Skip to content

Culture Shock in Sunnyvale!!!

July 1, 2009

I think that I am currently suffering from a very big culture shock here in Sunnyvale.

Not because the culture here in Sunnyvale is so alien but because everything here is so….so………….Indian!!

The “Indian-ness” of this place percolates into almost every sphere of life here. Compared to LA, it is dirtier, and the road side pedestrians don’t follow many rules.

And this place is full of Indians of all sizes, shapes and ages. Last evening, I decided to hit the apartment gym in the hope that I could burn up a few unwanted calories but nope, the gym was full of Indians and the waiting line for using the treadmill, well… it almost exclusively consisted of oversized Indians.

Then, I decided to pay my respects to the tennis court but nope, the battle court was covered by a huge conglomeration of a gujju family spanning 4 generations. Some of them were playing tennis in the sides; the elders were walking around the court and the kids were playing “running–catching” around the net.

Then I decided to take a walk in our apartment complex but I met so many Indians that I was actually quite confused if I was in America or Aminjikara.

We hit a famous Pakistani hotel called “Shaan” today for lunch and the rush in the hotel was something else (entirely of Indians), much like Tirupati. There is even a restaurant called “Muniyandi Vilas” (an archaic pure Tamil name) here. Would you believe it? I certainly cannot.

When in doubt, consult in the higher authority”, screamed my neurons and my “(Very) Sympathetic Nervous System” kicked into action and asked me to check my veritable source of knowledge, Wikipedia.

This is what Wiki had to say regarding Sunnyvale:

The racial makeup of the city is 53.27% White, 32.27% Asian, 2.22% African American, 0.46% Native American, 0.32% Pacific Islander, 7.19% from other races, and 4.25% from two or more races.

And this census was taken in 2000. Now in 2009, thanks to the software boom, I am sure that the racial makeup of this city is as:
sunnyvale

I keep telling you guys this….. We are going to populate the whole world pretty soon. Now let me go get adjusted to this culture shock!!! Thank God that I can speak a bit of Telugu. I can now survive here without any language problem because:

Nenu okka saari cheptae vanda saarlu cheppinatte!!!

(If I say anything once, it is like saying it a hundred times)

92 Comments leave one →
  1. July 1, 2009 3:59 am

    lol 3 gens of gujjus ? Well you are surely in Aminjikara !! trying to escape from your friends ?
    OG: hahahahahahaha 😛 😛 😛 😛 no dude, I am not 😛

  2. Quirky Indian permalink
    July 1, 2009 4:12 am

    We are everywhere! Yay! World domination, here we come…..

    Quirky Indian
    OG: 😛 😛 😛 yeah! here we come

  3. kanagu permalink
    July 1, 2009 4:23 am

    ha ha ha… LOL dude.. 😆
    we rock the world 😀
    OG: 😛 😛 😛 😛

  4. July 1, 2009 4:42 am

    Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha! 😛
    It sounds like my home town. Completely “indian”. At times even i can’t tell whether I’m in india or england when I go in the area or my old home. 😉
    OG: old home?? where is that?

    4 generations of gujju. Hahahahahaha 😛
    OG: ROFL 😛
    And your graph…. 😆
    OG: 😛 😛

    • July 1, 2009 1:53 pm

      LoL! my old home in is leicester in the Belgrave area. Which is pretty much like a mini India. 😉

    • July 1, 2009 1:59 pm

      OG. We also have a mini Pakistan in Leicester too. 😛

  5. July 1, 2009 5:04 am

    i am suffering from the same culture shock.. we have the hugest south indian community here… 🙂
    OG: where are you now?????
    u have Muniyandi Vilas there..? 😀 😀
    OG: heheheheh 😛
    Indians are everywhere.. 😀 in all shapes and sizes.. 😉
    OG yeah 😛 😛 YAY!!!!!

  6. July 1, 2009 5:05 am

    LOL… the Indians are taking over!! run for ur life 😛 hahaha
    OG: so true 😛
    Your description reminds me of the town I went to this place called Southall in London. The Indians have immigrated there and drove the foreigners out LOL
    honestly, it’s like walking back into india. the crowded roads, dirty streets, way-side shops, authetic indian food, even an honestly Indian cinema theatre called ‘Himalaya Place’ 😀 it was an absolute scream! I didn’t live there… but whenever i felt homesick, i’d go there with friends and hang out for sometime!!
    OG: that place is a must visit now 😉
    Good luck with teh culture shock… I won’t be surprised if, by the time u come back to India, u will have more Indian-ness in u (or Gujju-ness 😛 ) than u wud if u had been here only! 😛 😛
    OG: or more telugu ness 😛 😛 😛
    P.S.: Nice graph btw! 😀
    OG: thanks!

    • July 1, 2009 5:10 am

      “Muniyandi Vilas” ??? You kidding me??
      It can’t get more authetic than this!!! 😛 LOL 😀
      OG: read the link…….. it is awesome 😛

    • July 1, 2009 5:10 am

      “Muniyandi Vilas” ??? You kidding me??
      It can’t get more authentic than this!!! 😛 LOL 😀

      • July 1, 2009 5:24 am

        reminds me of this one:
        http://www.viewlondon.co.uk/restaurants/chennai-dosa-pure-vegetarian-info-17435.html

        it was my regular haunt… Chennai Dosa in London
        OG: hmmmmmm 😛

        • July 1, 2009 5:26 am

          P.S.: altho their veg restaurant was more famous, their non-veg section was rite next door to it… and they made the most awesome chicken biriyanis and chettinad chickens & porotta i knew!! yummy! ok don’t get me started on it LOL
          OG: chicken biriyani………… now i am drooling 😛

        • July 1, 2009 9:06 am

          Oh Ashwathy – We used to haunt Chennai Dosa when we were in London. The food was yummy and the ambience was totally Indian 🙂 I miss Chennai Dosa so much 😦 Couple of weeks back, husband was in London – and he made sure to go to Chennai Dosa once 🙂

        • July 1, 2009 10:31 am

          @Smitha
          one more chennai dosa fan? yay! 🙂
          yes yes the ambience was straight out of chennai alright.. so was the food.. and the waiters LOL
          wahhhh 😦 i m chennai-dosa-sick now!! lol 😛

        • July 1, 2009 3:03 pm

          And the chicken biryani of Chennai Dosa was yum!!!!! I am Chennai Dosa sick too 😦 I feel like going to london just for that ::)
          OG: count me in as well 😛

        • July 1, 2009 4:50 pm

          Come over OG – and we will all go and pig out in Chennai dosa 🙂
          OG: YAY 😛 I will !!!!!!!!!

  7. July 1, 2009 5:55 am

    When I go to Manali I get fed up of reading gujarati thali, and jain thali… and jain pavbhaji… !! lol….

    I guesss outside the country as Indians we have an even bigger prescence…
    OH: hehehehehehehehehe 😛

    • July 1, 2009 9:07 am

      Dhiren – Once, in Ahmedabad – we came across ‘Jain Chicken’ 🙂 Apparently it was Chicken without onions and garlic 🙂
      OG: ROFL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 😛 😛 😛

      • July 1, 2009 10:22 am

        must have been soya chunks and not chicken !!!!!!!!!!
        OH: nope, it has to be chicken 😀 , heheheh

        • July 1, 2009 10:37 am

          That I do not know – never tried it – but we did have a good laugh over it 🙂
          OG: we sure are having a laugh over it now 😛

        • July 2, 2009 5:13 am

          nO CHUnks for me though… gimme the flesh baby !!! 😀
          OG: that is the spirit dost!!!!!!!!

        • July 2, 2009 7:41 am

          gimme the flesh ?

          Dhiren!!!!

          *Indy’s veggie atma shudders in horror* 😛 😛

      • thethoughtfultrain permalink
        July 2, 2009 1:20 pm

        Jain Chicken !! ROFL 😀
        The things people do for business!!

  8. July 1, 2009 6:19 am

    why cant they change to Swamivale from Sunnyvale..oru petition koduthollu..
    OG: aliya kollam!!! good one

  9. July 1, 2009 7:06 am

    Behold of the power of God….err…Indians!!!!
    OG: completely agree!!!!!!

  10. July 1, 2009 7:18 am

    LOL! LOL!

    Sinister plans of world domination by sheer numbers he he he 😀
    OG: 😛 😛 😛 😛

  11. July 1, 2009 9:05 am

    ROFL!! That was my reaction to certain parts of London! You actually feel that you have been transported to some place in India. The Indian shops here make you feel that you have time travelled back a few decades too 🙂
    OG: now i really need to visit england 😛
    ‘pay my respects to the tennis court but nope, the battle court was covered by a huge conglomeration of a gujju family spanning 4 generations. ‘ – LOL!!! I can so imagine it!

    So you are sure to add Telugu – Fluent to your CV before you leave Sunnyvale 🙂
    OG: rofl!!! maybe i should 😉

  12. Ann permalink
    July 1, 2009 9:13 am

    Hi..I am a silent reader, but could not resist commenting on that. Are you born and brought up in Sunnyvale?? Are u an Indian?
    OG: well, you say that you have been a silent reader. IN that case, you should also know that my style of writing pretty much is along the same lines……. in answer to your question, I came to Sunnyvale 2 days back and Yes, I am an “Indian Citizen”…… please note that 😛
    If so..how can you say that your country India is dirty?? U don’t like the sight of your own people?? I am now not a Indian citizen, but I do always tell everyone, even if I live in this country for ages, my India would be always mine. For whatever reasons I had to change my nationality, but its just reasons. I can never think of saying anything wrong about my country. I do agree that India is not a very neat place, but there are reasons for that. If I go into that, it will become another post.
    OG: ok…ok….again you have got it wrong. What is wrong in saying the truth (about dirtiness)?? and I never said that I dont like the sight of indians…… I totally disagree with you on this one….. on the other hand, I love eveyrthing indian…. it is what I am…… my writing style is like this…….I am sorry that you felt upset enuf to write a comment 😛 😛
    And you have said about the Gujju family..what are you doing there?? Aren’t you there to earn a living, same with them. U might say that it was just to add humour to your post, but I would say think before you post..If you think they are crowd, then you are also one among the crowd. If in sunnyvale, why did u go to a pakistani hotel, as per what I see you should have gone to local restaurant!! If you had gone to have authentic pakisthani food there might be other people who would love to have some south indian food as well..hence that other south indian restaurant.Ahh..about gym..I didn’t know that gym was just a place for the slim and trims to maintain there health!!If you don’t like the sight of “INDIANS” just move out of that place!!
    OG: see, I love the sight of indians here……….. 😛 and the post…. you need to look at it in that way….if you can notice, the other commentators have only found the humor in this post……..
    It was said that the evil right hand of Hitler, called Himmler carried the bhagavat gita with him at all time…. it was becoz he felt peace with himself when he carried out all dastardly acts……….
    so can you say that the bhagavat gita is a wrong book????
    same way, if you have been a silent reader in the past (for which I am thankful), let me also tell you that I am an indians, I love being an indian, I love the indian crowd here……. my writing is such……..
    Thanks for posting your views
    !

    • July 1, 2009 2:47 pm

      @ “Ann”

      If so..how can you say that your country India is dirty?? U don’t like the sight of your own people??
      It is called the ability to laugh at oneself… it’s an art 😛

      For whatever reasons I had to change my nationality, but its just reasons.
      possibly so. but the writer’s nationality is indian as well as the nationality of many others like me who enjoyed reading this post and its tone…
      and let me tell you, we are proud of who we are. but that doesnt mean we dont accept our flaws and admit them openly. adding a dashing of humour while admitting them adds a tinge of amusement to it, thats all… rather than making the tone regretful or guilty. again, it is not a generalisation (not every Indian is supposed to be “dirty” or whatever), but just a tendency that is targetted…

      I didn’t know that gym was just a place for the slim and trims to maintain there health!
      If you have been following this blog’s previous posts, OG has made it obvious that he himself is not beanstalk… or a hefty body builder 😀 why do u think he joined the gym in the first place… because he wanted to lose weight and be fit! so he isnt all that different from the ones already there! 😛
      My point being, thats how his posts are. The sense of humour and tone of the post is consistent with every posting… it is not meant to offend anyone and I as a follower of this blog can safely assure you that this guy is about mad about his country as he could be over…his food or his love for dance or call it whatever you may!

      There is no offence meant at all…except in the harmless sense, and we as ppl who enjoy his blog take it in that spirit too! I hope you can as well! Cheers! 🙂
      OG: Thanku Thanku!!! seriously

      • Ann permalink
        July 1, 2009 3:46 pm

        I just put my views like everybody, as said I may not have that art of laughing for what I am..May be I couldn’t find any humour in it..!!And yes, I was silent for other post becoz I could understand “humour” in those but not in this!!
        As you and other fellows could put their views, I put mine..thats it!!
        OG: 😛 you are welcome 😛

        • July 1, 2009 5:59 pm

          people might find laughter in putting their country down
          yes that is sad… but that is when they do it by putting the country down and pretend that they are different from it at all. here it is not so at all. OG has just pointed out to a characteristic as common to him as for any self-respecting indian… it was just a harmless attempt at humour at oneself thats all… as i said,no offence meant.

          As you and other fellows could put their views, I put mine..thats it!!
          Fair enuff. So did we! 🙂

        • July 2, 2009 6:23 am

          As you and other fellows could put their views, I put mine..thats it!!

          Ann, there is no restriction in voicing your opinion, for this is a public domain. If OG is writing on a topic, am sure he is also graceful to accept whatever opinions come his way, and a classic example is the way he has replied to your comment. He was really polite.

          In my view, Ann, OG was waaay too polite with u. U did not deserve it…That was a downright condescending comment u gave and the tone u used was uncalled for!

          Must you be so disdainful and prejudiced when u voice your opinions? Whatever happened to carefully choosing words? And monitoring your tone? That tone u used here with OG will not be taken kindly….

          Have u had that feeling of wanting to shred ppl who hurt your friends? Then u must understand how we feel….

          In blogosphere, we are all diff ppl with varying opinions, and we don’t always agree. But all in good taste. Suggestions can be made, mistakes can be pointed out, we all are quite sporting out here….(maturity has it’s perks, u know)

          If you can’t see the sarcasm in this post and felt OG was being disrespectful 🙄
          Then cool! Think as u like.

          But madam, when u voice ur opinion anywhere, even if it is dislike, then do ensure u do it in a civil manner, and keep traces of prejudice at bay. Or no one will want to hear u out….the way u use words is ur choice, but the retorts u may have to face will not be ur choice at all.

          @ EOG:
          I retreat from the “read between lines” competition. This madam wins hands down.
          Why explain sarcasm EOG? Sarcasm is not for masses…..it for classes….

          *crafty walks off with nose in the air*

          hugs!
          OG: hugs………… is all OG can say……….. thanks!!!!!!!!

    • Ann permalink
      July 1, 2009 3:36 pm

      Hi, I commented bcoz I can’t take anything bad about my country..people might find laughter in putting their country down..but I am sorry or rather I don’t have that art of laughing at the expense of my country!!
      You said – It was said that the evil right hand of Hitler, called Himmler carried the bhagavat gita with him at all time…. it was becoz he felt peace with himself when he carried out all dastardly acts……….
      so can you say that the bhagavat gita is a wrong book????
      I would not say that..you have the answer in your question itself 🙂 because he felt peace 🙂
      OG: hmmmm 😛

      • July 1, 2009 7:50 pm

        LOL OG and Ashwathy, I cant believe you guys are actually giving explanations to this Ann !!! She has scribbled something in the name of comment like everyone here does. If she cant find the underlying humor, thats the way she is! We, that is, your regular readers know you pretty well. and Im sure all your new visitors wouldnt be like our dear Ann. So Chill.
        OG: dai kalippu avallae aliya……….. leave it 😛 and thanks!!!
        @ Ann : Its sad to know that when you changed your citizenship, you also forgot to take something called sense of humor along with you. I guess you have a lot of free time for yourself for reading between the lines and deciphering what he never meant. I hope you must be reacting the same way when you hear a common Sardar joke or any other jokes on fellow Indians. I would suggest you to attend an Art of Living class asap; they dont teach humor there, but they do teach how to live like a human !

        Your comments have hurt OG and it is very evident from his replies. Anyone for that matter would be hurt if they are falsely accused! We all love each other a lot and this is the way we are. and if you cant tolerate all this, I would suggest you to stay away from us.

        • July 1, 2009 8:37 pm

          Well put Vimmuuu.

          God reading Ann’s comments has made me really angry.

          @ Ann. I second Vimmuuu on that. OG was obviously hurt by your comment. So were the rest of us (his friends & people who follow his blog regularly). And I also suggest, if you don’t like the way OG write or understand his humour, then stay well away from here and us.

          @ OG. \\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\hugs////////////////////
          OG: hugs 😛 😛 😛

        • July 2, 2009 7:32 am

          It seems like I missed out on a VERY interesting discussion 🙂
          GREAT post OG ( as usual 😛 )

          Hi Ann! 🙂
          you are a silent reader of OG’s blog?
          Now why is that darn hard to believe ?
          Call it my cynical mind but OG has a sense of humour that is VERY evident in all his posts and this is not the first time he has used that amazing sense of humour .

          You changed your nationality right Ann?
          I am sure for very good reasons too.

          Now what If I cant see any logic in that and brand you a TRAITOR?

          I mean come on! hey if you love India THAT much then why couldn’t you stay an Indian?

          You might give any number of reasons for your decision but I (just like you refused to regarding this post in your comment here) REFUSE to accept them.

          You see Ann the line between jingoism and some sane love for one’ country is a very, very fine one.

          Your comment while being a gem in itself, however made me stop at these lines.. I can never think of saying anything wrong about my country

          (that somehow made me think of Bal Thackeray ………call me crazy)

          Now tell me Ann………just answer one question of mine,…

          Without asking questions, criticism and debate and plain all out hollering and cursing HOW do you expect a democracy to survive and prosper??

          When you say I will say nothing wrong about my country …should I expect that had you been an Indian citizen you still would have NEVER questioned our leaders?

          Never held them accountable?

          And if you would have, then how would you have held them accountable ?
          By telling them all that’s positive about India??

          Then where would be the progress?

          IS India perfect?

          Let me be a tad cynical and dare I say impolite as well..
          you see in my belief its easy to spout theories ONLY when one is completely cut off from realities of life..or rather in this case realities in India.

          It doesn’t take living In India to knwo the harsh realities.
          One can sit in India and still be jingoistic and one can live outside and think of way to improve India.

          Do you really think that a scoial worker who goes to work in the slums of India will LISTEN to your lines about NEVER criticizing India?

          Anyone who goes off to a country other than India is hurt, shocked and appalled in some cases at the amazing difference that’s there between India and that other country.

          It has been my personal experience that the gulf between India and developed nations is SO huge that nothing less than constant criticism , constant improment , constant efforts will make India improve and progress.

          That makes one feel hurt and realize that, we, that is Indians and India still have a LONG way to go.

          But then Ann if we go by your theory of NEVER saying anything wrong about India..we NEVER would improve would we?

          Ann only those who are truly comfortable in their skin, with who they are and all that they think they can be …….only those people are open to criticism and praise..(yes praise is as hard for some ppl to take as criticism)

          When one feels truly secure then no AMOUNT of criticism can take away who you are.

          Anyway to cut this ramble short let me say once again that while you say you have been a regular reader of OG’s you deemed it fit only to hop in and write when you wanted to criticize 🙂

          Why not give OG some encouragement when you thought he did write funny posts?

          That says a lot about you Ann. And no its not good.

          As you can see OG’s posts are thoroughly enjoyed by all the Indians and Non-Indians and you know the funny part?

          It doesn’t diminish our Indianness at all!! 🙄

          Funny na? 😀

          And just to get that humorous bone in your body here’ are some videos…

          coz you see a friend said a few days back

          Of course we cringe sometimes, at other times laugh openly or subtly at people and their ways, wonder whether they cannot have a better dress sense…. so many things. They are after all our ‘perceptions’ which we have a right to hold and we are free to even air them. But at the back of our mind it is always good to remember that it is only our ‘perception’ and that that perception maybe the result of ‘conditioning’ consciously or unconsciously; and that conditioning exists in all of us to a lesser or greater extent. When one is aware of this…. then victory is ours. Why?? When we are aware we will never go to extremes… we are able more to laugh and good-naturedly so at things we find ‘funny’ rather than let them grate on our nerves which I think is a good thing.

          Hope you enjoy the videos 🙂
          But just incase you don’t well then Russell Peters lives right there in the US of A 🙂
          DO feel free to tell him about how you feel 😉

          Also if OG truly didnt like the sight of Indians the first person he would have to kill would be himself …..he has to look at an Indian face in the mirror every morning doesnt he? 😀

          OG please don’t think of killing yourself we love your posts too much 😛 😛

          OG you know how I feel so keep writing 🙂
          and oh yes! do give a link for QI too 🙂
          QI will make Ann faint 🙂
          OG: well written 😛 as usual

        • July 2, 2009 7:44 am

          Would go with all that Vimmuuu says here 🙂

          PS:-
          OG Appoopan I hope you have not fainted with the shock of all the critcism 😆
          OG: in my old age, I almost fainted….. but OG is strong 😛 😛 😛

        • July 2, 2009 7:45 am

          Appoopan there is also a comment of mine in moderation..do the needful please 😛
          OG:done 😛 😛 😛

        • July 2, 2009 10:14 am

          Yes, Vimmuuu. Very well put!!!

          And OG – You rock! As Crafty says – sarcasm is for classes 🙂
          OG: hail smithus………. Thanks!!!

        • July 2, 2009 3:03 pm

          @Indyeah
          holy moly!! now THAT’S a comment… to beat all comments hollow! my jaw dropped while reading it…
          take a bow, madam! 😀

        • July 3, 2009 5:26 am

          WoW Abhi! That is a comment. Hats off to you. 🙂

    • July 2, 2009 5:33 am

      Ann Take a chill pill….

      If you have been reading OG for a long time… you should know he is as proud of his Indianism as any one of us… !!

      relax dear !!
      OG: 😛 😛 😛 😛

      • July 3, 2009 5:19 am

        should I also say now… Indy take a chill pill !!! lol… nvm !! I concur…

        have to save my own skin… !! 😛 😛
        OG: hehehehehe!!!!!!

    • Quirky Indian permalink
      July 2, 2009 6:39 am

      Ann hasn’t visited my blog, I take it. 🙂

      Cheers,

      Quirky Indian
      OG: hahahahahahahahahhahahaha 😛 dude your name is not even linked……….. to your blog

      • July 2, 2009 7:13 am

        OG, thanks for pointing that out. I had no idea that was happening!

        QI
        OG: 😛 😛 😛

        • July 2, 2009 7:33 am

          And here I thought you were shy QI 😀
          no link and all 😛
          OG: ROFL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

        • July 2, 2009 8:50 am

          OMG !!!!!! Ann are you reading this !!!!!!! our Indian brotherhood/sisterhood is shining through !!!!!!!!!!!
          OG: 😛 😛 😛 our blog samaj!!!!!!

  13. July 1, 2009 10:42 am

    If this is how you feel in Sunnyvale, dont ever think of going to middle east. Those places are infested with indians, particularly mallus !!! 😀 😀 😀
    OG: mallus in gelf!!!
    Why is it that foreign places that has more Indians look like India? I havnt seen Sunnyvale. But I had seen Southhall, the one which Ashwathy mentioned and also been to a particular street in Singapore. Man, they are just like our streets !! Do we get a special permission to replicate our streets in these countries or what ??? 😀
    OG: hahaha……… permission to replicate our streets 😛 😛 😛 lol

    • July 1, 2009 11:00 am

      You went to Southhall as part of ur trip? danganaaka!!! 😀 LOL

      there’s a similar one in singapore too? enikku vaiyya…. ee nammude aalkaarude oru karyame!! 😛
      OG: hehehe

      • July 1, 2009 7:53 pm

        It was not part of my trip. LOL. We went there to park our car 😀 😀 😀 and to also have food from Chennai Dosa !

        • July 1, 2009 8:00 pm

          ROFL! 😀 anyway u had an experience of seeing it… athu mathi … dhaaralam!

        • July 2, 2009 10:15 am

          You came all the way from Chennai to eat in Chennai Dosa??????????

    • July 1, 2009 1:58 pm

      Hahahahahahahaha! You went southhall? Yep that’s also like a mini india. 😉 😆

  14. July 1, 2009 11:17 am

    Ah dont be disappointed OG, perhaps you may find your Trisha somewhere from the crowd.
    OG: yeah! i will keep my eyes open 😛
    I’ve got a feeling that OG is going to get baited 😉 , fingers and toes crossed. Keep the eyes wide open!
    O: dai aliya, vella nalla endengilum para maashe 😛

  15. chewmysambhar permalink
    July 1, 2009 12:05 pm

    Muniyandi Vilas eh? Moonu Parota Parcel:P:P
    OG: so this is what your list contains??? only parota parcel???? lol
    And my col is so full of Telugus. Its not fun:(:(
    OG: nope, telugus are great fun 😛
    Cute poste that was:) Really enjoyed reading:)
    OG: thanks!

    • chewmysambhar permalink
      July 2, 2009 11:22 am

      I loved reading Ann’s comments! Huge hits:P:P:P:P
      OG: 😛 😛 😛 😛

  16. July 1, 2009 1:47 pm

    Haha lol at ‘nenu okkasari chepte vanda sarlu cheppinatte’

    Telugu people are certainly everywhere and you are smart to learn the language OG. So here is a lesson for you
    OG: hehehehehehe 😛
    ‘Desa bhasalandu telugu lessa’ !
    OG: I completely agree 😉

  17. July 1, 2009 8:44 pm

    Just loved it dude..!!!

    Thank god, am in Montana..!! Where Indians are far less..!!
    OG: I hope you are kidding 😛

  18. craftyshines permalink
    July 1, 2009 9:36 pm

    EOG!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    ok, so crafty is in an auto today, coming back home….and she suddenly sees a poster ad of Trisha….

    🙄

    *crafty gives EOG time to stare away in a trance with dreamy and goofy grin on his face*
    OG: hehehehehehhehehehehe 😛 yeah!!!! give me 5 mins 😛
    haan…so i see that, and i think of you, then i think of the first post i read of ur friend, Mr SVK was it? (sorry if i got initials wrong!)
    OG: it was SNV 😛 close enuf
    and then i was giggling in the auto, remembering the pie chart u had of his thoughts….and i thought, “MUST to ask EOG for one more pie-chart in a post”

    *finally, crafty’s rambling makes a point*

    its here!!!!! the pie chart!!!! 😀 HUGS!!!!!!! n ROFL!!!!
    OG: YAY!!!!!!!!!! 😛
    its very late EOG…3am… *yawns* i will have to come back to post a comment on the actual post i read….i read all comments also….
    OG: OMG, when do you sleep?
    why did u not tell any of us EOG, that this post is also a competition for “reading between lines”?????

    eh???? this is how i find out….after reading that entry above on misinterpretation! that will be a tough one to compete with….

    i tried to take offence by this post EOG, but u r too funny….
    OG: ROFL!!!!!!!!!! 😛 tried to take offense?? 😛
    and unfortunately for me, I feel like i know ur style of writing in few posts i read..so unable to take offence…

    maybe i will sleep n tomm morning i’ll wake up fresh to take offence eh? don’t close the competition without my entry!!!
    OG: nope I wont 😛

    EOG, i will be back…..

    no one hurts crafty’s friend EOG n gets away with it without a dose….

    😈

    OG: 😛 😛 😛 thanks!!!!!!!!
    u are a gem of a person, u bring so much laughter, u do not deserve this….and i know that u will not be rude to guests who visit u on ur blog…even if they have hurt you…
    OG: OMG, so many kind words 😛 😛 😛
    but there are no rules on how other guests take up for their host, right? 😉

    luvya EOG! keep the pie charts coming!!!! 😀
    {{{{{{{{{{hugs}}}}}}}}}}
    OG: hugs!!!!!!!!!!!!! 😛 Thanks!!!!!!

  19. July 2, 2009 3:50 am

    Sunnyvale sounds like Singapore…70% of the occupants of this apt. complex are Indians…When I go down to the play area with my daughter, I only see Indian kids with their Filipino maids…Singapore and Sunnyvale are just extensions of India…
    OG: 😛 😛 😛 😛 i have not seen singapore….. but i know that there are mant indians there 😛

  20. July 2, 2009 6:37 am

    the battle court was covered by a huge conglomeration of a gujju family spanning 4 generations

    ROFL! We have a gujju friend in our group EOG, and she is forever talking of how all gujjus always move in herds of 2-3 generations and she’s totally bored of it!!!!
    But I find it damn cute!!!! 😀 esp in movie theatres…one row full of a family!!! 😀
    OG: i completely agreeeeee 😛 hahahahahahaha
    But tennis court!!!! Looks like they had a mini picnic there!!! 😀 😀 are u sure there were no dabbas of gujju food?????
    OG: I used to visit the jain temple when I was in LA for food 😛 😛 😛
    *crafty now craves dhokla….sigh*
    OG: I also like it 😛 my roomie in LA used to make great dhokla
    rush in the hotel was something else (entirely of Indians), much like Tirupati

    Only u cud have compared a restaurant rush to a temple wala rush!!!!!! 😆
    OG: ROFL!!!!!!!!
    *crafty heart is so joyous seeing pie chart*

    I WAS WISHING FOR A PIE CHART!!!!! 😀 yayie!!!!
    ROFL!!!!!! 😛 😛 😛
    OG: hahahahahahahahahhaahhaa
    Happy survival EOG!!!!!

    *crafty is much consoled after ill effects of the last post where EOG said there are no goofups*
    😛 😛
    OG: 😛 😛 😛 😛 thanks…………… 😛 😛 and pray for more goofups 😛

    • July 2, 2009 10:18 am

      All this gujju talk reminds me of our visit to Switzerland. Whole groups of Gujjus come and picnic with such flair in places like Jungfrau 🙂 They bring everything from achaar to Theplas and puris and subjis and picnic so royally!!! Our mouths were watering watching them 🙂

      • July 2, 2009 10:41 am

        No one makes fun gujju dabba’s thepla’s and dhokla’s !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

        • July 2, 2009 2:13 pm

          I wasn’t making fun 🙂 I was drooling at the food! and wishing that they would take pity on us and invite us for the picnic 🙂

  21. July 2, 2009 8:10 am

    Good luck surviving…

    Maybe one good thing would be you can get dinner invitations from diff Indian families and happily skip making dinner at home 🙂

  22. Ann permalink
    July 2, 2009 1:19 pm

    Hey OG..I am sorry if I hurt you. Someone mentioned that my tone was very harsh..(I really didn’t mean to be). I felt the same when I read your writing about Indians. Its may be my weak point – my country, even slightest “humour” I cannot take. Its nice to see your friends over here supporting you. But none other than vimmuuu understood that I was just trying to put my view here..also, vimmuuu when humour is said in the right way I do take it right way..but as said at the expense of putting our country down..I don’t think “I” can ever do that. Again its me, not referring to others. I don’t have enough time to read in between the lines, thats why missed the humor in the post!! I am a human..c’mon this is heights, if I was not I wouldn’t get emotional on such things:). You all asked me to be away from posting comments, so this is the last one!!
    Take care..
    OG:
    Ann, nope you did not hurt me. and I hope I did not as well
    yeah……. you are free to vioce your opinion just like all the others here. Not a single comment will be moderated, I assure you……………
    and please do voice your opinions here….. what is life without discussion………. but please read indyeah’s comment about viocing ones opinion…….
    let me also tell you that I am as “indian” as indian can be………… 😛 okay
    Take care…… hope that you did not get us wrong………. and nope, dont stay sway……

    Thanks!
    Ajit

    • July 3, 2009 5:30 am

      WTG Ann !!!!!!!!

      arguments debates happen !!!!

      good to shake hands at the end !!!!! 😛
      OG: agree dude!! well said

    • craftyshines permalink
      July 3, 2009 5:08 pm

      Hey Ann! just wanted to say, its takes a lot to come back and make a humble statement like u did…
      i will have to admit i respect u for that! 🙂

      and as OG said, no need to stay away…cudn’t this be a beginning of friendship? ones that start with a fight, sometimes are the ones that last!

      *crafty getting into filmy mode*

      @ EOG:
      i have nothing to say actually, but its rude to be at a host’s place and not make conversation with the host 😛 😛 😛
      HUGS!!!!! 😀

  23. thethoughtfultrain permalink
    July 2, 2009 1:34 pm

    Good one OG … made me ROFL! 😉 And for the “hungama” above, loved the way and your battalion handled it. 😀 That made me feel proud, we may joke at ourselves but we do stand up for our own too!
    OG: battalion??? ROFL!!!!!!! good one……
    Thanks and you are right

  24. July 2, 2009 3:37 pm

    OG – When you start getting negative comments – it means that ‘You have arrived’ 😉 Look at poor me – I don’t even get spammed, forget about negative comments 🙂 So enjoy your moment and I have to say, I loved they way you handled criticism – with so much grace! Proud to know you !
    OG: ROFL…….. yeah yeaH!!!! I am improving as a blogger ;P
    Thanks smithus…… you have made my day

    • July 3, 2009 5:31 am

      how can you get spammed when you get search results for Aunty ke Big Babes !!!!!!!

      *bhagooooooooo*
      OG: Now I am waiting for smithus’s reply 😛 😛

      • July 3, 2009 2:56 pm

        Yeah that is true too 🙂 By the way – now I have people searching with the ‘correct’ spellings landing at my blog too 😉

        • July 3, 2009 3:02 pm

          Congraulations Smitha. 😛

        • craftyshines permalink
          July 3, 2009 5:10 pm

          YIKES!!!!

          *crafty is tempted to try the search*

          😆

        • July 4, 2009 5:35 am

          I still doubt if that spelling was rite in the first place… !!!

  25. July 2, 2009 3:38 pm

    I meant ‘the way you handled…’
    OG: yup… got you

  26. July 2, 2009 4:19 pm

    LOL!! Man! I am late everywhere!! 😀
    I have missed such an interesting debate!!!
    OG: hehehehehehehe
    But, OG! Dude… you have trolls on your humorous space! Does this mean you are now famous?!!

    OG is famous! Famous! Famous!!

    *Singing off-key as always and scaring people away!!*
    OG: hahahahahahahaha 😛 Thanks!!!!!!! ROFL at singing
    But, funny post though… 😀
    Well written!
    OG: Thanku thanku

  27. July 2, 2009 4:20 pm

    Oh! Blog rolled you as well! 🙂
    OG: honoured

  28. July 2, 2009 7:21 pm

    I too hate finding Indians everywhere! They won’t let me feel that I am in a foreign land! When I went to Edinburgh, I took a bus tour to the mountains and there were 4 Indian Couples in the bus! I was like – What the F? We are spreading like a virus! 😀
    OG: hehehehehehehehe 😛

  29. July 2, 2009 9:05 pm

    @Ashwathy – since the thread count has run out lemme say thanks here 🙂
    OG: I also say “thank you” to you and ash!

  30. July 3, 2009 5:36 am

    Ah!!! So no more homesickness for you 😉
    OG: YES!!!!!!!!!!

  31. Pal permalink
    July 3, 2009 6:53 am

    LOL! THats great 🙂

  32. July 3, 2009 8:45 am

    hey OG,
    i have been busy and couldnt catch up with ur post. but seeing the discussion in comments, i realize i missed a lot 😦
    The post was good and in no way meant to demean/hate indians or whatever..
    being proud/happy of being an indian doesnt necessarily mean u have to love its flaws or u should appreciate everything..

    You handled everything so well OG and we blog samaj wasis are always thr to support u if at all u need it 🙂
    Keep going

  33. shraddha permalink
    July 3, 2009 7:44 pm

    i like this place….

    enjoy!!!

  34. July 3, 2009 8:41 pm

    Whoosh! I comment too sooon and miss such an interesting debate! Humph! Just today i was telling my sister I wanna go to them hot shot debates on tv ( one on NDTV) I had fun watching it…

    My point is.. how stupid it is to not criticize whats wrong.. how else will we improve?

    Such blinded love.. generally has no substance. If you love something.. you take care to let it grow.. to think if a parent doesnt scold the child.. a gardener doesnt prune the naughty branches..

    Anyhow.. its all said and done now.

    But Just wanted to say.. am proud of our blog battalion 😀 has a zing to it no? this phrase does!

    Ohh hows sunnyvale treating you ?

  35. Just call me 'A' permalink
    July 7, 2009 10:02 pm

    Oh you should see Jersey City…especially at a place called Indian Street in Journal Square. it’s like mini India. There is even a pan shop and pan spit on the pavement. People honk their cars on the road and even drive on the wrong side :D. But I’ve heard Edison in NJ is worst. Now I know Sunnyvale is also similar :). Where there are Indians there will always be a mini India :).
    OG: I still have to see jersey city…… 😛 and yes YAy to mini india 😛

  36. Tejasvi permalink
    July 15, 2009 2:22 pm

    I have been to both Sunnyvale and Jersey city and trust me Sunnyvale is lot cleaner.
    Funny post OG btw isn’t that Rajnikanths dialog from Bhasha?
    (Bhasha okka sari chepte vanda saarlu cheppinattu) 😀

  37. March 21, 2013 9:47 am

    Great blog right here! Also your web site so much up very fast!

    What host are you the usage of? Can I get your affiliate link
    in your host? I desire my website loaded up as quickly as yours lol

  38. October 1, 2013 1:18 pm

    This of course can and does have a significant impact, more times than not in the
    approach you use in marketing your business. Marketing consultant is
    capable of applying appropriate strategies for websites to
    create the needed traffic and increase sales. By applying what you learn from this article and the others in this series you will be able
    to develop successful niche and other Internet Marketing campaigns using Google, You – Tube, Yahoo, Bing, Facebook,
    Blogs, Article Publishing sites and others.

Leave a Reply

