Skip to content

Its official now, God is playing games with OG!!!!

June 4, 2009

It seems that pretty soon, I will end up being the laughing stock of my extended family.

I feel like Moses now. Yup, the same Moses, whose took the Israeli’s to the “Promised Land”!!!! No, I don’t feel as old as him.

But just try imagining his mental anguish when he first walked into Egypt and told the people, “Behold, God has asked me to take you to the Promised Land” and on hearing that, the people sarcastically said, “Yeah right. We believe you”.

That is exactly how I feel now.

25/26” is a very difficult age, especially for a “chronic bachelor” like me. It is an age when people are constantly guessing if you have found a life partner or not and a few others are constantly complaining that there has not been a marriage in the family for some time now.

The fact that I am “Next in line” (if second cousins are not considered) on both my dad’s and mom’s side also does not help. And to add insult to injury, it also seems that our family kula-deivam (family God) is playing games with me!!!!

On my mother’s side, our family kula-deivam is “Kamakshi Amman” and the family temple is a small beautiful temple which is bang on the TN-Kerala border between Coimbatore and Palakkad. Imagine lush green fields spread in all four directions (in season), and there in the middle of it all, a very old quaint temple with not another building in sight. That is our beautiful temple.

More importantly, the temple priest has a special power to give “Arul Vakku”. It means that “Kamakshi Amman” comes into him and she gives advice to people on various things. He can do this when required and he will not remember any of the conversation after he comes out of that stupor. My family believes in “Arul Vakku” and asks for Amman’s advice before taking any major decision but not me.

As I don’t believe in destiny, I cannot bring myself to believe in the fact that someone up there is pulling the strings but I do pray to Amman!!!! An agnostic approach, I would say.

The first signs that Amman was in a playful mood came around six months back. One day, our servant maid came early to our house and told my Mom that Amman had instructed her (in her dream) that OG had a girlfriend, not of “good character”. That incident created major upheavals in my otherwise stoic household with my mom questioning me about my love life.

Being the honest guy I am, I told her that I was madly in love with a hundred different girls and not particularly interested in any one. But mom would not take no for an answer and the questioning continued. When she enlisted my dads help to siphon out the “truth”, all he said was:

“hmmmm”.

The questioning soon died down (thankfully) after a month and things were fine until last month when another major incident happened. My nefarious cousin sister who I suspect is not happy with me living a happy, “no strings attached” life, went for an “Arul Vakku” session and asked Amman specifically about my marriage. (Why would she do that?)

Amman told her (much to her delight) that OG was now in a relation with a girl who would bring “the light” into our household and that OG could never hope to get another girl as good as her and that she outclassed him!!!!

Everyone was ecstatic in the family as Amman herself had given the green light and being in America, I had to spend valuable minutes on my reliance calling card to convince them that I was truly single and I did not have a girl friend. But they would not take “no” for an answer.

Amma wanted the girl’s details and her parents phone number so that she could talk and settle the deal. What deal? I asked. My marriage, she said.

Grandma was very nice and supportive and told me that I just needed to tell her about the girl and she would take care of everything else.

(Yeah, the old good cop bad cop routine!!!!)

My baby sister spent many hours teasing me about it and my wicked cousin sister who started all this, well, she had great fun.

The other erudite uncles and aunts were no help in this matter and they added fuel to the fire by telling my mom that I am growing old, losing hair, losing my six pack etc etc etc etc………………………

All the others had a good laugh about the whole thing.

When I told them all that I was not in love, they refused to believe me!!!!!! When I asked them if they believed Amman or me, they chose Amman!!!! (Poor OG).

When mom enlisted my dads help to get the truth out of me, all he said was:

“hmmmm”.

Imagine being in a situation when your word does not mean anything even when you are telling the world, the truth. Well, that was my status around a month back!!!!!

Now, thankfully that outcry has also died down in the family but unfortunately, the idea of “OG has to get married” seems to have caught on now.

The travails (as strange as they may be) that one has to go thru at this age….. Shesh….. I tell you………… we guys certainly don’t have it easy………..

Dear Kamakshi Amman,

This post was not to disrespect you. I know that it has been a very long time since I last visited you, but please stop playing such games with this ordinary guy who wants to lead a simple blameless life and whose feeble heart cannot take another shock like this.

Shree kamakshi amman thunai!!!!

PS: Where/Who is that Ms. Z? I need to find her pretty soon. (Maybe in Amazon as Don Sololi suggested). 😛

46 Comments leave one →
  1. June 4, 2009 4:56 am

    Kamakshi Amman! Please give some sadbuddhi to these careless youth who doesn’t value marriage.
    OG: 😛 who said I dont value marriage ;)just not for another 3 years 😛
    They don’t know what they speaketh and thinketh. Forgive them and give them a girl they DESERVE. 😈
    OG: 😛 yeah, I also hope that she forgives me 😛 LOL

  2. June 4, 2009 5:20 am

    I feel Kamakshi amman is right,leave alone your family am sure most of your blog readers too will trust KA[kamakshi amman] than you. See OG be a good boy and let me know abt the girl,after all I do know some links in your family and can be of help :P.
    OG: 😛 first get that bugger, my cousin AV married, then we can talk about me 😛
    I had a an astro saying that I will get married only by 2010 end, parents got shocked and took 2nd,3rd opinion..all others said it will happen by september this year.Lemme see whose predictions turn out true :-).
    OG: 😛 LOL!!!!!!!! best of luck dude… when in doubt, go to next astrologer 😛
    One idea is when you are in india do a saamiyattam claiming KA has come into you and say there shud be no wedding for next 3 years else some catastrophe [like MK.Azhagiri bcoming PM] will happen…will think of more suggestions.
    OG: 😛 LOL!!! good suggestion, maybe I will try it out next time 😛 LOL at azhagiri becoming PM….. hahahahaha 😛

  3. June 4, 2009 5:56 am

    BTW isn’t this a way to let auntie know about your true intentions on marriage? Kalllllaaa kochu kallllaaa 😉
    OG: 😛 LOL!!!!! no, I have told amma directly that it will take around 3 years for OG to settle down 😛 😛 (if it is going to be arranged 😉 )
    LOL!!!!!!
    conditions always do apply 😛 😛 and amma knows the conditions 😛

  4. June 4, 2009 6:01 am

    As for Ms. Z, here’s a song for you

    OG: 😛 woh ladki hai kahan??? 😛 LOL!!!!! great song Sololi!!!! It used to be one of my fav. years back 😛
    Thanks for reminding me about it 😛

  5. June 4, 2009 6:14 am

    hahaha… i SO empathise with u. something similar happened to me twice….
    OG: 😛 hahahaha, so mine is not the only case 😛 😛
    once was when my dad consulted some quack astrologer. he had gone to ask about himself and the guy in turn started talking about ME!! fancy that! he was like, ur daughter is in a relationship now, that guy is a wastrel, he will use her and dump her. but dont worry, she will eventually find a wonderful person to be with!!! WTF??? can u imagine what the expression on my dad’s face must have been when he listened to that crap? first thing he did was to call me up: “sathyam parayedi… aaradi ninte manassil???” i ws like huh????
    OG: hahahahahahahahahahahahaha!!!! yes ash, sathyam para, who is the guy??? hahahahaha 😛
    seriously it is in a bad position to be in 😛

    the 2nd time was when one of my close friends got involved in a love affair that got blown out of proportion when her parents came to know about it and objected vehemently. they called me up and threatened me as well! “u encouraged her to fall in love… that’s becoz u have a boyfriend urself… u witch!” HUH???? echuse me?
    OG: 😛 LOL!!! always put the blame on friend 😛 LOL!!!! they called you a witch??? OMG!!!! but cant blame them….. 🙂 That photo of yours on your blog looks like that 😛 LOL…… hahahahaha 😛
    all the time i was shouting myself hoarse saying there was nobody in my life. whats the point?? talk about adding insult to injury!! LOL
    fortunately this happened 2-3 years back… things have been quiet since then. anyway i m careful abt these things since then… it cud b the calm before the storm y’know hehehe
    OG: 😛 LOL, it might well be the calm before the storm….. be careful ;P
    once again, my heartfelt empathies… 😀
    OG: very much required 😛

    • June 4, 2009 11:35 am

      ok they didnt really call me a witch y’know… that ws a fill-in-the-blanks… maybe becoz i’m a girl they decided to leave the gaalis out. but if i were a guy (hey that sounds like the tag u were supposed to do rite? 😀 sorry cudnt resist adding that LOL), then mayb they wud have sent goondas to beat me up!!! sheesh!
      OG: 😛 LOL hahahaha 😛 okay i believe you! you had to take a dig at me for the Tag!!! LOL.. 😛
      as for the pic, ‘witch’ wudnt be the option… i’d prefer the one-eyed captain cook …hehehe but then u already know that rite 😉
      OG: 😛 😛 😛 😛 yup, “el capitan cook” 😛

  6. June 4, 2009 6:28 am

    u losing your 6 packs..!?! LOL
    OG: 😛 well, I made that up 😉
    if you can make this up, so can u tell a lie about not having a GF.
    OG: 😛 well, I DONT!!!!! 😛 I dont have to lie about it 😛 😛 😛
    how can one not trust “Kamakshi Amman”…! 🙂
    OG: 😛 hmmm, you too brutus? 😛 LOL

  7. June 4, 2009 7:22 am

    AV and getting married..no way,even if KA wishes we wont let that happen. He is the asset of Rebelz,he will be single and take care of the company :P, u know the fact female fan following drops if actors get married 😀 …we dont wanna lose them
    OG: 😛 LOL!!! I think his parents are eager to see that happen in the next year or so, if I am not mistaken 😛 and anyways, best of luck for rebelz 😛

  8. June 4, 2009 7:54 am

    Ha ha… now we need to all look out for Ms.Z… Was there any descriptions? Anything to identify by?

    OG: 😛 unfortunately no 😛 no description available 😛

  9. Quirky Indian permalink
    June 4, 2009 8:26 am

    Six pack? 🙂

    By the way, I agree with Nautankey……KG needs to appear to you in a dream, saying that if you get married within three years, Azhagiri will become PM and Kanimozhi will become President. (Notice I haven’t mentioned the other son because even God can’t stop him from becoming CM now!)

    Cheers,

    Quirky Indian
    OG: 😛 LOL!!!!! yeah yeah, 😛 I noticed that….. maybe I could use this idea…. lemme see…..

  10. Nancy permalink
    June 4, 2009 8:33 am

    Here’s an idea……admit defeat & tell them “ok I’ll send u the photo” & send them a picture of Paris Hilton. Then just watch the fun. Then it will be the other way around. U must act as if u want to get married in the next 6 months & they’ll plead with u not to make any decisions in a hurry….”konjoe wait panne Kanna” they’ll say.

    Hozzzat 😀 !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    OG: 😛 LOL!!!! a good idea… but it will not work…. 😛 If I send photo of PH, then they will never believe me 😛 and if I say I am in a hurry, they will ensure that things get done in 6 months 😛 LOL
    Hozzat!

    • June 4, 2009 10:47 am

      Nancy – That is a brilliant idea 🙂 One of my colleagues did that 🙂 He sent them Asin’s(the movie star) pic and apparently his mom took it quite seriously until his sister got to see the pic 🙂
      OG: Asin’s pic…..LOL!!!!!! hahahahahahahahaha high hopes 😉

    • June 4, 2009 11:31 am

      rofl!! Nancy what an idea Sirji err Madamji ! 😀
      OG: 😛 😛 you to indyeahus 😛

    • June 4, 2009 11:40 am

      hahah… awesome idea!!!
      reminds me of the forward mail that i once received. a guy – for whom his family was searching for proposals – sent his american room-mate (girl) to his home first… where she made a mess, scared the hell out of everyone by acting ‘western’ and flirting with different guys n all that, and everyone got terribly wary of what he was upto.
      then he sent the seedha-saadha sweet girl (who was his real gf, but she was of a different religion) to the home and she won everyone’s hearts with her mellow nature. they all agreed within the blink of an eyelid… hehehe… talk about theory of relativity! smart guy, huh? thats what u call anticipating trouble ahead! 😀
      OG: 😛 LOL!!!! I have read this earlier…. but for this to happen, OG nees to have a GF….. 😛 A real GF…. 😛

  11. June 4, 2009 10:55 am

    Oh OG!! What is it, with this marriage season – you and Vimmuuu 🙂 both getting ready to enter wedlock 🙂 Good!! ** Clapping hand with joy**
    OG: 😛 nope, I am not getting married any time now 😛 😛 😛 I still love my bachelor life
    What fun!! Of course KA is to be believed!! This is GOD, you are talking about!!! What is the other option – believing OG??? 😆
    OG: 😛 OG is truthful 😛
    As for finding Ms Z – how about advertising with Shaadi.com 🙂 You can put up a link to your blog 🙂 You will have offers pouring in – esp after seeing that dance of yours 🙂 If you need any help in creating your profile – please let us know – am sure all of us in this blog samaj will be happy to help 🙂
    OG: 😛 LOL!!!!! hahahahahahaha shaadi.com…… LOL…..no ways….. yeah, help will not be required at the present moment 😉

    • June 4, 2009 10:57 am

      typo – ** clapping hands with glee**

      • June 4, 2009 11:41 am

        😆
        yes!absolutely Smitha!
        we blogmates will help out OG 😀

        we will vouch for you OG

        😛 😛
        OG: 😛 you guys will vouch for me?? LOL Hope it will not become character assasination 😛 LOL

  12. June 4, 2009 11:21 am

    ROFL : P …. Aliya can understand U’r agony….I believe in god and destiny.But at the same time I don’t believe arul vakku akka revelation by god man or god woman.
    @ OG had a girlfriend, not of “good character” …ROFL 🙂 ….yeahh as Nancy told send the pic of pameela anderson or paris hiton and force them to fix everything up ASAP….then we will see wht happen..hehehhe
    OG: 😛 LOL!!!! my mom is very smart 😛 she will not believe me 😛
    After all 26 is not a bad age to get married…..so before losing U’r all hair and six pack,y can’t U make u’r mom happy……… between if U don’t mind gimme some descriptions to identify Ms. Z…i will give a proper search in chennai and kollam …..(i know U r looking for a big stick to beat me 😛 )
    OG: 😛 Thanks aliya, but I will do the required searching 😛 LOL!!!!! dai dai, jeevichan sammadikadae 😛
    mahabharat ,Old testament in bible…wow superb dude

  13. June 4, 2009 11:39 am

    that OG had a girlfriend, not of “good character”

    ROFL!!
    OG what was your ex gf like?
    come on share with your blog mates 😉
    OG: 😛 I have no idea…….. I have never had a GF
    *looking innocent as OG wants amma to read this* 😛 😛

    😆
    OG come on now..tell us the truth..quick! 😉
    Where did you meet Ms Z?
    How did you meet?
    When are you getting married?
    Aren’t Amazon Jungles pretty far off from there? 😀 😛
    OG: I will answer all these questions when I meet her 😛 😉 amazon is very far…. have to search closer to home 😛
    Is Ms Z of ‘good character’? 😀
    OG: 😛 LOL!!!

    just in case ms Z is not on the horizon you can
    1.put your profile on shaadi.com 😀 (like SMitha brilliantly has suggested)
    2.give a link to your demo dance post 😆
    3.or better yet give em a link to how to fall a girl 😀

    bas!
    Ms Z will come running!

    😆
    OG: 😛 if only real life was life reel life 😛 😛 😛 please dont give such ideas to my family 😛

    • June 4, 2009 11:43 am

      ROFL!!! 😀 😀
      OG: 😛 😛

    • anishthomas permalink
      June 4, 2009 11:59 am

      OG, answer Indyeah 🙂 …we are waiting 😛 …..
      OG: 😛 answered…… 😛

      • June 4, 2009 12:37 pm

        People, I know who she is ! But I promised OG that I wouldnt tell anyone !

        OG, can I ???? I guess everyone now knows the truth about your bachelorhood !
        OG: 😛 dai dai!!! there is no one…… 😛 dont create kalippus for me…….. 😛

        • June 4, 2009 1:47 pm

          yes!yes!on behalf of all of OG’s friends I want to say..we want to know! 😀
          what bribe do you want for telling us Vimmu? 😀
          OG: 😛 there is nobody :P.
          you want the truth, you cant handle the truth!!!!!!!! okay, the truth is that there is nobody 😛

        • June 4, 2009 5:04 pm

          OK, OG sent me a mail asking me not to reveal the name. Indyeah, a bribe wont work ! I value my word to OG more !

          OG, but why are you hiding it from these innocent souls? I think you should !

  14. June 4, 2009 11:55 am

    Hey, your family god is right – you have a girlfriend who outclasses you in every respect…Why else would be torturing yourself in the kitchen?
    OG: 😛 I am torturing myself in kitchen for myself 😛 LOL……
    On a serious note, the hounding doesn’t stop with marriage…After marriage it’ll be, “When are you having a child?” then “When are you having your second child?”…It never stops…Good luck!!!
    OG: 😛 hmmmm

  15. June 4, 2009 11:58 am

    OG
    here are some songs that are right for this err situation

    😀

    pstt Aunty do pay attention to the first one 😀

    OG: LOL!!!!! the second song is brilliant!!!! OG ignores first song 😛 😛 😛 😛 coz he is a very decent guy 😀

    • June 4, 2009 4:00 pm

      😆
      the first song is still very much visible 😛
      AUnty please do listen to it 😀

      since the thread limit on the earlier one has run out, let me say again
      We want the truth and nothing but the truth 😀 😛 😛

      • June 4, 2009 4:36 pm

        So you also dont believe me 😛 :P???
        shesh, what has the world come too……

        • June 4, 2009 8:29 pm

          OG. I believe you. 😉

          Indyeah. The problem is it’s not a girl OG has fallen head over heals. He’s fallen for a guy. 😉 😛

  16. June 4, 2009 12:30 pm

    ROFL !!!! Im glad that you are with me on this !!! You know what, get me your parents details, I could send all those proposals that dont work for me, na? 😀 (Not to be mistaken with the ones I rejected, buddy!)
    OG: 😛 LOL!!! I am not with you……. 😛 I will wait for another 3 years 😛 I have time…. still young 😉 Thanks for the offer but no thanks 😛

    Ok, heres an idea. Call up your mom one day and tell her that Amman came in your dream too(if Amman can come in your servants dream, she can come in yours too). Develop some story for getting your wedding delayed (if you want to). Plus, Amman also asked to send some goodies and eatables to a poor innocent boy in Chennai named Vimal 😀
    OG: 😛 LOL!!!!!! I will most probably have to try something like this 😛 later I mean 😛
    I did not readlast part 😀

  17. June 4, 2009 2:07 pm

    Hehehe sounds like much fun to be related to you! BTW I do that to my unmarried male cousins. Tease them and put the seed in their mothers’ head that they have a GF!!!!
    OG: 😛 LOL!!! so you wont also let you poor cousins have fun… eh??? 😛
    very bad…… 😛 Thanks to my dear cousin sister, I have so many problems….

  18. June 4, 2009 5:15 pm

    I have seen all the youngsters echoeing the same…abhi shaadi nahi akrni and then destiny rules:)..they fall in love and fir…..shaadi jaldi karni ha:)

  19. June 4, 2009 6:05 pm

    I miched aall the phun!!!

    I laughed and laughed at

    When mom enlisted my dads help to get the truth out of me, all he said was:

    “hmmmm”.

    !!!

    Since everyone have been naughty I will be sweet and say.. I sympathize 😀

    P.S: Who in their irght mind would wanna marry ?

  20. June 4, 2009 6:06 pm

    Oh I got an Idea.. tell your mom its rakhi sawant.. n u r soon gonna come on TV 😉

  21. June 4, 2009 8:22 pm

    Hahahahahahahahahahahahahaha! You family is just as bad as mine. 😉
    I had that problem once. Lucky the smart ass I am, I got out of it. 😛

    So OG…. who is the lucky (or shall I say unlucky) girl??

    And didn’t you tell your mum about Vimuuu? I’m sure all wedding plans would be cancelled until you’re ready. 😉 😛

    • June 4, 2009 9:30 pm

      What do you mean by “And didn’t you tell your mum about Vimuuu?”. Do you think we are Solilolilo and Indyeah !!! 😀

      • June 5, 2009 3:48 am

        Vimmuuu. Even I know you are not like Solilo and Indyeah. They are sisters. 😉 😛

  22. June 4, 2009 9:14 pm

    Don’t fall for it man . It is a trick . All these married people want you to join their side . They are jealous of our bachelorhood . Abhi to hamare hasne-khelne ke din hai . Single and will only unconditionally mingle , shall be our motto . 25 is like extended teenage . You have fun with your own money . How can you let go of that ?

  23. June 4, 2009 9:19 pm

    OG. First i thought this song suit you for your idea girl.

    Now I’m think

    😛 😛 😛 😛

  24. June 5, 2009 2:30 am

    LOL machi… anyway, any day its better to prefer KA over OG… he he he… do you know what… few weeks before my mom asked me when are you going to get married… at 23 I cant even think about it… all the best for finding Ms.Z machi… hope you will not have a problem in getting married in the next ‘muhurtham’

  25. June 5, 2009 7:43 pm

    Some months back when my parents were showing my janam kundali to a pandit to know when I should get married, he told them that you don’t need to worry about your son. He will have a love marriage. 😐 What the hell, I said. They stopped searching for girls after that. They simply told me that why should they waste their energies if I will go for a love marriage. 😦

    • August 10, 2009 6:26 pm

      ouch!! there goes that dream, eh?? 😉
      now they wont search for u also! these astrologers are terrible i tell u!! 😀

Trackbacks

  1. OG and Shopping!!! « Aram + Aram = Kinnaram

Leave a Reply

