Skip to content

On How OG Disappoints his Friends!!!

June 20, 2009

My friends are the best, who really want me to do well in life. I can say this thanks to the countless mails and pings that I have received over the course of last week or so. It was my mistake to tell Mr. KJ that there was a possibility that I could come back to India soon. And as we all know, such news spreads like wild fire.

The first mail was from my friend Mr. AC, who very eloquently explained that he needed a laptop and that he was happy that I would be coming back soon. When I told him that customs only allow a single laptop and that I already had mine, he asked me to risk it.

Then I was “gtalked” by my dear friend Mr. AK who went straight to the point that he had not had any faarinmadhyam (liquor) in a long time and he was expecting atleast a couple of bottles from me.

Mr. KJ was easy on me. He said that he would take liquid cash of 20,000 Rs. Nothing more would be required.

Mr. VR, the eternal optimist made me an offer I could not refuse. In true Mafioso slang, he told me that he wanted a carton of Marlboro lights cigarette and if I refused, only bad things would happen.

The last I had heard of Mr. AM was last year when he had quit his software job to move into photography. He sent me a mail that he needed a camera with a lens that was only manufactured by a single vendor in San Francisco.

Eventually, over the course of the whole week, I totally had orders of:

  • 3 laptops
  • 24 bottles of alcohol
  • 7 cartons of cigarettes
  • 4 cameras
  • 2 video cams
  • 3 Nintendo Vees.
  • A cap (strange request?)
  • An LA Lakers T-shirt
  • 1 Zippo lighter
  • 2 I-pods

And on top of this, I had to promise many people that I would give them a treat!!!

Well, I am going to disappoint all of them as I passed the interview and I would be moving to Sunnyvale pretty soon!!! YAY!!!! (going there next Friday).

And thus, the “akkare” series is going to continue with new improved goof ups of OG….. Don’t know for how long…….but a new adventure in a new place nevertheless………

34 Comments leave one →
  1. June 20, 2009 6:51 pm

    omg!!! LMAO!! thank goodness u got thru the interview….. allenkil ninte katta poka…. in other words, ellarum koodi ninne sketch aakiyene!! 😛 😛
    OG: Sathyam, allenkil, nyaan complete sketch ayenae 😛 you really like that word…. eh? 😛
    aa thiruvananthapurathe palliyil kumbasarikkumbol oru mezhuku thiri koodi vachekkane! LOL
    OG: HAHAHAHAHA 😛 yes, and I also attend the midnight mass as well 😛

  2. June 20, 2009 6:51 pm

    and i’m first… AGAIN! 😀
    this is getting to be a habit! lol… hatrick this time! 😛

    • June 20, 2009 7:05 pm

      YAY!!!! you are first!!!! LOL at it becoming a habit 😛 😛

      • June 23, 2009 5:05 am

        She is coming first only coz I am submerged in work… !! lemme get all this done and than we shall see… !!

        Hey by the way can I also order a Nintendo WII !!!!!!!!! lol…. thats a cool gift to have… Wife wont let me buy… !! 😦

  3. June 20, 2009 7:02 pm

    /*3 laptops
    24 bottles of alcohol
    7 cartons of cigarettes
    4 cameras
    2 video cams
    3 Nintendo Vees.
    A cap (strange request?)
    An LA Lakers T-shirt
    1 Zippo lighter
    2 I-pods*/

    too small a list.. so that only god has given another 6 months to your friends to think and ask
    what they want from you… 😛 😛

    get ready 🙂
    OG: ROFL….. machi, I never thought of this angle…. OMG… this list will grow….. 😛

    • craftyshines permalink
      June 20, 2009 7:51 pm

      ROFL!!! kanagu is very insightful OG!!!!! 😆
      OG: yeah, he is….. hope my frds dont read this 😆

    • June 20, 2009 9:14 pm

      Thats a very valid point! And the longer you stay here – the demands should also increase – in propotion 🙂
      OG: 😛 I sure hope that is does not 😛

  4. craftyshines permalink
    June 20, 2009 7:54 pm

    tch tch…ur poor friends OG!
    so many hopes all shattered….

    so as kanagu said, they have more time to expand thier list!!!

    best of luck with that!
    OG: 😛 😛 😛 😛

    n all the best at the new place!!!!

    awaiting goof up stories so i can freak my mom by laughing like a loon in the middle of the night 😆
    OG: ROFL….. as long as OG walks on this planet, there will be more goofups….. 😛 I am sure of that 😛

  5. June 20, 2009 8:02 pm

    u know, six months means i get to be better friends with OG….

    HA!!! then i can give him my own list!

    DOUBLE HA!

    *crafty likes plan, begins on list right away*
    OG: ROFL…. yes give me your list as well….. 😛 I will surely get the things 😉

    😛 😛

  6. June 20, 2009 8:16 pm

    heyy, thats actually a short list. I just went to Europe for hardly a month and you should have seen the list my friends gave me. Well, the idiot that Im got nothing for them and for myself 😉
    OG: “like an idiot”… are you serious? you are a wise man 😛
    Btw, when are our visas coming ? Dont betray us aliyaa ! You promised us a treat, remember? Dhiren has already applied for his passport. Im sure Indyeahs visa application would be rejected, she would write a lot in the additional comments column in the form and ask for more pages 😀
    OG: LMAO!!!!!!! visa papers will get filed soon as soon as I can raise some capital 😛
    LOL at indyeah’s visa papers….. now which country would want “indyeah” and her “flu”??????

    • June 20, 2009 8:27 pm

      whatt??

      *glares at Vimmuuu then at OG *

      making evil plans to err ‘lose’ Vimmuuu’s visa papers * :mrgreen:

      oops!! Vimmuuu papers toh gum ho gaye 🙄

      *Indy is practicing saying this with an innocent face*

      😀
      OG: OG will file Vimmuuu’s papers….. nothing will get lost 😛

      • June 23, 2009 5:06 am

        😆 😆 😆 😆

        If Indyeah’s visa does get rejected… I can take her share… !!! 😀

    • June 20, 2009 8:31 pm

      Indyeah would be given a SPECIAL visa 😛 coz who else will be a tourist cum guide cum free PR agency for USA? 😆
      OG: Yeah you are half right here coz I heard that mad people are given special consideration in america 😛 you will get your special visa 😛 😛 😛 😛

      • June 20, 2009 9:38 pm

        😈
        I am mad???

        *Indy takes a pratigya*
        *Thunder booms in the distance *
        OGL kya speicial effects hai 😛
        this insult will NEVER be forgotten !!
        👿
        Vimmuuu’s papers will mysteriously disappear!
        OG’s friends will prepare aHUGE list !
        OG will NEVER met Ms Z!
        OG:ouch!!!! please withdraw the last curse…………please…………….. 😛 😛 😛 😛 😛 😛 😛
        err…umm….lemme think of some more appropriate curses
        OG: no more……… please 😉

        till then 👿
        be VERY afraid

        OG: members of the MBU are never afraid 😛 ROFL

      • June 21, 2009 3:18 am

        I heard that mad people are given special consideration in america you will get your special visa

        Is that how you got your visa? 😛

        Muahahahahaha 😈
        OG: ROFL,…. yes, that is how I got mine……. 😛 it was only reading your visa case papers, did I think about adopting this plan 😛 heheheheheheheh

        • June 21, 2009 11:08 am

          ROFL!!! Solilo muah! 😀
          😆 what a comeback ! :mrgreen:
          OG: Read mine :mrgreen:

    • June 20, 2009 9:40 pm

      *looks at both OG and Vimmuuu haughtily*
      poor creatures..tsk!tsk!
      dont even know genius when they see it
      OG: Genius??? where
      “OG looking around 360 degrees… and looks confused*

      Countries will come running like that *snaps fingers* to give Indy visa
      😛 😛 😛
      OG: Have you ever visited the visa consulate…. we are treated like dirt 😦
      and no country can come running.,…. only people from a country can come running 😛

      • June 20, 2009 9:44 pm

        Oho wait!wait!!I just thought of a better comeback! 😀
        ignore earlier comeback please 😛

        if they can give visa to doddering old ,I-hate-flowers..kind of buddha men … toh ek paagal Indy kya cheez hai?

        😆
        OG: ROFL!!!!!! yes, I will ignore that single line…. “OG will never find Ms. Z”……… 😛
        yeah, indy kya cheez hai….. Yes, OG also changes mind….I will file that special visa for you……. dont worry 😛

        • June 21, 2009 11:10 am

          special visa?
          hmm OG being nice….no leg pulling either…

          Then why dont I believe you? 😛

          OG do you have fever? 😀
          OG: OG was was in a lenient mood when he wrote that comment 😛

      • June 21, 2009 11:09 am

        360 degrees? 😛
        it takes a genius to know one 😛
        OG: 😛 hmmmmmm 😛 that is why I cannot find people like me in the world 😉

    • June 21, 2009 7:02 am

      Vimmuuu where is the original Arsenal tee I asked you for ??
      OG: yeah, vimmuuu, that is bad of you 😛
      OG I think you can add another vee in there for me 😉 😀 Ha its been so long since I got a gift..

      Oh ya I wouldn’t mind a laptop as a b’day present either 😉 😛 😛
      OG: okay saar….. one laptop for you 😛
      (am serious 🙂 )
      OG: I am very serious 😛

  7. June 20, 2009 8:25 pm

    LOL!! OG!
    awesome friends!! 😀
    OG: tahnku thanku 😛
    you know who has the best requirement?

    mr KJ 😀
    smart man I say! 😆
    only a teeny weeny sum 😀
    OG: yeah, he is a smart guy 😉
    20K kya hai?
    Peanuts for OG ! 😀
    OG: 500 dollars is a lot of money….
    “OG thinks of all the food he can have with that sun :lol:*

    * 3 laptops (rofl!!) and how will you carry them even if you did get them through customs? 😀
    * 24 bottles of alcohol (whatt???friends are all drunkards? 😆
    * 7 cartons of cigarettes (*sigh*and apparently smokers as well 😀
    * 4 cameras
    * 2 video cams
    * 3 Nintendo Vees.
    * A cap (strange request?)
    * An LA Lakers T-shirt
    * 1 Zippo lighter
    * 2 I-pods

    so OG’s friends are people who drink(and how! 😉 ) chain smokers, budding photographers, maybe videographers too? :D, errr some who URGENTLY need ONE cap for some strange reason, a little childish(all the Nintendo vees 😀 ), LA lakers fan , smokers again*sigh*, and i-pod fans 😀
    OG: in one words, OG’s friends are all “Jangos”……………
    people who love living life 😛 but yes, if you dont know this already, Kerala has the highest alcohol consumption in india…… 😛 so yes, most mallus are expert imbibers 😛
    and BTW, there is nothing childish about video games….. I love playing them… have you tried nintendo Vee… it is awesome……

    Is that about the right description OG? 😀
    OG: about right 😛
    did you say double prayers to god this time round? 😀
    coz unknown to you , he saved you by granting the other YAY! 😀
    OG: HAHAHAHAHHAHAHAH 😛

  8. June 20, 2009 9:21 pm

    Oh my goodness ! That was some list, OG! You do have some very concerned friends 🙂
    OG: 😛 my friends…. what can I say 😛
    You know – I don’t know the fascination with the Zippo lighter – I have heard lots of demands for it too – and I always wonder why??????
    OG: same here…… even I cannot understand how people like zippos and smoking actually…..
    You know OG, here cigarettes are so expensive that people coming from India are requested to bring suitcase loads of them 🙂
    OG: same in america as well…….. even when I came here, I was asked to bring em…..
    One thing is for sure – if you get caught in customs with all this – you will have a fun time explaining it to them 🙂 Maybe – you could take a printout of all this with you – as proof 🙂
    OG: hahahahahahahaha
    So all set to move! Have fun !
    OG: have another week here…. so having fun 😛

  9. June 21, 2009 3:15 am

    Achooo..poor you! Some friends they are. How about relatives? Didn’t they send a list (I don’t mean immediate..ofcourse they have every right to)? I mean the distant ones.
    OG: nope, nothing much from relatives………. 😛 it helps that every tom dick and harry is in faarin 😛
    OG, better you sneak into India. Ha..ha..ha..Cap and T-shirts fine but Cameras, I-pods etc. Hmm….how about they give you some cash for all this or do they think that every morning you get up and shake the Dollar tree in front of your apartment. 😐
    OG: dollar tree… if only I had one….. things would have been so much easier 😛

  10. June 21, 2009 3:20 am

    BTW OG, don’t forget the list of gifts I sent. Don’t worry..you have time. I will need those gifts only when we visit SFO. Ha..ha..ha..
    OG: ROFL!!!!! what list, I have not recieved anything???? 😛
    *OG shaking that Dollar tree hard* 😆
    OG: hahahahahhaha

  11. chewmysambhar permalink
    June 21, 2009 5:29 am

    Congratulations over your new job:)
    OG: Hey not new job…. new assignment 😛 is a better word 😛

    And tell me, am I your friend?:P I ve been wanting a few things from NYC and err I thought….. 😛
    OG: yeah yeah… you my frd…. send me your list along 😉
    Btw, what is the mafioso slang? Enlighten me !!!
    OG: mafiaso slang means, you threaten the person that he has to do something for you otherwise face the consequences…… language of the don 😛

  12. June 21, 2009 12:39 pm

    man, you didnt tell your family that you’re coming?

    Oh perhaps you’d need a full new post and 5000 words to exhibit the list here.. 😉
    OG: ROFL…. this list was only for frds…..family had another list 😛

  13. June 21, 2009 12:55 pm

    hehehe…good one, feel sorry about U’r friends :(.Congrats and all the best for U’r new project 😀 …
    OG: thanks machu 😛

  14. June 21, 2009 2:48 pm

    You could have never got past the airport with that stuff! 😆
    OG: I know 😛

  15. June 21, 2009 7:39 pm

    *where have you dsprd?
    oh!searching for Ms Z?

    carry on! 😀
    OG: ROFL…. I was gone visiting my frd and to spend the weekend there 😛
    just came back now 🙂 sunday evening 😛

  16. June 23, 2009 6:39 am

    LOL! Thats a small list! Reminded me of that joke that went around in email forwards.. where they send gifts with the mother’s dead body!

  17. June 23, 2009 11:22 am

    Though written humourously its something we all face….if only people realise the fact tht we manage to pick up everything they want at the expense of dismissing our own needs 🙂

    Nice post OG!!!!!!!!!!

    • June 23, 2009 11:24 am

      And oh…Congrats on ur new assignment…..have a coco-cola without ice on my behalf…in these times of recession every occasion must be celebrated;-D

  18. Rajani permalink
    September 29, 2011 1:36 pm

    LOL!!! god! that was soo funny…. LOL!! ….

Leave a Reply

