Skip to content

The Juggernaut Never Stops!!

July 29, 2009

Last week, a person in my client office got infected by Swine flu. Unfortunately, in our very big expansive office, the nefarious Swine flu had to attack a poor lady who used to sit very close to my cubicle near the coffee machine (which we shared).

No fuss was made about this incident and the juggernaut called Capitalism rolls on without a hitch. If this was only Kerala, I would have got a whole month as β€œPaid Leave”. πŸ˜›

This actually reminds me of my dear college CET. During our university exams when I was in my third year, two people in our hostel managed to get infected by chicken pox. Our college SFI unit swung into action and postponed the whole university exam by a month. Our principal was against it, but to no use. Our students directly interacted with the Kerala University and swung the decision in our favor.

What I mean is that students from a single college had the power to go against the wishes of our principal and postpone the whole university exams which affected many colleges thanks to two cases of chicken pox. I miss those days with all the water strikes, strikes due to Iraq War, strikes thanks to terrorism, strike thanks to inflation………. Etc etc etc

Shesh, how I wish I was in Kerala again living that life………………

By the way, this was how we used to roll in my dear college: (Please reduce volume and do not β€œlisten” to the last 10 seconds, if you are Malayalam literate πŸ˜› )

37 Comments leave one →
  1. July 29, 2009 7:35 am

    God’s own country shud be renamed Land of Steeerikes!! πŸ˜› πŸ˜› LOL
    the video is classic…. reminds me of nostalgia.
    OG: hehehehehehe πŸ˜›
    in fact as i was telling u once… my cousin is studying in TKM, Kollam. one of the students got jaundice and the entire college was made to shut down with the accusation that he got it from college canteen. entire college was quarantined!! LOL πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
    OG: yup!!!!!!! we had the power to do so much πŸ˜‰
    good ol’ days… sigh…
    OG: I miss it

    • July 29, 2009 7:37 am

      yay!! me first!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      ugh! mis-spelt my email thus gravatar didnt pick up my profile pic
      oh WTH.. it’s here now atleast! πŸ˜›
      OG: YAYY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. July 29, 2009 7:50 am

    hmm…heard about how people over there never work πŸ˜› Its bad but..we all hate hierarchy but disrupting the entire system even if someone sneezes is no good…
    OG: people do wok dost πŸ˜› but not in gov offices πŸ˜›

  3. July 29, 2009 8:24 am

    Kerala and Bengal are alike – bandhs are a part of life…Communism is to be blamed…I don’t know about Kerala but Bengal is in the doldrums because of this…And who is to blame – the non- communist Central Government! Ordinary workers and communist politicians can never be wrong…
    OG: hehehehehehehehehe πŸ˜›

  4. July 29, 2009 8:52 am

    Chicken pox n Jaundice can earn u holidays!
    Gosh! Me gng bk to study in Kerala πŸ˜‰
    OG: YAY!!!!!!! πŸ˜›

  5. July 29, 2009 9:01 am

    I can’t see the video….I am going on strike.

    Cheers,

    Quirky Indian
    OG: ROFL!!!!!!!! the video is working dude πŸ˜› please dont strike πŸ˜›

    • July 30, 2009 10:52 am

      lol..I loved that…

      honestly speaking,if you are a member of some petty party,you can manage to have a holiday even for the slightest idiotic reason..

  6. July 29, 2009 9:44 am

    me going on a holiday without any disease.. πŸ™‚
    OG: now that is a good policy πŸ˜›

  7. anishthomas permalink
    July 29, 2009 9:51 am

    exam postponed because of chicken pox !!!!!!!!!…you aren’t kidding right
    I did my 11th,12th in St Gregorios college ,kottarakara.Once we had 4 days strike(consecutive days) by SFI and AISF because of electricity bill hike :)….we used to get strike for each and everything because our building was in the college compound….
    seriously aliya…miss those ‘jangos’ days :)…..sometimes,I feel like going back to kerala and work there 😦
    OG: Classic πŸ˜› yes, I also miss those jango days πŸ˜›

  8. July 29, 2009 10:07 am

    Seriously, those were the days !!! We had strikes because clinton came down to india, we had strikes against opposite parties strikes, strikes because our govt signed some treaty, strikes because of our nations debt with world bank….sho, college life is the best !!! A few of us once conducted a strike in college (Victoria, Palakkad) and closed it for a day; it was a department based strike, and I really dont remember why we conducted it still πŸ˜‰ After shutting down the college, we went out for movies, and thats all I remember πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
    OG: heheheheheh πŸ˜› good idea to go to movies πŸ˜›

  9. July 29, 2009 12:13 pm

    lol… reminds me of my bandh post… really these days they dont do strikes properly… i m thinking of shifting to kerala or kolkatta… only than i can enjoy this now…
    OG: I remember that post πŸ˜› classic it was πŸ˜›
    people are too money minded and have forgotten protestinng totally…

    u know once our college in baroda msu remained closed for 1 month coz admission form prices was increased by 20 rs !!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ not to say i m complaining !!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
    OG: ROFL!!!!!!!!! hahahahahahha

  10. July 29, 2009 12:57 pm

    Add the Student Federation!!! In college the ABVP(BJP’s student wing) used to ‘mark’ some students for ‘recruitment’ and the marked ones couldnt refuse…..or they would face the wrath!
    OG: same thing happened in our college as well πŸ˜› but the parties were SFI as well as ABVP and a little of KSU thrown in πŸ˜›

  11. July 29, 2009 2:36 pm

    Hmmm…so its true. I have heard a lot about strikes in Kerela.
    Here, we have been distributed some liquids and tissues to keep our hands clean and maintain the hygine. Sigh!
    OG: serioulsy dude πŸ˜› I have been washing my hands every 2-3 hours with some alcohol based liquid…..

  12. July 29, 2009 2:38 pm

    Oh god… if you have said this a 6 years before means I would have joined there πŸ˜€
    OG: πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜› I have heard a lot about the stupid colleges in chennai

  13. July 29, 2009 2:45 pm

    Aaaaaah, you’re bringing me back to my old days as a sakhavu.. Do I see my shadow among those errr citizens? πŸ˜‰
    OG: ROFL πŸ˜› dont worry, you are not alone….. I have seen so many hardcore sakhavus converting into capitalist after college πŸ˜›
    Jeez, adolescence is a very dangerous period. Cant believe I was an SFI activist then.. Well, senses have now prevailed, thankfully.
    OG: tahnkfully πŸ˜›

  14. July 29, 2009 2:50 pm

    hehehe wishful thinking πŸ˜€

    lol @ Dhiren’s comment!!!!

    You know I have never been a part of any strike et al. Sheessh!!! I shud have been in Kerela πŸ˜€
    OG: I read Vimmuuu’s comment πŸ˜› ROFL!!!!!!!!

    • July 29, 2009 6:05 pm

      And Im glad that you have never been in Kerala!! The people over there are already insane; just imagine their state after interacting with you !!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      • July 30, 2009 3:05 pm

        Well if they could survive you then main kya hoon!!! πŸ˜€

  15. July 29, 2009 4:11 pm

    Kerala…the land where everyone is always on vacation. You go to any govt. office, everyone is sipping tea and gossiping or having lunch or playing carrom, reading newspaper. You go to any college, student are either on strike or busy with other activities.
    OG: students days are meant to be lived in kerala
    God’s own country indeed. Heaven for all lazy bums.
    OG: lazy bums like me πŸ˜‰

  16. July 29, 2009 5:07 pm

    ROFL!!!!!

    all my comments at ur post begin like this na EOG? and i already know ur replies t me as i am tying….a dozen tongue smileys! πŸ˜†
    OG: hehehehehehehehe, for once I am not sticking my tongue out !!!

    jesus….did u get ur tests done? not u better give ur attendance here in blog samaj or i will panic…
    *crafty panic at drop of hat…..must be all that coffee*
    OG: I am fit and fine πŸ˜›
    i was never a part of any bandh or strike…in fact we hardly got any holidays or offs coz of bandh…..
    OG: you missed so much!
    sheesh…missed on pleasures in life….smoking, doping and bandhs….
    OG: err….. you call the above, pleasures in life???? what is this crafty???

    that video was like…..lol! what fun! but then i guess girls never went for samarams na? wonder why? πŸ˜›
    OG: gals also used to come for a few samarams πŸ˜›
    gee EOG, i cudn’t understand anything that was said in the video, forget about the last 10 secs! πŸ˜›
    OG: good good πŸ˜›

    • craftyshines permalink
      July 30, 2009 7:18 pm

      see EOG….am panicking…..where r u????????
      hope all’s well?

      • July 30, 2009 7:41 pm

        I am here crafty!!!! πŸ˜› been busy for the last 2 days πŸ˜›

        Thanks for the concern πŸ˜› but yes, I am fighting fit πŸ˜‰

  17. July 30, 2009 6:00 am

    Did u atleast get to see your books, among all those strikes ??? Kerala, having the highest literacy %, I am surprised that you are all striking for reason or no reason.
    OG: never saw our books till exams πŸ˜›
    Anyway, college life is lots of fun !!!
    OG: Totally agree!!!!

    Sad, that u cant do anything, when swine flu infects one of ur colleagues.
    OG: we can pray that we dont get it πŸ˜‰

  18. July 30, 2009 9:38 am

    lol!
    College life was wonderful. wasn’t it?
    sigh! those were the days….
    how i wish there were Bandhs and strikes in office too!
    OG: same here as well πŸ˜›

  19. July 30, 2009 9:59 am

    sigh… those were the days…
    now, we need to wonder everyday at what time we would be going home from work!
    OG: hmmmmm πŸ˜› life is such πŸ˜› !

  20. July 30, 2009 10:57 am

    You reminded me of my good old days…**sigh*** How i miss all those lovely strike days…I wish I had some sort of strike happening in my kitchen. πŸ˜‰
    OG: ROFL πŸ˜› best of luck for the strike

  21. July 31, 2009 7:21 am

    LOL!!! thanks to those strikes..MNC’s run…when they hear kerala πŸ˜› thanks to the leaves when someone dies..we “literally” used to pray for the hastening of VIPs in deathbeds πŸ˜›

  22. Pal permalink
    July 31, 2009 8:40 am

    He he he! This happens wonnnnnly in Indiya !!

  23. August 1, 2009 5:00 am

    i agree that SFI can influenze the actions of the university, but thats just coz of ur college.. no other clg can do that..
    n the stike was classic.. but i missed it 😦

  24. August 1, 2009 10:35 am

    LOL πŸ™‚ We obviously have more respect for life (and good health), we go on strike to prove it πŸ™‚

  25. August 1, 2009 4:16 pm

    Ah! The strikes are no longer strikes here. They have acquired a new nomenclature. Hartals… Old wine in a new balloon glass :D!

    Hope you are keeping well πŸ™‚

  26. August 3, 2009 7:56 pm

    ROTFL!!!

    Poor woman! hope she is fine too πŸ™‚

  27. August 5, 2009 9:32 am

    I need to be reborn in Kerala..I missed out on a lot it seems..
    never saw any strikes ever! 😦 😦
    therefore no disruption of classes in college.. 😦
    sob!!!

    PS:- My list of Malayalam words has increased πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
    its gone beyond kidilam now πŸ˜€

    • August 5, 2009 11:39 am

      @ kidilam …gosh 😯 …from where you got that word ;)…it is a local word used by southern keralites…

  28. August 5, 2009 1:42 pm

    You know, this is the reason I wanted to study in Kerala and my dad was determined not to let me πŸ˜‰

    Ah I haven’t had a chance to experience all this! You lucky lucky guy! I do remember when our offshore team moved to Kerala(from bangalore) – one day there was some issue and the co-ordinator at offshore called up and said – ‘If this is the case – we refuse to work’! It was almost as if as soon as ‘Mallu hava hit them’ – the strike mentality started πŸ˜‰

    As for swine flu.. I have heard of so many people with swine flu now, that I have given up becoming worried πŸ™‚ You take care, don’t go too close to that coffee machine for a while πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

