Skip to content

Another NightClub Disaster!!

August 20, 2009

Note: Please watch the videos! πŸ˜›

Time, one of the few fundamental entities in life seems to be galloping ahead for me. Last Friday, I settled down to sleep at 2 in the night thinking that I would enjoy my weekend and laze around doing nothing, but on the contrary, it flew past me.

I was woken up atΒ One in the afternoon (Saturday) by my roommate Mr. SK who wanted to know if I would be free to visit one the best nightclubs in San Francisco. In a moment of weakness, I said β€œYes” and β€œThanks”!!!

β€œYes” to go to the nightclub and β€œThanks” because it was lunch time and he had woken me up at the correct time. Soon after (having my lunch), I settled down to sleep once again for my Saturday Siesta. And thus by the time I woke up at 5, my Saturday was almost over or so I thought!!!

Mr. SK informed me that he hadΒ managed to getΒ our names into the guest list for a nightclub called β€œRuby Skye”, and that we would be a party of 5 guys!! Since I was fully conscious this time, I told him that I would opt out as my wounds from my previous nightclub experience were still fresh in my mind but he did not back down and so I had no other option but to comply.

By 9, all of us were ready and in that half hour drive, Mr. SK taught me the basic theories behind the β€œAmerican nightclub”. He and his gang are pretty regular nightclub visitors, so I got a lot of information about the various nightclubs in SF.

By 9:45 PM, I stood in front of the impressive β€œRuby Skye” nightclub which looked like it was movie set and finally after waiting in the line, we managed to get in.
pt1
It truly was awesome to say the least!! And as usual, I totally felt out of place. Any south Indian worth his salt, first needs to make a grand entry, and so, I took heart from our β€œNext Superstar”, who makes a grand entry even under the most difficult circumstances,

I also decided to walk in looking cool with this theme music running in my head.

The night was young and the crowds had not yet assembled in full numbers. My friends soon left me all alone to do their thing: Dancing with girls.

And so I spent my time standing in the sidelines with my drink and there were no flies to swat!!

About an hour later, my friend came up to me and told me that I needed to lose my inhibitions and have a blast in the club.

As an avid fan of the β€œNext Superstar”, the only way I could have had a blast in a club was by doing something like this:

Β 
But the presence of the tall, well built bouncers deterred me from doing that!!!

And so, I spent most of the time talking to my friends in India and even went out for dinner. And so by One, another friend came up to me and told me that I needed to enjoy the music and get into the party groove.

But our β€œNext Superstar” has alsoΒ told us that:

β€œMichael vandalum, Madonna vandalum, ooram pogathu Tamizh gaana paatu”

(Even in the presence of Michael Jackson or Madonna , our Tamizh Folk songs will never be sidelined)

And so, I endured the nightclub for a few more hours and finally we got back home at about 5 in the morning after having an early breakfast.

It was without doubt another nightclub disaster!!! I don’t think I have the energy to visit another one (and look like a fool) for some time now………………………….

PS: Another reason why Time is flying by now is that work is damn hectic now!! BTW, If I asked a girl for a dance, her response would have most probably been like this:

42 Comments leave one →
  1. August 20, 2009 8:07 am

    1st..? πŸ˜€
    OG: YAY!!!!!!!! πŸ˜› after a long time!

  2. August 20, 2009 8:08 am

    yay….. after a long time…. i tell u it is our timing.. πŸ™‚
    OG: πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜›
    now i’ll go read the post….. πŸ™‚
    OG: yo!!!!!

  3. August 20, 2009 8:41 am

    LOL..
    wait until u tell yes again in the middle of ur sleep..
    have seen the videos..how do u always find a video to match your emotions?
    OG: ROFL πŸ˜› yes yes….. next time, I will be more careful…. and finding a video to match mood is very simple….. watch a lot of films……. hehehehehehehehe

  4. August 20, 2009 9:07 am

    LOL!!!

    Will be back to read and comment in detail.
    Videos blocked at work!
    OG: wokay πŸ˜›

  5. August 20, 2009 9:13 am

    Ha! Ha! Ha! Was the drink this time something harder than a Coke?
    OG: ROFL!!!!! YES!!!!! πŸ˜›

  6. August 20, 2009 9:47 am

    cant watch the vidoes… !!!

    yes yes yes !!!! πŸ˜› πŸ˜›
    OG: watch them if possible dude… they are a hoot!!!

  7. August 20, 2009 10:00 am

    Dude ! You are having a blast in the States . Lage Raho . πŸ˜€
    OG: Thanku Thanku!!!! πŸ˜›

  8. August 20, 2009 10:37 am

    Aliyaaa….naadu muzhuvan karangi nadannu naattikkaanaanu paniyalle ???
    OG: hehehehehehehehehe πŸ˜› nammallu evadae poyyalum, orae std annu πŸ˜› (where ever we go, we nly have a single standard)
    LOL, your choice of videos has always been awesome !!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
    OG: ROFL πŸ˜› Thanks!!!!
    That Sachin song is too good, le. I mean the lyrics !! They should play that in all the discos there πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
    OG: i know…it would be awesome πŸ˜›

    • August 20, 2009 11:38 am

      Vimmuuu U r supposed to translate when u write something in Malayalam!

      I wud hv never committed that mistake of saying Kidilam Aliya to that old chef we hd in Munnar then 😦 😦 😦 😦
      OG: HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH πŸ˜› what was his reaction???? plz plz tell me!!!!!!!!

      • August 20, 2009 2:31 pm

        OMG!!!! u told that to the old chef in munnar??????
        ROFLMAO πŸ˜† πŸ˜† πŸ˜†
        next time, dont trust anything these komalikkal cousins say… ask me or sols or someone else first!!! omg u have my sympathies… but i cant help it… i m still laughing…hahahaha πŸ˜› πŸ˜› poor you!!
        OG: hehehehehehehehehehe πŸ˜› that is what happens when the expert are not consulted first πŸ˜› and plz dont put Don sols in that list…………… πŸ˜›
        P.S.: what vimmuuu said above was that: “buddy… ur job is now to go around town embarassing urself and others rite?” πŸ˜€

      • August 20, 2009 2:36 pm

        ROFL you said that???? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

        Its tough to translate certain slangs you see, but let me try. * Vimmuuu clearing his throat*

        : Brother-in-law , country whole going around walking and making smell is your job right? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
        OG: ROFL!!!!!!!!!!!!!! πŸ˜› classic!!!!!!!!!!!!!
        now, if you want that in colloqial english :

        Dude, you going around and embarassing yourself, huh? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
        OG: Thisis much better πŸ˜€

        • August 20, 2009 2:43 pm

          loved that direct word by word translation…. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ u’ll confuse her even further, the poor thing!!

        • August 20, 2009 4:35 pm

          Vimmuuu – ‘Brother-in-law , country whole going around walking and making smell is your job right? ‘ That was classic! You guys are seriously therapeutic πŸ™‚
          OG: Vims is classic!!!!!!!!!!!

      • August 20, 2009 4:34 pm

        You told the chef – Kidilam aliya! Swaram, that was classic!

        • August 21, 2009 4:10 pm

          Paapa Swaram!! πŸ™‚

          LOL!!!

          What DOES it mean by the way?!!

        • August 21, 2009 5:57 pm

          she told him: “awesome, brother-in-law!!” 😐
          πŸ˜† πŸ˜†

  9. August 20, 2009 11:37 am

    Present Guruji πŸ˜‰ Wil b bk to comment!

    N pliss to teach me some more words 😦 No progress @ all che che 😦
    OG: yes yes πŸ˜› lemme think of someting πŸ˜›

  10. chewmysambhar permalink
    August 20, 2009 12:09 pm

    Aye..Vijay fannaa nee? Why?Why?Why?(Echo)
    And thats why you like 3-sha.Phew.
    OG: LOL!!!!!!!!!!! I am also a fan of the other stars πŸ˜› does that help πŸ˜†
    dont bring 3sha into this……. :devil:

  11. August 20, 2009 1:05 pm

    Wow! Amazing! U find matching videos for every post of urs! Gr8!

    ROFL @ the first one!
    OG: hehehehehehehehehehe, Thanks!!!!

  12. August 20, 2009 2:13 pm

    Guess you didn’t get the pingback..you got an award in my blog…
    OG: Thanks dude πŸ˜› just saw it πŸ˜›

  13. August 20, 2009 2:24 pm

    whatever man…just go do our bagyaraj steps and the girls will come to you πŸ™‚
    OG: hehehehehehehe πŸ˜› yeah right

  14. August 20, 2009 2:33 pm

    and so here we have the rube skype story!!! what a hoot! and u seriously are an ardent vijay fan, eh?
    OG: hehehehe πŸ˜› yes!
    i loved the intro btw…. but i dont think u need to cut ur way thru the door… pushing it open wud do πŸ˜› πŸ˜› heheh
    OG: if they had stopped us, then I would have had to use that trick πŸ˜›
    the best video was nayantara’s… and she has to SING her response??? lol…
    if u asked a girl, wud she reply by singing or thru her actions?? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
    naw, i still think u shud have given it a shot. someone wud have said yes! or if not, whatever happens after that wud have made for a kidilam ending for ur post πŸ˜› πŸ˜›
    OG: ayyada πŸ˜› ennittu venum naaran πŸ˜›

    • August 20, 2009 2:34 pm

      Ruby* Skype πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

    • August 20, 2009 3:37 pm

      nah u wont… u’ll find some comedy in it also to escape it πŸ˜‰
      OG: πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜› hehehehehehe

  15. August 20, 2009 4:39 pm

    OG, One more night club escapade πŸ™‚ I thought you would learnt after your previous experience πŸ™‚
    OG: πŸ˜› πŸ˜› yes, I did not unfortunately………… πŸ˜›
    ‘And so I spent my time standing in the sidelines with my drink and there were no flies to swat!!’! LOL!


    But the presence of the tall, well built bouncers deterred me from doing that!!!’ – You managed to find such apt videos πŸ™‚
    OG: thanks!!!!
    And you still managed to time pass till 5:00 in the morning! Next time, go with your laptop, you could probably come up with half a dozen posts in that time πŸ˜‰

    OG: sound to be a good idea πŸ˜›

  16. kanagu permalink
    August 20, 2009 6:03 pm

    Another disaster.. wail… but we are getting ROFL posts for all the distasters πŸ˜› πŸ˜›
    OG: that is exactly why I am posting them πŸ˜›
    and I couldn’t watch the videos.. will see them soom πŸ™‚
    OG: you would have anyways seen them πŸ˜›
    and from 9 to 5 you have passed the time… dude.. did your friends shown the sunrise by morning this time???
    it should have been beautiful after a superb night πŸ˜› πŸ˜›
    OG: hehehehehehe πŸ˜› you remember that…. .eh? ella pa…. no sunrise this time
    your entries are good but performance are weak.. it can be said as..

    ‘building strongu… basement weaku’ LOL πŸ˜†
    OG: ROFL!!!!!!!!!!! classic vadivelu dialogs……………… πŸ˜›

    • August 22, 2009 8:26 am

      you are lucky as your didn’t awake by 6.. else you would have had that pleasure πŸ˜› πŸ˜›
      OG: πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

    • kanagu permalink
      August 24, 2009 3:49 pm

      machi.. just now remembered another one..

      ‘un kita opening ellam seriya than irukku, aana finishing seri illaye pa’

      LOL πŸ˜†
      OG: ROFL!!!!!!!!!!!!!! hahahahaha

  17. August 21, 2009 9:19 am

    You should keep going to nightclubs, if only to keep us entertained with posts like these! πŸ™‚

    Cheers,

    Quirky Indian
    OG: laugh at my situ dost!!!! πŸ˜›

  18. August 21, 2009 1:16 pm

    LOL!! If only the girls knew versatile you are at cooking and cleaning, I am sure there will be a line waiting to dance with you! πŸ˜€ Just kidding! Good fun reading your post and the videos as well! πŸ™‚
    OG: hehehehehehehehehe πŸ˜›
    Next time you dont want your weekend to fly, stay awake!! πŸ˜‰
    OG: Well, I spent the next weekend sleeping as well πŸ˜›

  19. August 21, 2009 1:49 pm

    OG and nightclubs never happening! But you know, nightclubs ARE boring and they require you to be someone you are not…they are against our culture too πŸ˜‰
    OG: ROFL πŸ˜› yes they are against our culture πŸ˜› hehehehehe

  20. Pal permalink
    August 21, 2009 10:45 pm

    OG! I can totally empathise with you. I was exactly the same during my MBA days. Never used to get onto the dance floor. Never used to be asked out by the guys either. But then, one fine day, a close friend (my confidante) and I hit the pub, all by ourselves, and had a BLAST!!!

    So let me give you some tips…you could treat me like a concerned older sibling. OK?
    OG: okay akka πŸ˜› ready for the advice πŸ˜›
    ONE: THAMBI, YOU ARE NOT GOING TO GET SUCH A FANTASTIC PAID HOLIDAY AGAIN! REMEMBER THAT!!

    TWO: GET DRUNK, REASONABLY ENOUGH TO FEEL HAPPY AND HIGH, BUT NOT ENOUGH TO GO SPRAWLING ON THE FLOOR

    THREE: PAIR UP WITH SOMEONE WHO IS SIMILAR/FAMILIAR TO YOU, AND WITH WHOM YOU FEEL COMFORTABLE. IF YOU ARE SHY TO DANCE WITH GIRLS, HANG OUT WITH THE GUYS. I DON’T THINK THEY WOULD FIND IT GAY! OR MAYBE THEY WOULD .. I DON’T KNOW.. WORTH A TRY ANYWAY.

    And FOUR: WATCH OUT! NOBODY’S WATCHING YOU. PEOPLE ARE TOO BUSY HAVING FUN AND ‘DOING THEIR THING’ TO NOTICE YOU. SO, JUST ‘DO YOUR THING!’.
    OG: will implement these tips the next time πŸ˜› Thanks!!!!!!

    So, please! make a date with a female friend or colleague and hit the pub, and let us know how it goes.
    OG: hahahahahah πŸ˜› if only that will happen πŸ˜›

    LIVE LIFE KING SIZE!!!!
    OG: I do that already :mrgreen:

  21. August 22, 2009 7:25 am

    What a Ruby Skye experience, that was ???? And you managed to be inside, doing not many a thing till 5 next morng ???? OMG !!!

    But it was great fun reading the post. May you have a better experience the next time at the night club !!!
    OG: I also hope the same thing πŸ˜›

  22. August 22, 2009 7:50 pm

    your blog is very interesting.I like to add you in my blog roll
    I welcome you to my blog,leave your valuable comments and your link back is welcomed……….
    OG: yo

  23. August 23, 2009 7:53 am

    Oh come on! After seeing you dance.. I am reasonably sure that any girl wouldnt find it that bad! if you are shy to ask a stranger.. ask your colleague in office and tell her your predicament.. she will feel symphathetic and she would say yes πŸ˜›
    OG: hmmmm, I dont think that any gal in her right mind would accept πŸ˜›

  24. craftyshines permalink
    August 23, 2009 10:44 am

    EOG!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This title itself connected to u and ur narration…..i was tickled already, thinking what to expect!!!!!!!!!
    Hahahahhaha!!!!! I remember ur last one!!!!! ROFL!!!!!!!!!!!

    Ok ok……now for the post!!!!!!! πŸ˜›

    Moment of weakness?????? May u have many more of those EOG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    πŸ˜†
    OG: yeah yeah πŸ˜› laugh away!!

    Since I was fully conscious this time, I told him that I would opt out as my wounds from my previous nightclub experience were still fresh in my mind

    ROFL! And my laughter on that post is still clear in my mind!!!!! πŸ˜›
    (pssst EOG…but that sex change post is MY FAV okie?)
    OG: yeah, and I still remember your comment on that!!!!!!!!
    OMG!!!!!!!!!! So u entered with that theme playing in ur mind!!!!!
    EOG!!!! Geee…… I hate to give praise like this but…
    THATWASCUTE
    πŸ˜† πŸ˜†
    OG: CUTE???? is not a complement!!!!!!!!!!
    *crafty thinks even she will enter office on Monday with an appropriate theme playing in her mind*
    And so I spent my time standing in the sidelines with my drink and there were no flies to swat!!
    Lol @ no flies to swat! πŸ˜› πŸ˜› it’s a night club EOG! The flies must have been boogying to the music tooooooooo! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
    HA!!!!!!!!!! That dance!!!!!! U shud have tried!!! Everyone wud have surely cleared the floor for entertaiment like that! If anything, the club wud have assigned bouncers to protect u – the soooper dancer!!! πŸ˜›
    β€œMichael vandalum, Madonna vandalum, ooram pogathu Tamizh gaana paatu”
    AIYO!!!!! This dialogue is killllller!!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ I’m gotta maaro this dialogue!!! Maybe when a north indian friend calls up, I will greet them with this line!!!!
    Thankooooooooooooooooooooooo EOG!
    OG: hehehehehehehe πŸ˜› best fo lucku!!!!!!!!!!
    Gosh!!!! Tha’s the response u expect on asking a girl to dance????
    πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜›
    Don’t ask!!! Just go dance, then suddenly start dancing with the nearest girl!!! Best!!!!
    πŸ˜€
    OG: and I will get to learn her chappal size as well!!!!!!!!!!
    EOG, my office also had a party at a club…. I don’t drink, don’t dance, but had to go for sake of showing face! Standing near the bar with my cranberry juice (it was like red sugar water 😐 ) suddenly my CEO dragged me right to the middle of the floor …. Thank god the lights were dim…. Am trying to look like a suave and collected person at work!!!!! πŸ˜›
    But with friends we can go crazyyyyyyyyy!!!!!!
    Lets go to a nightclub and do ganapthy visarjan style na!!!! club beat wala music…and us characters dancing in our own style!!!!! What fun!!!!
    πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
    OG: that should be interesting πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜›
    If there will be bloggers in the club, we will give them some post material! πŸ˜†
    OG: hehehehehehehehehe

  25. August 24, 2009 1:47 pm

    hehehe another disaster??? πŸ˜€
    OG: always happen with me πŸ˜›
    I tried seeing those videos but couldn’t understand a word so decided to quit but could get the gist of what u were saying πŸ˜‰

    BTW That club looks awesome for sure!!!
    OG: it was awesome!!!!!!! the very best I have seen

  26. August 24, 2009 7:35 pm

    NO !NO !and NO! OG!

    for the Hundreth time NO! πŸ˜€
    OG: HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH πŸ˜› YES YES YES YES!!!!!! I will not stop in my quest πŸ˜‰
    you will not find Ms Z in night clubs?
    how many times do I have to repeat this? :mrgreen:
    OG: hehehehehehe, no harm in trying πŸ˜›
    get rid of the drink and the swagger and the songs running in your head πŸ˜› πŸ˜› and please realise that apoopans cant do any of the these things..

    they can only drink in moderation..cant run fast and def CANNOT dance with hopes of luring..sorry attracting girls πŸ˜€ πŸ˜›
    OG: ROFL!!!!!!!! I am not an apoopan in nightclub….. but a young tiger πŸ˜›
    but boy ! seriously you sure are having a blast there! πŸ˜€
    carry on! πŸ˜€
    OG: thanku Thanku!!!!!!!!!!! πŸ˜›

    • August 24, 2009 8:39 pm

      oh boy oh boy oh boy indyyyyyyyyyyy

      u are backkkkkkkkkk

      πŸ˜€

      lol! apoopan!!!!

      EOG! i visited ur blog first time coz once i read that apoopan comment series at Indy’s!!! and like that wasn’t funny…. i landed on ur post about ur friend….with the pir chart n stuff! ROFL!!!
      πŸ˜†
      OG: ROFL πŸ˜› yes, I remember that comment as well!!!!!! πŸ˜› indy can call me apoopan… coz she is aunty πŸ˜›

Trackbacks

  1. The Price of Patience… « Crafty Shines
  2. The Best Insurance Policy Ever « Ramblings By Bones

Leave a Reply

