Skip to content

The Minneapolis Trip!

August 7, 2009

After a three day grueling trip to Minneapolis, Minnesota, I am back in Sunnyvale now!!!

It was business trip of strategic importance for me. The party consisted of three people, my boss, my dear friend Mr. TD and me.

We had gone to Minneapolis to “maximize customized deliverables”, and “engineer out-of-the-box paradigms”.

Did not get it?

Okay, in other words, we had gone to “engage turn-key convergence”, “benchmark scalable supply-chains”, “mesh next-generation niches”, “generate intuitive applications” and “visualize intuitive portals”.

Still did not get it? :mrgreen:

Okay, we had gone to meet up with various Field Engineers to understand their needs and expectations for the next generation device (my client product) and get some training as well.

So on Monday, we left for Minneapolis from Sunnyvale at about 12 noon. Let me state that before coming to America, I had invested a sizable amount in a jacket because it is cold in the winters here. But being in California, I have never had the chance to use it actually. So I thought that since Minneapolis is in the far north, I would have a chance to actually wear it. So wearing that big jacket, I got out of the plane only to realize that it was warm and humid!!!

The drive to the hotel was fantastic. Thought Minneapolis is the main city in that state, it is so green, reminded me of Kerala!!!!
roaddddd
For the first time in my life, I got to stay in a Hilton courtesy the company and it was fantastically brilliant as shown below.
hilton2
The room even had 2 large sized beds, so technically 4 people could have stayed in my room.
room
The meeting/training started very early at 8 in the morning on Tuesday and I did not even get a chance to have breakfast. Then for lunch, we were given chicken, rice and lots of uncooked leaves (the useless thing is called salad here).

Since I was very hungry, I broke my vow to stay vegetarian for a year and ate the CHICKEN!!!!!!!!

The client office was just fantastically brilliant and since it is the main US office, the interiors were better than a five star hotel and I also got a see the limousine that the company CEO had.
ofc
Wednesday was pretty much the same, and I got to learn a lot about my client product during those two days.

And now I am back finally with renewed interest to get back to my blogging!!!!!

35 Comments leave one →
  1. August 7, 2009 2:02 am

    😯 😯

    You ate THE CHICKEN?! 😮

    Kaduvuleeeeee….ennada ithu? Shiva! Shiva! aathukku varumbo nalla suddhi pannanno.
    OG: ROFL!!!!!!!!!!! 😛 😛 😛 yes yes 😛 had no other option but to eat it 😛

    • Solilo permalink
      August 7, 2009 2:15 am

      Plenty of option but there is no medicine for greed. 😈
      OG: ROFL!!!!! I agree 😛 but I hope to stay veg for the remainder of the vratham 😛

  2. August 7, 2009 2:03 am

    Amma naan PIRSTTTT!
    OG: YAY!!!!!!!!!! 😛 the first word should be “aama” not “amma”……… 😛 I hope you realize that 😛 😛 😛 😛

    • Solilo permalink
      August 7, 2009 2:14 am

      I meant Amma! like how people say Appa!!! with relief. Like that I said…Amma I am first. 😆
      OG: wokay wokay 😛 😛 😛 😛 got it 😛 I am slow you know 😛

  3. August 7, 2009 3:47 am

    maximize customized deliverables”/ “engineer out-of-the-box paradigms”/“engage turn-key convergence”/ “benchmark scalable supply-chains”/ “mesh next-generation niches”/ “generate intuitive applications” / “visualize intuitive portals”

    That is same old bull shit written on good english and reminds me of the management jargon & my MBA days!!!!
    OG: hehehehehehe 😛 yes totally agree!!!!!!!!!!
    And the hotel room looks awesome!!! Sadly when we get to stay in such lavish places we don’t have the luxury to lurk around!!!
    OG: wat????? did not get this line????? 😛 😛

  4. August 7, 2009 3:56 am

    Engineering lingo is just a way of showing off 🙂 Why can’t u guys say things using simple language?
    OG: hehehehehehehe 😛

    And you ate chicken – greed, man, greed…What is wrong with a little ghaas-phoos?
    OG: i hate ghaas phoos……… cannot stand uncooked leaves…… 😛

  5. August 7, 2009 4:24 am

    Atlast you have terminated your non-veg fast… join the crowd now… yay 😀
    OG: HEHEHEHEHEHE 😛 me still technicall veg till Nov 14th 😛
    not able to see the pics clearly in mob 😦
    OG: okay 😛

    • August 7, 2009 6:38 am

      technically still veg? inspite of eating Non veg once? this is called cheating 😛 😛
      OG: 😛 😛 😛 😛 yes we are all cheaters in life 😛

  6. August 7, 2009 4:35 am

    You do maximise customised deliverables on this blog and engineer out of the box flow charts…
    OG: ROFL 😛 maybe I should try doing that 😛
    So why are you vegetarian? Trying to get married? 😉
    OG: no ways dude 😛 took a vow on Nove 14th 2008 that I would stay veg for a year 😛
    Cheers,

    Quirky Indian

  7. August 7, 2009 5:03 am

    Hilton.. cool.. the room looks great..
    ya i agree with QI why going veg..? 😉
    though i believe in veg only. 🙂
    OG: I am not going veg….. just staying veg for a year till Nov 14th this year 😛

  8. August 7, 2009 5:33 am

    Okay, in other words, we had gone to “engage turn-key convergence”, “benchmark scalable supply-chains”, “mesh next-generation niches”, “generate intuitive applications” and “visualize intuitive portals”.
    hmph! show-off!! 😛 😛
    OG: ROFL 😛 😛 😛

    Since I was very hungry, I broke my vow to stay vegetarian for a year and ate the CHICKEN!!!!!!!!
    control cheyyooo!! aakrantham paadilla!! man, u shudnt take vows if only to break them! 😛
    OG: endhu cheyyan 😛 had no other option 😉
    anyway u’re back!! woohoo!! 😀 expecting more of ur usual posts now (wait, isn’t that what i typed the last time too?? 😛 😛 )
    OG: 😛 😛 😛 😛

  9. August 7, 2009 5:45 am

    nice hotel..cool pics dude..that jargon shows you definately know how to talk the walk 🙂
    OG: ROFL 😛 thanks dude!!!!!!!! tha tjargon part is err… copy pasted 😛

  10. August 7, 2009 6:27 am

    Those first few words hd actually turned me away. I felt like an illiterate 😯
    OG: hehehehehehehehehehhehehe 😛
    ‘the useless thing is called salad here’ – ROFL 😀 .. thatz what turned u away from vegetarianism na 😉
    OG: yes……. but I am basically a vegetarian who eats non veg 😛 figure that one out plz 😛 ROFL
    Beautiful pics! Room looks gr8; esp when the company pays for it:P
    OG: I know 😛
    Hope u get to wear that jacket sometime 🙂
    OG: yes me too!!!

  11. August 7, 2009 6:41 am

    The pics look Great! the landscape, the hotel, the office all were looking great..
    OG: yo!!!!!!!!
    you broke your Vow! great.. enjoy the non veg food from now:)
    OG: nope 😛 me still veg till nov 24th

  12. August 7, 2009 8:31 am

    You broke your Vow? now that you did – you can continue breaking it, can’t you 🙂 Or are you planning to start again for a year 🙂
    OG: nope, better idea….. i still have the same nov 14th deadline…… still not changed it 😉

    ‘engage turn-key convergence”, “benchmark scalable supply-chains”, “mesh next-generation niches”, “generate intuitive applications” and “visualize intuitive portals”.’ Seriously! When we used to be drafting proposals – we used to liberally sprinkle the doc with such words and pray that nobody asks us to explain in detail 😉
    OG: hehehehehehehe
    No breakfast? They did not provide coffee and doughnuts? In the US – whenever we had these kind of trainings/meetings – coffee and doughnuts were the norm 🙂 Once I took up a CSQA certification and they provided doughnuts and coffee even at the exam centre! Wonder how they expected us to write(yes, it was written) while eating doughnuts and coffee 🙂
    OG: we had coffe and some cookies, but did not feel like having cookies for bf…….

  13. August 7, 2009 8:48 am

    ““maximize customized deliverables”, and “engineer out-of-the-box paradigms”, “engage turn-key convergence”, “benchmark scalable supply-chains”, “mesh next-generation niches”, “generate intuitive applications” and “visualize intuitive portals” —– and did anything happen on those lines ???? 😀 😀 😀
    OG: AAAAAH, enikku ariyithillaeeeeee
    “wearing that big jacket, I got out of the plane only to realize that it was warm and humid!!!” —- this is akkare akkare akkare style. Saadanam kayyil undoo ???? 😀 😀 😀
    OG: hehehehehehe
    Hiton??Hilton???Hilton??? So, did you get to meet her???? 😉
    OG: If only i could meet her……… shesh

    dont worry abou the vow aliyaa! Didnt you take the vow when you were in India ? ok, that vow, then, applies only when you are IN india. Now, if you had taken that vow when you were in america, still it applies only when you are IN india !! 😀 😀

    OG: LOL!!!!!!!! took that vow in india 😛 maybe you are right……… nice thought

    • August 7, 2009 11:44 am

      appo neeyanalle avane nashipikkaan sahiyikkunnathu… vrithikettavan!!! 😀 😀 LOL!
      OG: yes, he is the “paul barber”
      ROFL @ “saadanam kaiyyil undo” 😀 😀 😀
      OG: 😛 😛 😛 😛 😛

  14. August 7, 2009 10:12 am

    Ah, this is turning out to be a nice li’l travelogue! So the veg-vow has come to an end.. more bad news for all the kozhees and goats in America! 😉
    OG: thanks aliya… but still staying veg for remainder of term 😛

  15. August 7, 2009 10:19 am

    Awesome! That room looks like a sham couple will live there. One who r not close anymore 😛 But looks awesome!
    OG: hehehehehe
    Poor chicken! Did you even think of how small it would be ? Like the palm of your hand. And you ate it! how mean!

    *now that I have done my veg – duty I say welcome back 😛 *
    OG: ROFL!!!!!!! 😛 yes you have done your veg duty 😛
    Welcome me too 😉
    OG: welcome bak!!!!!!!

  16. August 7, 2009 12:25 pm

    All those terms…will you judge me if I say I understood everything? hehe
    OG: I did not understand most of them 😉

    • August 7, 2009 2:48 pm

      That means I am totally over to the dark side 😦 if I can understand all that Bull$h1t :((
      OG: 😛 😛 😛 😛 😛

  17. Pal permalink
    August 7, 2009 5:34 pm

    Wow! Hilton… flat screen TV.. the works man! Ensoyyyy!
    OG: thanku thanku 😛

  18. August 7, 2009 6:19 pm

    Hey my friend works there! 🙂
    I have heard its quite a laidback place and the temperature goes to -30 in winters.
    OG: yup it does but now technically it is summer 😛

  19. craftyshines permalink
    August 7, 2009 6:40 pm

    “engage turn-key convergence”, “benchmark scalable supply-chains”, “mesh next-generation niches”, “generate intuitive applications” and “visualize intuitive portals”.

    *crafty hugs EOG*
    OG: hugs bak as well!!!!!!!!!!!
    thankooooo EOG! i will note these down and as and when ppl come to me and ask for some work to be done, i will tell them to go do all this, only then even approach me!
    *crafty notes down in her diary all these words…she will pratise daily*

    😆
    OG: ROFLLLL 😛 😛 😛 😛 best of luck i tell you 😛
    wowie…hilton…any luck in meeting the heiress???? 😛 😛 😛
    OG: that did not happen 😛 hehehehe
    that is seriously one green place! lol, yeah, like u said, like kerala!

    u know, minneapolis…is the town of Charles Schulz….creator of Peanuts (Soli too is creator of Peanut! 😆 )
    i always wished i cud visit there…it seems there is a museum of his work or something like that! 🙂 me hopes to be there some day!
    after calvin n hobbes, i simply adore Peanuts!!! 😀
    OG: hmmm, i did not even know about that 😛 thanks for telling me
    u broke ur vow!!!! and ate the chicken….
    erm…what vow was this? *ignoramus crafty*
    OG: took a vow that I would stay veg for a year 😛
    just ctrl + del the memory that u ate the chicken…there, ur fast is as good as always! 😛
    OG: yup, will do 😆

    great ur trip was nice!!!! looking forward to more trips where u can share some jargons i can throw at unsuspecting colleagues 😀
    OG: ROFL!!!!!! 😛 yes, I will!

  20. August 7, 2009 9:53 pm

    First translate all the words INDIVIDUALLY IN ENGLEEZZZ!
    me no understand this jargon or whatever it is
    OG: this is called technical talks in english 😛

    *OG faints in the middle of translation*

    yeh kaun si bhasha hai? 😛 😛
    I cant make head or tail of it:D
    OG: neither could I 😛 hehehehehehehe
    now you know why I flunked Economics or anything even remotely connected to commerce

    err maths too ofcourse I always flunked 😀
    OG: I knew about the maths part 😛 hehehehehehehe
    *no!no! dont ask what I did NOT flunk* 😀

    nwo on to the post
    OG: yup 😛
    I am skipping all of the foreign language part 😀

  21. August 7, 2009 9:56 pm

    pssstttt!! OG?
    what eez is this dear fellow? 😀

    The room even had 2 large sized beds, so technically 4 people could have stayed in my room.
    OG: all i said that 4 baehelors like me could have stayed in that single room and your devious mind drew a tangent and brought in marriage angle……….. Shesh 😛
    are you trying to say that this would have been better had you been
    *brace yourself for the ‘M’ word OG* MARRIED?
    you know MS Z and all? 😆
    OG: hehehehehehehee, yeah I know 😛

    *OG shrieks like a banshee* :mrgreen:

    never heard what a banshee sounds like but if I ever did meet her I am sure she would scream like you do at the mention of flowers and marriage 😆
    OG: 😛 😛 😛 😛 😛 😛 😛 if I meet her some day, rest assured that you wont :mrgreen:

  22. August 7, 2009 10:04 pm

    *sigh* OG! OG! OG!! I am disappointed with you

    *gives OG the most serious and strict look*
    OG: in tamil we say, “aabathukku paavam ella”……… 😛 “There is no sin in certain circumstances” 😛 and that i what I did 😛

    IS aunty reading this?
    you chicken killer! !!!
    😈

    somewhere on this planet in this galaxy even maybe…a chicken atma is roaming around wondering what went wrong ! 🙄

    actually …. the atma is right behind you..

    look up! yeah right on top of your head! 😛

    that chirp chirp you hear faintly?
    thats the chicken giving you gaalis 😀

    OG: OMG, what imagination 😛

    I also got a see the limousine that the company CEO had
    aww OG you are honest! 😀

    I would have looked in wonder too ..would have gaped infact 😀
    OG: I did the same 😉

  23. August 7, 2009 10:08 pm

    oh and welcome back to blogging! 😛 😛
    OG: thanku thanku 😛

  24. Solilo permalink
    August 8, 2009 7:40 pm

    You were asking for rakhi at Vimmu’s. So here you go rakhi for OG

    • Solilo permalink
      August 8, 2009 7:41 pm

      OG: thanku so much!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 😛 😛 😛
      here is your gift http://i27.tinypic.com/nn6ypt.jpg

      • August 8, 2009 8:35 pm

        kya rakhi hai and kya gift hai! 😀
        the earrings look pretty 🙂

        what a generous bro! 😀

        this is so sweet 😀 an awww moment 🙂
        OG: hehehehehehehehehee 😛 had to give something 😉 😛 😛 and online gifts dont cost a dime 😛 hehehehehehehehehehe

        • Solilo permalink
          August 8, 2009 8:52 pm

          What a kanjoos brothere. 😡
          OG: hehehehe now dont tell me that you wanted a ferrari…………….. 😛

        • Solilo permalink
          August 8, 2009 8:53 pm

          oops brother*
          OG: 😆

Leave a Reply

