Skip to content

What irritates me!

May 5, 2009

I have been tagged by IHM on “10 things that irritate me”. I have seen this tag being done by others and my list also would match on most counts. So I have decided to change this Tag and write about different questions (which I get asked) which irritate/amuse me.

Q1. What do you want to do with life?

The problem with this question is that it is loaded!!!! This seemingly innocent inconspicuous line unfortunately comes with many hidden questions/emotions/contempt. Around 99 percent of the people in this world are still searching for the answer. I don’t like the usual answers like engineer, manager, MBA, doctor, pilot etc coz even if we win the rat race; we are still rats at the end. On most occasions, I say that my aim in life is to be a good person which leads to many other questions. Some related and some not!!!!

Q2. So you must speak Malayalee in Kerala right?

Unfortunately people don’t realize that “Malayalee” is not a language. It is Malayalam and I try my best to educate them about Kerala. 😛

Q3. So why are you not dark?

(I seriously can’t believe that I get asked this question and I am not joking)

This is another question which I hate. I would definitely not be defined as fair using any calibration chart but why do we place such a value for fair skin? Why is it assumed that South Indians have to be dark? Dark skin is actually good for our Indian climate!!!!!

Q4. How can you eat beef being a Hindu?

Why does it matter? What is the difference? If you can eat other non veg dishes or eggs, if you can kill the pesky mosquitoes or cockroaches, if you can wear a silk sari or use leather, you are also killing living beings!!! According to me, it is all the same!!!! Either do all or do none. A soul is a soul!!! I am not even going into the theory of Vedic Indians being beef eaters.

Q5. Why don’t you follow conventional traditions?

According to me, good traditions are meant to be preserved in the heart and bad ones which make no sense have to be preserved in a coffin deep in the ground. So that people don’t forget the mistakes of the past!!

Q6. Are you XXXX caste? I am that!!!

Okay, what difference is it going to make. Am I supposed to judge you differently if you are XXXX?

Q7. Why do you support a uniform civil code? Religious sentiments have to be considered!

The only thing that I have to say is that I want to live as an Indian and people who do not, can leave my country!!!! No questions!!!!! If we are not ready for a uniform code now, we never will be.

Q8. How can you say that you follow all the religions in the world?

For that question, I have another question in riposte. What is the basic teaching of most religions? If the answer is that it should help people lead good, peaceful and happy lives, then I am a follower of all religions!!!! But yes culturally, I am a Hindu and I am proud of it.

Q9. Which is the better language?

All languages are great and divine. Period!!!

Q10. Why are you so dashingly handsome?

Hahahahahahaha!!! I was kidding guys!!!! I do not get asked that question!!!! The question I get asked is, “Why are you so dumb?”!!!! And I don’t have an answer to that!

57 Comments leave one →
  1. May 5, 2009 2:06 am

    you have a great sense of humor — a great alternative career is definitely in store for you if you don’t want to be another rat.(have you heard of dan ninan ) way to go qunite.hope ( i like the name better than OG)
    qunite.hope: This was a serious post 😛 LOL!!!!!!
    yeah, I think I will end up being a rat all my life!!!! yeah, I have seen dan ninan’s show. 🙂

  2. sraboneyghose permalink
    May 5, 2009 4:06 am

    What are you doing in IT?

    I can’t believe you get asked about your skin colour and caste…What caste are you??!!! I would have replied (if asked),”Definitely not the one you belong to.”

    OG: Why should I not be in IT Bones 😛
    yeah, have you ever not faced that situation? being asked about your caste? and yes, color is a sensitive issue in India…….. 😦 😦
    and LOL at your reposte!!!!!!!!!!!! 😛

    • sraboneyghose permalink
      May 5, 2009 5:27 am

      No, I’ve never been asked about my caste or my skin colour…I do get asked about the colour of my daughter’s eyes because they are light and neither my husband nor I have light eyes…Instead of going into an explanation of how my maternal grandfather and uncle have light eyes, I just say,”Well, we used to live in the US and I was at home alone during the day and….”
      OG: 😛 😛

      • May 5, 2009 6:35 am

        Oh Bones!

        “Well, we used to live in the US and I was at home alone during the day and….”

        Did you really say this? 😆 😆 I am LOLing
        OG: no comments!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

        • sraboneyghose permalink
          May 5, 2009 11:08 am

          Yes, I did and still do…I’m sick of every single person I come across asking me about my daughter’s eyes…Some ask me repeatedly…Maha irritating…

      • May 5, 2009 6:53 am

        LOL!! that’s the spirit!! 😀

      • May 5, 2009 10:56 am

        ROFL!!Bones you rock for that one!! 😆

      • May 9, 2009 6:49 am

        LOL Bones!! 😆

  3. May 5, 2009 4:15 am

    I totally agree with 1, 5 to 9 😀 😀

    I mean i feel the same too

    OG: only 1, 5, 9???? :P:P:P

  4. May 5, 2009 4:22 am

    I’ve been asked some of these questions myself … glad to know I am not the only one at the receiving end 🙂 and yes it irks me as much as it does u, if not more!

    what seriously pisses me off is when the first question is asked to kids who studying in high school. i m like er…what??? you’ve got to be kidding me lol.. let them grow up first! sheesh!
    OG: 🙂 Yo, that is great!!!! LOL!!!
    yeah, when adults dont know what they are doing, how can kids know!!!! sheesH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • May 5, 2009 4:30 am

      u won’t believe it… sometimes that question is asked to even kiddies. and i’ve once replied…. aadyam avar veettil kurachu nilavilichu kondu nadakkatte… pinne avar valuthayi line adikkukayum vayunnokkukayum cheyyatte… enittu jeevithathe kurichu aalochikkatte 😛

      OG: wah wah!!! what outlook!!!! line, vayunnokkal…. wah wah!! I am impressed!!!!!!!! 😛
      I completely second those lines!!!!!!

      • May 5, 2009 4:39 am

        dank u dank u 😀
        OG: 😆

      • sraboneyghose permalink
        May 5, 2009 5:28 am

        Please translate!

        OG: That line means, “Let the kids first start shouting, then let then find love and engage in some “bird watching”, then maybe you should ask about their ambition”

        • May 5, 2009 6:49 am

          to be more precise:
          let them holler around the house for a bit, while they’re kids, they let them grow a li’l bigger, have an affair or two, and yes engage in bird watching, and then mayb let them decide about life 🙂
          [I’m sure my own parents will beat me up if they know this is my philosophy… or prevent me from having kids of my own lol]
          OG: much better than mine!!!! and lol about last part!!!!!!!!!

  5. May 5, 2009 6:34 am

    1. Ha..ha..ha..I am sure they also answer it for you. Doctor or Engineer.
    OG: hahahaha 😛 yeah, when a child is born, parents decide if he is doctor or engineer!

    2. That’s okay. It is an innocent mistake. Once our Geography Ma’am said that Trivandrum is Karanataka’s capital.
    OG: this has happened multiple times….. 🙂
    3. How about all Indians are shades of Brown. I mean you are either lighter or darker but still considered Brown.
    OG: yeah agree but we indians have so many terms like wheatish, etc etc… now what is whetish complexion… I dont know 😛 😛
    4. Ha…ha..ha..I am not getting into that discussion again even though I don’t at Beef anymore for health reasons.
    OG: mallu style beef fry!! wah wah Nov 14th, when will you come!!!!!!!
    5. Ask them to define tradition.
    OG: yeah, I should 😛
    6. Ha..ha..ha.. very important to decide who you are voting for. 😐
    OG: sad scenario 😦
    7. Yes! that is very important. Who cares almost half population (women) think about it.
    OG: 😛
    8. You global citizen, OG.
    OG: maybe not global citizen but global religion-ist!!
    9. Sign language 😀
    OG: LOL!!!!
    10. I am sure the person had Sun in his eyes so blinded for a brief period. 😆
    OG: Solilo, it should be “her” not “him”… you seem to be insinuating something else here……. 😛 😛

    • May 5, 2009 7:38 am

      3. Wheatish means someone who eats lot of Wheat. So North Indians are wheat-ish and South Indians are Rice-ish. 😆

      10. I don’t think a girl could ever make that mistake even if sun blinded her. 😆

      OG: ROFL at rice-ish!!! yeah, that should be a good reply and “Sheesh” at last point 😛 :P.
      yeah, yeah, nyaan enna thanne pokki parayenilla 😛 😛

  6. May 5, 2009 6:37 am

    I agree about the beef eating… tell me arent plants living things ?? they dont make noise when they are chopped off thats teh only difference is it ??

    Also on which plant does milk grow ?? so all tell me if milk is vegetarian ??

    and now you again got me thinking… What do you want to do with life.. frankly I dont know.. ! 😦
    OG: I have been thinking about my life all these days……… 😛
    and yeah, even plants are living being….. completely agree…
    Vegetarians like Indyeah contribute to global warming 😛 😛 hahahahahaha

    • May 5, 2009 10:57 am

      😛 😛

      OG : 😛

    • sraboneyghose permalink
      May 5, 2009 11:12 am

      Vegetarians justify their consumption of plants by saying that since they don’t have a nervous system, they don’t feel the pain…True to some extent…

      OG: yeah, agree!

      • May 5, 2009 11:45 am

        Didnt J.C bose prove scientifically that Plants do react to external stimuli ?
        OG: need to research this now!

        • May 6, 2009 5:11 am

          He did… its a fact… !
          OG: 😛 😛 then that is good!

  7. Mystery permalink
    May 5, 2009 11:12 am

    Whatever i do with my life i wouldn’t go around and ask people what they would want to do 🙂
    Eating beef is a personal choice and it has nothing to do with religion.
    and lol at the 10th question.

    All of you are twisting the 10 point tag and making it more interesting..
    OG: yeah, i also make it a point not to ask people!
    and the janta here are very clever….. so 10th point will get twisted 😛

  8. May 5, 2009 11:14 am

    1. yep get that question all the time and now I am sick and tired of it …”.coz even if we win the rat race; we are still rats at the end.”
    loved the line 🙂
    OG: 😛 :P. thankfully you are not a rat! teachers are the best
    2. malayalee? 😀
    ha ha!
    People I tell you …they need a crash course in geography and culture..basically SSt all over again 😀
    OG: yeah, they should
    3.okay this one is soo dumb that you need to sock one to those people…

    LOL@Solilo’s answer 😀 Rice-ish 😀
    OG: it is a common theme now in india……
    4.I agree 😀 even though I dont eat non- veg but I dont understand why one can eat this non veg but not that!its absurd!
    one should have the freedom to do what one wants…and well ahem *cough * while being a vegetarian is wayyy better but still eating beef has nothing to do with one’s religion…and if it does..then well…what kind of a religion places restrictions on one’s diet? 😀
    so eat all that you want 🙂

    psstt—but still veg is wayy better …err no?oh! okay! 😀
    OG: yeah, we hear you… veggies are the best, I completely agree 😛
    5.I agree 🙂

    6.:D well I would go with Sraboney’s answer on this one 😀
    such morons deserve such comebacks!
    OG: 😛 😛
    7.The only thing that I have to say is that I want to live as an Indian and people who do not, can leave my country!!!! No questions!!!!! If we are not ready for a uniform code now, we never will be.
    I agree whole heartedly..which is why I am unable to understand this dithering over the issue citing these religious sentiments or those…

    OG: Thanks!!! indyeah
    8.agree again :))

    9.oh!! this one was a quicksand!! these days it is a loaded question specially in India 😀
    me too 🙂 love all the languages equally:) and I am always on the lookout to learn new ones 🙂
    OG: You the learning Malayalam, I the teach you 🙂 😛 😛
    10.rofl!! 😆
    which gurl asks this question? 😀
    has she seen your avataar yet?the one on WP? 😛
    seriously ??dumb?? lead them to this blog then 😀 they can read all your posts then and wonder at your amazing brain 😀
    OG: noone has seen my avataar as of now… 🙂 and I intend to keep it that way 😛 and i was joking about dumb 😛 😛 😛

    • May 5, 2009 2:41 pm

      Wonderful post yet again !! 😀

      OG: hahahahahaha 😛

      • May 5, 2009 8:01 pm

        @Vimmuu:- who is this new caped crusader OG? *looks haughty*
        I dont know him 😛

        @OG:-and I was joking about dumb too! 😛
        Malayalam Kind sir?you the teacher?me ready to learn 😀
        OG: LOL!!! I the ready!!! you the pay guru dakshana 🙂 😆

        • May 5, 2009 9:44 pm

          Oh no. You the teach and she the learn?? then, im the running !!!
          OG: 😛 😛 you the running, OG not the happy!!!

        • May 7, 2009 9:07 pm

          me the thinks guru not the literate yet
          😆

        • Badz permalink
          May 7, 2009 9:37 pm

          Hahahahahahaha.

        • May 7, 2009 9:40 pm

          hahahahaha 🙂 good one!!! yes, OG the thinks the guru, the not literate…… 🙂

    • May 5, 2009 8:06 pm

      aww @ the first point 😀 a teacher yay! 😀 and for that you are forgiven all past mistakes
      *the comment monster..errr…queen walks away regally*
      😛
      OG: 😛 😛

  9. May 5, 2009 12:19 pm

    So which caste are you? I better clean my hands after visiting ur blog :P…my grandpa used to do this after visiting the ‘low’caste folks place..sad that the kinda attitude is present till date though with some modifications.

    Your Q2,I saw SRK speak like that once… welcoming sreeshanth and asking him to speak in malyalee I cringed,but then SRK is a certified dumba** and again most indians also wont know to differentiate a manipuri from a mizo.

    Beef eating is the biggest hypocrisy by hindus,I guess somewhere during the later vedic times mad cow disease became rampant and then they declared cow as holy and hence no beef…looks like now swines are gonna get that holy tag 😀
    OG: yeah, the older gen cannot be changed, but I take offense if the younger gen. also speak like this 😛
    I also cringed when I saw the SRK dialog….and LOL at holy swines…. hahahahahahaha 😛

  10. May 5, 2009 12:59 pm

    That was a bunch of interesting insights!

    1. Totally agree! It gets so angry when people ask that.. Already people say that to my daughter – and she’s just turned 3!!!!!!
    OG: OMG, she gets asked that!!!!!!!
    2. I have got so used to people saying malayalee and kerali and madrassi that I end up laughing these days 🙂 It is funny!
    OG: same here 😛
    3. I’ve been asked this as well and told that I don’t look ‘South Indian’!!!!!
    OG: see, this happens in our country……
    4. Agree totally, though I don’t eat – but then I don’t eat mutton or lamb – so no religious reason for that – just taste 🙂 And I don’t understand why it matters either! I had a friend who used to eat beef in America coz American Cow is not Holy Cow 🙂
    OG: hahahahaha, american cow is not holy… good reasoning…..
    Caste is something I had never come aross until I went to college and was totally shocked to see how much people believed in all this…
    OG: 😦 😦
    And the last question – Why are you so dashingly handsome? – Thanks sooo much for letting us know tht you were kidding 🙂 Was wondering if Bollywood lost a potential hero 😉
    OG: maybe with my looks, I could apply for kollywood or mollywood 😛 😛

  11. May 5, 2009 2:48 pm

    Brilliant Ajit jee . Wah ! You gave a new twist to the tag . Beautifully done . Hell , if I had read yours before , I would have added a few more to my list , namely , “Are you a North-Indian” and “You don’t look or sound like a Bihari” , for sure . Your sense of humour gets better and better . Start your own comic strip man , something on the lines of Calvin and Hobbes . 🙂

    OG: 😛 Thanks mate!!! yes, I got reminded of your bihari post when I wrote this

  12. May 5, 2009 2:55 pm

    Oh gawwwddd…people keep twisting this tag on and on and I still have no clue what the original tag is !!! Sigh ! I dont think I will ever do this tag now! Im so bloody confused !!! 😀

    Its only Q1 that I had faced! yeah, yeah, not even the final hypothetical question !! But there are some other questions that irritate me –

    How do you want to see yourself five years from now ? (Of course, in a mirror. How else can I see myself?)

    You are from Kerala and you dont eat fish ?? (as if fish is the only food available in Kerala)
    OG: hahahahaha 🙂 this is called evolution of the Tag! and you dont eat fish????? blasphemy!!! being a mallu!!!! 😛 😛
    When I get asked that 5 year question in my office, I say that I see myself in the same room with you for another interview 😛 😛

    • Solilo permalink
      May 5, 2009 7:11 pm

      What? Vimmu, you don’t eat Fish? You are banished from Malayalanad. 😆 😆

      All this fish talk now me craving for some Kappa and Fish curry. Let me drool over some foodie blogs.

      • May 5, 2009 7:45 pm

        ayyo, even I have started thinking of kappa, meen curry 😦
        and naymeen fry!

        • Solilo permalink
          May 5, 2009 10:14 pm

          OG, stick that tongue at Vimmu.

          This is for us to drool.

          http://kitchenmishmash.blogspot.com/2007/07/toddy-shop-special-virtual-glimpse-into.html

          I am so making it this weekend or I will kill myself.

          OG: not fair…..!! i want parcel!!!!!!!!!!!!1 😛 😛 kallu shaaps are the best!!! for food!!!!!!

        • Solilo permalink
          May 6, 2009 6:17 am

          When my brother went to India 2 months back, all cousins and their parents..you know the whole gang from my mother’s side went to Kumarakom and they had that boat ride and gulped naadan TODDY. Then had yum seafood.

          I was so envious. I told my mom to parcel some Toddy-Kappa-Meen curry for me. Ha..ha..ha..
          OG: kumarakom boat trips are the best!!!! I have fond memories of it…..
          yeah, the food and the drinks are special!!! 😛 😛
          waiting to get back to India!!!! mouth watering already!!!!

      • May 5, 2009 9:43 pm

        Grrrr….What did I just write there ????? 😀
        OG: haha!

        • May 7, 2009 8:34 pm

          I am craving for some naadan kallu and kakka meat you get in the shop. Oh dear! I am a nut job. 😆

  13. May 5, 2009 3:33 pm

    Q3. So why are you not dark?

    Hehe

    OG: blame it on my genes 🙂

    • May 6, 2009 6:31 am

      How i wish some one would ask me that… why am I not dark… I am obsessed with fair skin too… lol…

      OG: 🙂 LOL I am not fair dude, you will win hands down in that department 😛 😛

  14. Happy Kitten permalink
    May 6, 2009 11:17 am

    That was too good..

    The penchant for fairness.. when did Indians catch this fever? Since both our children r a bit fairer than Hubby and myself, I have been asked why it is so.. LOL Bones does have the right answer! nd even our text books extol fairness..

    A uniform civil code… which is the most pressing need for the country..

    Solilo leaves me yet again drooling.. nd Kumarakam it has to be soon.. there was this place where one gets to taste all kinds of fish preparation with toddy…
    OG: yeah, LOL at questions asked!!! ahahahahahahaha 🙂 Bones reply was awesome!
    yes, unifrom civil code, when will it happen? 😦 and kumarakom is great and costly!!! 😛

  15. Badz permalink
    May 6, 2009 8:55 pm

    Well OG… Here comes me long comment. 😉

    OG: I like long comments!!! 😛
    1) I guess that’s the world’s most commonest question. I just come out with different answers every time. At present it’s a civil engineer. And people are like out so that’s to do with cars or planes or trains right? All I can say. Yeesss! 😕 You got it in one. 😈 And my mum is like no no no no no. She is going to be a builder. She is going to make big buildings, bridges, dams, etc. 😉

    OG: So you are a civil engg. That is great!!!! so what is your speciliazation??? big buildings or dams!!! 😀
    2) Malayalee or Malayalam?? Didn’t even know they existed or know where it came from until you or Solilo mentioned the language and today you stated which place it is spoken. 😕 I think I need to come to India and be educated. 😉

    OG: come to India…. it is a great place!!!!! where are you from btw???? “originally”
    3) LoL! We use to have a racist joke on that question. Not quite on different shades of brown. Just on blacks, whites and brown. We use to say “when god made people, he made them in 3 batches. The first batch he that went in the oven came out under cooked which was the white people. Then he placed the second batch in for a much longer time. They came out overcooked/burnt which were the black people. Then he finally put us in with the best care and we came out nor over cooked nor under cooked. Just perfect. 😉
    OG: LOL!!!! that is one smart one!!

    4) Hmm. Interesting point and I totally agree. If you’re going to eat non veg, I don’t see the point I will eat this meat and not that for religious reason. I think that’s stupid. Even Muslims saying I will not eat pork. I think it’s crazy and they’re hypocrites.
    OG: yup, I agree
    5) Hmm… I think it’s a stupid question to ask someone but I agree with you. “good traditions are meant to be preserved in the heart and bad ones which make no sense have to be preserved in a coffin deep in the ground. So that people don’t forget the mistakes of the past!!”

    6) Oh! We still get that question here in the UK. Not only have those, we even got what sub-caste you are. All I can say “what the fcuk”? (Excuse the language)
    OG: It seems to be a common theme with Indians…….
    7) Hmmm…. I agree with you totally.
    OG: 😛
    8) Yes. All religions are trying to say the same thing BUT people (IDIOTS) misunderstand it and misuse it to their own advantage.
    OG: and that is why,I love athiesm
    9) LoL! I love all languages too. We joke about it now saying we want to learn have to say 2 beers/vodkas please, my friend will pay in ALL LANGUAGES. 😆
    OG: HAHAHAHAHA :)maybe I should try it
    10) ROFL!!!! Which idiot asked you that? Or shall I say what did you do to be asked such a question. “How dumb are you?” 😈 😆
    OG: Thankfully, only close relatives and friends ask me this!!! 🙂 and I blame it on genetics!!!! 🙂

    • Badz permalink
      May 7, 2009 10:00 am

      OG. I am born and breeded in England, UK. BUT my parents are from Gujrat, India. So I class myself as a British Asian/Indian. 🙂

      OG: 😛 😛

    • Badz permalink
      May 7, 2009 10:12 am

      And dear. I’m not a civil engineer yet. I am studying to become one. BUT I want to try and go into structures. I’m only first year. So let’s see. I may change my mind. 😀
      OG: 🙂 you become a civil engg. once you started learning 🙂 and yeah, best wishes for exam!

  16. May 6, 2009 9:09 pm

    So many common things matching mine!!! I am thinking of taking up this tag. Will be fun!
    And people seriously ask you about caste and color? Its pathetic!

    OG: do it dost!

  17. May 7, 2009 7:34 am

    Ajit.. Kumarakom need not be expensive.. last time we could go to this family getaway which is good food wise.. and not the five star variety.. it is a little after Kumarakom on the side of the old road to Cochin..cant recall it’s name now.
    OG: 🙂 okay!!!

  18. May 7, 2009 8:35 pm

    BTW OG, I am making Kappa this weekend. Will send you pictures 😆

  19. May 9, 2009 8:07 am

    LOL OG, So you further twisted the twisted tag 🙂

    Q1. What do you want to do with life?
    😆 OG I am asked what are you doing because I am not ‘working’ and yes it is loaded 🙂

    Q2. So you must speak Malayalee in Kerala right?
    LOL 🙂 Amreekanee in America :0

    Q3. So why are you not dark?
    We Indians are obsessed with skin colour!

    Q4. How can you eat beef being a Hindu?
    It is nobody’s business what you eat , wear, study or cook – we have no concept of individual freedom!!

    Q5. Why don’t you follow conventional traditions?
    According to me, good traditions are meant to be preserved in the heart and bad ones which make no sense have to be preserved in a coffin deep in the ground. So that people don’t forget the mistakes of the past!!

    LOL Well answered OG!!

    Q6. Are you XXXX caste? I am that!
    I have not been asked this one but I would have answered just the way you did!

    Q7. Why do you support a uniform civil code? Religious sentiments have to be considered!

    I feel women across religions, all over the world, are empowered by legal rights. The Constitution can be questioned, unlike religion. And you cannot easily misinterpret it (unlike religion).

    Q8. How can you say that you follow all the religions in the world?
    We all seem to forget that all religions teach the same thing, glad you haven’t OG!

    Q9. Which is the better language?
    Reminds me of your post about your friends arguing over languages, and then the confusion you created … 🙂

    Q10. Why are you so dashingly handsome?
    😆 What did you say your friend applied on his face – the one who got engaged??

  20. May 14, 2009 11:10 am

    Quite a wacko tag i musht say…!!!

    I so get annoyed when some @#$%%^ asks some of these idiotic questions..

    Que’s
    — Being an Iyer girl, you dont go to temples?
    — Oh me gawd.. ur not fond of curd rice? [committed a big sin did i???]
    — Iyer girls are normally not so tall… your mom n dad diff caste is it? [Hello, what kind of a que is this???????are u outta ur f!@#%% mind…]

    🙂

Leave a Reply

