Skip to content

An Eventful Saturday!!!!

June 22, 2009

The saying that “Life is stranger than fiction” is actually very true. I think that some evil soul (most probably Indyeah 😀 ) has cast a voodoo spell upon the “Komalikkal Cousins” namely OG and Vimmuuu.

I personally think that that person is jealous of our singing talent. :mrgreen:

I was actually astounded this Sunday evening when I got to read Vimmuuu’s post called “Silly Day”. The time difference between India and California is exactly 12 hours, 30 minutes and I actually had an eventful half Saturday and half Sunday.

The eventful weekend was thanks to a single call that I made on Saturday morning. I called my dear friend Mr. AS, a quintessential mallu to tell him that I would be leaving LA soon.

Is that so aliya?” he asked.

Evadae vaa. Endhengilum plan cheyyam”, he quipped.

(Come here. Let us plan something)

Now, if you know Mr. AS, you really have to be afraid of his plans. For normal folks, “plan something” might involve simple activities like getting dinner, watching a film etc but for Mr. AS, those same words might mean something like going for scuba diving, gambling, white water rafting, driving to all parts of California etc.

I told him that I had not fully recovered from a fever and extracted a promise from him that his plans would not be wacky.

So finally after lunch on Saturday, I asked my roomie, Mr. SBS to drop me at Mr. AS’s place which was about 30 miles away in a place called “Torrance”.

So, finally around 3, we leave home to get there, entrusting our lives in our good old GPS.  By “good old GPS”, I literally mean that coz this ancient GPS has a long history. It was first bought about 5 years back and has passed hands of multiple software engineers and is now is in Mr. SBS’s hands.

About halfway into the journey our good old GPS stopped working. I seriously don’t know how but it did. SBS was upset as he dearly loved his little companion.

The main problem with America is that if you have missed directions, there is not a soul who can help you. It is not like in India were we can find people everywhere on the roads. So I had to call up another friend who gave us directions thru the phone.

So finally, thanks to heavy traffic, I reached Mr. AS’s house by around 5 and found an upbeat Mr. AS. Now, imagine a six foot man with massive shoulders and arms thanks to years of weight training. That is my friend Ms. AS. He was looking positively happy with a pleasant smile and I knew that some plan was brewing in his massive head.

Aliya, let us go to a nightclub today. My friend called Mr. AK is also coming along with us” he said.

I was NOT very happy with that plan and I voiced them immediately.

Mr. AS asked me a single question, “Have you ever been to a nightclub in your life?” and I said “No”.

That does it. If you have never been to a nightclub, you most definitely have to come along with us for the experience”, he said with a final stamp of authority.

He went on to explain that Mr. AK who would be accompanying us was a dear Bihari friend of his and went on to add that AK was a lot like him.

I had my reservations and I voiced them at that moment itself. One AS I could handle, but if AK was also similar to AS, then I knew that life would become interesting.

By around 8 PM, Mr. AK walked in with a careless ease and after introductions and hand shakes, the planning started.

Now, we want to go to a little niche place with good music, so we can dance. OG can you dance??” asked AK.

I told him that the only dance I knew was the “Ganapathy visarjan” style or the “Paandi/Kuthu” style as we call it down south and I also told him that it would hardly look good in America.

AK continued, “That is fine man. You just have to go with the flow. BTW, you will need to ask a girl to dance as well. You cannot dance alone, you know”.

And thus AK continued for another 15 minutes on the etiquette of club dancing and on the fine art of “How to ask girls for a dance”.

So finally by around 9 PM, we decided to go to a place called “The little temple” (because it had a very low entry cover charge :mrgreen: ) and we reached the neon lit place by around 9:30 PM.

AS and AK looked like two suave gentlemen who knew what they were doing and I really really felt out of place……….

[Next and final part will be up soon]

36 Comments leave one →
  1. anishthomas permalink
    June 22, 2009 7:06 am

    heyyyy me broke the first coconut 🙂
    k now let me read it
    OG: LOL….. 😛 yes, you have finally reached first place dude 😛
    ash, your record is broken 😛

    • June 22, 2009 8:42 am

      I am second 😀
      OG: you are fourth 😛

    • June 22, 2009 8:59 am

      lol 🙂
      OG: ROFL!!!!

    • June 22, 2009 10:11 am

      What did you do Anish??? Ashwathy is all crying !!!
      OG: HAHAHAHA, where is she…… 😛 😛

      • June 22, 2009 10:23 am

        arre this is cheating!!!!!!!!

        *crafty sneakily wishes she’s thought of this stunt first*

        😐
        OG: 😛 how busy are you at work now???? 😛

      • anishthomas permalink
        June 22, 2009 10:45 am

        guyz …….. y me? sob sob 😦 ……..I’m innocentttttttttttt
        OG: that is the problem with coming first aliya, many people dont like it 😛

      • June 22, 2009 6:25 pm

        LOL!!! 😀
        that’s ok… I’ve had my hatrick… now it’s time to let others take their turns 😛 😛
        But I’m touched by ur concern my dear Komalikkal Cousins… really! After all, I named u! 😀 hehehe

    • June 24, 2009 8:56 am

      I am 4th ???

      • June 24, 2009 8:57 am

        ok 9th !! better than last… !!

        man take a breather… geee… I have to read so much
        and i m missing out on so much fun.. !

  2. June 22, 2009 7:54 am

    second second second!!!!!!!

    *crafty feels triumphant n looks around for applause……
    OG: *OG from corner is slapping his hands*

  3. June 22, 2009 7:59 am

    a very close third 🙂
    OG: Yes machi!!!

  4. June 22, 2009 8:05 am

    OMG!!!! u also know the Ganpati Visarjan Style Dance??????

    HUGS!!!!!
    OG: YAY!!!!!!! it is a special dance form 😛
    that’s all i know too OG…..were we also lost in the Kumbh Mela??? eh?????? 😛 😛 😛
    OG: ROFL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    arrre!!!! cruelty!!!! how can u leave us hanging on the cliff like this OG???
    where is the second part!

    u better post it soon, mister!!!!
    *crafty looking stern*
    OG: coming up as soon as I can write it 😛
    OG, u thank ur stars i don’t have your number….I’d have woken u up to hear the rest of it 😐
    OG: Thank God!!!!!!!
    *crafty drags her feet away, constaly looking back to see if OG posted the second part yet*

    😀
    OG: hahahahahahha

  5. June 22, 2009 8:43 am

    dham thaka thiya thaka koothu!
    OG: nee illa, naa illa, naam ennu maathu 😛

  6. June 22, 2009 8:56 am

    ohhhh nooooooooooo….ajith don’t worry , initial blues will become alright, when next time U go 😀 (k don’t look 4 me….i already started running :D) ……even i have got similar friends when i were in college…..But they interested in trekking on captivated forest and forests inhabited by elephants…..it was adventurous but many times had a tough time to be with them and control them(if our college authorities came 2 knw abt that….we would have finished…….
    OG: ROFL… no next time….. 🙂 one time was good enough for me…… 😛 aliya, tel us hear a few of your forest stories….. should be fun 😛
    y a Indian mega serial style this time(giving some clue of heavy dose suspense before the episode get over) 🙂 …..can’t wait 4 the final part 🙂 …come fast……OG ku enthu pattiyo avo 🙂 …..
    OG: I was sleepy last night and hence did not complete it….. 😛 will get it out soon

    • anishthomas permalink
      June 23, 2009 4:13 am

      will try aliya 🙂 ….4 me, in fact that was not funny…..was horror stories(that time)

  7. June 22, 2009 9:17 am

    LOL machi… your friends are really great… always make you to do you have ever done and convinces you well 😀
    OG: I know………… 😛 story of my life

  8. June 22, 2009 9:37 am

    you can’t do this.. come on finish the post.. 🙂

    you have become like the Serials.. 😀 “ab kya hoga…?” kal dekhiye… types.. :-D:-D
    OG: ROFL!!! I was sleepy last night, hence could not complete it in one go….. 😛

  9. June 22, 2009 9:38 am

    btw LOL @ “Ganapathy visarjan” style or the “Paandi/Kuthu” style dance.. in a night club..! 😀
    OG: ROFL!!!!!!!

  10. June 22, 2009 9:55 am

    My 1st time here 🙂 & am 9th 😀
    OG: ROFL!!!!! 9th you are 😛 and thanks
    lol @ Ganapathy visarjan style dance!!!!

    Am sure you must have stamped quite a many foots in there!!!
    OG: actually, I did not do much of the dancing…….. 😛
    Waiting for the concluding part…
    OG: coming out soon 😛

  11. June 22, 2009 9:58 am

    Aliyaa…I knew you could come with this post ! Seriously, we are cursed. and I am sure ‘those’ girls are behind this !!! We need to counter attack soon !
    OG: ROFL……. yes man…. we need to come up with counter strike……
    and aliyaaa, I have two leg foot too and they can be used only for those ganpati visarjans and dhapaankoothu 😀 😀 😀 First, we sang and tortured the fellow bloggers. Next, we dance and take out their lives; what say ????
    OG: ROFL…. great plan….. I also plan to continue singing…… 😛
    Ok, what happens after this…Did you get a girl? and was she hott ??? Aiyyoo, I just cant wait for the next part?
    OG: please wait……… 😛

  12. Quirky Indian permalink
    June 22, 2009 10:22 am

    Since when have you become this Ekta Kapoor ka Chela types? Break ke baad…..come on, let’s get to Part 2! 🙂

    Cheers,

    Quirky Indian
    OG: could not complete writing last night 😛

  13. Mystery permalink
    June 22, 2009 10:44 am

    “[Next and final part will be up soon]” what is this? have u been watching a lot of serials or what? post soon.. the series of events until now have been entertaining enough and all the readers would curse you if u dint post the second part soon..
    OG: ha…ha…ha. I know, I will post it pretty soon 😛

  14. June 22, 2009 11:55 am

    *chokes**splutters**gasps for breath*
    err ermm did you say singing talent?

    SINGING TALENT?

    😆

    What singing talent?

    err you were referring to YOUR singing talent? 🙄
    OG: Yes, I was referring to my singing talent….. The problem with greatness is that there are a thousand people waiting to pull you down.,….. 😛

    I am JEALOUS?
    😆
    hah!in your dreams! 😛 😛 😛
    OG: hehehehehehehehehehehehe
    voodoo spell?
    err…errmm *tries to hide the pint sized OG and Vimmuuu lookalike dolls* :mrgreen:

    what voodoo? 🙄
    Stands with an innocent look
    😀
    OG: ROFL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! indyeah ROFL!

    I told him that the only dance I knew was the “Ganapathy visarjan” style or the “Paandi/Kuthu” style as we call it down south and I also told him that it would hardly look good in America.
    😆
    Ganpati visarjan style? 😀

    Pleaseeee!!OG upload a video 😛
    OG: I have one such video…… but I am afraid of uploading it on utube……. 😛 😛 😛

    LOL!! 😀

    And thus AK continued for another 15 minutes on the etiquette of club dancing and on the fine art of “How to ask girls for a dance”.
    aha!!!!
    I KNEW it!
    this was your plan to get ms Z !! 😆
    OG: not my plan…. AK and AS’s plan…….. 😛 I was a mere character in this story 😛

    arre! 🙄
    ye kya hai?
    wait for second part?
    you cruel friend!
    this is torture 😛
    OG: was sleepy last night, so could not complete it 😛

    *chanting a spell so that OG does the ganpati visarjan dance and uploads it* :mrgreen:
    OG: hahahahahahaha 😛 let us see if it works…….. 😛

    • June 22, 2009 2:48 pm

      okie waiting for the second part then 😛
      OG: I am waiting to write it 😛

  15. June 22, 2009 1:06 pm

    I cannot wait for the next part. I also did something this weekend that I have never done before. DO see my post to know what that is!!!!(shameless self promotion)
    OG: hahahahahah 😛 coming over to read now 😛
    I can kind of imagine what might have happened!!!!
    OG: nothing much happened 😛

  16. chewmysambhar permalink
    June 22, 2009 3:15 pm

    Put up the next part Soon:)
    We ve to patent ‘dance’..afterall, what is Kuthu if not the mother of all dance forms?:P
    OG: ROFL…. yes kuthu is just great!!!! I love it 😛
    Interesting read OG:)
    OG: Thanku!

  17. June 22, 2009 6:32 pm

    goddammit!!! were u a mega-serial script writer?? or even a novel writer for some painkili magazine??? shesham adutha episode-il/lakkathil…. kaathirikkuka!! gawd! 😛 😛

    u give us the appetiser and disappear without the main course! will u frigging continue?? LOL

    LOL @ description for the little temple…. ambalathinte perum nashipichappo samaadhaanamayallo!! 😛

    In fact I think u shud have taken a cue from the GPS that stopped working halfway… it was a premonition for what was to follow for the rest of the day (and night)! Is my guess spot on? 😀

    • June 22, 2009 6:42 pm

      Yes, your guess is spot on 😛 what followed was fantastically funny 😛

      manin course coming up as soon as I can write it 😛

      ROFL at “ambalathinte perum nashipichappo samaadhaanamayallo”…. it had a buddist theme to it…… 😛

  18. June 22, 2009 7:17 pm

    Areeeeeeeeee what is this! This was like a Hindi Ekta Kapoor Dharawahik! It just stops when they are about to show the killer’s face! 😛
    OG: ROFL!!!!!!

  19. June 22, 2009 9:36 pm

    🙂 Funny as always.
    OG: NO smart comment???? 😛

    • June 23, 2009 5:23 am

      Hey bhagwan! If I make a nice comment then I am questioned about that too? 😐

      Wait till I arrive at your next post. Muahahahahahaha 😈
      OG: ROFL!!!!!!!!!! hahahahahahahaha 😛 nobody expects don sololi to leave a simple comment 😛

  20. June 23, 2009 6:48 am

    how mean! left out the fun part!! 😀 jumping to the next post now! 😀

  21. June 23, 2009 11:44 am

    ‘Komalikkal Cousins’ – ROFL!!! Now off to the second part – dying of the suspense – did OG master the fine technique of ‘How to ask girls for a dance’!

Trackbacks

  1. An Eventful Saturday: Part II « Aram + Aram = Kinnaram

Leave a Reply

