Skip to content

From Los Angeles to New York!

May 6, 2009

road

I have a dream; don’t know if it will work!

There is something exciting and enthralling about the open road that beckons most. For exemplars like me, the journey is very important. I need not listen to anything other than the deep throb of the powerful engine and the susurrations of the wheel which is music to my ears!!! The machine is you; you are the machine and it knows exactly what you want. When requested, it moves forward with a terrific access of power and glides over the open road and when required, you can also tip the steering wheel from one side to the other, thus weaving in and out of traffic. There is nothing more poetic in this world than an expert driver doing his/her thing!

Time becomes a useless entity, a mere statistic. Velocity becomes the devil, one which you would not want to upset. All of life’s issues become frivolous coz when one is driving in the present; there is no past, no future and no history. There are two creatures however that one has to please; one a dear friend and the other, a naughty foe.

All your thoughts are on the road and you have the license to drive like you own it! But in reality, the road owns you. It can throw anything at you unexpectedly and it always keeps you ready in anticipation. It can be magnanimous and stretch itself to 10 lanes or it can be pessimistic and give you just 2 lanes. If you are not in luck, it can throw mudslides or potholes at you but when it is happy, it can give you the smoothest drive you might ever have!

The engine is your friend; the V8 engine will always patiently wait for your command to churn out around 350 horsepower of power to take you on a high that might happen only once in a lifetime. But you need to treat it with respect to get the maximum torque and volumetric efficiency.

The other passengers become mere puppets when you drive in such a state. Words become the only source through which you get to know that you are still human and they are a great companion on a long drive.

There are just a few things in life which can get the neurons in OG’s head excited and the open road is one of them. Some things in life need to be done, especially when one is a bachelor and I would like to take maximum advantage of my “status”, especially when I am interested in such things like skydiving (read my experience here) etc.

It might be due to nomadic streak in me or it might be due to plain eccentricity, but I have started planning my mega trip to drive from Los Angeles to New York all the way. In other words, from the South West coast to the North East coast!!!!

The distance comes out to around 2791 miles (4465 kilometers) and we are planning to phase the drive out over 5-6 days. Fortunately I have found another person NM who is ready to come along with me. We are in the process of convincing two others as well!!!

For a plan of such magnitude, unfortunately many factors come in play, right from the economics to fatigue, right from getting the leaves sanctioned to planning the route. Getting the right rental car and the right people on the trip are also important as bad company can make the trip hell.

Hopefully we can get this trip done sometime in the next 5 months (if I am still in America by then)!!! Hope things work out well!!!

Ladies and Gentlemen: I have a dream!

map

(Original Image Credits: Google Maps)

26 Comments leave one →
  1. sraboneyghose permalink
    May 6, 2009 3:03 am

    I hope your dream comes true…Don’t fall asleep at the wheel – that’s all I have to say 😆
    OG: thanks Bones, yeah, hope I dont fall asleep 😛 😛

  2. May 6, 2009 3:46 am

    Bon voyage!

    Just do it.. even with bad company or no comapny.. you never know which adventure is waiting for you!
    OG: 😛 😛 yeah lemme see!!!! lot of factors!!!!but i should

  3. May 6, 2009 4:55 am

    do it for sure bro… never wait for anybody… if nobody is ther…. do it by yourself..
    never miss the thrills and happiness of life 🙂
    Have great journey 🙂

    OG: 😛 😛 I cannot do it alone dude…. will get bored….. anyways, i will not miss this trip….

  4. May 6, 2009 6:14 am

    Go for it!!! I am sure you will find the right company – maybe praying to Dhiren Bhagwanji might help;) He claims that his ‘blessings’ helped me clear me test 🙂
    But seriously – its a wonderful dream:) I had a friend who wanted to do it but could not – for all the reasons you have mentioned…No, its better to have company…All the best!
    OG: Thanks Smitha!!! LOL at dhiren bhagwanji!!! hahahahahaha 🙂
    Thanks!!!

  5. May 6, 2009 6:30 am

    Bhagwanji appears promptly !! Tatasthu… !!!!

    You should be doing it on bikes… remember that movie.. Wild Hogs… gee…. 😀

    happy for you… and jealous of you tooo !!!

    This sounds like a real adventure… !! how I wish we could do the same in India… but how do you find time… !! bloody this job can never give us so many holidays!!!! 😦
    OG: Thanks Bhagwanji!!!! 😛 😛
    I love bikes and I plan to do something similar in India.. the problem here is safety when it comes to bikes… lot of risk involved at high speeds….. and getting license is difficult…… 🙂 and we software engg. have only 7 days leave in a year!!!! think of it……. 😦 rest will go into loss of pay

  6. May 6, 2009 6:46 am

    OG becomes the “Easy Rider” , inspired by “The Motorcycle Diaries” , eh ? Damn dude ! You are lucky . I have been thinking about exploring India on a two wheeler , Guevara style , since ages now . Wonder when that dream will come true .
    OG: Dude you must be kidding…… I love the motorcycle diaries and I am greatly inspired by Che……..
    and I plan to do a similar bike ride across India in the future….. visiting not tourist spots but the real india and learn about it…… It is one of my pet dreams… and to write a book about it……. Wow……!!!!!
    so many things match dude……. 😀

  7. May 6, 2009 7:47 am

    “I plan to do a similar bike ride across India in the future….. visiting not tourist spots but the real india and learn about it…… It is one of my pet dreams… and to write a book about it”

    Holy Shit Man ! Exact same dream . It is in my Bucket List . Exploring the real India . Be a part of that place for a while , live with the locals , understand and explore . Please please take me along , if you ever embark on that journey .

    OG: we will plan it out dude. once i get back!!!!!

    • May 6, 2009 11:04 pm

      i am with you on this one – cross country india —

      OG: will let you know anrosh!!!

  8. May 6, 2009 9:15 am

    would be a mighty long trip:), but wi;ll be thoroughly enjoyable:)
    Wish You all the best !!!
    OG: THanks Renu!!!!

  9. May 6, 2009 9:17 am

    WOW. Now that is one dream !!! Poyittu vaa maganey, Jai guruvaayoorappa !!! 😀
    OG: 😛 😛

    • May 6, 2009 4:09 pm

      When did this one turn into Swami Vimmuanadaya?

      OG: 😛 😛 LOL!

  10. May 6, 2009 9:41 am

    All your thoughts are on the road and you have the license to drive like you own it! But in reality, the road owns you. It can throw anything at you unexpectedly and it always keeps you ready in anticipation. It can be magnanimous and stretch itself to 10 lanes or it can be pessimistic and give you just 2 lanes. If you are not in luck, it can throw mudslides or potholes at you but when it is happy, it can give you the smoothest drive you might ever have!
    Beautiful!

    that IS a beautiful dream and like Kislay said too 🙂 hope you achieve it! you both will I am sure:) and I am sure we will be reading about yours in a short while when you complete it 🙂

    All the very best!
    The motorcycle diaries is close to my heart …will complete an India darshan for sure…going on off beaten tracks though not on a bike 😀 cant handle it…but by road a car journey for sure 😀

    till then will be content to read about your journey 😀
    go for it!:)
    OG: thanku thanku!!!!! 😛 where are you planning to go???? have you read the book or warched the film indyeah???

    • May 6, 2009 5:35 pm

      have seen the movie and loved it 🙂
      will complete it for sure 🙂
      before I turn 45 for sure 😀 its a promise I have made to myself…Bharat Darshan 😀
      OG: best of luck!!! i wanna do it before I settle down in life 🙂

  11. May 6, 2009 12:01 pm

    Dreams are not the ones you see when you go to sleep, they are the ones that keep you awake until you achieve them…

    Amen! 🙂
    OG: Amen to that!!!!!

  12. May 6, 2009 12:15 pm

    Speechless…
    OG: 😛 😛

  13. May 6, 2009 2:41 pm

    bad company can make the trip hell –

    so true OG. I wish you luck. Personally, I like road trips if they are well planned. Do make sure you book the hotel rooms for the nights in various stopover places along the way too!

    OG: Thanks!!!!! personally, i like trip which are not planned 😛 😛 just get out and drive is my policy!!!
    yeah, but hotel booking is one thing that I will have to plan!!!!!

    • May 6, 2009 11:08 pm

      we do the same too — look out for the signs on the interstate and you will always get one. all the hotels are mostly on the same lane !
      OG: yeah and we always the GPS 🙂 which solves most problems!!!

  14. May 6, 2009 4:08 pm

    I read first line and though what happened to OG..it is not even Martin Luther day. 😆

    Me loves long drives. In fact if I could then I would only travel by car. Long trips are fun when you have best company. So no good friends then get yourself a girl friend 😉

    BTW were you good in Physics at school? I know your Chemistry was bad (ahem…NaCl) but I have a feeling that you exceled in Physics.

    Amen to your dream.

    • May 6, 2009 4:22 pm

      So you noticed the reference to Martin Luther King Jr…. 🙂 I love that speech!!!!
      yeah, need to get myself a girlfriend 😉 LOL for the drive….. 😛
      yeah, I loved Physics and Maths in school….. and LOL at chemistry (Nacl)… great minds can make simple mistakes 😛 😛

      yeah, Amen to my dream 🙂

  15. Badz permalink
    May 6, 2009 9:10 pm

    GOOD LUCK OG!! I really hope you forfil that dream before returning back to India. 🙂

    BUT I don’t understand. Why do you only get 7 days leave? I don’t know about America BUT here in the UK we are entitled to 4 weeks leave PLUS bank holidays.

    Hmmm… Strange. 😕

    OG: Thanks Badz…… we software engg. are basically contractors and since it it recession times now, the number of paid leaves are only 7… for billability issues…..
    as I always say, we SE are like political prisoners who dont have the geneva convention to protect em….
    when I am in india, I am eligible for all the leaves I want….

  16. May 6, 2009 11:02 pm

    are you going to smell the roses on the road ?
    OG: idont like flowers!!!

    • May 7, 2009 1:41 am

      What is with you guys and hating flowers? Vimmy and you.

      Did your ex. girlfriends dump you guys because of some flowery reasons? 😆 bhagooooo

      OG: i dont know!!!! 🙂 I dont like em!!! right from childhood….. and “LOL” is all I can say for second line!!! 😛 😛 😆

  17. May 7, 2009 9:44 pm

    Well, its a loooong dream! All the best!
    When this happens, it would be great fun.
    OG: 😛 😛 yes!!!

  18. Quirky Indian permalink
    May 8, 2009 11:58 am

    Fascinating…..you must make this drive happen. Even more importantly, you must write detailed posts on the experience.

    Kislay – you just need to go out and do it. Bit by bit – unless you want to quit and do one big drive. Over the years, I have managed to drive to some very interesting places.

    Quirky Indian
    OG: yeah, i sure i hope get to do it and write about it as well…..
    I have also done a mini south india trip in bits and pieces… but this time, I wanna do a whole trip from south to North just for the drive.. it should be great!!

  19. May 9, 2009 8:51 am

    Best wishes for your dream OG 🙂 Sounds like absolute fun. Plan, choose good company, and have a great time 🙂
    OG: Thanks IHM!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

