Skip to content

Tennis Tales!

August 25, 2009

In the one and the half months that I have spent in Sunnyvale, I have realized that Tennis is actually a very tough game to master if you have not ever played it ever in your life.

Yes, I have now regularly started playing tennis with my roomies in the hope that I can get fit. I call it “Mission 80” as I need to get back to 80 kgs (from 88 kgs now).

It was room mate Mr. DP who first initiated me into the game and as they say, the rest is history. When I told him that I had no prior experience ever in playing tennis, he assured me that he would teach me everything he knew about the game, the basic nuances of the game etc.

My other roommates also vociferously joined in (as they were one player short) and everyone assured me that they would bring me up to speed in no time.

And so like a hapless guinea pig, I accompanied them to the tennis court about a month back. Every single person looked the part of a professional tennis player (except me) with the proper gear, arm/wrist band and the works, while I went there in my jeans.

The only tennis that I knew till then was the tennis that I had seen on TV. For practice, Mr. SK told me that he would serve to me and so I waited there expecting the ball to zoom up to me at about 100 km/hr. but strangely enough, the ball very gently drifted over the net and very slowly like a “lofted delivery” by a spin bowler floated up to me.

BAMMM!!!!!!

Unfortunately I had used more force than required, and the ball landed in the nearly garden which was outside the tennis court.

At first, I felt sorry for my friends who could not play the fast game but as I played a few more shots, I realized that getting the ball over to the other side at a decent pace was actually a very hard thing to do. Most of my shots which I did not miss were way out or ended up at the net.
tennis
My serve was even better. I tried serving like Sampras; tried serving like Fed, tried serving like Agassi but the ball never ever reached the other “box” correctly. The shots were either too short, or too long.

 It also got really irritating because a small kid was playing like a pro in the nearby court!

But yes,  I have been at it regularly and I can see a remarkable change in my game. It certainly is improving! Thank God for that!

80 kgs………… here I come!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This game is highly addictive……………..

32 Comments leave one →
  1. August 25, 2009 5:21 am

    S

  2. August 25, 2009 5:23 am

    Yahoo! First first first!
    OG: YAY! 😛 you first!!!!!!!

  3. August 25, 2009 5:30 am

    *Sigh* Tennis for sure is addictive 😉 😉 😉

    Me glued to the couch when there is a match ROFL 😆

    No video this time OG???
    OG: hehehehehehehe 😛 I have not followed tennis that much 😛 but now I will :P….
    no video this time 😛 for a change 😛

  4. August 25, 2009 5:32 am

    3 comments of mine n no one here yet! Wow! Me able to get bk to the routine after a 3-day break! Feels gr8 :o:
    OG: hehehehehehehehehehe 😛

  5. August 25, 2009 5:43 am

    2nd 😀
    OG: yes machi!!!

  6. August 25, 2009 5:49 am

    Its great machi… I played tennis during my school days and for a day in training… its one of the toughest game, i can say… as we used to play cricket much… we will try such shots here… but it will never work out… 😆
    its the best exercise also 🙂
    OG: 😛 😛 it is seriously good exercise dude… have been huffing and puffing on the court……. 😛 my backhand is still very weak…………

    • August 25, 2009 6:36 am

      Try double handed backhand machi… its really tough in single hand…
      OG: that is what I have been trying and failing 😛 😛 😛

  7. August 25, 2009 6:15 am

    3rd?!! 😀
    OG: yup!!!!!
    Yea.. very addictive game! Me will be glued to the TV and Couh whenever a match is on, as Swaram says!! 😀 😀
    OG: 😛 😛 😛 !!!!!!!!!
    All the best for achieving the 80kgs!! 😀
    Hope you have great fun all along the way!! 😉
    OG: thanku Thanku!!!!!!!!!!!

  8. August 25, 2009 7:35 am

    It is an adddictive game…

    you just reminded me of the times we used to learn… it needs time a lot of time… before you can actually hit hard shots… serving is tough and returning lobs is also very difficult…
    OG: I know man………. everything was so hard…………… 😛 well, it still is 😛

  9. August 25, 2009 8:46 am

    Your tennis has improved but have you lost any weight?
    OG: now at 88, 😛 actually have reduced a bit…… 😛

  10. August 25, 2009 8:55 am

    Dramatic Comment Alert!!!

    First hitchu’s post on cricket and now u on tennis…

    the world is out to get crafty *puts hand on forehead…dola re song style*
    OG: hehehehehehehehehehehehe 😛 maybe you should join the gang 😛
    i swim thru work to take sneak peek and do a dance or two…. and here u guys are talking of what i know head nor tail of……

    VIMMUUU!!!!!!!! my fellow sports non-enthusiast!!!!! where art thou???

    *crafty sits on wall of EOG’s blog, legs dangling, waiting*

    😛 😛 😛
    OG: ROFL!!!!!!!!!!!! 😛

    Hope u master the game soon EOG! amen!!! me hasn’t even held a tennis racquet in my life…i am lucky i know how to spell it…

    tho i love badminton! waiting for rains to get over, so me n friend can resume play in mornings!! 😀 😀
    OG: badminton is hard……. and is also good for a workout………….

    btw, did u HAVE to put that chart??? that almost made me happy coz i thought it was “one of those famous graphs” ….

    🙄
    OG: 😛 😛 😛 😛 😛

    • August 25, 2009 12:27 pm

      Im here ! Im here.

      *Vimmuuu asks Crafty to move a lill bit so that he can sit on the wall. both sit together and sings songs. and oh yeah, now there are four legs dangling*
      OG: LOL at 4 legs dangling………… 😛 😆

      • craftyshines permalink
        August 25, 2009 5:47 pm

        YAY Vimmuuu!!!!!! 😀 😀

        *singing songs together*

        LOL @ four legs dangling!!!!

        EOG is not able to concentrate on his game of tennis coz a certain two-plaited girl and sooper-voiced guy are on his wall, singing to high heavens!!!

        :mrgreen:
        OG: 😛 😛 OG will never lose concertration…………… 😛

        • August 25, 2009 6:45 pm

          *Crafty and Vimmuuu is now having peanuts and throwing the peanut shells at poor EOG who is trying to master the game*
          OG: dai dai…. mathi 😛

  11. August 25, 2009 9:29 am

    Oh, so now Tennis! You’re really overdoing it now.. Pavam Federer, Nadal, Murray and team… jeevichu pokkotte. 😉
    OG: ROFL!!!!!!!!!!!! 😛 we will try our hand in everything 😛

  12. August 25, 2009 9:58 am

    i have never played tennis myself OG. but i love watching the matches in TV..
    isn’t it very interesting..

    hope u ll lose more weight than u thought of and come back fit with your 6 packs to impress miss.z
    OG: now how did that Ms. Z connection come into this as well………… 😛 😛

  13. August 25, 2009 12:22 pm

    you cook, clean your home, travel, play games, go to pubs, visit your friends; so, when do you actually work ? 😀 😀 😀 😀
    OG: ROFL 😛 I work from 9 to 6 😛 😛 this is called multi tasking…………… 😛
    and for the game, all the best ! (not for you though 😉 )
    OG: yeah yeah 😛

  14. August 25, 2009 12:52 pm

    Will come back to read. You have been tagged.
    http://shilpadesh.wordpress.com/2009/08/25/tag-time-again/
    OG: yo!!!!!!!!!!

  15. August 25, 2009 1:28 pm

    I tried playing tennis was acutely wanting in the patience department. I learnt to serve and return and also had some slow rallies but that quickly got very exhaustive. When you learn from a professional, they teach you how to hold the racquet, how to bounce the ball before serve, how to lift the racquet above your head and all that crap without getting to the actual playing until 5 classes are over…and that killed my spirit.
    OG: hehehehehe 😛 that is exactly why i did not go for training 😛 😛 😛

  16. August 25, 2009 1:40 pm

    In a singsong voice *80 kgs here he comes* 😀
    OG: 😛 😛 😛
    Last time we were in Goa I tried playing TT the only problem was I was playing it like Badminton 😀
    OG: I love TT………. i play it regularly in office…………….. 😛
    Am made for playing carom & Cards!!! For weight loss aerobics it has to be 😀
    OG: hehehehe 😛 aeribics is great as well!!!!!!!
    BTW I thought u cooked ur own food? Still how come you are over weight??? 😀 😀
    OG: hey!!!!!!!!1 i cook great food!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! no comments on my cooking 😛

  17. August 25, 2009 3:16 pm

    I don’t know what it is with people in the US and tennis 🙂 Almost everybody I know there talks of playing tennis regularly – is it something in the air ?
    OG: I have no idea 😛 maybe playing tennis is fashionable 😛
    88 -> 80 kgs! I need to start playing tennis!
    OG: heheheheh are you 88 kgs as well!!!!!!!!!!! :mrgreen:
    That chart! OG – you have a statistician’s brain! Every piece of data is anaylsed so well!
    OG: yo yo!!!!
    Next time, get a friend of yours to take a video of yours while you play 🙂
    OG: hehehehehehe 😛 I dont want you guys to know my true std of playing 😛
    Let me know if you do lose those 8 kgs – I will start playing it then – no point investing hours if it proves useles, you see 😉
    OG: wokay wokay 😛 will let you know 😛

    • August 25, 2009 10:48 pm

      Smitha, it is also an Indian thing at least where I grew up. We had tennis clubs in our school and camps and it was a regular sports. The school also had almost all kids from defence background so may be that’s why.
      OG: I have never played tennis in india 😛

      • August 28, 2009 6:07 am

        yes, Sols me too !!..all our schools had it as a compulsory sport… (I was bad at it 😀 )
        I loved tennis as a kid..and grew up with it too….
        OG: 😛 😛 😛 😛 😛 😛

      • August 28, 2009 2:34 pm

        Oh! We had everything but tennis in school 😦 Yes, it was part of clubs. But all my friends who are in the US – seem to have taken to it in a big way. Here it is not so common – people prefer football to tennis.

  18. August 25, 2009 8:02 pm

    EOG! i had o tell u this but forgot!
    i did it!!! like in ur nightclub disaster post, u spoke of entering in a grand way..with a suitable theme!!!

    i did that! i had to report to work early! i woke up late! but as i entered lift, i was smug, coz i made it in record time!!!!!

    the theme playing was Pink Panther!!! 😛
    OGL ROFL!!!!!!!!!!!11 no no no …. you should only have theme music of south indian films…….. 😛 only those will work 😛
    and i signed the muster, walked in, theme still playing in mind….
    and my colleague looks at me, grins and says “are u wearing ur bedroom slippers”

    😥

    Izzzat ka falooda!!! EOG! so much for theme n grand entry…..
    OG: seriously…………. falooda ho gaya 😛 😛 😛
    will try again tomm…
    OG: pray to rajnikant………… 😛 things will work out fine 😛

    • August 25, 2009 8:06 pm

      i am doing this bedroom slippers fiasco second time… once at earlier office too…sheesh! of all days, it had to be on the day i had a theme playing in mind…

      i wanted pink panther…. i made it mr bean 😆
      OG: 😆 you mean Ms Bean 😛

  19. August 25, 2009 10:44 pm

    You are just building your marriage resume online. Aren’t you, OG? 😀 Cooking, cleaning, shopping, partying, now getting in shape as well.
    OG: why is everyone so interested in getting me married off 😛
    Love the game. In school I was a regular in our Tennis and Badminton club. Nowadays reduced but still play whenever we can. I was in Team Seles club. 😀 We were against Grafs.
    OG: 😛 😛 😛 😛 I have never touched a tennis “bat” till now in my life 😛
    Pete Sampras………drool!

    80 kg is your ideal weight? So just 8 to go. I am sure that you will achieve in no time. It is a great feeling to be back to your desired weight. I am now. 🙂

    OG: I know…….. hell bent on getting there……….. but seriously need to lose stomach fat 😛

  20. August 26, 2009 10:50 am

    ha ha ha!!

    Reminds me of my playing cricket or not playing it .. whatever 😛

Leave a Reply

