Skip to content

Jangos of CET: Mr. SNV

June 10, 2009

I spoke to a very close friend of mine, Mr. SNV better known as “Mandan NV” this weekend and only then did I realize that I have not done a post about him. 😛

Yes, this is another one in the series where I talk about dudes from my weird friends circle and yes, this post is about “El ClassicoMr. SNV who provided us with a lot of entertainment during our engineering days in CET and even after that in Chennai, Bangalore, Mumbai and Pune.

In simple words, if I am asked to describe Mr. SNV, the word “Deep Thinker” springs to my mind. Let me give you a simple example:

Question: Why did Vasco da Gama land on Kaappad beach, Kozhikode, India on 20th May 1498?

If you say that he came over to find a sea route to India, you are only partially right. Mr. SNV’s personal pet theory was that Vasco da Gama spotted a “kallu shaap” (mallu liquor shop) when he was fighting the turgid waves of the Arabian Sea and that he stopped over for a drop.

Get the drift? That pretty much sums up, Mr. SNV’s thinking and philosophy in life. He would ponder about the greatest problems about life, about the relativity theory and cross border terrorism and always come up with such kuura (idiotic), weird answers after hours of thought.

During our second year in college, he fell in love with a first year student and waited for an intro. When that did not happen, Mr. SNV came up with a brilliant plan.

He went up to her and gave her, an assignment to copy. (yeah, we always got our juniors to complete our assignments). When we asked him about his logic, his answer was simple.

“Aliya, I have already talked to her now. I will have to meet her again to collect that assignment. Then I will give her another one to write. This will ensure that we meet often and become friends”.

Now how does one have the heart to tell him that this crazy idea would never work out? As expected, that girl finished those two assignments for Mr. SNV and never ever looked back at him!!!!!

If you have read my post “Kallipus and Quotations”, SNV was the guy who whistled at the police jeep and what followed in the police station was hilarious. Without going into the details, let me tell you that SNV ended up being the star of the show and the sub inspector from Medical college police station, Trivandrum still fondly remembers him.

He also had another simple policy when it came to borrowing bikes in college. If he filled petrol up for 10 rupees, the bike was his until he finished that petrol. Even the owner of the vehicle was not allowed to touch it until that. He would also study for hours before the exam, even keep “bit papers” for the exam but would eventually walk out of the examination hall after half an hour citing boredom. The unexpected was always to be expected from SNV.

Fate, it seemed played with him in the most disastrous manner. During our fourth year in college, SNV once spent the day in our friend’s AK’s house since his parents had gone to their native place. Since AK had some chores to complete, he told SNV that he would be taking the “only key” to the house and specifically instructed SNV to not lock himself out by leaving the house.  Well, SNV (being the idiot) came out of the house to collect the newspaper in just a towel (after a bath) only to realize that he had been locked out. Since it was a residential neighborhood, he had to spend about 4 hours hiding in the garden till AK came back.

If a group of us are riding around town, the traffic police would always only stop him and not the rest of us. I have seen this phenomenon happen all over India. I don’t know why. During our third year in college, we had gone to Goa for a college trip. At three in the morning, at Calangute beach, a police dude came up to us and said something in Hindi. Since most of us were Hindi-challenged at that time, SNV took it upon himself to solve the issue.

Now imagine SNV speaking in broken Hindi/Malayalam/English and about 15 of us laughing our guts out. When the police guy demanded money, SNV said something like:

“Nammale, cha… Hum.. hum engineering college, Kerala se. We travel whole day in bus and abhi relaxing beach mein. Paisa keliye bahut buddimuttu hai. Maaf karo”

(“nammale” means “us/hum” and “buddimuttu” means “tough/hard/mushkil”)

The police guy got really irritated and took 300 Rs from SNV and did not say a word to us. 

About two years back, he had come to Mumbai for some official assignment. Since he did not know Hindi, I had to take him to his office, the first day. He told me that he needed to go to “Parel” and so at sharp 9 in the morning; we reached “Parel” only to realize later that he needed to go to “Panvel” (which was a long way off). Well, I also missed office that day, thanks to him.

Over the period of 8 years that I have known him, all his ideas can be classified into three main categories as shown below:

snv_thoughts 

He recently got married about 3 months back and being in America, I missed the lavish wedding feast in Kozhikode. Shesh!!!! When I spoke to him this weekend, he told me that life was great but the only problem was that he had lost his “Tough Guy” image.

ROFL!!!!!! I told him to not worry as marriage did that to most men.

That Ladies and Gentlemen, is my friend Mr. SNV.

40 Comments leave one →
  1. June 10, 2009 5:38 am

    my god… how do u constantly end up with the most diverse of characters?? 😀
    OG: hahahaha 😛 my frds are so 😛 😛 😛 I have so many more stories about other guys LOL
    LOL @ the pie-chart! tooooo cute!
    OG: LOL!
    ROFL @ Mr SNV hiding in the garden in a towel! poor guy! but this happened in kerala rite? makes it sound like one of those indians stuck in firang-land not knowing about automatic self-locking doors!
    OG: yeah, it happened in Pattam, TVM 😛 LOL about last part 😛 yeah sounds like that 😛
    The highlight of the post? the quote he gave the policeman!! LOL … ayal polum thottu poyi! 😀 😀
    OG: LOL!!! paisa kittiyallo….. 😛 he was happy in the end and so were we with SNV’s hindi 😛

    • June 10, 2009 5:39 am

      I’m the first to comment?? Whopeee!! 😛 😀
      OG: YAY!!!! you first for first time 😛

      • June 10, 2009 8:35 am

        first first first… bandh karo yaaron…
        OG: accha… 😛 😛 😛

        • June 10, 2009 9:11 am

          Dhiren u’re just J that i beat u to for once!!! 😛 😛 LOL
          OG: ROFL!!!

    • June 10, 2009 9:13 am

      @OG
      It happened at Pattom??? omg… ROFL!!!
      OG: yes, LOL!!!

  2. June 10, 2009 5:53 am

    I am the 2nd to comment..ooh boy looks like that fakeipl blogger’s page :P. Now that was one interesting write up,make me contemplate writing about all the weird friends[in fact i have only weird ones as friends eg:AV :P] in my blog.
    OG: LOL!!! yeah, you are second 😛
    LOL…. AV… weird??? 😛 LOL!!!! avan kitta naa sollaren 😛 hahahahaha, we used to play WWF for hours when we were young 😛
    yeah, write a few AV stories

    SNV in the garden reminded this scene in tamil movie where S.V.Shekar wud be dressed in newspaper,thank god he atleast had a towel )
    OG: LOL!!! yeah, I just remembered that…. LOL… yeah towel is better…..

  3. June 10, 2009 6:17 am

    lol!!
    OG another one of your gem of a friend? 😀
    OG: another frd of mine 😛
    I swear I wish I ahd even one such interesting character in my life
    I would be in splits forever! 😀
    OG: every one has such frds…… 😛 is what OG thinks 😛 😛 😛 and yes, I have so many more frds who I need to talk about…… you will see that in future 😛
    I am coming right back to comment! 😀
    OG: yes please do 😛

  4. June 10, 2009 7:03 am

    @Nammale, cha… Hum.. hum engin …..ROFL :D….
    @he had lost his “Tough Guy”……………ohhh nooo 😦 Feel sorry abt the poor guy)
    OG: yes aliya, kalyanam kaaranam, avandae image poyadae (as per him) 😛
    i also got a similar insane guy as my batch mate.When we were in first year,he “fell in love” with a girl.One of my friend introduced him 2 her……(Even though she is basically a mallu and she can understand Malayalam,our hero decided to impress her with his Hinglish)his golden words followed like this “I’m Mr PA,I play football ,U play football…….hope i don’t have to tell wht happened afterwards 🙂 …..
    OG: ROFL!!!! at i play, you play football……. !!!! ahahahahahahaha 😛 good one… yes I can imagine the rest 😛

    • anishthomas permalink
      June 10, 2009 8:39 am

      forgot 2 tell…graph is simply superb as usual 🙂
      OG: thanks dai!!!

  5. June 10, 2009 7:17 am

    ROFLMAO..awesome post..well I do have a friend like that too..incidentally he is also a mallu 😀
    OG: 😛 hahaha 😛 thanks dude

  6. June 10, 2009 7:34 am

    OG, one day all your friends are going to start a blog titled ‘Victims of OG’s blogarrhea’. 😆
    OG: That will be the end of OG then. gosh, I hope that does not happen 😛
    ““Nammale, cha… Hum.. hum engineering college, Kerala se. We travel whole day in bus and abhi relaxing beach mein. Paisa keliye bahut buddimuttu hai. Maaf karo”

    Ha..ha..ha…I fell off reading these lines. Oh gosh! buddimuttu hai. 😆 😆
    OG: LOL!!!!! yes, he “dealed” the situation

  7. June 10, 2009 7:57 am

    Only you can be friends with such people ! I wouldve killed him the day he blabbered about Mr.Vasco !!! 😀
    OG: dai dai…. no cussing SNV 😛 He is a a great guy!!!! 😛
    How do you stay far far away from such interesting characters ??
    OG: I cannot dude.. I dont know why
    LOL @ his hindi. I have heard similar broken hindi/english/malayalam all put together in foreign airports when our mallu comrades try to explain whats in their bag to the customs !
    OG: hahahaha, that is another story…. especially, have you seen kozhikode aitport….. it gets really brilliant
    and he got married too??? they all get girls !! Hmmmpph ! Mom, are you listening to me ????
    OG: hahahahahahahaha

  8. June 10, 2009 8:32 am

    ROFL!!! That was great, as usual 🙂
    OG: 😛 LOL!!!!
    Vasco da gama must be turning in his grave 🙂
    OG: yes he must 😛
    And the best was ‘ We travel whole day in bus and abhi relaxing beach mein. Paisa keliye bahut buddimuttu hai. Maaf karo’ !!! ROFL
    And he managed to get married too 🙂
    You have one crazy bunch of friends 🙂
    OG: hahahaha, yes he is a great guy….. his wife is lucky 😛
    and yes, many of us are crazy 😛

  9. June 10, 2009 8:45 am

    Lovely OG !!!!!!!

    yea the tough guy image surely goes away… !! lol…
    OG: seriously dude… I have seen it happen with a few frds.
    I was telling my wife that only yesterday that how we both have become such domestic animals… !!!

    get up at this time, eat at this time, sleep at this time bah…
    OG: LOL, hahahahahaha

    • June 10, 2009 1:50 pm

      Hahahahahaha! You guys have become “domestic animals?” 😆 😛

      OG: ROFL!!!

  10. June 10, 2009 9:18 am

    Wow . 😀 You guys could start your own TV show . OG and Friends . Now that would be the kind of Reality TV I would watch .
    OG: LOL!!!! good idea 😛

  11. June 10, 2009 1:53 pm

    LoL! OG, I love reading you’re crazy stories about your college life and friends. They are the best. 😉
    OG: thanku thanku, I remember them all the time 😛
    Hahahahahahaha! “lost my ‘tough guy’ image after marriage.”
    Best quote I’ve heard in a while. 😆 😛
    OG: hahahahaha 😛

  12. June 10, 2009 3:19 pm

    Some characters you’ve as friends.. 😉

    I liked the ‘hiding in the garden in towel’.. heheheeee..

    Awaiting more avatarams of CEt 🙂
    OG: Thanks aliya…… 😛 yes more characters coming up later on 😛

  13. June 10, 2009 5:18 pm

    LOL machi… as always your college story again rocked… 🙂 lol @ all the broken languages 😀
    OG: thanks machi 😛

  14. June 10, 2009 5:33 pm

    Hey, do you have any ‘non-character’ friends? I’m waiting for the next post on another insane buddy…
    OG: LOL!!! yes I do have non character frds 😛 LOL…..

  15. June 10, 2009 6:59 pm

    LMAO!!! I love this series og! Keep them coming! Such wonderful friends you had!!!

    Man and that hindi is just priceless 😀 😀
    OG: LOL!!! hahahahaha 😛 thanku 😛

  16. June 10, 2009 6:59 pm

    he is married n u rnt! nahi chalega 😛
    OG: ROFL… what “nahi chalega”… I am in a better position than him 😛

    • June 11, 2009 8:43 am

      LoL! Yes I think you are in a better position. 😉

  17. June 10, 2009 9:45 pm

    😆 at the part where he was locked out of the house!!
    What a character!
    OG: 😛 LOL!!!!

  18. June 11, 2009 6:17 pm

    Hey OG!
    Got here from Indyeah’s blog….er…the appoopan comment to be precise….
    Tee hee..
    OG: hahahahaha 😛 shesh, the appoopan comment has become famous 😛

    SNV whistled at a police jeep! Why no details….looks like all the fun was in the details….
    OG: no details… all details are censored 😛

    ROFL!! He was in the garden in a towel!!!!!!!! 4 hours?????? 😆
    I don’t think I shud have read this post after dinner…my tummy hurts……ROFL
    OG: LOL!
    Paise ke liye buddimuttu hai!!!!
    *crafty has leveled uneven floor tiles in her room by rolling about*
    OG: ROFL at the leveling 😛
    Panvel not parel!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Aiyaiyo…. 😐

    ok OG, that pie chart just totally killed me….*dead*
    OG: Can I say thanks 😛
    Mr. SNV is just totally worthy of every praise u gave him, and u are totally getting a lot of applause from me
    OG: he is a great dude
    *crafty is going to laugh in her sleep too*

  19. June 11, 2009 6:21 pm

    tell u OG, i was in a sorry mood and just blog hopped….and read this post of urs…

    am i glad! 😀
    OG: Thanku for reading it 😛

  20. June 11, 2009 6:33 pm

    so Apoopan how have you been?

    :mrgreen:
    OG: appopan has been fine 😛

    these are old tales of your college days?

    LOOOOng back???

    matlab saalon purani baat?
    😀
    OG: ROFL!!!!!!! but I still remember them 😛

    you still remember all the details after all these years Appopan? 😆

    *Indy loves the new malayalam word* :mrgreen:
    *planning to learn more* 😈
    OG: LOL!!!!! now it is going to get funny 😛

    • June 12, 2009 6:14 am

      oh I will learn one way or the other….Solilo and Smitha and Crafty will teach me!
      And Ushus and Winnie 😀
      the list of teachers is endless!

      tremble mere mortal! 😛 😛
      OG: yeah, they would make better teachers than OG…. coz OG is not interested :mrgreen: 😛
      anyways, best of luck for learning mallu :P…. It is a sweet language…..
      *self promotion of mallu* 😛

  21. June 11, 2009 6:45 pm

    in a towel??
    😆
    Does SNV read your blog? 😀
    does he know what you are doing to his reputation? 😀

    OG: nope he does not 😀
    “Aliya, I have already talked to her now. I will have to meet her again to collect that assignment. Then I will give her another one to write. This will ensure that we meet often and become friends”.

    ROFL!!!
    now tell em OG you too follow the I dont like flowers approach
    OG: NO flowers, our policy never changes 😛
    how will you get Ms Z? 😆
    OG: thru other means 😛
    “Nammale, cha… Hum.. hum engineering college, Kerala se. We travel whole day in bus and abhi relaxing beach mein. Paisa keliye bahut buddimuttu hai. Maaf karo”
    aww more than hilarious this is cute 🙂
    OG: ROFL!!!

    SNV sounds like a nice fellow who had his moments of err mirth 😀
    OG: he is a great dude
    Any self posts OG?
    OG: I would not wanna dig my own grave 😆
    😆

    the pie chart is very OG-ish and brilliant as usual 😀
    though I think SNV will be after your life after looking at the err green colour and the amount of space you have given it 😀
    OG: LOL, if he reads it 😛
    tell you what OG..pssst IS Vimmuu anywhere nearby?
    no?
    okay then you teach me malayalam and I will teach you shudh (pure) Hindi 😀
    OG: no ways…….. over my dead body 😛
    *OG doesn’t want to give Indyeah the brahmastra *:D

    PS:-did you read Vishesh’s flower pic post? :mrgreen:
    OG: yup, I have replied there 😛

    • June 12, 2009 6:13 am

      over your dead body? 😀
      okie :mrgreen:
      *takes Solilo’s dagger and kills OG*
      NOW will you teach? 😀
      OG: hahahahahahaha 😛 never!!!! not in this life…. not as long as I have a pact with Vimmuuu 😛 LOL!!!!

      Vimmuu be very afraid 😛
      Solilo, Badz and Indyeah are going to turn OG into a traitor :devil:
      OG: this has become a proper war….. LOL hahahahahaha

  22. craftyshines permalink
    June 12, 2009 5:47 pm

    ok, i don’t know how best to describe this, so gotta do a narration on ur comments section (apologies in advance):
    OG: no apologies please!
    mom walks in. finds crafty’s head on her keyboard, and shoulders are trembling. she rushes and calls out, “what happened molu?? tell me…ende??? is there a problem?”
    crafty lifts head and is rubbing tears from eyes. mom persists, “what happened???”
    then she realises that crafty in fact is laughing hard and wiping away tears and laughing loud. crafty replies, “nothing, i was reading something funny”
    mom walks off muttering, “everyone says its easier to make sense of girls than boys. what nonsense. scared the life out of me, this fool”
    OG: LOL!!!!! hahahahahaha was it that funny!!!! thanks!!!
    OG, i was reading ur “When i had to undergo sex change, part I & II”

    vadivelu??? salim kumarrr!!!! vijaykanth!!!! all that narration of conspiracy!!!!!!! 😆

    LOL!!!! ROFL!!!!
    OG: Thanku thanku!

    OMG OG, i truly haven’t laughed like this in a long long while! i am sorry for myself i never got here earlier. hugs!!!!!
    OG: Thank you so much and yes hugs to you as well 😛
    and u be sorry for urself than i have now got my comment-space-hogging-self to ur blog!! 😛 😛
    OG: welcome to world of this ordinary guy 😛

  23. November 27, 2009 8:19 am

    ROFL 😆 This is plainn awesome OG 🙂 A very very happy budday to u 😛

Trackbacks

  1. Quintessentially Extraordinary – A Tribute « Crafty Shines

Leave a Reply

