛

  9. September 15, 2009 9:21 am

    Another classic road trip. Lol…

    Now I shall wait for another classic night club weekend.

    🙂

    Cheers,

    Quirky Indian
    OG: cheers to that mate!

  10. September 15, 2009 9:42 am

    you always have a happening weekend machi 😛 😛
    OG: hehehehehehehe 😛 something always happens with me 😛

    are you in any hurry…??? very short expalantion about the things happened 😛 😛
    OG: yes dude… was in a hurry 😛
    and out of the 2 shadows you are the one who is holding camera, right??
    OG: yup!

  11. September 15, 2009 10:33 am

    oru andhavum kundhavum illaande angudu poyi alle ??? (aliyaa, please translate this to the others, I just cant ! 😉 )
    OG: I think your frd suji has provided a detailed explanation 😛
    But I love such unplanned trips ! Its more fun !!!
    OG: totally agree
    and what is HPU’s last name? Ulpalaakshan ???
    OG: ROFL!!!!!!!

    • September 15, 2009 11:12 am

      of ALL the ppl in the world, crafty attemps the translation…

      “single andhavum kundhavum without over there went na” and then three question marks in malayalam…

      🙄 😛 😆
      OG: ROFL!!!!!!!!!!!! read suji’s comment 😛

    • chewmysambhar permalink
      September 15, 2009 12:05 pm

      I am jealous:P You is enjoying life ..Nice, nice:) I am a non-mallu…but tell me the name..I shall justly pronounce:P
      OG: hehehehehehehe 😛 you wont get it 😛 I swear 😛

      • chewmysambhar permalink
        September 18, 2009 4:58 pm

        Tell me the name:| Its better to try ..no?

    • September 17, 2009 4:05 am

      ROFL! 😀

      I remember in school we used to get essay writing tests on random topics and my best one was always ‘A day when everything went wrong’. This is one such eh? 🙂
      OG: ROFL!!!!!!!! and welcome here aliya!
      But yeah, such trips are good to get the life exciting amidst boring routine life times 🙂
      OG: yeah……… totally agree!
      By the way – here is my attempt to translate vimmuuu’s words:

      Andham – End / Destiny
      Kundham – The extended version of an Arrow that’s used as weapon specially by tribals – Javeline?

      Wow – seems like I have lost track now 😛

      OG: that ought to clear craftys doubt!

  12. September 15, 2009 12:37 pm

    Awesome!! impromptu plan!!!! sooper! like in Dil Chahta Hai… they just go to Saif’s house and pull away his quilt and tell him they are leaving for Goa!!!
    OG: yup!!! totally like that!
    sigh! how i wish for some trip like that!!

    OG: hehehehehehe 😛
    what is his last name??? i wanna say it!!!

    Mr. HPU, in very simple terms is a walking disaster.

    give him salaam from Crafty, another one of his kind… tell him to take good care of himself… there are very few os us remaining alive and walking… for obvious reasons 😛 😛
    OG: wokays, will do 😛
    he is obsessed about two things in life, namely food and body building

    Give him salaam from Crafty’s BF… its true… I am third on Bf’s list… 😥
    OG: god bless your BF……… I tell ya… he is a lucky dog!!!!!! 😛 you are third on his list and still you dont have a problem wah wah!

    “rickety rental car” made me imagine ur friends arriving in typical Archie’s Jalopy! *chugga chugga splutter chugga honk crash*

    😆 😆
    OG: ROFL!!!!!!!! 😛 err….our car was better 😛

    8 hour nightmare!!!!!!!!! aiyo! 😯

    and Mr. HPU slept through the whole journey???!!!! hahahahaha

    ROFL!!!!!

    that pic of u and HPU! very nice…. u look exactly as i imagined u wud EOG! 😆 :mrgreen:
    OG: how can you tell a person from a shadow?????? please enlighthen this poor soul
    that traffic video! sigh! i tell u! mumabi is the same, only u also have entertainment with liberal colouful language, pot holes, cyclists who think they are reed thin and will get thru gaps but get stuck… and an ocassional cow or bull for added chaos..
    😯

    great weekend! unplanned = funnnnnnnnn
    😀 😀 😀

    will u consider an unplanned trip to plan mumbai… but lets not make it too unplanned… i will mail u a list of things i want, keep them ready, JUST IN CASE u have an unplanned trip… ya?

    *EOG looks on as crafty is meticulously writing a list*

    :mrgreen:

    OG: wokays wokays!!!!!!!!!! 😛 let the list come on!!!!!

  13. September 15, 2009 3:47 pm

    lovely…. u had great fun… dude you remind me of my stag days !!!!

    ready to go everywhere with everyone… accompanying every one thta needs company eh… !!!!!!

    Klassik !!!!!!
    OG: thanks man!!!!!!!!!!!! and yes, I will enjay it till it lasts!

  14. September 15, 2009 8:45 pm

    With you, OG. Road trips are the best. You know when we moved to this small place, Peanut was just 1.5 years old. Every Saturday we would go to a Breakfast place, have brunch and then drive to the coast or mountains or to a river and listen to some melodies on the way. It would drizzle a little always. It was so much fun, clean and quiet.
    OG: I love driving……. but I dont like to be a passenger 😛 unlike you!

    But from the pictures, it doesn’t look all that fun. Or was it? Traffic. 😛
    OG: it was a first time, so was fun 😛

    • September 15, 2009 8:45 pm

      And if it was fun then next question is, Were there hot babes in some of those cars? Hain? Hain? Hain? 😆
      OG: yes yes yes!!!!! hat mexicano senoritas 😛

  15. thethoughtfultrain permalink
    September 16, 2009 1:49 am

    Oh I love unplanned plans!! ;-P Good pix … 🙂
    OGL hey Thanks!

  16. September 16, 2009 5:11 am

    Gud fun, u had, right ???? Thats what matters !!!

    I too love the road trips without any plans – just drive along for ever. 😆
    OG: 😛 😛 😛 😛 😛 😛 😛 😛

  17. September 16, 2009 5:13 am

    dude you left SFO at 10pm and got to LA at 3am?? how many miles per hour were you driving ??? :roll:…….
    OG: 5 hrs is correct 😛 😛
    I had the same problem while getting back from Phoenix to San Diego. accident. took us more than 15 hrs to reach and we were at 5 mile / hr for a longggggggggggg time.
    OG: ROFL!!!!!!!! 😛 😛 😛

    • September 16, 2009 5:15 am

      ok ok…i did the math while writing that comment and you were doing fine 😉 so i’ll not send the cops after you 😆 …but your Mr. HPU is something huh!!
      OG: hehehehehehehe 😛 yes he is 😛

  18. September 16, 2009 9:04 am

    God, Mr HPU is a classic mallu-man! Getting himself and other along with him into trouble.. lol..
    OG: he is a quintessetial mallu 😛 heheheheheheh and YAY to our spirit

    Man OG, is that really a freeway in America’s richest state?? I dont envy them man! Looks kinda ordinary.. 😦
    OG: dude, the freeways here are awesome/ the I 5 is a interstate one and has only 2 lanes in the country side…. but the free way system is great here

  19. September 16, 2009 3:16 pm

    Aliya, Evideaado? Nammal commentadichaal reply chayyado.

  20. September 16, 2009 3:17 pm

    Aliya, evide aado? Nammal commentiadichaal reply cheyyado. 😆
    OG: cheyyam chechi!!!!!! ennalla busy arinnu 😛 😛

    • September 16, 2009 4:14 pm

      Shari cheta! 😛

      • September 16, 2009 6:32 pm

        *Soli n Crafty sit outside EOG’s house with Placard, yelling*

        REPLY CHEYU ALIYAAAA

        😛 😛 😛
        OG: OG hold a placard which says “CHEYYYTHUUUUUU CHEYYYYTHUUUUUU”

  21. September 17, 2009 5:19 am

    If it were, they would have let you use the other lane 😛

  22. September 17, 2009 8:12 am

    You know what I loved best about your blog, the title – Aram + Aram = Kinnaram. Its one of my favorites and as you can guess, Lalettan is my GOD. I totally love his old comedies, especially his role in the K and K automobile workshop, just thinking about it makes me smile and reading your blog made me smile a lot more. Keep writing and no, I don’t believe any of it is rubbish.

  23. September 18, 2009 4:09 am

    lol!!! Actually a typically college days kind of trip that was 😀

    And by now I have officially declared best laid plans should be ignored 😉

  24. September 18, 2009 12:03 pm

    LOL seems fun to me…a trip so far without plans?? wow isnt that adventorous?
    and y u regretting? ..id be thrilled if i get a chance like tht! wat of he dnt get th car..u did get a ride 🙂

  25. September 19, 2009 4:02 pm

    your roadtrip posts are always heartfelt 🙂 you really love them dont you? 🙂

    I hope you achieve that dream of yours of going on that long trip 🙂 the one where the inspiration is Che Guevara 😀
    OG: YAY!!!!!!!!!!!! indy you are back!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    the trip is planned for december

  26. September 20, 2009 9:03 am

    u and road trips that go uneventful??? c’mon stop having wishful thinking!!
    ok except for the one where u went driving alone and nothing actually happened… that was an exception to the rule 😛 😛
    OG: ROFL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! yeah………. i know 😛 😛 😛
    anyway good u caught a…er… lonngg glimpse of traffic in the inter-state freeway… 😛 😛
    and LOL @ Mr HPU sleeping thru the whole journey!! 😀 smart guy!!
    OG: he is 😛 😛 😛 :Pand yes, traffic jam was i nteresting 😛

  27. September 21, 2009 8:20 am

    Wow, OG! That was one road trip! But tell me one thing, your friend Mr HPU could not find one decent car to buy in San Fransisco? Is there a drought in the used car market there! 330 miles to buy a car! 🙂 He seems to be one extremely cool guy.

    We did this total last minute trip to San Deigo once. A bunch of us decided at the very last minute. We drove off and had almost the same experience getting back – just that we had to go slow because of the heavy heavy fog – we could not see the car ahead of us.

  28. October 4, 2009 9:29 pm

    Uneventful road trip is not like you at all! no cop stopped you ? No girl asked for hitch hike?

    No fights with the bikers gang?

Leave a Reply

