Skip to content

Sagar Alias Jackie goes to Harihar Nagar

April 24, 2009

One of the perks of living in a cosmopolitan city here in America is that it is multicultural and vibrant. I get to taste and sample cuisines from the far reaches of the globe and I can also see many Indian movies. By that, I mean that I can see Hindi, Tamil, Malayalam and Telugu movies here.

I am especially excited coz this Friday, our very own Lalettan’s (Mohanlal) stylish slick flick “Sagar Alias Jackie” is releasing in a theatre (Fallbrook) near my place and I am waiting for it and next month, the super hit film “To Harihar Nagar” is also releasing in the same theatre!!!!

Bollywood is pretty famous here in America but to see films of my favorite actors in our regional languages is great. The feeling is just special when you can sit in a theatre and start cheering/whistling when the Hero makes an entry or delivers a punch dialog!!!!!

Sagar Alias Jackie:

 jacky

(Original Image Credits: Here)

The name is Jackie, Sagar Alias Jackie“, was a line which became an instant hit way back in 1987 in the Hit film, “Irupadham Nootrandu“. And this new film is supposed to be a sequel to the old film in which Mohanlal reprises his role as an incorrigible smuggler and don!!! This is supposed to be one of the most stylish films ever made in the Malayalam film industry by Amal Neerad who also made the classic film “Big B“.

Mohanlal may be fat (and have a family pack instead of a six pack) and old but he is also the finest actor India has ever seen (according to me) and the four National awards just do not do justice to his skills!!!! The film did not get good reviews but who cares about reviews when you are fan!!!!

Please view a few great songs/clips from the film:

Sagar Alias Jackie Rap Theme Song: Please listen to it for a few “el Classico” Mohanlal dialogs

Melle Melle : Great song

Vennilave: Another great song

 And why I am so excited about watching the film? Simple, it reminds me of India and Kerala!!!!! And it is going to be a grand event with friends coming in from all over!!!!! A lalettan fan who lives 150 miles away is also coming!!! Can you believe that!!!

To Harihar Nagar:

 

 to_harihar_nagar_wallpapers__1_

(Original Image Credits: Here)

My favorite Malayalam film which released in 1990 was “In Harihar Nagar” in which a brigade of (good for nothing) guys all fall in love with the same girl from the neighborhood. Its remake called “Dhol” in Hindi was crass and about 1/100th as good as the original.

To Harihar Nagar” is a sequel to that film and the main storyline is that all these guys (Mukesh, Siddiqui, Jagadish and Asokan), now middle-aged and with wives decide to enjoy life as bachelors for a reunion once again in the same colony!!! It is supposed to be a laugh riot and I am definitely going to watch it!!

Nothing else to add but, “Thomaskutty….. vittodaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa” (to the theatres).

PS: I did watch Ayan, last week as well!!!! Decent film!!

27 Comments leave one →
  1. sraboneyghose permalink
    April 24, 2009 3:21 am

    Enjoy the movie!
    OG: 😛 😛

  2. April 24, 2009 3:38 am

    I agree…fun is different in watching Indian movie there:) enjoy:)

    OG: 🙂 Thanks!!!!

  3. April 24, 2009 5:29 am

    See perks of city. In this village we have nothing of that sort. 😀 😀

    I have lost all interest in movies. This time I got a truckload of DVDs and CDs. Just watched 1 or 2 from it. These days I only watch a movie if the promos look extremely promising or I wait till Sony or Zee shows it.

    Last Malayalam film I watched was ‘Minnaminikoottam’ when I was in Kerala. Loved it.

    I haven’t even heard of Sagar alias…movie. I think I have seen Irupataam Noottandu. Don’t remember the story though. I am familiar with the name. My parents and cousins went for ‘Harihar Nagar 2’. My mom said just some laugh and then same old repetitive comedy. My mom likes Mukesh. She thinks he is someone who never got his dues in the industry.

    Have fun OG! don’t forget to whistle when Mohanlal comes. 😆 I remember when we girls used to go for SRK movies in college we used to take whistle with us.

    Are you aware of some movie called Yugpurushan starring Mammootty and Mohanlal?

    OG: 🙂 😛 😛 The film Yug. is in production right??? Not released yet…. 🙂 one of my fav films is No 20 Madras Mail….. 😛 😛
    I have not watched ‘Minnaminikoottam’…. lemme see it now…… 🙂 and yes, nalla theatrele nyaan complete blast akum!!!! 😛 😛

  4. April 24, 2009 6:33 am

    Boy we had a mohanlal vs. mamooty gang in my previous company somehow the dhileep fans took sides with lalettan in that case. Personally I wud rate mammootty higher than lal with the limited amount of what I have seen. Probably mamooty has had more projects in tamil and national level comparatively.Have heard lal is a better man personally than mamooty.Whatever it’s good to see them both going great even at this age and hope you have a blast of time in the movies…
    OG: you are right when you say that Mamooty has had more projects in Tamil. but we cannot forget mohanlal in iruvar!!! 🙂 🙂
    I personally rate mohanlal as better…. 🙂 and dileep is not in thier class… he needs to realize that he can only do a few roles…… not like the big 2……

  5. April 24, 2009 8:46 am

    I hated iruvar..not for lal but for the kinda theatrical element present in everyone’s performance and the whole story…the dialogues were not realistic and the acting though was top notch it did not touch the raw nerve…so much like dil se 🙂 .. yeah dileep can be clubbed at the max with kalabavan mani 😛 not even pritviraj.. sadly he has fans too..well when vijay can have dileep can 🙂

    OG: somehow I loved Iruvar for its theatrical elements 🙂 😀 LOL at last part!!!

  6. April 24, 2009 9:10 am

    And I watch movies only to write a review on the blog 🙂
    I have watched more movies than in all my life since starting this blog (after reading reviews/discussions)…

    Otherwise I am quite content to watch movies on the TV… most of the time I forget the movie names, even when I have enjoyed the movie.

    OG: 🙂 LOL ihm… you are a true blogger…. watching films to write reviews!!!!

    • April 24, 2009 10:56 pm

      I forget too .. movie names.. i mean.. but then I forget a lot of things 😀
      OG: 😛 😛

  7. April 24, 2009 9:55 am

    Onnum thonnarudu, but SAJ was nothing but crap ! and the reviews, according to me, have been considerate towards the movie makers in not trashing it completely. I know, being a fan is different, but a bad movie is a bad movie and we all have to accept it 😀 I was so excited when the music itself was released but got disappointed big time after watching the movie. I loved the the first part and everything about that movie was a craze during those days. adokke orkkumbol, ithiri sankadam, athreyullu.

    2 harihar nagar, on the other hand, is a laugh riot. but somehow the old magic is lost somewhere. then again, you cant expect it to be the same way. i cant reveal much about the movie too, you will know why !

    pakshe aliyaa, endokke paranjaalum, abroadil malayalam movie watch cheyyunna aa oru sandosham vere thanneyaa, so adukondu vittoooodoaaaaaa….!!!!

    OG: Aliya, I know SAJ was crap… but still nammallu kaanum!!! 😛 yes aliya, he has clearly lost it….. nowadays….
    the old magic can never be recreated for THN.. but still bits ofc it should still linger on…..:)
    last line… completely agree!!!!

  8. Mystery permalink
    April 24, 2009 12:19 pm

    Enjoy the movie and
    do whistle at the entry of your fav. hero
    OG: 😛 😛

  9. April 24, 2009 1:26 pm

    Dude, I concur that Mohanlal is a great actor indeed . Company convinced me of that . But sadly, that is the only one I have seen . Language restrictions . 😦

    OG: 😛 yes dude… language restrictions!!!! his acting was decent in company!

    • April 24, 2009 9:41 pm

      Wow . If that is decent than I would love to see his best, with subtitles . Suggest a few , tell me where I can glean some info about their plot , and I shall have a dekko . In company, he fit the role so perfectly, the accent , the body language , the delivery , delicious man !

      OG: dude, lemme mail you a list!!! 🙂

  10. April 24, 2009 10:58 pm

    I have not watched ayan yet.. sis n me keep planning to do a big deal of it by watching it in a theatre.. we have only watched tamil movies on TV or pirated DVD 😀
    OG: Ayan is nice, the song Vizhi Moodi is fantasttic!!! 🙂 tamanna looks great!!! 🙂 😛 😛

  11. April 26, 2009 4:55 am

    enjoy the movies Ajit.. 🙂
    Whatever may be I am missing superstar films 😦

    OG: I am waiting for endiram!!!!!

    • April 26, 2009 8:36 pm

      I don’t think it will usual Superstar flick 😐

      OG: pakkalam!!!! 🙂 and hope for best 😆

  12. Happy Kitten permalink
    April 26, 2009 10:48 am

    As per reports Sagar Alias is crap… sorry for that.. but Harihar nagar is supposed to be better…

    Mohanlal needs to be given better roles, if we ever want him to shine as before..

    Cannot compare Mohanlal and Mammooty.. but both have dismally chosen bad roles in the recent years..
    OG: It was bAD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Mohanlal has to stop doing such roles…. The film was atrocious!!!

  13. April 26, 2009 2:23 pm

    Ajit, Have no idea of either of these movies 😦 My movie watching has gone down tremendrously 😦 As for Mohanlal – well I certainly feel that he is more versatile than Mammootty – but that might be just a fan speaking 🙂

  14. April 26, 2009 2:30 pm

    and also, do update us on whether the movie matched your expectations!
    OG: the film was bad!!!!! mohanlal looks like an anna kutty and the film sucked!!!!!!

    • April 27, 2009 1:25 am

      I came here to ask about the movie. 😆

      It is high time Mohanlal does some niptuck.

      OG 🙂 superstar ennum superstar thanne annu!!!! 😆

    • April 27, 2009 10:53 am

      Aiyyo !! Annakutty – poor you!! After all that excitement!!! As Solilo says – high time Mohanlal does some niptuck 🙂 Maybe we should have an online petition for that 🙂
      OG: Lalettan will not be lalettan if he does all that!!!

  15. April 26, 2009 3:11 pm

    hi! you do not know me.trying to make new blogger friends.have seen your latest post and it seems that u love seeing Tamil movies.please visit my website and comment on my articles. hope u like them…

    OG: 😛 😛

  16. April 26, 2009 4:25 pm

    Ajit, I have no idea about these movies, but do enjoy yourself!!! 🙂 I know it will be fun!
    OG: watching Indian films outside India is always fun!

  17. April 27, 2009 4:40 am

    So how was it…..hrd saagar movie was all nonsense but hariharnagar is s’pposed to be good.

    Guess wht, this weekened I saw “Kathaparambol” & “Rajamanikam”[yes 1st time;-D]
    I cried buckets for kathaparambol[last 10 minutes], I’m sure the hindi superstar cd not have done it so tastefully & emotionally like Mammooty & Rajamanikam was a laugh riot….chellakilli & all tht.
    I mayb Mohanlal fan but Mammooty is awesome:-D
    Isn’t he??????????????
    OG: yes Mammooty is awesome… I just loved his rajamanikam as it is a accent that I love!!! trivandrum slang!!!! and i also agree that his acting is just fantastic!!!!

  18. May 6, 2009 5:39 am

    where are the reviews???? 🙂

    OG: nalla kuuura padam!!!! thagarrnnu :))

  19. sajith permalink
    May 19, 2009 5:23 pm

    watch ayan movie soon

  20. September 24, 2009 12:22 pm

    i watched both movies…i dint find any problems…..direction of the SAJ is superb but it lacks of story…

  21. November 17, 2012 6:04 am

    football scores http://football-score.org/ network to provide you the most accurate, fastest, most complete football live scores. Live Scores and game site synchronization, football scores, SMG score lottery score simulcast football data and other information at the same time.

Leave a Reply

