Skip to content

Jangos of CET: Mr. KJ

May 27, 2009

Paisa innu varum, nalla pooyum” (Money will come today and go tomorrow) was a famous dialog in my college, thanks to a friend of mine Mr. KJ. But as we found out later, money only used to leave us!!!!! But not for Mr. KJ. No one ever knew from where, but he rolled the cash when required but it helped us a lot those days.

It seems that I have really become nostalgic about my college days in CET. Don’t know why? But since I have anyways decided to tell the world about various weird dudes, I shall proceed with this post.

This post is about my dear friend, the ever smiling, kodayavaran (big belly) Mr. KJ who was at the receiving end of all our jokes in college.

ajit

What do you think that the picture signifies?

When a person has to go from point A to point B, he/she would take the shortest path. But no, Mr. KJ was made different. He always used to take the long path. I don’t know how or why. If given a task, he would always come up with the most complicated way to do things and for that task; he would need the help of atleast 10 sane blokes.

OG: KJ, we need to submit the assignment today. I hope you remember?

KJ: Aliyaaaaaa, I forgot. OG, why don’t you bring me some good A4 paper and a file? SNV, please give me your pen. JJ, please give me your assignment. Let me copy. AT, dai find that junior AR. I have to give him the assignment now. (Once AT has left, KJ remembers). Aliya AC, dai go behind AT and ask him to send AR to brothers lodge. I will be in OG’s room.

Thus by the end of this line, every single person would be confused on what exactly has to be done. And being such good friends, we would not do anything and KJ would not submit his assignment.

That is in short Mr. KJ, who always attempts to do things at the last minute and fails miserably.

Another thing that always stands out is his confidence. “No”, is unfortunately not a word in his dictionary. Our combined study session used to go like this:

OG: Dai, do you know the theory of finite element analysis?

KJ (looking at textbook): The finite element method (FEM) (sometimes referred to as finite element analysis) is a numerical technique for finding approximate solutions of partial differential equations (PDE) as well as of integral equations.

OG: This is text book stuff aliya, what exactly is it?

KJ: Ennikku yaathoru idea elladae!! (Dude, I have no idea)

He also had a thing against punctuality. He never believed in it. I don’t know why. If we ask KJ to come at 10 AM, he would stroll in at 1 PM and say that he is on time. His standard time for coming to college was around lunch and he would go back home every single day around 12 in the night after dinner. Yeah, nobody believed that he was a day scholar, not even his parents. He went home only to sleep and take money. Rest of the time, he used to spend with us roaming about college and town.

At times, you find that you just cannot comprehend his logic.

OG (sends a text message to KJ): Dai, where are you?

KJ (the reply comes in): I am here. Where are you?

Now what can you say to that person when he sends a reply like that and still expects you to know where he is? That is KJ, ladies and Gentlemen.

He also had a habit of falling head over heels on love with a first year girl, totally opposite in character. He would always fall in love with a demure, short, brilliant electronics engineer and after some casual talks; realize that she is not right for him (yeah it took him only 5 mins)!!!

A passionate cricket player, his team never won any college competition and as usual KJ would blame all the others except himself. Ask for some of his time and he will have 5 other appointments at the same time. I still can’t figure how he managed his time!!!! His Hero Honda passion was the college Taxi. Everyone used his vehicle including yours truly and we had some great fun on bike trips.

And thus, we spend four great years in Trivandrum. I miss those days!!!

I just can go on and on and on but I will not!!!!
OG_KJ

Currently he is in Pune working as a consultant with a major IT firm and is determined to bankrupt that company. Around 6 months back, a girl must have told him that he looked good in shades and since then, he has been wearing them continuously. So guy, if you see anyone with a big paunch in Pune with shades, even at night, you know who you are looking at!!!!

Edited to Add: Read what the enraged Mr. KJ has to say in the comments:  😀

32 Comments leave one →
  1. monikamanchanda permalink
    May 27, 2009 2:51 am

    awww that was such a sweet message 🙂

    and lol at i am here where are u… that takes the cake

    friends like this make life worth living
    OG: seriously!!!! I agree, he is my closest frd……. 😛 frdship is what makes this world go around!!!!

  2. May 27, 2009 3:08 am

    LOL LOL LOL machi… wow… college will always have such interesting characters which makes nostalgic about our college days…
    OG: 😛 Agree dude!!!!! I miss those days!!!

    • May 27, 2009 6:09 am

      machi.. I hav again read this and ROFL.. not able to give the writings that i enjoyed.. as its tough for me in laptop.. will get back to my PC.. will again read it and comment 🙂
      OG: 😛 hmmm 😛 Thanks

  3. Quirky Indian permalink
    May 27, 2009 4:57 am

    “KJ (the reply comes in): I am here. Where are you?”

    LOL. 🙂

    I think most of us have great memories of college.

    Cheers,

    Quirky Indian
    OG: LOL yes dude!!! best days!!!!! almost everyone would say the same, that their college was the best 😛

  4. May 27, 2009 6:11 am

    machi.. what Aliya means… something similar to machi 😀
    og: Aliya in malayalam means the same as machi in Tamil!!

  5. May 27, 2009 6:16 am

    Your college stories are great…What characters! Even I have fond memories of college even though I was a day scholar…
    OG: 😛 Thanks!!, we all liked our college

  6. May 27, 2009 6:31 am

    You are inspiring me to come up with some stories from my college days . 🙂
    OG: please do dost!!

  7. May 27, 2009 7:03 am

    Ahhh… college.. I wanna head back there!
    OG: ;)!!!! if only we had a time machine

  8. May 27, 2009 7:08 am

    Ah submissions et al..!!!

    In our college I would submit on the last day and the lecturer would be like.. why are you bothering to submit ? just let me know they have your files…
    OG: 😛 LOL…. in our class, every single person used to copy assignments that we all had the same stuff…60 of us 😛
    Coz well my other classmates (males) from hostel would invariably ask for my file… they start writing journals one day after the submissions..

    And I would say.. they never take file from me.. unke shaan mein woh gustaaki hoti hai 😀 😀
    OG: LOL!

    man so many stories now want to be told!!

    Luckily in our college group no one drunk.. ( they dont drink even now) so well… when someone who is drunk by chance came to talk to us.. we would be protected as if someone diseased have come thru.. literally! It was sweet n chivalrous.. but a bit overbearing you know what I mean ?
    OG: 😛 yeah, I know!!! 😉
    Now I shud shut it 😀
    OG: 😛 you know what you have to write for your next post 😛

  9. May 27, 2009 12:22 pm

    Da koothare.. If i started writing your blunders/ incidents , it would become another epic. Veruthe pallu kuthi nattikkano 🙂
    OG: The great KJ has replied. I am translating this for the general public:
    You useless, If i started writing your blunders/ incidents , it would become another epic. So do you wanna get embaressed by all the curse words…..</strong>

    • May 27, 2009 1:34 pm

      KJ can do a guest, sweet post… sorry epic on OGs blunders and we are eager to read them… LOL 😆
      OG: 😛 well, I would not want that, would I :P???????

    • May 28, 2009 2:29 am

      I am waiting for KJ’s guest post on OG. 😛
      OG: 😛 well, that will not happen on this blog 😛 😛 😛 😛

      • May 28, 2009 7:15 pm

        Solilo, how about asking KJ to write in one of our blogs… ? thats possible i think 😀
        OG: hahahahaha, that is possible 😛

  10. May 27, 2009 1:35 pm

    KJ can do a guest, sweet post… sorry epic on OGs blunders and we are eager to read them… LOL 😆 KJ bro… please do.. 🙂

  11. May 27, 2009 3:27 pm

    It looks to me as the transitive property of mathematics 🙂

    Must have been fun with such a great friend.
    OG: 😛 LOL!!!! hahahahaha

  12. May 27, 2009 4:38 pm

    OG. You friend sounds a bit like me. The diagram, first two quotes/examples and the thing written under the second quote/example is exactly what I do (Well did whilst getting my diploma). And people even today wonder how I manage to get TRIPLE DISTINCTION!! Even my teachers/lecturers where scratching their head on how I managed it. 😉 One tecture/lecturer even even said I’m an “unusual student.” 😛
    OG: 😛 you certainly must be one 😛
    And this year, I thought to be good and attend all lectures and I’m messing up. 😦
    OG: study now!!!

  13. May 27, 2009 5:02 pm

    OG!!! That was ROFL!! KJ’s comment was even more so!!! Seriously we need him to do a guest post!!!!
    OG: no ways, !!! I dont want my secrets out 😛

  14. May 27, 2009 6:34 pm

    u seem to enjoying the reminiscence of college days a lot these days…

    and this KJ seems quite a character. dont we all have such characters we can never forget, that we run into during college days??? such remembering all that…
    OG: 😛 yeah, what can I say!
    loved the reply he gave u tho… 😀
    OG: 😛 smarat payyan annu 😛

  15. May 27, 2009 10:51 pm

    College will be incomplete without such people. They add the masala to our college life. 🙂
    OG: 😛 😛 😛 😛

  16. May 28, 2009 2:26 am

    Hilarious!

    Would you believe that KJ’s kind still live on :P!

    I hear a lot, lot lot, from the younger one, on the likes of Mr KJ :), engg. college kind, of course [is there any other??? lolzzz :P!]
    OG: 😛 hahahahahahaha, there are many like him 😛

  17. May 28, 2009 2:31 am

    You guys should publish a book on your college antics. Every piece is howlarious!
    OG: 😛 i just might 😛 we had some great times 😛
    Hmm..you are calling KJ kodavayaran and you are the one who gorges on food. 😆
    OG: 😛 he was a kodavayaran in college days, I am one only now 😛

    • Solilo permalink
      May 28, 2009 5:48 am

      OG, Karma… 😆
      OG: seriously, we all used to make fun of him and we all have it now 😛 LOL……. anyways it is the sign of a sucessful man 😛 so it is okay 😛

      • Solilo permalink
        May 28, 2009 6:55 am

        Sign of success? What?

        Gluttony!! 😀
        OG: 😛 LOL!!!!! Shesh 🙂 nyaan endhu parayan 😛
        yeah, I love food…. cannot be helped 😛 LOL no pain, no weight gain!!!

  18. May 30, 2009 10:51 am

    I am here. where are you?

    😆

    That was soo hilarious OG!!

    What a friend to have OG! 😀
    OG: 😛 he certainly is 😛
    err..umm I am a little bit like KJ
    as far as the assignment thing goes that is 😀

    I do the very same things 😀
    OG: 😛 hahahahahaha

    KJ still wears sunglasses?
    OG: yes he does, even at night
    thats KJ in the pic right? 😀
    (and btw what’s with you and I am the boss stance? ) 😛
    OG: 😛 yes that is KJ, and that is my pose generally for photos 😛
    psst.. OG its a relief to know that the girl didnt say that something else looked good on him other than sunglasses 😀

    I mean imagine if the girl had said lungi or something 😀

    the sight of KJ 24X7 in a lungi 😆
    OG: 😛 hahahhaahahahahahahahahaa

    errm not that lungis are bad…
    (said this only to escape OG’s wrath)
    😛
    OG: 😛 Indyeah 😛 Lungis are not bad 😛 yes rightly said 😛

  19. Nancy permalink
    June 4, 2009 8:09 am

    Enjoyed this one….esp the SMS & “KJ: Ennikku yaathoru idea elladae!!” 😀

    College days were the best really. We can go on & on & on & we’ll never tire of relating the same stuff over & over again 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Some Family Bonding Over The Real Story of My College Project! « Aram + Aram = Kinnaram

Leave a Reply

