Skip to content

College days!!!!

April 8, 2009

coll2

What can I say? Just thinking about my college days fills me with nostalgia and mere words are not sufficient to describe my feeling. The main reasons why I liked my engineering days were: 

  1. We got to religiously study for 4 years and score brilliant marks.
  2. We stayed in college from 9 to 4 and did not bunk a single class.
  3. After 4, we used to hang around the library till around 8.
  4. Study for two hours daily and sleep like good boys at 10 PM.

If you did believe that, then even God cannot save you!!!

Back in 2001, I was pleasantly surprised when I got a rank of 936 in Kerala State Entrance Exam and even more surprised when I got admission into this reputed college!!!

Kerala is peculiar in many ways. Education and Pride play an important role in the society but so does alcohol and prescription drugs!!! Yeah, beat that combination!!!! On one side, you find the hard core capitalist and on the other, hard core commies and on a lesser note, capitalists who claim that they are commies!! People believe in being civil but the Mob mentality and revolutionary thoughts are ingrained in all of us.

And thus, in a confused state of mind, on October 4th 2001 (I still remember the date), I reached College of Engineering, Trivandrum (CET) from Cochin for the first day induction program along with a friend. The very first things that I noticed about the college were:

  1. The words “SFI” (Students Federation of India) scribbled everywhere right from the college lobby to the restrooms, from the roads to the classrooms!!!
  2. Many broken windows all attributed to a College Strike that had happened recently (when we asked around)!!
  3. A college library which had thousands of books but just a few computers!!
  4. Large oversized labs with large oversized machines, turbines and engines all bought in the 1950’s but still in working condition (don’t know how).
  5. Large buildings which screamed for paint job amidst sylvan settings!!
  6. A planetarium that did not work, bathrooms tap which did not have any water and lots of seniors eyeballing us!!

First Year:

  1. Learnt the meaning of the word “Ragging” when we had to go thru it!
  2. Felt bad when I bunked class for the first time! (I was the second person in my class to do it!!!!)
  3. Learnt that a slap to the face is far more humiliating than a punch and that “Powerful Words and a Stare” (“chera” as say in malayalam) can convey more than action at times.
  4. Learnt the basic art of self defense! And learnt a difficult lesson: On how to run and still block hits from behind!!
  5. Had a major crush on Ms. X (from electrical) but never found the courage to walk up to her as I thought that she would dismiss me as just another “perverted guy from mechanical” as she had a few of those tagging behind her always. I never spoke to her that year.
  6. Formed a college dance team and called ourselves the “CET Spaars“!!!
  7. Found meaning in the words, “There is no such thing as a free lunch“!!
  8. Took a vow that I never would ever try drugs when I saw a few seniors fall prey to it!!
  9. I learnt that life is very fragile. A second year student, a senior passes away in college premises due to a horrible accident after which vehicles get banned in college.
  10. Learnt the meaning of the words like communism, capitalism in practical and not in theory.
  11. Learnt that the mob rules and “Strength in numbers” sometimes act as a strong deterrent for drunken brawls.
  12. Fail in just a single paper even though I was a pretty bad student.

Second Year:

  1. Was a senior but was not interested in ragging juniors but yes, did indulge in some light fun.
  2. Decided that I should not associate myself with any party whether it be SFI, KSU, and ABVP etc etc (yeah we had many) and learnt to stand up for what is right!
  3. “CET Spaars” becomes more famous in college and thanks to our popularity, Ms. X also joins up for our dance gigs and we become good friends. Unfortunately Ms. X has a BF by then.
  4. That year signified the genesis of our gang which by fourth year would become known as the “Pub 17”!
  5. Had more fun than what was necessary; bunked class left, right and centre. Thanks to proxy, attendance stood at a respectable 75.1 % at end of year. Anything below 75 %, I would have had to comply with several college formalities in order to write my university exams.
  6. Spent a lot of time playing football and spent a lot of nights on the top of the planetarium. (Yeah we used to sit on top the dome)!!
  7. Marks for university were 100 for university paper, 50 for internals. I set some of the record low scores in internals!!! One professor told me that he would rate me as the one of the worst students, the college had ever seen in 64 years!
  8. Another second year student passes away, this time a good friend in another case of road rage.
  9. Learnt that a quarter (alcohol) was what was required to bribe the lab assistants for helping us in the university practical exams.
  10. Failed in only 3 papers in the third and fourth semester thanks to hand written notes that we used to carry into the exam halls for the university exams.

Third Year:

  1. Was part of the cultural committee in college and helped organize multiple events in college.
  2. Ms. X still in relation with that same guy. We became close friends but I then decide to move away coz I did not want to come in between them as the guy was a decent bloke and I force myself to fall out of love.
  3. “CET Spaars” travel all over for competitions but we were nothing compared to the art colleges. Our best performance was when we reached 5th out of 34 teams. Those awesome art colleges lived to dance!!!
  4. College was a blur, classes were meant to be cut, and nights were spent in either Shangumugham or Kovalam beach!!!
  5. Got caught by the principal for ragging when we were just talking to juniors. Around 15 people run away except AT, KJ and me because we knew that we did not do anything wrong!! (we stood our ground and by our principles) What followed was not good!!!
  6. We graduated from written hand notes to reduced Photostats for university exams!!!
  7. My attendance stood at a dismal 45 %. But then again, we bribed the professors with bottles to reach a respectable attendance of 75 %.
  8. Submitting records, assignments and other such irritating things become a formality and I started attesting my own records, assignments etc etc as we had stolen the required college seals.
  9. Another second year student passes away again, this time due to a swimming accident in the college pond. We started calling it the second year curse!!
  10. I got serious towards the end of the year as I had to get a job in the fourth year and I don’t fail in a single paper!!!

Fourth Year:

  1. I get a job early on in the year and I am still in it!!!
  2. We used to reach college at sharp 9 but we hardly spend any time in class. We spend our time roaming about college and Trivandrum and had bike rides to all parts of Kerala.
  3. Our “Pub 17” becomes notorious and we used to strut around like we owned the place and we become very very close friends.
  4. The college was our universe and we started our own movement to fight injustice which was all cloaked under the banner called Politics!! (That is the reason why I hate politics so much).
  5. I had another “Crush at first sight”; Ms. Y this time, a first year architecture student but she had a BF from school. So I cursed my luck and moved on.
  6. College professors become our friends and we break all college rules.
  7. Another second year student passes away, but this time, it was a suicide!!! All due to that second year curse!!!
  8. We get really unhappy as the last day of college approaches.
  9. To cap things off, I have an accident on the last day of college due to which I had a limp for a month!!!!! And I pass in all papers!!!

coll1 

The present:

 We all have sobered down a lot!!! As the saying goes, we must have Satan to remind us of God. The same way, we all have to go thru some craziness to know what normalcy is!!! Mrs. X is now (happily) married to some other guy, (yeah arranged marriage) and is in South Africa. Ms. Y is happily living in Bangalore in love with that same guy and this ordinary guy meanders along where life takes him and proudly declares, “Home is where the boots are”!!!!!

45 Comments leave one →
  1. April 8, 2009 3:22 am

    After reading your post, I’ve become nostalgic about my college days…Yes, I too bunked etc. and had to get a fake medical certificate to justify my absence…Those were the days!!!
    OG: yes bones, those were the days!!!!!

  2. Usha Pisharody permalink
    April 8, 2009 4:19 am

    Hi 🙂
    CET? My niece is there now, almost final year, so we hear stories about it.

    I have not fully read the post, and the previous one, and will do so.. Just to tell you that I too have moved to wp.. :d!

    Thanks for making me feel jealous.. lol!
    OG: coming over!!!!

  3. Winnie the Poohi permalink
    April 8, 2009 4:52 am

    Ah everyone is moving to WP!!! I will soon follow..

    Anyhow you made me soo nostalgic! its as if you wrote my coll story.. umm not that I was ever that notorious 😀 😀 aahh but the wonders of it!!!!

    Just too good.. Have you ever had a professor run away with a student ? 😀 :d That too a extra strict guy who gave you guys hard time in the labs?

    Or made a bet with a lecturer and won ??

    😀 😀 Man you made me remember all the juicy details!! Wow!!

    OG: yeah, winnie, move in here to WP!!! LOL at notorious part!!!
    yes, i agree..we all had fun.. in our own ways!!!!!
    so you gamble….?? “bet with lecturer”….. 🙂 LOL
    Thanks

    • Winnie the poohi permalink
      April 8, 2009 6:53 pm

      About me score.. he thought i will fail and I bet that I will top and i did 😀 :d I never topped after that thats a different thing 🙂

  4. April 8, 2009 9:01 am

    Oh! Those were the days!!! Your dance routine sure sounds interesting 🙂

    And you knw what – all those references to SFI,… reminds me that my Dad was totally against sending me to college in Kerala – He was petrified that I would join some political party 🙂

    I think , fourth year was the best – as most of us get placed – and then its no more worries 🙂
    That was an amazing account, sure brought back memories:)
    Bestest of all -“Home is where the boots are”!!!!! Loved that!!! Sure reminds me of my life now 🙂

    OG: yes Smitha… those were the days!!! we just to dance a lot!!! politics in college had its good points and its bad points… but sure made college more interesting…. 🙂
    yeah, fourth year is best!!! Thanks!!!

  5. April 8, 2009 9:06 am

    Man…. you should have made that post in 4 parts…

    lol….

    i had a long time reading it….

    i just remembered my days at college…and i think i will have to do a similar post sooon !!!

    Those were the rowdly od days… yes we must know the satan to know God !!!

    lol… !!! 🙂

    This is a special post… I am always nostalgic and this makes me even more… !!!

    OG: 4 parts…. 🙂 LOL People generally cant even stand a single post!!!
    yes, dost, do a similar post… and those truly were the rowdy days….. 🙂
    Thanks!

  6. Indyeah permalink
    April 8, 2009 12:29 pm

    This was so nostalgic OG 🙂
    Loved reading about all the years

    I read the first four points and was like what??
    then I read this
    ”If you did believe that, then even God cannot save you!!!”
    LOL!:D

    LOL@ms X and Y…they were named after alphabets? 😉

    aww…crushes and falling in and out of love every other day 😀
    that was college life to a T 🙂
    LOL@attendance mine was exaclty 45% too 😀

    I never liked the mix of politics and colege life so yeah can understand:)

    you were a mischevious fellow 😀
    always up to some mischief from what I can make out here 😀

    Did they heave a sigh of relief after you passed out? 😆

    loved this college life glimpse OG 😀

    OG: LOL at starting lines!!! college crushes were just a small part in college life… we had so much more to do…. like fighting, cussing, irritating, enjoying, etc etc etc… 🙂
    I loved the mix of politics and college…. beucase we had a lot of fun becuase of that!!!
    They did not heave a sigh of relief… there were many others worse than me…. 🙂 and you would not want to know the details!!! 😛 LOL

  7. April 8, 2009 12:40 pm

    Ah… nostalgic… when I read these kind of posts I hate my college days… compared to its really boring one.. only in the last semester we enjoyd very much… yours is full of actions… I love a life like that… lucky you 🙂 enjoyed this post much… the first 4 lines set up the tone for what can we expect below… after missing X and Y, i think now you are searching Ms.Z… LOL 😀 that dance part is really cool… loved it much…

    OG: LOL at searching for Ms. Z…. 🙂 NOt many people say that their college was boring. 😦 Thanks!!!

    • April 8, 2009 5:21 pm

      Actually its not boring… but also its not eventual as yours… so I will end up thinking I am not adventurous enough 🙂

  8. April 8, 2009 12:43 pm

    18-21 are one of the best years of life — we always live in the present.
    OG: 🙂 yes!!!

  9. Chirag Chamoli permalink
    April 8, 2009 1:33 pm

    OG, Dude, seriously, never get those days back. Nostalgic. Late nights, girls, beer, computers, coffee ahhh….I hate after college time man.

    OG: yes man.. never get those days back!!! it is still late nights, coffee and computers… for me… but in an office…. 🙂 LOL

    • Winnie the poohi permalink
      April 8, 2009 6:55 pm

      i note the lack of girls 😀

      • April 8, 2009 7:02 pm

        What to say… 🙂 office is male dominated here… and firangi girls do not get like our desi accent…. 😛 😆

        • April 9, 2009 6:15 am

          male dominated office here too.. sob sob 😦 and all the firangis that come to office are males.. !! sob sob 😦
          OG: LOL hahahahah yeah dude sob sob!!!!!

  10. Solilo permalink
    April 8, 2009 3:57 pm

    Awwwwww………this is nostalgia and you know what? I was typing up a post on my college life too. Not entirely but a part of it.

    Every thing has a charm of its own and School/College life is one such. One will always miss it. CET-ians are the BEST. Most brilliant on Earth 😉 😀

    Ms. X, Ms. Y…so finally did you get Ms. Z?

    Chalo here’s a song for you http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pGhQg3Vz-Fw

    This was our anthem. Only thing we substituted all guys with girls 😀

    • April 8, 2009 4:18 pm

      Hey Solilo….:) Thanks!!!

      do your post on college….. 🙂
      yes, college days are brilliant!!! and why do you say that “CET-ians are the best”..?????.. 🙂
      wait… I am not asking you again if you are a CET-ian, but is your hushand??? 🙂 😛 😛 😛
      I will check song from home…cannot from office…. 🙂
      and I am still in the quest for Ms. Z….. but fate seems to against me!!!! 🙂

      • Solilo permalink
        April 8, 2009 5:30 pm

        CET is brilliant because it is in apna shahar. 😀

        • April 8, 2009 6:00 pm

          yeah…. 🙂 okay… but still OG is not convinced…. 🙂 LOL….. maybe it is your dad…. 🙂 LOL….. or your brother…. 😆

      • Solilo permalink
        April 9, 2009 3:03 am

        This time when you pursue Ms.Z have the courage to tell her. If she likes you then at least you will know right away. Why going through the pain of ‘she likes me-she likes me not’.

        If not Ms. Z then you can always start from Ms. A. That’s 26 letters 😀

        • April 9, 2009 3:13 am

          🙂 I sure hope so Solilo… I sure hope so….
          I am still young enuf…. 🙂 LOL
          yes, by the looks of it, I might have to start systematically from “A”…… 🙂 😛 😛 😛

    • April 9, 2009 3:21 am

      hey Solilo, song is good!!!!

  11. April 8, 2009 8:31 pm

    After reading this, karanjillaanney ullu !!! It was just a few days back when I was discussing with my best buddy about college life, crushes, bunkings, movies, ragging, thekku vadakku nadakkals, culturals, vaayanokkals, themmaaditharam parachils, saaranmaarey dikkarikkals, forging records and attestations, bribing lab assistants, being a part of all the three parties – SFI, KSU and ABVP, the proposals, Sigh !!!
    OG: Aliya Thanks
    College life is something else…. dai.. which college did you go to???

    • Solilo permalink
      April 9, 2009 2:59 am

      Here you go Vimmu. http://www.emoticons.online.fr/smileys/Emotion-Unhappy/cry4.gif

      • Solilo permalink
        April 9, 2009 3:00 am

        BTW looks like Vimmu studied in NSS Palghat 😀

        • April 9, 2009 3:07 am

          LOL solilo, that emoticon was “crying” funny…. 🙂 😆
          and okay, NSS….that is great..
          I know a few guys from that place…. 🙂
          Kollam aliya…..

        • April 9, 2009 5:24 am

          where did I mention NSS ???? enikku vayya….enne onnu karayaan vidooo, karayaaan vidooo 😀

          and Solilolilolo, thanks for the smiley…thats the sadistic gift i have ever received !!! 😀

    • April 9, 2009 5:18 am

      Govt. Victoria College, Palakkad
      OG: Okay Aliyaa……… 🙂

  12. April 9, 2009 2:54 am

    @vimmuuu
    scroll up and read!! he studied at CET, Trivandrum. looks like u read only the nostalgic part and left behind everything else…including facts lol

    @Ordinary Guy
    nice post 🙂
    interesting that u can actually classify points for each year and jot them down. for me college life is all interlinked memories… way too many of them. of course… miss the student life like crazy…. u never get that back again.

    hmm so u joined the year that girl died in the biking accident. i remember it made a splash in the media and asianet had a programme on it, with the girl’s dad and some students from CET in it… thats how i was able to place the year u joined. they banned bikes from being within the colleges then. my cousin studied in CET at that time … he’s probably ur senior (but different branch) and he used to crib about his biking days in college being stopped.

    LOL @ “And learnt a difficult lesson: On how to run and still block hits from behind!!”

    • April 9, 2009 3:11 am

      LOL at Vimuuu…. 🙂
      Vimuuu is from NSS palakkad…. I know that it is “thara”…. 🙂 just like my college in many aspects…. 🙂
      Three cheers to all kalippans in the world…. 🙂

      Yes aswathy,
      Thanks!!
      Yes it was all interlinked memories but it was in phases.. that is what I tried to jot down.
      which college did you go to??? and yes, I did join the year, that horrible accident occurred..
      The poor guy, who caused it spend the rest of his eng. repenting it….and was a broken wreck after that… I know that poor guy.

      • April 9, 2009 5:33 am

        I didnt do my college there. But I was in school (+1 I think) when this happened. They were accusing hate crimes against the girl and all that. sathyathil accident aayirunnille?
        Did they ever remove that ban on bikes btw?
        OG: okay, sathyathil it was an accident…. what else can I say… 😦
        and the bike ban is still on…… 🙂

    • April 9, 2009 5:20 am

      entammoooo…oru manushyane karayaan sammadikoole…After reading his post, college life ormavannanne ullu…college life in kerala is almost the same everywhere. and ayyoo, im not an engineer !!
      OG: we hear you dude!!!! loud and clear!!! 😛

  13. indianhomemaker permalink
    April 9, 2009 4:10 am

    This made an awesome read! Saw lots of this happening in our college too … including the drug scene (….and a boy was nick named Junkie!)

    I am sure all of us will go on instant flash back with this post! You could make a tag of it!!
    Loved this post, sad about road rage, and traffic accidents – terrible. And I have seen in our institutions it is often the innocent who are caught for ragging and bunking and such things.
    Will be coming back to read it again…

  14. indianhomemaker permalink
    April 9, 2009 4:11 am

    Oh you using Vigilance too? But no problems with the header? I have a blank in place of the header now 😦

    • April 9, 2009 4:22 am

      hey ihm….:)
      no probs with the header for me… 🙂 the title is not that long… 🙂 LOl

      yes, Thanks!!! I am stuck in a wave of nostalgia now…….
      btw, we were not that innocent….. 🙂 LOL…..

  15. indianhomemaker permalink
    April 10, 2009 3:55 am

    My header problems are solving very soon 🙂
    OG: that is great!!!!

  16. April 10, 2009 6:14 am

    Good one…was like watching Autograph movie.Nyabagam vandhu nybagam vadhu :P. I had 6 years of college and listing everything out wud take two posts especially when I had 2 crushes per semester. I had 3-4 team mates from CET in my previous company and they used to go on and on about their kallu kadai escapades when we get drunk :-)….i remember meeting some CET-ians during some inter college symposium..once again in a bar…on the whole CET-ians have been great partners in drinking for me…hic..hic..cheers!!

    OG: cheers dude…. 🙂 especially since you are a nautankey!!! 🙂 LOL… yes, CEt-ians are everywhere…. 🙂 where did you do your college??? and yes, autograph film is brilliant!!!!!

  17. April 13, 2009 6:28 pm

    Now you have made me nostalgic! 😦

    OG: 🙂 🙂

  18. Happy Kitten permalink
    April 14, 2009 7:23 am

    Ajit… cant seem to find my comments… wordpress dont like me?
    OG: 😛 it is not in spam as well…. 🙂 just checked… 🙂

  19. April 16, 2009 6:09 am

    being an ex-cetian i can so identify this post…brings back lot of memories!
    OG: Aliyaaaa!! batch, year, hostel? emmous????

  20. May 14, 2009 12:56 pm

    CET ahhha ….no wonder u’r exceptional and now I understood the root of U’r sense of humor… hehhe…….as i studied in a residential college outside kerala…….now i understand what i missed in my life(those weekely strikes…..bunking classes for movies and for freaking out etc etc….feels jealousy abt u guys)…………..gud post tht bring nostalgic memories…@ Ms. X (from electrical) but never found the courage to walk up to her ……….. i swear most of them have something similar 2 share …..nyways superb 🙂

    OG: 🙂 Thanks! LOL at ms. X……
    studying in kerala is unique in many ways.

    • May 15, 2009 4:41 am

      True aliya 🙂 ………i have a gud share of experiences and misadventures in my 2 years stint in kottarakara college(for +2 …including strikes ,bunking classes,’ms. X’s……many things can’t share here hehehe 🙂 …… may be can write a book with a title like “Before I Become a decent guy” 🙂 ……..
      OG: LOL at the title!!!! cheers to kerala!

  21. indu permalink
    July 15, 2009 8:04 am

    too late to comment… but being a cetian it brought back a lot of memories….and being just a year senior to u seen all of it first hand 😀
    OG: 😛 😛 😛 yes our college was the best!!!!!!!!

  22. Nishitha permalink
    June 11, 2010 11:08 am

    hi! I have been reading your blog for days now..back tracking! good time pass at office :D!
    OG: hahaha 😛 I agree…… good timepass in office 😛
    The girl who died was my sister’s junior, it was an unfortunate incident. And I was in college when the pond incident happened. I remember every year a student would die. And the murder of the student from Andaman.
    OG: all those were unfortunate incidents……….. I had passed out by the time of the murder thing…….
    And as usual mech guy falls for electrical/archi/comp sci gal! 🙂 every lunch break the guys would discuss which dept to visit – electrical, archi, comp sci or civil.. in search of greener pastures is what they said.
    OG: yup…… and it was so much fun back then 😛
    And I remember after the ragging sessions, we got to know a senior and we asked him when there is going to a strike, we had heard so much about CET strikes now we want to see one. He was among the guys who marched in the next week and happily waved at us 😀

    How I miss college!
    OG: me too…….. I really miss college 😛
    Thanks for bringing back the memories!
    OG: thanks for the comment!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

