Skip to content

Housekeeping and OG!!!

July 13, 2009

One thing that is consistent with Indian bachelor’s world wide is the fact that we take pride in maintaining a very disorganized house with unwashed clothes and vessels strewn all over the place.

So, it came as a rude shock to me here in Sunnyvale when I moved in with my new roomies. Every one here is so organized and clean. I mean, I can hardly ever find vessels to be washed in the sink, the furniture is always set in the proper place, the rooms vacuum cleaned every 3 days and the bathrooms/kitchen/fridge cleaned every weekend.

In these 2 weeks that I have spent with these great guys, I have learnt more about house keeping than the rest of my 8bachelor years” that I have spent outside my house.

I could hardly believe it at first!!! One of the wild theories that is running through my brain is the fact that maybe, evolution produced these bachelors. We have always heard of some long lost tribes who have lived without any contact with the outside world. I personally think that the same is true here with these bachelors as well.

There seems to be no other explanation for this phenomenon. But the good thing is that, for the first time in my life, I am organized in what I do. Would you believe it when I say that I even fold my bed sheet when I get up in the morning? My mom would not!!!

And I have also come to realize that house keeping is a very tough job. It takes dedication and strength of heart to just jump into the process and get your hands dirty.

If presented as a chart, my skills over a period of almost 26 years would look like this:
housekeeping
In these 2 weeks, I think I have forgotten more about housekeeping than what you guys would ever know 😛 !!! It also helps that I am the youngest in this group. So, these guys “adjust” with the mistakes I make or the “burnt curries” that I seem to cook at regular intervals.

Every thing is so organized here. Every single thing has a place, right from the books, to the shoes to the kitchen utensils.

On the cooking front, every Wednesday and Friday, non veg is cooked (which I can’t eat…shesh) and my roomies have specific timings for playing tennis and cricket. One of my roomies even has specific timings for talking to his girlfriend in India. Life is strangely different and interesting here.

For the first time in my life, I have used a vacuum cleaner. For the first time in my life, I have washed vessels right after cooking and for the first time in my life, I have cleaned the balcony by removing the dry leaves and for the first time……………….. the list of endless…..

Thus meanders the life of this ordinary guy, a guy who keeps learning what life throws at him at such regular intervals………….. Maybe this is what is know as “experience” or maybe God is preparing me for something worse!!! OMG!!!!

PS: I have been listening to this song, the whole day!

78 Comments leave one →
  1. July 13, 2009 7:12 am

    Me first!!! 😀

    YAY!

    Ok, will have lunch and come abck and comment after reading the post!! 😛
    OG: YAY!!!!!!!!! and ROFL, i have to say!!!!!!!!

  2. July 13, 2009 7:25 am

    ROFL!! omg!!! that sounds so weird… it sounds like an absolute nightmare as far as the average bachelor is concerned… but somehow everyone there (including you) dont seem to mind! lol welcome to organised living! congrats! 😀
    and good lord, u dont have to sing a suicidal tamil song for that!!! sheesh! 😛 😛
    OG: ROFL!!!!!! 😛 😛 we live and learn…… and ROFL at suicidal tamil song…… 😛 😛 😛 it is just that I love this song…….. and yes, it is organized living for me 😛
    P.S.: are any of ur friends there single? 😛 😛 hehehehe!
    OG: lemme ask around……… 😛

    having said that, i have to say that place sounds toooo organised, even for a cleanliness freak like me!! * shudder * on second thoughts, i’ll pass!! 😛 lol
    OG: hahahahahahaha,

    • July 13, 2009 7:27 am

      that graph shooting off the charts rock tho! 😀
      try mentioning it to ur mom to put that thing in ur matrimonial/dating profile… you’d be surprised at the number of responses u get!! LOL
      OG: OMG……… i still have a few years left for that…….. jawan houn 😛 😛 😛 😛

      • July 13, 2009 10:52 am

        jeez! u make it sound like its all the budde who get married! 😛 😛
        OG: 😛 😛 😛

        • July 13, 2009 12:56 pm

          Actually the men who are unclean remain like that and get wives to do the cleaning for them. So OG, it is good that you are actually learning good housekeeping, makes you a complete and attractive package.
          OG: you too, I got up this morning and find that every single comment is about my marriage……
          this is not good……..

        • July 14, 2009 5:43 am

          ROFL!! told ya the enthusiasm is contagious 😀 😀

  3. July 13, 2009 7:53 am

    LOL!!! What an improvement! 😀
    OG: hehehehe
    Your wife will be very happy to know how organized and clean you are now!!!
    OG: what wife????? I am unmarried and happy!!!!!!!!
    What did you mom say though?!!
    OG: she is in shock!!!!!!!!! hehehe
    New experiences do prepare you for the whatever life may thro up in the future!!! 😀 😀
    OG: agree!!!!!!!!!

    • July 13, 2009 8:48 am

      Future Wife OG!!! 😀

      First qualification would be – excellent housekeeping skills!!! 😀
      OG: hmmmm, then maybe I should stop doing all this 😛

      • July 13, 2009 3:43 pm

        I agree with Pixie, OG. Now we have one more qualification to put on that shaadi.com profile of yours 🙂
        OG: 😛 😛 😛 😛 😛 not you as well, smithus!!!!!!!!

  4. July 13, 2009 7:56 am

    ” One of my roomies even has specific timings for talking to his girlfriend in India.”

    I guess he spends rest of his time talking to his girlfriends in the US and maybe in other countries?
    OG: we are not that close enough for me to ask that question 😛

  5. July 13, 2009 8:00 am

    Wow! Your roomies have taught you what I have been unable to teach my husband after 8.5 years of marriage!!! Any chance I can send him over for a training period 😉
    OG: ROFL, ROFL, ROFL!!!!!!!!!!! hahahahahahahaha, classic comment!!!!!!!! yeah, your husband is welcome here 😛
    Will get back to comment in detail – in a hurry – but could not resist commenting after reading your post 🙂
    OG: Yo!!!!

    • July 13, 2009 9:01 am

      LoL! Smitha I suggest you do sent your hubby for training. 😉

      I think I need to send my dad too. 🙂 Although dad doesn’t like mess either BUT is more than happy to make it and get other *ahem* me to clean it. 😦
      OG: 😛 😛 😛

    • July 13, 2009 3:45 pm

      OG, I would have sent him – if it weren’t for the fear that he has the potential to convert all you guys into his standards of housekeeping 🙂 Then your future wife will curse me forever 😦
      OG: okay okay 😛 point noted 😛

  6. July 13, 2009 8:39 am

    i think Ms.Z is on her way.. you are being prepered for that only..

    now this ordinary guy has become “Extrordinary”..

    one who can do chores.. and is organised.. too much :-):-D
    OG: I also say “too much” for this soul to handle 😛

  7. July 13, 2009 8:49 am

    LOL!! i can almost me in you my intial days living with a gang of bachelors!! dont worry in a few months, you will start spoofing at people who dont keep things in the right place!! 😛
    OG: ahem, this is not my “initial days of bachelorhood”…….. 😛 but yes, hopefully, I will come out wiser…….. and ROFL at “spoofing at people who dont keep things in right place”………..

  8. July 13, 2009 8:58 am

    Congrats OG. You have learnt the art of housekeeping and becoming organised. 🙂

    LoL @ graph. That just says it all. 😛

    And bless your roomies for “adjusting” to your burnt curries. 🙂

    So you vacuum now, clean the appartment (i’m guess you live in an appartment) including the balcany and do your own bed. 😯
    Aunty must be proud. 🙂
    And after reading this, aunty must also started looking at more girls and added “Ajit is a ‘trained’ housekeeper also” to you “CV” 😛 😛

    OG: now why is everyone talking about my marriage here

  9. July 13, 2009 9:01 am

    What are you doing dude… !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Getting domesticated before marriage ??????????

    now I m convinced that you are desparate to get married… you started practising already !!!!!!!!!!
    OG: you too dhirubhai……. dont worry dost, I still love my life 😛 😛
    naheeeeeee… OG …. !!!

    • July 13, 2009 9:54 am

      Good one DhiruBhai ! 😀
      OG: Come on dude…… 😛

    • July 13, 2009 10:53 am

      hahaha…. spot on, dhiren!!! 😀 😀
      OG: this is not fair

    • July 13, 2009 1:48 pm

      Yep. I agree with Hitchy. Shaadi ki jaldi hai. 😛 😛
      OG: 😛 😛

      • July 13, 2009 3:30 pm

        LOL!!
        What an observation Dhiren! 😀
        bang on! 😀
        OG: hello madam, when are you getting married 😛

        • July 14, 2009 6:05 am

          😛 😛 😛
          OG: that is not exactly an answer, you know!!!!!!!!!!

        • July 14, 2009 10:42 am

          OG. Abhi was telling me that she was waiting until you and Vimmuuu then she will. And as we can clearly see, you are in much more of a hurry in comparison to Vimmuuu, I guess you’re first. 😉 😛

        • July 15, 2009 2:52 am

          My Bag. Vimmuuu beat you in the shaadi queue. 😛 😛

      • July 13, 2009 3:46 pm

        Yeah, we all agree with Hitchy! He must be talking from experience after all 😉
        OG: hehehehehehe 😛

        • July 13, 2009 4:57 pm

          Smi ki bachi… !!

        • July 13, 2009 7:13 pm

          Dhiren, for the last time, are you with those evil ones or with the ‘guys’ ? 😉

          Btw OG, Dhiren is right? I think its time you got married ! 😀 😀
          OG: dai, it is your turn first 😛

        • July 13, 2009 10:59 pm

          @Smitha: Hi-fi. 😆 😆

        • July 14, 2009 4:49 am

          main to aap hi ki taraf hoon…

        • July 16, 2009 5:41 am

          uh Badz lier lier pants on fire 😛 😛
          ‘Abhi’ was saying no such thing 🙂

        • July 16, 2009 10:12 am

          Why Abhi. You want to be next to get married?? That’s cool by us too. 😉 😛 I’m sure OG doesn’t mind. Do you OG??

  10. kanagu permalink
    July 13, 2009 9:07 am

    i second oorja dude… seems to be u r perfectly ready for marriage… after cooking now cleaning too… now there will be many proposals machi… beware… LOL 😆
    OG: machi, neeeyuma???? come on man… why is everyone desparate to get me married 😛 dont you guys like me

    • July 14, 2009 5:44 am

      ROFL!!!
      thats the last time OG will ever write anything remotely connected to his ‘domesticatedness’ 😛 😛 hahaha!

      • kanagu permalink
        July 14, 2009 10:13 am

        we are not saying you to get married machi… but your action speaks for yourselves 😆
        when you turned into a perfect cook we suspected… with housekeeping we confirmed 😆 buhahahahah
        and also agree with ashwathy… you will never write a post about your good things anymore till marriage 😀

    • kanagu permalink
      July 15, 2009 12:53 pm

      Congrats machi for the awards 🙂 you really deserved it for your creativity 😀

  11. kanagu permalink
    July 13, 2009 9:09 am

    and that graph says your chances of getting married perfectly… LOL
    OG: 😛 😛 😛 ROFL

  12. July 13, 2009 9:30 am

    LOL!!! But seriously, doesn’t it feel good to live in an organized, clean and neat house? I’m sure you’ve realized by now how much your mother had to go through when you were still living at home 🙂
    OG: I have respect now for all the people who go thru this…. and yes, it does feel nice to be living like this
    Have you told your parents about the new you? If you have, be careful because the next time you call, they may tell you that they have arranged your marriage…
    OG: you too Bones…….. 😛

  13. arc permalink
    July 13, 2009 11:38 am

    Know what? I like things to be perfect. I am completely obsessed to keeping things organized..events pre-planned with evry minute detail investigated ..And when I hear pple, esp guys, tell me of their ‘maintenance’ I am just bemused..Really.BEMUSED.
    OG: and we are bemused when we listen to your tales…….. hehehehehehehehehehe
    But I am glad you ve been forced to do certain things you otherwise wouldn ve done. There is a lot of peace arnd you when thimngs arnd you are organized..How you ever felt that way?:)
    OG: nope…. no peace….. but yes, it feels nice to be living differently now

  14. July 13, 2009 12:19 pm

    “For the first time in my life, I have used a vacuum cleaner. For the first time in my life, I have washed vessels right after cooking and for the first time in my life, I have cleaned the balcony by removing the dry leaves and for the first time……………….. the list of endless…..”

    This sums it up. You all are ready for some domesticity 😀

    But really, I have never heard of clean bachelor homes, much less seen one.
    OG: hehehehehehehehehee, maybe I ought to post photos……. 😛

    • July 13, 2009 3:10 pm

      And have tourism trips to your apartment….as a rare occurance…and charge tickets too 😀
      OG: hehehehehehehehehehe, now this is a good idea….. I am sure women would flock in large numbers…… 😛

      • July 13, 2009 4:10 pm

        yes they should conduct trips for this once in a lifetime spectacle 😀
        OG: and I will become a rich man 😛

  15. Swaram permalink
    July 13, 2009 1:12 pm

    Thatz the right way OG. Keep it gng 😛
    OG: yeah yeah, laugh at me 😛

  16. July 13, 2009 1:17 pm

    lol 😀

    My maid is threatening to leave any help is welcome 😀
    OG: ROFL!!!!!!!!!! 😛 but I demand a monthly salary of 4000 dollars……. 😛

    • July 13, 2009 3:47 pm

      That is one expensive maid!!!!
      OG: hehehehehehehe 😛

    • July 13, 2009 4:00 pm

      ROFL!! good one Smita! 😀

    • July 13, 2009 7:40 pm

      LoL! OG I suggest you ask for bonuses too. 😉
      OG: ya ya 😛

    • July 13, 2009 10:51 pm

      $ 4000? She said maid not male stripper. *Solilo runs before getting banned from here*
      OG: you seem to have experience in such matter?????? :mrgreen: heheheheheheheheheheh

      • July 14, 2009 10:32 am

        oh sols! lol @’ She said maid not male stripper’!

      • July 14, 2009 2:34 pm

        Solilo. I think OG felt he should in include the expensises of transport, ticket, etc. 😉

      • July 16, 2009 7:41 am

        gEEEEz… sols is sinister… !!

  17. craftyshines permalink
    July 13, 2009 1:53 pm

    as if me choking on water when my senior opened a pie chart was not enough…..now i will be stifiling my snorting chuckle when i see a graph too….
    OG: heheheheheheheh
    EOG…pliss not to venture into any more statistical devices….it’s bad for my impression, when i snort in a meeting….

    😀 😀 😀
    OG: ROFL!!!!! ROFL!!!!!!!!!! hahahahahahaha
    ps: i LOVED the chart!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    😛

    OG: thanks!!!!!!!!!

  18. July 13, 2009 3:05 pm

    If you would be so kind to tell me the address, I would love to send DH there for some crash course in Housekeeping .. so that I can laze around on weekends atleast!! 😉
    OG: hahahahahahahahah 😛
    Good piece of work on that chart!! LOL!! Mommy must be so proud of you .. 🙂
    OG: I hope she would be 😉

  19. July 13, 2009 3:34 pm

    Life is the greatest teacher …. especially for bachelors 😛
    OG: I agree!!!!

  20. July 13, 2009 4:03 pm

    So tell me OG 🙂
    Answer this question seriously
    .*Sit down take a deep breath*

    WHy are you single again? 😀

    I mean MS Z should be here like that! *snaps fingers*
    she should be BEGGING you to marry her!!! 😛
    ONE look at that graph and she should be yours for life! 😆 😆
    OG: unfortunately, fate does not seem to side with OG 😛 😛

  21. July 13, 2009 4:08 pm

    Oh! and also?
    I DONT believ that the graph can zoon like that at the end 😛
    NO GUY’s graph can look like that !!

    married or not!

    clean? 😛 😛
    OG: OMG< why cant you believe me 😛 i will have to post photos now 😛
    😛

    • July 13, 2009 4:23 pm

      You know what Indyeah, there is always a possibility that – what is clean for men, is still messy for us 😉 That is the only explanation for the curve 🙂
      OG: What is clean for us is also clean for you 😛 😛 😛 we guys have better stds

      • July 13, 2009 4:26 pm

        I am in office now, will give an answer to this accusation later in the evening 😛 hehehehehehehhehehee

        • July 13, 2009 4:32 pm

          @OG haan! haan! all bahanas! 😛 😛

          @Smitha – yeah you might be right 😀
          OG: you guys will never believe me 😛

        • July 13, 2009 5:07 pm

          I know, Indyeah- all bahanas 😉
          OG: you too, “Hail Smithus” 😛

      • July 13, 2009 7:49 pm

        Good point Smitha. I didn’t think of that. 😛

        Psst. OG you are really writing this post to impress the ladies and get married quickly. Hai na?? 😐
        OG: least interested 😛

        • July 14, 2009 1:30 pm

          Least interested or being shy?? 😉

    • July 13, 2009 4:32 pm

      sorry typo I meant ZOOM

  22. craftyshines permalink
    July 13, 2009 4:59 pm

    EOG! look at all these ppl trying to get u married! OMG! girls are dangerous…..but wives are fatal!!!! quick hide behind me!!!!

    *EOG stands behind crafty*

    something is not quite right here……

    *EOG is 6 foot and crafty is 5 foot 3*
    OG: ROFL!!!!!!!!!!! hahahahahahaha 😛 😛 😛 😛
    god save u EOG….first u make public announcement that u are good at housekeeping…..then u support it with a highly graphic graph….

    *crafty spots girls circling u like vultures over EOG*
    OG: I only wish that that was true 😛 😛
    nice knowing u EOG…..i will miss ur pie charts and other such diagrams and dance videos….

    😀 😀 😀

    *crafty drama queen*

    OG: classic comment 😛

  23. craftyshines permalink
    July 13, 2009 5:34 pm

    We have always heard of some long lost tribes who have lived without any contact with the outside world. I personally think that the same is true here with these bachelors as well.

    ROFL! Ok, so I am guessing these tribal-isque bachelors do not follow ur blog? 😛
    OG: nope, they dont 😛 😛
    U fold ur bedsheet when u wake up???!!!! 😀
    If u do this when u visit home, EOG, u mom will faint with joy na??? 😀
    OG: amma would be stunned 😛
    @ graph / chart: need I even say it? It killed me……now if I see anything vaguely looking like a chart or graph…. Somewhere in Sunnyvale, a guy (with exceptional housekeeping skills) will be hiccupping! 😛 😛
    OG: heheheheheh
    Burnt curries????? How do u burn a curry? With gravy??! Good luck to ur roomies….
    i can imagine u serving them extra spoonfull of gravy and they are smiling a very forced smile! 😛 😛 😛

    maybe God is preparing me for something worse

    EOG……u have invited trouble…..suicidal!!!!!!!!!!!
    OG: I know…….. 😛 but dont worry, OG is strong 😛
    😛 😛

    Keep up the good work! 😀 and best of luck with the curries…… I meant this for ur roomies!!!

    Lol!!! 😀 😀

    Hugs!!!!!!!!!!
    OG: YAY!!!! Hugs!!! and yes, best of luck to my roomies 😛

  24. July 13, 2009 7:09 pm

    Dude, which world are you in ??? Its not Sunnyvale; its Shani-vale !!

    I can understand about being clean, but furniture in the right place, fridge cleaned every weekend, etc. and alloting a slot for speaking to girlfriend is like heights ! You must change the room immediately buddy !!! Those roomies are an insult to the whole race of bachelors 😀 😀 😀 😀

    ** OG goes about asking people- “What is the procedure to change the room?” (Vasool Raja style) **
    OG: hahahahahahaha 😛 Shani-vale…… 😛 It is not that bad aliya……… 😛 but yes, insult to all bachelors ard the globe 😛 and ROFL about vasool raja

    • July 13, 2009 8:39 pm

      ROFL! – ‘** OG goes about asking people- “What is the procedure to change the room?” (Vasool Raja style) **’

      Vimmuuu. There was a girl in a hostel I stayed at – who asked somebody – ‘What is the procedure to have a bath’! 🙂
      OG: So “Hail Smithus”, did you explain the procedure 😛 hahahahahahah

      • July 14, 2009 10:34 am

        Well, she did not ask me that 🙂 But the story went around 😉 Poor thing 🙂

    • July 13, 2009 10:54 pm

      Shani-vale. Ha..ha..ha.. I am still ROFL.

      But Vimmu is right. Clean is good but furniture in the right place etc. etc. I need to meet them. They could be my friends in OCD club. Ha..ha..ha..
      OG: ROFL……… yes, come over to SF!!!!!!!!1 😛
      @ Smitha: “What is the procedure to have a bath!” 😆 😆 Oh boy!

    • July 14, 2009 2:14 am

      ROFLMAO @ ** OG goes about asking people- “What is the procedure to change the room?” (Vasool Raja style) **

      Hahahahahahahahahahaha. 😛

      aand @ smitha “What is the procedure to have a bath!” 😆 😆

  25. July 13, 2009 8:43 pm

    Even I am very organised and I must say that even my roommates are. 🙂
    Its good to have a clean house. Everyone have those lazy bouts once in a while but whats wrong in keeping things clean and tidy?
    Having said that, I think your roomies are a little too much paranoid about cleanliness. Don’t you think?
    OG: actually no, not much 😛

    • July 14, 2009 5:49 am

      * gasp * OG, u are actually supporting their behaviour??!! omg!!
      LOL… do i hear bells ringing??? 😛 😛

  26. July 13, 2009 10:44 pm

    Finally OG reached a place where he is undergoing training on how to be a good husband. Now Ms. Z is not too far.

    Any amazon waasis reading this post..pliss to apply. 😆
    OG: I sure hope to get some blog hits from south america 😛 😛 😛

  27. July 13, 2009 10:48 pm

    But on a serious note, OG, men who live like Pigs continue to do so because after marriage their wife picks after them and before their mother. There are some who make their mothers wash their dirty clothes including undergarments. Throwing some things here and there is natural but those who live in smong dirty dishes and stinky clothes….blech..

    So you are in right place. I hope all men learn from your roomies. BTW if your other roomies are reading this then bhagooooooooooo. 😆
    OG: hmmm, I would not know much about “men who live like pigs” :mrgreen:
    but yes, I have learnt a lot. on this trip to USA

  28. July 14, 2009 11:03 am

    OG. I think my mum must have read this post. 😦
    She’s got me cleaning (scrubbing) the whole house today which is including all the bathrooms, bedrooms, kitchen, lounge, hallways, banister and stair case. Even the doors and windows. 😦
    So much for thinking i’d get away from it for a few weeks. 😦

  29. Pal permalink
    July 15, 2009 10:58 pm

    Ha ha ha! Why do single men keep their house in perfect order? Why do they throw it all to the wind the moment the better half enters the threshold?! Beats me !!

    ROFL at that Domestication Chart :-)))

  30. August 3, 2009 8:19 pm

    LOL! This is classic you! Feels like home now 😀 I missed reading your posts !

Leave a Reply

