Skip to content

Childhood Memories!

June 2, 2009

OG

(OG in classic pose)

This is a very serious post!!!! πŸ˜›

Smithus has tagged me to list down a few favorite memories that I have had in this insignificant life. So here goes:

My sister was born in Cochin when I was exactly 5 years, 346 days old. I still have fond memories of that day because that was the day I feel in love with Kerala Chaya (Tea). In those 1-2 days at the hospital, I drank bucket loads of it. I do not have any memories of my sister. πŸ˜€

I remember as a kid in nursery school in Chennai, in a play, I had to play the role of β€œLaxmana”. It was a major flop as I totally missed most of my dialogues and confused β€œRama” in the process. The audience mostly consisting of parents and teachers had great fun.

In my culture, a person is given three names. My names apart from β€œAjit” are β€œChandrasekhar” and β€œMurugan”. I used to feel sad when I was young that my official name was not β€œChandrasekhar”. It seemed to have so much power in it.

When I was a kid in Chennai, my gang in school (St. Michael’s Academy, Adyar) used to consist of me and three other Mallu Christian dudes. For lunch, I used to carry some measly thayir sadam (curd rice) or something vegetarian like that while all the others used to bring a lot of tasty non vegetarian stuff. My love for non veg mallu food started back then. I still remember asking my friend Mr. RK if I had to eat the bone as well. My friends had a good laugh back then.

I still vividly remember the church that was there in that school. Every single day, we used to go to the church, first thing in the morning right till my eighth standard when we shifted to Cochin.

I remember as a kid, I used to accompany my mom to a temple near my house only because I used to get some great β€œprasadam” there. My mom was not pleased when she came to know the real intention behind my temple visits.

I still remember the day when I fell in love with Pulav. It was during an inter district under-14 chess competition in Chennai. My lunch was Pulav that day and I fell in love with it. The fact that I did well in that competition did not mean anything to me back then.

I still remember the taste of the onion rice that my mom used to pack for all of us on countless train journeys from Chennai to Cochin and vice versa!!!!! The same onion rice that she makes these days does not have that taste!!!

I still remember, the days when my uncle used to let me steer the car when he took me out on drives. Back in those days, IIT Chennai was free for anyone to enter and I learnt the rudimentary basics of driving there, thanks to my uncle.

I still remember the day when I bit my elder cousin brother’s hand when we had an argument. I was surprised to see my macho big brother cry and I then had to execute many evasive maneuvers to escape from him. That was the only time I had bitten anyone. Please don’t worry guys.

I have so many memories of my grandfather. My grandfather (mom’s dad) is the greatest person I have known till date. RIP. Even though he was a Mathematics professor by profession, he was also a scholar in Sanskrit, Tamil, Telugu, Carnatic music and the violin. I still remember getting up at 5 those days listening to some great music from his violin. I could have learnt so much from him, but I missed the opportunity. More importantly, he was a good man!!!!

My grandfather (dad’s dad) (whom I have blogged about) had a vast collection of books back in those days and I remember one day in my sixth standard, when I found a book called, β€œThe Great Religions of the World”. It completely blew my mind away and I spent hours reading it. My family was surprised that I took such an interest in that topic and I spent hours questioning them about Religion and Hinduism.

In my eighth standard in Cochin, I discovered a big book in my grandfather’s collection called β€œMahabharata” by the author β€œKamala Subramanian”. I totally fell in love with that book and I spend days reading, rereading it. That book will always be my favorite book ever!!!!! At that point, I also used words from it in normal speech as well. For example if my mom was not happy with me, I used to say, β€œWhat adharma did I do ma”?

My favorite character in the book will always be β€œKarna”. I learnt much later on, that my mom used to read that exact same book daily when she was carrying me.

I am stopping here with 12 points. I am sorry for wasting 5 minutes of your time!!! πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

Whew!!!! Tag completed πŸ˜›

36 Comments leave one →
  1. June 2, 2009 1:33 am

    Me first. πŸ˜›

    OG: πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

  2. June 2, 2009 1:45 am

    LoL OG. That’s was soo sweet. And you didn’t waste our time (well certainly not mine). We’re getting to see the other side of OG now. πŸ™‚
    OG: πŸ˜› what other side, I have only one side πŸ˜›
    Sweet memories. πŸ˜‰
    OG: πŸ˜› Thanks

    • June 2, 2009 2:41 am

      Og. I meant we usually see the funny side of you. The other side meaning, serious, intimate, sentimental side of OG. πŸ™‚
      OG: πŸ˜› serious side of food πŸ˜›

  3. June 2, 2009 3:02 am

    Hey, don’t worry – you didn’t waste our time at least not mine…A lot of your memories are linked to food :-)…So, have u learnt how to cook non-vegetarian stuff?
    OG: πŸ˜› LOL, yes, a lot of memories with food….. πŸ˜› very important for me πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜›
    nope, have not cooked non veg till now… .as I am a veg till nov 14th…….. took a years vow to stay away from non veg….
    maybe after that date, will start non veg…….. πŸ˜›

    • June 2, 2009 3:17 am

      Hahahahahaha! You took a vow? WoW! πŸ˜›

      OG: πŸ˜‰

    • June 2, 2009 4:13 am

      Aliya whtz with nov-14 πŸ™‚ …………..
      OG: aliya, when the stars were aligned on Nov 14th 2008, I took a decision to stay veg for a year…….. a decision which I will regret for the rest of my life πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

      • June 2, 2009 4:54 am

        LOL machi πŸ˜† for regretting the decision… I took a oath… eat non-veg anyday until I leave that habit… πŸ˜€
        OG: πŸ˜› I will follow this policy in the future πŸ˜›

      • anishthomas permalink
        June 2, 2009 8:27 am

        wow thatz cool :p ….nyways u didn’t break u’r pledge na…thatz amazing…..here we r struggling to do the same for 5o days lend during easter :p …….
        OG: πŸ˜› yup, and it helps that I come from a veggie background at home……

  4. monikamanchanda permalink
    June 2, 2009 4:03 am

    wow what a serious post I say had me smiling all thru πŸ™‚ and waste time dont worry I had fun

    such sweet foodie memories πŸ˜‰
    OG: πŸ˜› LOL….. Thanks…. and yeah, I love my food πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

  5. June 2, 2009 4:06 am

    Is it just me or your nostalgia is ONLY connected to the food and drinks. πŸ˜›
    OG: πŸ˜› What can I do……. πŸ˜› I love food…… πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

  6. June 2, 2009 4:09 am

    Hey! why did you get 3 names? Are you Telugu? I thought you were Tamil who grew up in Kerala so knows Malayalam.
    OG: I am a tamil, but in my subsect, we give a person 3 names….. dont know why……. πŸ˜› yeah, I am a half tamil, half mallu basically as my mom is from palakkad and all my moms relatives live in kerala even though we speak tamil at home:P πŸ˜› πŸ˜›
    Complete confusion

    Your grandfather is an inspiration. I remember you mentioning him before.
    OG: πŸ˜› yeah, I miss both my grandfathers………..
    WOW! that ‘Mahabharat’ connection turned out to be ‘Abhimanyu’ connection. πŸ™‚ Karna is my favorite too. In a debate once I argued for and against Karna topic.
    OG: πŸ˜› so you caught that ‘abhimanyu’ connection…… yeah, even I am amazed at it……
    Karna is a special person……. please read the book, it is fantastic……., she has written it beautifully….

    • June 2, 2009 7:34 am

      @Solilo,
      Telugu ppl don’t necessarily have 3 names.. even if they have its just the fancy for a long name or they add tags like Kumar, Rao etc..
      I was thinking Tamils have 3 names.. is it not true?
      OG: πŸ˜› regarding this name discussion, I do not have any idea πŸ˜› all I know is that I have 3
      @OG.
      as few have already pointed ur memories are mostly with Food.. But what the heck? we live to eat πŸ˜‰ .. right??
      OG: πŸ˜› perfectly right!!!!

  7. June 2, 2009 4:12 am

    β€œWhat adharma did I do ma”?….lol :p ……. post was a bit sentimental ……still had the ‘OG’ touch…enjoyed it properly……..dude pls come up with the Cochin version also………I’m sure u will have a bunch of ‘misadventures’ to share πŸ™‚ ……
    OG: πŸ˜› yeah aliya, korachu kooduthal senti ayadae πŸ˜› πŸ˜›
    yeah, cochin version would be my teenage memories πŸ˜› πŸ˜› yeah, I have lots to share πŸ˜›

    • anishthomas permalink
      June 2, 2009 8:36 am

      @ senti —- itz k da πŸ™‚ ……the point is whether we enjoyed it or not πŸ™‚
      OG πŸ˜› LOL!!!!!

      @ Cochin version —- we r waiting……..so come up with Cochin jangos as soon as posible πŸ˜€ ……
      OG: πŸ˜› ok machu….. it will be out πŸ˜› soon

  8. Quirky Indian permalink
    June 2, 2009 4:52 am

    Quick Gun Murugan! And he bites! πŸ™‚

    Quirky Indian

    OG: πŸ˜› hahahahahahaha πŸ˜› yeah, always quick on the draw…… πŸ˜›

  9. June 2, 2009 5:02 am

    Serious post by OG’s standards… LOL πŸ˜† enjoyed this one machi… I never had a chance to have lengthy conversation with my grandparents… you are so lucky πŸ™‚ and me too like to read mahaBharatha… my favorite character was also karna.. πŸ™‚ hope to complete Harry potter soon and start mahabarata.. πŸ™‚ food memories are always sweet, sour, spicy and many more… most important one is tasty… LOL πŸ˜†
    OG: πŸ˜› yeah serious post πŸ˜›
    harry potter is also good… enjoy the series…. yeah start mahabharata after that… the book that I told you…. it is great…. πŸ˜› hmm, food is very important….. have to agree πŸ˜‰

  10. June 2, 2009 5:09 am

    ok i think that is not memories… that is 7 points of how you fell in love with various foods !!

    petu ram !!
    OG: πŸ˜› that also comes under memories for me πŸ˜› πŸ˜› LOL…….

    • June 2, 2009 5:27 am

      lol yea they sure do… !! I gotta do this tag too and yet so much work and so many comments to put and reply and take revenge…

      man its getting stressful !!! lol πŸ™‚
      OG: πŸ˜› LOL…… yeah it must be stressful πŸ˜›

    • June 2, 2009 3:09 pm

      lol@petu ram! πŸ˜€

  11. June 2, 2009 5:46 am

    LOL… u were quite a character even during ur childhood days, eh? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜›
    OG: πŸ˜› LOL!!!
    lovely memories… ultimately these r all that u hold on to as u grow older rite?
    OG: πŸ˜› yeah, memories of food πŸ˜›
    nicely written… the way u’ve incorporated some funny one-liner into every memory πŸ˜€
    OG: πŸ˜› Thanku!!

  12. June 2, 2009 8:49 am

    Oh that little cutie is you??? Such an innocent looking kid you were!!
    OG: πŸ˜› well, that “was” me….. now my good looks is ruined πŸ˜‰

    You drank chaya at the age of 5 years and 346 days πŸ™‚ πŸ˜† and no memories of your sister!!!!
    OG: πŸ˜› LOL…. yeah

    lol at your nursery play πŸ™‚
    OG: πŸ˜› it was an eventful school play πŸ˜›
    You know, Chandrashekar only reminds me of that unfortunate Prime Minister we had πŸ™‚

    lol -‘ My mom was not pleased when she came to know the real intention behind my temple visits.’

    Onion rice – never had it – have to hunt for the recipe now πŸ™‚
    OG: πŸ˜› nothing special in it….. very simple….. fry onions and add rice πŸ˜› cookinf advice from OG
    ‘Back in those days, IIT Chennai was free for anyone to enter and I learnt the rudimentary basics of driving there, thanks to my uncle’ – so you can claim that you had some of your education in an IIT πŸ˜‰
    OG: LOL….. that is exactly what I do πŸ˜›
    Your grandfather sounds so amazing!!! So your interest in religions started then! It is amazing, isn’t it , how some things make such an impression on one?
    OG: yup, it did at that time…. but I have formutaled my own theories about religion and follow em
    ‘I learnt much later on, that my mom used to read that exact same book daily when she was carrying me.’ – guess its no wonder that you liked it πŸ™‚ I spent nine months carrying my daughter designing a Forex system – and my colleagues would joke that daughter would get to know the nitty gritty of Forex trading!!
    Have to read both the books that you have mentioned πŸ™‚
    OG: πŸ˜› hahahahahahahahaha, well, you will get the know pretty soon if she becomes an expert on that πŸ˜›
    One thing this post re-iterates is that you are a proper foodie – food seems to be central to your memories πŸ™‚ That ws such a wonderful read! Loved it !!!!
    OG: πŸ˜› Thanku Thanku!!!!!!

  13. June 2, 2009 9:19 am

    Time not wasted at all . I must remark , most your memories are centered around food , eh . πŸ˜€
    OG: πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜› after all, I am an ordinary Guy

  14. June 2, 2009 9:43 am

    U played Laxmana and got confused with Rama??? πŸ˜€ Creating stirs in the family, huh? (kudumbam kalakkum, le?? πŸ˜€ ). Reminded me of Valees ‘Ajit’ !!! πŸ˜€
    OG: πŸ˜› dai, dai, dai….. I “confused” rama…. not got confused with rama……
    LOL at Valees Ajit, elladae, I only forgot mine πŸ˜› and when that happened, Rama forgot his….

    Even I used to visit temples back then in Dubai for the prasadams. Not my fault, they used to give bread and kadala curry. Now who wouldnt go πŸ˜€
    OG: πŸ˜› I still go πŸ˜‰
    “The same onion rice that she makes these days does not have that taste!!!” – I tell these to my mom too and u know what she says– ” nanni venamedaa, nanni” πŸ˜€
    OG: πŸ˜› LOL LOL LOL!!!!!!!!!! classic reply
    and from now on, im going to be very careful with my comments here. Im scared you will bite me to death !!! πŸ˜€
    OG: πŸ˜› I will let you know when I am coming to chennai next time πŸ˜‰

    • June 2, 2009 10:24 am

      Hahahahahahaha! Bite you to death. πŸ˜† πŸ˜›

  15. June 2, 2009 11:16 am

    So sweet! The pic i mean : ) And the memories.. nostalgia is so contagious no? I never knew my grand parents as they were dead before i was born except for my maternal grand ma.. and her too I hardly knew.. initially coz we were in mumbai and she in karnataka.. besides the language divide..

    It seems like I missed so much !! But then I was compensated amply by my parents πŸ™‚
    OG: πŸ˜› hmmm, grandparents are always great….. πŸ˜› yeah, so you had fun anyways… that is important πŸ˜›

  16. June 2, 2009 11:20 am

    You monkey πŸ˜› you really bit your brother? πŸ˜€ :d I used to bite my sister too πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ that was the only way I could win in our fights πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
    OG: πŸ˜› only once……. πŸ˜›
    Onion rice.. that I have never had.. got to make it πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
    OG: try it………..
    You read such boring books when you were 12? :O what kinds do you read now ?
    OG: πŸ˜› you will not believe me πŸ˜‰
    I have bought three books from amazon here in america and they are:
    1. Historicity behind the Rig Veda
    2. Hymns from the Rig Veda
    3. The Rig Veda
    I am into Vedas research at the moment πŸ˜›

    Mahabharata is interesting πŸ™‚

    When i was staying with my atthai in ambattur.. we used to go to kovil in january everyday to eat the pongal πŸ˜› πŸ˜›
    OG: LOL wah, I miss pongal….

  17. June 2, 2009 2:11 pm

    sawryy I am commenting so late

    but I read this earlier does that count? πŸ˜€

    OG: πŸ˜› hahahaha, as rajni would say, “lateaa vandalum, latesta varanum” πŸ˜›
    (even if you come late, come with latest fashion or ideas in this case)…….. πŸ˜›

    • June 2, 2009 2:13 pm

      and also loved that cute pic of chotu OG πŸ˜€
      alle sho cute πŸ˜€ is what I abs have to say πŸ˜€
      πŸ˜› “growing up” saala, destroyed my looks………. πŸ˜›

      *now is Indyeah forgiven?*

      achcha now dont disturb and lemme read again πŸ˜›
      OG: πŸ˜› Indyeah is not forgiven as OG was not angry in first place πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜› plz read

      • June 2, 2009 2:25 pm

        growing up destroyed your looks?

        ROFL! πŸ˜†
        OG: πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜› the sad truth

  18. June 2, 2009 3:08 pm

    Alle sho cute OG πŸ˜€ (I know , I know I have said this but let me say it again)
    you were a darling

    *OG blushes* πŸ˜€
    OG: πŸ˜› OG is blushing πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

    OG you are elder by almost 5+years to your sis?me too! πŸ˜€
    Elder by 5 years to my younger bro
    OG: big difference… she calls it generation gap……
    Heh!heh!Laxman how did you confuse Rama? πŸ˜€
    tell tell! πŸ˜€
    OG: πŸ˜› my missing my dialogs and rama too forgets his thanks to that πŸ˜›
    Ajit Chandrasekhar Murugan…while Chandrasekhar does have power
    OG: what classic names I have got πŸ˜‰
    but it is the Murugan that invokes some cowboy-sih images πŸ˜€
    As QI says..Quick Gun Murugan πŸ˜€
    OG: LOL!!!!!
    MEASLY thayir sadam??
    πŸ˜€
    trust you to call it measly! πŸ˜†
    OG: πŸ˜› I hate for thayir sadam started then….. but now, I have made my peace with it πŸ˜›
    if you had to eat the bone as well? πŸ˜†
    you must have been one hungry kid πŸ˜› πŸ˜›
    OG: πŸ˜› I was always hungry………

    prasadam… πŸ˜€ reminded me of myself πŸ˜€
    let me say again me too! πŸ˜€
    OG: LOL….. hahahahahahahaha…. same pinch πŸ˜›
    The fact that I did well in that competition did not mean anything to me back then.
    Lol!!
    OG all this for pulav??!! πŸ˜€
    The love for food is quite old then? πŸ˜€
    OG: yes!!!

    Ma ke haath ka khana is always special πŸ™‚
    OG: πŸ˜› my mom makes great food, even though it is only veggie stuff…… 😦

    You BIT your cousin???

    Rofl!!OG what were you??maneater? πŸ˜€
    Only one time??
    Once is enough I think πŸ˜› it serves as ample warning πŸ˜€
    OG: πŸ˜› hahahahaha, dont worry OG is civilized now πŸ˜›

    Grandfathers are very special …nanajis and nanijis more so because I think
    because I have seen they have a special place for the daughter’s kids
    OG: πŸ˜› yup, have to agree…… πŸ˜›
    Even though he was a Mathematics professor by profession, he was also a scholar in Sanskrit, Tamil, Telugu, Carnatic music and the violin. I still remember getting up at 5 those days listening to some great music from his violin.

    Oh wow!! WOW!
    That is amazing!! What a human being ! πŸ™‚

    You know what OG?the similarities are uncanny!
    My nanaji was a scholar as was dadaji but it was dadaji who collected books because it was his passion…
    OG: πŸ˜› again it is same pinch πŸ˜› πŸ˜›
    Great religions of the world? Amazing!now I know why you have such a clear and open view about things πŸ™‚
    OG: πŸ˜› OG has now formulated his own views on religion and follows them πŸ˜› LOL
    And then Mahabharat you must have been one precocious child πŸ™‚

    LOL@what adharma did I do ma?

    πŸ˜†
    Poor aunty! She must have been fed up by the end of it …or maybe she was too busy stifling her laughter πŸ˜€
    OG: πŸ˜› she used to end up laughing πŸ˜›
    My fav character is Karna too πŸ™‚
    OG: πŸ˜› everyone likes a tragic hero!!!!
    And like Solilos says the Abhimanyu connection is visible πŸ™‚
    OG: πŸ˜› I am still amazed, please read that book, if you get it…….
    This was a great read OG πŸ™‚
    Whie I laughed when I started reading it…by the end I was smiling …memories..nostalgia..

    Beautifully done tag OG!

    Thank you for sharing πŸ™‚
    OG: πŸ˜› Thanku for reading πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

    • June 2, 2009 7:55 pm

      How can you hate thayir saadam ? its the most important staple food!! I remember my atthai feeding us thayir saadam of ‘paledhu’ with aavakkai to ‘kadikya’ we used to fight for the adi kozhambu πŸ™‚
      OG: πŸ˜› LOL!!!! I used to hate it, but now I have made my peace with it…… yeah, adi kozhambu was always speacial πŸ˜›

  19. June 2, 2009 7:11 pm

    That was a very nice post OG! Seriously touching! Three names! Wow! So what happens to the other two names?
    OG: πŸ˜› nothing happens to them….. πŸ˜› They also coexist with my official name πŸ˜› Thanks!

  20. June 3, 2009 7:00 am

    I am still going all awestruck at this post. Loved it. You read Mahabharata and the Great Religions of the World for pleasure!! You were obviously a very curious and very smart kid. Also shows how good it is to be surrounded by good books!!

    And your Uncle was really nice to teach you to drive like this!
    Karna has been amongst my favorite too, another one is Krishna πŸ™‚ I think who we choose as fav says a lot about us, Nita recently said in a comment that we seem to fight for the underdog, maybe I should say the same thing for you. Karna was treated unfairly, and he was noble…

    Using the language of the books you read was just adorable, saying “What adharma did I do?” was just so sweet…

    I think this tag revealed a lot about you! Enjoyed reading this post Ajit!

    • June 3, 2009 5:25 pm

      Thanks you IHM…… πŸ™‚ I was a curious but not smart kid πŸ˜›
      Karna was the greatest guy among the group…..
      Thanks once again IHM

  21. June 3, 2009 8:24 am

    St.Michael’s academy??? ha ha ha…Just a few weeks ago me and ur cousin had a conversation about that school and he commented about it as “St.Michael’s sex academy” as the guys n girls where pairing up and doing so many things.. well i know when u were there things wud have been good πŸ˜€

    Tag well done OG…

    • June 3, 2009 5:26 pm

      ROFL….. πŸ™‚ you mean to say that life has become better there πŸ˜‰
      it was a good school when I was there…. have no idea now πŸ˜›

      Thanks machi!

Leave a Reply

