Skip to content

Onam Sadya in Los Angeles!

August 30, 2009

12:31 AM, 30th August 2009:

Onam, the great mallu festival falls on Sept 2rd 2009. But for me personally, Onam was today. It is because I had the most delicious Onam sadya today thanks to KALA (Kerala association of Los Angeles).

It all started with a single thought. My friend Mr. TD, wanted to do something this weekend so I told him that since we have no other plans, we might as well visit dear old Los Angeles.

And so, on Friday evening after office, both of us started on the 300 mile trip which we ultimately finished at 11 PM.

When we were about to enter LA, when we could see the bright lights of the San Fernando Valley, I told Mr. TD, “Salae, abhi pura aag laga denge”.

And those words were so true coz this weekend; LA has been battling wild fires. This Saturday morning, LA was like a furnace with the smoke/ash all over town. I even took a couple of pics of the fires which raged on the other side of the mountains.
DSC00020
DSC00022

This Saturday was also special to me, because I had the great Onam feast. Went for it with my cousin brother and we had a blast. The payasam was heavenly!!!!!
2009-08-29 17.06.56

Tomorrow, after lunch, it is back to San Francisco, but yes, this weekend has been special!!
Really sleepy now!

43 Comments leave one →
  1. August 30, 2009 9:00 am

    Glad u had a good time! 🙂
    OG: Thanks!!!!!!

  2. August 30, 2009 9:23 am

    Happy Onam!!! Did u have 12 dosas?
    OG: same to you Bones…… no no no…. we dont get dosas in onam sadyas…….. wonly rice P 😛

    • August 30, 2009 6:26 pm

      Bones, Dosa is a breakfast dish and not a part of any celebration. Only typical Kerala dishes are cooked on Onam. Dosa and Idli are not even typical Kerala dishes. It is a gift from Udipis.

  3. August 30, 2009 10:18 am

    Oh Now you are making me so jealous!!!! The nearest Onasadya I can find is 2.5 hours drive from here 😦
    OG: well, I drove for 5 hrs to reach LA……. 😛 😛 😛 😛 where there is a will, there is a way 😛

    • August 31, 2009 10:58 am

      OG, success ! I spent whole of yesterday googling around and found that there is an Onam celebration very close by!!!! Right here! and if that is not enough , there is another one in a neighbouring town – some 15 mins away 🙂 Can’t tell you how excited I am! Your post and that pic, goaded me into doing some heavy searching 🙂
      OG: great!!!!!!!!!!! smithus!!!!!!!1 absolutely fantastic!!!!!!

      • August 31, 2009 5:22 pm

        do some more research smithus…. if i ever am in the UK, i know where to head when i need a sadya 😀 😀
        OG: hehehehehehehehehehe

        • September 1, 2009 9:10 am

          Sure Ash – I now know where to look for sadyas 🙂

  4. August 30, 2009 11:11 am

    HAPPY ONAM aliya!
    OG: Same to you aliyaaa!!!
    Nice to see that Malayalees stay together and always remember this festival wherever they are in this world. Thats the spirit of being a mallu 😉 Nice to hear you had a cool time amidst all the fire and smoke.
    OG: yo!!! it was really crowded…. with so many people in mundus and white saris 😛

  5. thethoughtfultrain permalink
    August 30, 2009 11:25 am

    Wow!! Looks yummy!! 🙂 Got to find a KANJ out here! 😉
    OG: I am sure that you will haveone there 😛

  6. August 30, 2009 1:20 pm

    Happy Onam machi.. 🙂
    OG: same to you machu!!!
    have a blast there 🙂

    payasam is heavenly… cool 🙂
    OG: hehehehehehe 😛 yo…….

  7. craftyshines permalink
    August 30, 2009 3:23 pm

    “Salae, abhi pura aag laga denge”.

    😆 sooper! Yeah, the pics have come awesome EOG!
    OG: heheheheheheheheheheh 😛 it really was hot!!!!!!! 😛
    Ona Sadya!!! 😀 😀 😀

    Oooh! I can seee…. Injimm puli!!!! 😀 😀

    I think that’s the only thing I like! 😛 I am a faltu wasted mallu…. No taste for southie food… but yes…payasam!!!!!!! AHA!!!!
    OG: you need to appreciate the finer taste of mallu cuisine 😛 hehehehehehehehe
    The diff here must have been that you did not get Sambar served in a steel bucket! Eh??
    OG: no no no, sambar still came in a steel bucket 😛 a mallu cannot change his spots 😛
    That big heap of rice, in which u make a depression, waiting for the guy with sambar to come along!!!

    I love the way they serve in Kerela… u know… we all sit in a line, hardly any distance between the next banana leaf.. and they pour sambar in a steady stream over everybody’s banana leaf, at one go, walking fast!!!!!
    OG: hehehehehehehe 😛 yeah, and I love it 😛
    And eating (licking / slurping) payasam from the banana leaf is another art by itself!!! I always embarrass my folks coz it runs down my palm , wrist and I am happily licking payasam off my arm n wrist!!!! and they tell me, “maddi mole, maddi payasam, ini kai kazhugeeya maddi!” 😆 :mrgreen:

    Translation: “Enough kid, enough of payasam, just go wash ur hands now!” 😛

    But wasting payasam is a crime!!!! My fav is Adapradamam!!
    OGL OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!, it is my fav as well……… and that is what we had yesterday!!!!!!!!

    Uperi, sharkara vertti, elisheri, avial, pappadam, geeeeeeeee 😀 😀
    I raid the fried stuff and pass on the vegetables to my mom! 😛
    EOG!!!!! Sigh! We have ona sadya that mom makes here. She has already made and bottled the injimm puli.

    I realllllllllllllly wish u cud have shared it with me….. i told u na, my mom will happily exchange me for someone who will appreciate her ona sadya! 😛
    OG: yeah yeah……… 😛 I might just land up there for the next onam 😛
    I will think of u when I sit to eat it EOG! Am not a typical mallu, and not so connected with the culture…but u know, u and Soli and many other bloggers, I think I am learning more than my family and relatives cud have taught me / told me / helped me appreciate it!!!
    OG: and we will continue to teach you more in future 😛 err……. Soli will……… :mrgreen:
    Ona Ashamshagal to u and ur family EOG!

    {{{{{{{{{{{{{{{Festive Hugs}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}
    OG: same to you and hugs as well!!!!!!!!

    • August 30, 2009 3:53 pm

      /*“maddi mole, maddi payasam, ini kai kazhugeeya maddi!”

      Translation: “Enough kid, enough of payasam, just go wash ur hands now!” */

      LOL Crafty 😆

      are you translating it for OG??? 😛 😛
      OG: hehehehehehehehehe 😛 I also read crafties answer….. her noble attempt to let others know 😛

      • craftyshines permalink
        August 30, 2009 4:26 pm

        NO KANAGU!!!!! 🙄

        *lightly pats kanagu on his head”

        EOG knows better malayalam than four craftys put together!!! 😆

        the translation is for benefit of non-mallu’s who ask for translations everytime something in malayalam is said here!
        crafty is a true angel! can’t u tell? u shud know by now…

        EOG, back me up here will u????

        😀 😀 😀

        *crafty knows EOG will agree and then add a dozen tongue smileys to nullify the effect*
        👿 😆

        OG: 😛 😛 😛 😛 😛 😛 😛 😛 😛 😛 😛 what a noble attempt…………..:P so that others can understand 😛

    • August 31, 2009 11:00 am

      Crafty, I make a mean pal payasam – come over if you want some 🙂
      OG: we want parcel!!!!!!!

      • August 31, 2009 1:18 pm

        KUMBAKARAN is coming to ur house Smithu!!!!!!

        Pal Payasam!!!! u announced it in public domain!!!!!

        😀

        @ EOG: don;t just stand there EOG!! pack ur lungis!!! we have to go to Smithu’s house!!!!! :mrgreen:
        OG: yes yes, lungis packed!!!!!!!!!!!

        • Swaram permalink
          August 31, 2009 4:39 pm

          Hey! Hw can Kumbakaran go without this Bakasur 😛

          Me too cmg! Waitttttttttttttttt!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

        • craftyshines permalink
          August 31, 2009 5:20 pm

          Okay!!! so its EOG, Bakasur and Kumbakaran going to Smithu’s house!!!
          what a sight we will be standing at Smithu’s front door… drooling

          :mrgreen: 😆
          OG: ROFL 😛 😛 😛 😛 😛

  8. chewmysambhar permalink
    August 30, 2009 3:43 pm

    Happy Onam Ajith:) Infact I thought of sending you a ‘wish’ mail:D

    Have loads of fun:):)
    OG: Thanku Thanku!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 😛 same to you!!!!!!!! dont miss the sadya!!!!!!! 😛

  9. August 30, 2009 4:52 pm

    Hmm…fire in the mountain run run run 😛
    OG: 😛 😛 😛 😛 😛

  10. August 30, 2009 5:25 pm

    Wowwwwwwww!!!!!!!! YUM!!!!!!!!

    OG, I actually thot u made all the dishes and hv put up a post of the recipes in true OG ishytle 😉 😉 Okie, I but I really really dint c LA in the title 😉
    ‘Sadya’ is all that matters na 😛
    OG: heheheheheheheh 😛 yes sadya is all that matters 😛

  11. August 30, 2009 6:23 pm

    Now I miss Denver. 🙂 All my Malayali friends are asking us to join them for the celebrations there.
    OG: 😛 😛 😛 😛 I am sure that you will make a great sadya yourself 😛
    Though I love this place, the disadvantage of living in a small town is that you miss Indian festivities.
    OG: 😛 😛 😛
    Onam is on 2nd. Since we postponed our trip, I am going to put athapoo in front of our house but the feast is going to be on a weekend as weekdays are hectic. 🙂
    OG: hmmmmm, we wanna see photos!!!!!!!
    Onaashamsakal! Do you celebrate Onam too in India, Ajit? Or is the connection because of CET?
    OG: we celebrate mallu festivals at home……. I celebrate every festivals which has food involved 😛

  12. August 30, 2009 6:31 pm

    IRRELEVANT!!!!!

    i went to the newspaper stand to get my August issue of Tinkle (so late, can’t send any winning contest entries 😛 )
    and what do i see that reminds me of u???

    Some south magazine with Cover photu of 3sha!!!!

    :mrgreen: 😀 😀 😀

    OG: 😛 😛 😛 😛 aint she the greatest!!!!!!

    • August 31, 2009 5:08 am

      Crafty, how come you have given a heading – Irrelvant this time?! 😀

      :mrgreen:

      we need to put up the alert saying – Relevant Comment na?!!! 😀 😀 😛 😛

      • August 31, 2009 1:20 pm

        ROFL Pixu!!!

        u are right!!! what was i thinking! wait! i wasn;t thinking!! 😛

        @ EOG: kindly overlookmy kindness of telling u about the Irrelevant comment…. it will not become a habit! don’t be used to it!!
        😆 😆 😆
        OG: yokaysssssssssss 😛 if you say soo!!!!!

  13. August 30, 2009 6:58 pm

    Happy Onam 🙂

    And so good that you could enjoy it there 🙂
    OG: same to you!!!!!! and thanks!

  14. August 31, 2009 5:09 am

    oh yum!

    The dishes look lovely! delicious! 🙂 🙂

    the drive is so totally worth it, just for the food!
    OG: I so agree!!!!
    Happy Onam OG! 🙂 🙂
    OG: same to you as well!!!!!

  15. August 31, 2009 9:41 am

    Happy Onam in advance dude… !!
    OG: same to you dude!!!!!!!!

  16. August 31, 2009 10:20 am

    Onam ki shubh kamnayein !
    OG: yo to you as well!!!!!!!!

  17. Happy Kitten permalink
    August 31, 2009 10:30 am

    Happy Onam to one and all and specially to you Ajit for that lovely feast.. even if not on a proper banana leaf :)..
    OG: teehee 😛 you caught that fake banana leaf 😛 😛 😛
    Sept 2 being a working day, our Onam lunch has to wait until we get home after 3 PM.. but have already prepared the ingi curry and will be preparing the rest over the coming days…. can’t think of an Onam without a proper sadhya…nd besides even this year there are no hotels during the day due to Ramadhan…
    OG: great!!!!!!!! 😛 have a great onam and a great year!!!!!!

  18. anishthomas permalink
    August 31, 2009 1:17 pm

    Hey happy onam aliya 🙂 …gud 2 hear u had a nice celebration over there too 🙂
    OG: same to you machu!!!!!!!

  19. August 31, 2009 2:08 pm

    Happy Onam aliyaaa !!! That last snap made enough water in my mouth for titanic to sink again 😀 😀 😀
    OG: yo aliya!!!!!! same to you!!!!

    • craftyshines permalink
      August 31, 2009 5:24 pm

      OMG!!!!!!!!!!

      Vimmuuu!!!! Titanic???? u said Titanic!!!! i just used Titanic for u in my post!!! 😛 😛 😛

      hugs!!!

      • August 31, 2009 5:34 pm

        LOL!!! so THIS is that famous titanic comment of urs eh? lol and it got repated in the CBT Part 6 (a)…! 😀 😀

  20. August 31, 2009 5:33 pm

    Happy Onam to u too!! 😀 so had an awesome weekend, eh?
    glad to know u enjoyed ur sadya. me too enjoyed it in advance…! (but from kerala instead 😛 )
    OG: yeah yeah………. you dont have to keep telling us you know 😛 😛 😛 and yeah, happy onam!!!!!!!!!!

  21. September 1, 2009 4:41 am

    Hey yaar looks yummy…Happy onam. Today is onnanam onam…Even I wish i could cook some sadya with some good aviyal and sambar….without missing ginger achar and bananan chipps….ahh what not..
    By the way where are you from kerala? I am from TVM
    Aryan’s Mom
    OG: happy onam!!!!! 😛 have a great onam and a great year!!!!
    I am actually from chennai, but I have lived a lot in Cochin and TVM……….. 😛 did my engg. from CET, TVM

  22. September 1, 2009 6:14 am

    Happy Onam in Advance OG

  23. September 1, 2009 6:39 pm

    Happy Onam 😀 😀 Not in advance 😉

    That looks yummy!! 😀

  24. anrosh permalink
    September 2, 2009 2:52 pm

    so you guys just walked in to eat this ? vow! were the banana leaves real or fake?

    i have never eaten a sadya… so wanted to find out.

  25. Just call me 'A' permalink
    September 3, 2009 4:13 am

    Happy Onam, OG….I was away from the blog world for a while and it took time getting here. good to know you had your piece of fun and food during this special time. The food looks so heavenly.

  26. September 8, 2009 6:46 am

    Onam is really special isn’t it….especially when we are so faaar away from home:-))!!!!

    Tho belated please accept my wishes too….HAPPY ONAM!!!!!!

  27. September 19, 2009 3:37 pm

    A belated Happy Onam OG 😀 😀
    OG: same to you indy!!!!!!!!!
    and err I can see you were upto your usual tricks :D:D

    eating 😛 😛
    OG: yes, very much so!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    SO did they run out of any foodstuff while you were there? :mrgreen:
    bhagooo!!! 😛 😛 😛
    OG: ROFL!!!!!!!!!!! 😛 😛 I tried my best, but they were up to the challenge 😛 😛

Leave a Reply

