Skip to content

Phaseolus Vulgaris!!!!!

August 26, 2009

It took me all of 2 minutes to understand more about the inscrutable rascal commonly known as “Phaseolus vulgaris”, and even more commonly known as “Rajma”. :mrgreen:

It all started when I had the sudden urge to have some “Rajma” curry about three days back. So I set about cutting the onions and the tomatoes when my guru (of north Indian cuisine) Mr. SK asked me what I was doing.

 “I am going to make some Rajma for dinner”, I replied nonchalantly.

You doofus, do you know that you need to soak the Rajma overnight in water to make it edible?” he asked with a grin.

I did a double take and expressed my ignorance when it came to this specimen.

He then continued in the same flow, “Do you know that you need to pressure cook it for 4 whistles to make it eatable”?

I then did a quarto-take and thanked him for the enlightenment and so like a dutiful student, I did the needful. The only problem was that I had to wait for another 24 hours before I could have my Rajma curry.

I then spent the next day in office dreaming about the Rajma! 😛

This “bean” is a drunkard I tell you. It drinks in so much water, and makes a person wait for so long. The other vegetables are so easy to cook. All you need to do is cut them, and put them in the frying pan. They are not arrogant like this Rajma.

Anyways, so the next evening, I pressure cooked the Rajma.

press

Cut the vegetables.

veg

And in my tried and tested bachelor formula, made the Rajma curry!!!! It was great I tell you!!!!!

rajma

And for all you detractors who cannot (and will not 😛 ) believe that I make good food; I had to take an extra photo this time. After 4 guys went thru the curry, all that remained was this:

remaining

PS: No reference to Ms. Z now please!!!! 😛

55 Comments leave one →
  1. August 26, 2009 6:43 am

    First! 😛
    OG: 😛 😛 😛 😛 YAY!

  2. August 26, 2009 6:48 am

    wow! 🙂 🙂
    your recipe looks simple OG!
    OG: my recipe is always simple 😛 well i have only a single recipe to make everything 😛
    Me loves Rajma too! It goes great with Rice, Poori, chapathis, rotis.. yum!
    Now, I feel like preparing Rajma!!! 😀
    OG: 😛 😛 😛 😛 best of luck 😛

  3. August 26, 2009 6:50 am

    dunno why i hate rajma..probably mommy made it in a bad way when i was a kid or something,but i’d just run off if my amma told we r going to have rajma.
    OG: 😛 😛 hmm, I love rajma!!!!!!!!!!! 😛
    the recipe looks good and the gravy slurpy…wud have had it without the rajmas 🙂
    OG: yo man……….. you are welcome…..any time 😛

  4. August 26, 2009 7:05 am

    u are getting domesticated by day…
    OG: yeah yeah 😛 I know 😛

  5. August 26, 2009 7:20 am

    OG, you rock..

    Before it was Sambhar, now Rajma! Adipoliiiiiiiiiiiiiiii…. 🙂
    OG: Thanku Thanku!!!!!!

  6. craftyshines permalink
    August 26, 2009 7:25 am

    i have an IMPORTANT question EOG…

    those chopped chillies…. how many chillies did u chop????
    OG: ROFL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 😛 5 small ones 😛 😛
    after mysterious disapperance of chillies from ur last tomato rice recipe… the worry nags me!

    :mrgreen:
    OG: ROFL 😛 I did not waste any this time madam 😛 😛 😛

    • August 26, 2009 10:35 am

      LOL, I didnt read this comment before publishing mine !!! Even you were worried about the chillies, huh?? 😀 😀 😀

      *vimmuuu and crafty are getting together once more to find out the mystery behind the missing chillies*
      OG: hahahahahahahahaha 😛 😛 😛

      • August 26, 2009 1:04 pm

        *vimmuuu and crafty roaming lurking around in EOG’s kitchen, dressed in long black overcoats with collars raised, and big sunglasses*
        OG: than tadan tadatadatadahnnnnnnnnnnn 😛
        EOG is busy playing tennis…

        while in search of missing chillies, they also raid the fridge for goodies! 😛
        OG: ROFL 😛 too much I say !!!!!!!!

  7. August 26, 2009 7:26 am

    Rajma is a vegetable?
    OG: Not exactly a vegetable…. but a bean 😛
    Btw saw this song ?
    If not a Ms.z then why not Ms.X?

    *I don’t like this song…sucks , but am listening to it right now 😛
    OG: she looks…….err…….. 😛 different in this song……… 😛 yeah, I actually liked the song 😛

  8. August 26, 2009 8:23 am

    I had written a post long ago about this curry..;-P
    http://bachelor-ambrosia.blogspot.com/2009/03/rajma-aur-sherry.html
    OG: will read it up!!!!!!!!! 😛

  9. August 26, 2009 8:31 am

    Recipes one after the other!!
    OG..seriously i am getting doubts that u are searching for Miss.Z now..
    OG: did you not read the warning provided above????? :mrgreen:

  10. August 26, 2009 8:39 am

    I love rajma but since my husband and daughter don’t eat it, I can’t cook it 😦 It looks yummy…Keep it up, OG, keep it up…
    OG: yes yes 😛 will keep it up!!!!!

  11. August 26, 2009 9:08 am

    Yum! N u did post this @ our lunch time 😛

    Me gonna take the remaining stuff of the screen nw 😉 Well, that will get u more complements na 😉 NOTHING remained!!!!!!!!
    OG: hehehehehehehehehe 😛 Thanku Thanku 😛 I finished up the rest for next day lunch 😛

  12. Pal permalink
    August 26, 2009 9:08 am

    Hey very good OG!! Very impressed 🙂
    You know what ? You must publish a series of ‘Cooking for Bachelors’! And send me my share of the royalty.
    OG: Thanks!!!!!!! share of food maybe not royalty 😛 😛 😛

  13. Happy Kitten permalink
    August 26, 2009 10:03 am

    Rajma is great.. nd looks like u made it well too.. the empty vessel stands witness..

    it has goodness too.
    OG: thanku Thanku!!

  14. August 26, 2009 10:19 am

    Start your own cookery show man !
    OG: 😛 😛 😛 😛 😛

  15. August 26, 2009 10:33 am

    I then spent the next day in office dreaming about the Rajma! now is that Rajma or our dear old RAJAMMA !!!! 😉
    OG: ROFL 😛 😛 wonly rajma 😛
    Please, is that what comes out of 5 chillies ???? thats like only the ends of the chillies which we normally throw 😀 😀 😀
    OG: are you the expect or it is me 😛 😛
    and the last photo was the best. Your roomies and you ate everything except the rajma !!! 😀 😀 😀
    OG: ROFL 😛 that was all that remained…….. I had put in a lot of rajma………

    • August 26, 2009 10:45 am

      ROFLMAO ate every thing but the rajma !!!!!

      you evil man… !!!

    • August 26, 2009 12:07 pm

      ROFL 😀

    • August 26, 2009 1:06 pm

      RAJAMMA!!!!!
      EOG!!!! who is this Rajamma? 😛 😛
      OG: Vimmuuu’s devious creation 😛
      LOL!!! roomies ate everything but rajma!!!!!!!! 😆 😆

      EOG! i am laughing, but still think u cook well! 😛
      don;t take my loling face seriously! 😀 😀
      OG: ROFL 😛 you already told me that it looks great 😛 😛 remember 😛

      • August 26, 2009 2:27 pm

        ROFLMAO!!! 😆
        rajamma! ate everything but rajma! kashtam! 😛 😛

      • August 26, 2009 7:28 pm

        Rajamma is OG’s Ms. Z. 😆
        OG:AYEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!! 😛

        • August 27, 2009 3:57 am

          Wow! Really?!! 😀
          New Ms. Z eh?! sorry! Rajamma!! lolz!
          OG: laugh at my expense 😛

        • August 27, 2009 5:46 am

          Ayeeeeee? Ha..ha..ha..

          You said don’t use Ms. Z so from now on it is Rajamma.
          OG: 😛 😛 now vimmuuu has made it official 😛 😛 😛 in his new post 😛

    • August 26, 2009 2:26 pm

      A guy who can not boil water points fingers at others!! Tchh! Tcch!!!
      OG: hear hear!!!!!!!!!!! 😛 I am supporting you on this one 😛 😛

      • August 26, 2009 2:27 pm

        u here too??? 😀 😀 but of course!
        OG: I know 😛 😛

  16. August 26, 2009 10:39 am

    OG, You do cook from scratch! I just use canned Rajma these days – I avoid using a pressure cooker as much as possible – one more big utensil to wash, you see 🙂 And with canned ones- you can make them whenever you feel like 🙂
    OG: This was the first Time I ever cooked rajma………. 😛 canned ones worth trying 😛
    Makes me want to eat some now 😦 and as I can see that your dish has been totally gobbled up – no hope of asking you to send some over either 😦
    OG: hehehehehehehe 😛 we have a strong diet 😛
    You should seriously start a cookery show, Cooking with OG. Easy, delicious food, made in a jiffy 🙂 See – I’ve even given you a tag line 🙂

    How I wish you lived close by – I would have outsourced some of my cooking over to you 😦
    OG: ROFL 😛 😛 outsourcing the cooking……… it will cost you 40 dollars per hour 😛 😛 😛 😛
    and yes, cookery show will never work out 😛

    • August 27, 2009 11:23 am

      40 dollasr per hour! You are one expensive cook!!!!!
      OG: hehehehehehehehe 😛 hey call me “chef” :mrgreen:

  17. August 26, 2009 11:24 am

    Rajmah looks yummmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm!!
    OG: Thanku Thanku

  18. chewmysambhar permalink
    August 26, 2009 1:02 pm

    What is Rajma 😦 Never heard of it before!
    OG: OMG!!!!!!!! you should try it gal………….. you are missing out something………… please!!!!!!!!
    Whatever it is, I bet you are gaining one upper hand in cooking. Nice wonly:P
    Start ‘discovering’ new recipes too:P
    OG: Yessu yessu 😛

  19. August 26, 2009 1:06 pm

    OMG what a coincidence. I made rajma for dinner last night! It looks delicious OG. You can use the canned red kidney beans if you forget to soak the beans, and are desperate to have rajma!
    OG: 😛 same pinch 😛 😛 😛 yes, canned beans, I should also probably stock up now

  20. August 26, 2009 2:28 pm

    LOL! u shud have titled this: “The Arrogant yet Dashing Rajma” 😛 😛

    it looks damn good tho… i’ll take ur word for it when u say it was delish!
    and these days u seem to be seriously on a cooking spree! whts up dude? 😉
    (P.S.: I did NOT mention ..er… u-know-who anywhere) * me looks innocent *
    OG: innocent looks, but OG will not be deceived 😛 😛 😛
    title is good 😛 but I wanted people to be confused by seeing title 😛

  21. August 26, 2009 2:29 pm

    Do u know you can out Baking Soda (teaspoon) when boiling the Rajma it quickens the process 🙂
    OG: quickens what process??? did not get it
    lol @ the last photo, smart man I say!!! 😀 but yes the Rajma looks yummy!!! It is one of my fav dish!! Rajma Chawal, my mouth is watering!!!
    OG: 😛 😛 😛 😛 😛 hehhehehehehehehe thanku thanku

    • August 26, 2009 7:29 pm

      Rajma-Chawal is my fav. too. That is what I told OGees when he told me that he prepared this for dinner.
      OG: 😛 😛 😛 😛 😛 😛

  22. August 26, 2009 5:58 pm

    Machi this is seriously great stuff… 🙂 it looks yummy 🙂
    when we meet in chennai… pls prepare food by yourself machi as a treat…
    i will tell to everybody its good, however it is 😛 😛
    OG: When I come to chennai…. i will only eat … no cooking 😛

  23. August 26, 2009 7:25 pm

    No Ms. Z? Now what will I comment on? 😦

    Hmmm…
    Hmmm…
    Hmmm…

    😆

    You know now Ms. Z is not too far. 😆
    OG: you devil…………… :mrgreen: .. my turn to use this term 😛

  24. August 26, 2009 7:26 pm

    But seriously! your roommates eat everything? I mean even the stuff you cook up? 😛
    OG: heheheheheheheeh 😛 the last photo proves that I cook great food 😛

  25. craftyshines permalink
    August 26, 2009 8:19 pm

    First of all – Soooper Title!!!! Phaseolus Vulgaris!
    AHAHAH! 😛
    OG: Thanku Thanku!!!!!!!!!!
    Double take and quarto-take??? 😆
    so I take it ur roomies don’t watch too much tv, they simbly make conversation with u!!! 😛 😛 😛
    OG: we dont have TV at home :mrgreen:
    This “bean” is a drunkard I tell you. It drinks in so much water, and makes a person wait for so long. The other vegetables are so easy to cook. All you need to do is cut them, and put them in the frying pan. They are not arrogant like this Rajma.

    Wah EOG!!!! Only u cud have given a character to Phaseolus Vulgaris! Arrogant indeed!!! next time choose something more humble! Like instant noodles??? Mostest humble to cook! 😀
    OG: ROFL!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 😛 instant noodles 😛 yeah 😛 good idea
    I see that this time u have taken pains to keep the tornado of ur cooking at bay and clicked some very neat snaps!!! No photoshop!!! Really EOG! It’s time for cooking blog!!! Now u will be EOC – Extra Ordinary Chef! 😀 😀
    OG: I know……… I cleaned the cooking range, before cooking 😛
    Bubbling hot Rajma!!! Sooper! 😀

    OHO! 4 guys cleaned that whole saucepan full of Rajma!!! 😀 😀
    Oh boy… guess ur roomies were really hungry eh? :mrgreen:
    OG: no, they were actually not…. but the taste lured them into eating it 😛
    That really look syummy EOG! Sambhar I will give a miss, but ur Rajma me wud love to try!!!! 😀

    {{{{{{{{{{{{{hugs}}}}}}}}}}}
    OG: hugs back to you!!!!!!!!!!!
    Since I am most obedient person there ever was born, I will not talk of how Ms. Z must be sighing and smiling, dreaming of a rainy day when EOG will make bubbling piping hot Rajma for her… nor will I mention that you are becoming a prized bachelor, post after post…. And I will so totally not wish u best of luck about the barrage of girls who will chase you with varmala in their hands!!
    OG: ROFL!!!!!!!!!!!!!! there you guys go again 😛 come on gals…………Why cant a man enjoy his single status 😛 😛 😛
    Oh no! Crafty has zipped her lips!!!!

    :mrgreen:
    OG: : 😛 😛 😛 😛 😛

  26. August 27, 2009 4:30 am

    😆 That was some effort but looked so good!
    OG: ROFL 😛 Thanks!!!!!!!!! 😛
    Vimmuuu mentioned Ms. z as Rajamma 😉 now i know!! 🙄 😀
    OG: heheheheheheh 😛 yeah that imaginary gal is rajamma 😛

  27. August 27, 2009 4:36 am

    LOL OG but did you add any turmeric? It should look more red/orange
    OG: yeah I did………. actually I added quite a lot 😛 😛 my hand slipped 😛

    We too had rajma yesterday 🙂 I saw Vimmuuu (double m, triple u) thinks your newest err.. interest is Rajamma 🙂 We also add potato or turnip in it 🙂
    OG: ROFL 😛 😛 😛 😛 yeah rajamma it is 😉 and yes, potatoes is a good choice 😛

  28. August 27, 2009 5:50 am

    Rajamma :p :p guess youll introduce numerology and request for a name change atleast .LOL
    OG: you too!!!!!!!!!!! 😛 😛 😛 😛

  29. August 27, 2009 11:28 am

    Just came to congratulate you on meeting Rajamma 🙂 So when are you following Vimmuuu’s footsteps and getting married?
    OG: Never 😛 😛 😛

  30. August 27, 2009 11:56 am

    Tht looks delicious! 🙂
    OG: Hey thanks!

  31. August 27, 2009 6:15 pm

    Rajamma is so lucky! Can you come over to my place? We need a cook desperately 😛
    OG: 4000 dollars a month salary…… agree??? I will start work tom 😛

  32. thethoughtfultrain permalink
    August 28, 2009 4:45 pm

    Thanks to you, cooking will never be the same again!! blushing onions, drunk arrogant rajma, what next?? LOL!!

    🙂
    OG: what next??? I have no idea 😛

  33. August 29, 2009 6:46 am

    Rajamma It reminds me of the movie I saw two days back, Prakash Raj’s Abhiyum Naanum where he says Rajamma aaru 😛

    OG by the look of the Rajamma, it looks yummy and most importantly the kitchen looks clean 🙂 .
    OG: Thanku Thanku!!!!!!!!!
    @vimmu I came here from your post.. Here I am this is me 🙂 there is no where else blogosphere I would rather be 😛

  34. August 29, 2009 2:05 pm

    Hi nice blog….i add u in my bolg and can u add me in your blogroll

  35. August 29, 2009 2:32 pm

    ummm…..alu ippum cookingil valiya expert ayelo 😀 ….itz high time to start ‘OG’s taste bud’ blog or something like that :)….seriously,it will be useful for a lot of ‘useless’ bachelors like us…….
    OGL Sheri saar!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 😛 😛 😛 😛

  36. September 19, 2009 3:45 pm

    PS: No reference to Ms. Z now please!!!!

    ah! OG! OG! OG!! now why did you have to go and write that PS at the end? 😀

    NOW I HAVE to refer to Ms Z 😀
    it is a moral obligation by now 😀 😀
    OG: hehehehehehehehehehehe 😛 you devil!!!!!!!!!!!
    the rajma looks yummy! 😀
    are you sure you didnt put it down the drain and then took the pic? 😀 😀
    just a doubt 🙄

    *Indy scampers away to protect her life* 😀 😛
    OG: ROFL!!!!!!!!!!! you are back indy!!!!!! so you can do all the leg pulling you want…………everything will be forgiven for a few days 😛 😛

    • September 19, 2009 9:36 pm

      awwwwwwwww……..really? everything will be forgiven for a few days? 🙄

      *Indy making devilish plans frantically* :mrgreen:
      OG: ROFL!!!!!!!! hehehehehehehehehehe best of luck!

      PS:- I am glad to be back too OG 🙂
      OG: all of us are!!!!!!!!!!

  37. October 1, 2009 3:12 pm

    Hello, it really interesting, thanks

Trackbacks

  1. My first post on cooking !! « V-Lokam
  2. Quintessentially Extraordinary – A Tribute « Crafty Shines

Leave a Reply

