Skip to content

Akkare IV: The Irritating NRI

March 1, 2009

I don’t know what to say and this is a a rant……..

There are times, when I like meeting people of Indian origin here in America and there are times, when I hate them a well.
The main problem with these NRIs is that they live in a time warp and the India that they “knew” is not the India of today.
After a beautiful brunch today, I unfortunately had the “Bhagyam” (good luck) to meet an NRI who had only bad things to say about India and I had to exercise all my self control to keep my mouth shut.
He complained about anything and everything……………….
What do I tell such people….. Please HELP!!!!!!
26 Comments leave one →
  1. Winnie the poohi permalink
    March 1, 2009 4:24 am

    Umm the best thing to do is to ignore them..

    Or go all righteous and say.. If they have the guts or the talent.. then to go back n improve india.. or just shut the fuck up..

    Actually.. just to shut up..

    The glass can be half empty or half full.. its all the matter of discerning eye no?

  2. Bones permalink
    March 1, 2009 5:05 am

    I bet he was a failure in India…I’ve bet many such people in the US and Australia…Just ignore them…

  3. Renu permalink
    March 1, 2009 7:19 am

    This is very common in NRI. either they go over the top praising or cribbing.
    But first they should be asked what they have done for the country, if they got all the best education in India and then settled abroad, then they have also fleeced the country, used the resources and never paid back.
    But most of the time its better to ignore them.

  4. Kislay permalink
    March 1, 2009 7:58 am

    They think they are too good for dirty,stinky,poor India now . Traitors ! Kaan ke neeche ek raapta .

  5. vishesh permalink
    March 1, 2009 9:58 am

    πŸ˜›

  6. Reflections permalink
    March 1, 2009 10:10 am

    Say “Dude, awesome, can u repeat it once again….I want to record it???”

    πŸ˜€

  7. Ordinary Guy permalink
    March 1, 2009 1:08 pm

    LOL Winnie…. πŸ™‚ and yeah, the glass can be half full or half empty…..

    yes Bones, I agree….

    Renu,
    yes, such people get an education, and then run abroad….
    WIll ignore them….

    No Kislay, I would not go that far… πŸ™‚

    Vishesh… πŸ™‚

    LOL Reflections…. LOL..

  8. Indian Home Maker permalink
    March 1, 2009 1:39 pm

    πŸ™‚

    An argument is only good if it makes a difference to their thinking… lol but I would have tried πŸ™‚

  9. vimmuuu permalink
    March 1, 2009 5:21 pm

    I know! There are such irritating specimens. There are also a couple of them who would have stayed here in India all their life and when they come back from abroad, the first statement they make would be “India is still the same, na?” Aaargh!!!

  10. Ajith permalink
    March 1, 2009 6:24 pm

    NRI s can be unbearable at times, as they make an unfair comparison between west and India. But there are NRIs who still have a sense of belonging and they love the country even with all its drawbacks.

  11. Ordinary Guy permalink
    March 1, 2009 10:17 pm

    yeah IHM….if it can make a change to the thinking… it should be done.

    yeah vimmu, I know that kind as well… πŸ™‚

    yes Ajith,
    I have seen people who love anything/everything about India as well here….

  12. kanagu permalink
    March 2, 2009 3:45 am

    First thing I will do is just slap them… atleast I will have a argument with him/her, that they are the reasons for it. Believe me all they know is how to blame our country and stay there itself. They never suggest a thing that will improve our country. My simple wish is, I should not want to meet those people in my life

  13. Chirag permalink
    March 2, 2009 5:06 am

    Step 1: Ignore them
    Step 2: Ask them questions, why do they say this, do they think they understand India
    Step 3: Ask them to say 5 good things about India.
    Step No resort: Tell them they are NRI, aren’t they

  14. Ordinary Guy permalink
    March 2, 2009 5:10 am

    slapping him will land me in jail πŸ˜›
    but yes, I should atleast start a constructive argument…

    πŸ™‚ step 1 is easy … and the last step, even better… πŸ˜›

  15. How do we know permalink
    March 2, 2009 8:28 am

    oh that one is easy. Just tell them to go to hell. πŸ™‚ And while we are at it, dont let them take your time.

  16. Quirky Indian permalink
    March 2, 2009 9:15 am

    You’re completely right, all NRIs live in a time warp! Ignore them, if their criticisms are not valid. At the same time, as you can see, Indians are a bit too sensitive to criticism.

    Quirky Indian

  17. Aathira permalink
    March 2, 2009 1:58 pm

    I guess maybe they should try to read a bit about whats happening in India; a newspaper would be a great help, following which they can press the update button and then re-speak.

    I was a NRI, been in India for the past few years but something as simple as reading a newspaper or just keeping track of the happenings in India helps in stepping to the outskirts of the warp zone! Being completely outside is being too ambitious! πŸ™‚

  18. Ordinary Guy permalink
    March 2, 2009 5:42 pm

    LOL HDWK…. πŸ™‚ will do that…

    QI, we are sensitive to many things, but as you say, if the critisism is not valid, then I have a problem….

    πŸ™‚ Aathira,
    yes, they should…

  19. Solilo permalink
    March 2, 2009 8:38 pm

    People react at times based on their experiences. Like we crib about our Indian political system and other negative things on our blogs and at other times we praise things too.

    So may be this was just one facet of this person you met. May be another time he will say good things too.

    People need not always think like you and me.

    Those in India have this constant habit of blaming NRIs for not doing anything for the country. What have they done being in the country? Aren’t we getting a bit preachy here?

  20. Ordinary Guy permalink
    March 2, 2009 8:53 pm

    I agree Solilo if it is valid critism…
    but unfortunately that person I met went overboard… πŸ™‚
    asked us all to migrate to america etc etc etc… you get my point…

    It is more about the way he said it… that hurt me….

  21. Anrosh permalink
    March 2, 2009 8:54 pm

    just ask him to step out of his well and walk into the park

  22. Ordinary Guy permalink
    March 2, 2009 8:54 pm

    πŸ™‚ Anrosh… yeah…. I hope I get to see him again… πŸ™‚

  23. Indyeah permalink
    March 2, 2009 9:54 pm

    LOL!the post made me think,some suggestions made me laugh:D

    so good and innovative they are;)

    I bet OG you are just itching to meet that guy now that you have all the answers:D
    lie in wait for him:D

    Vimmuu absolutely right” India is still the same, na?” they say exactly this..as if we were all engaged in some massive construction while they were gone and a palace should have been ready by now..:D

    but yes Ajit,there are both kinds..and then some who are balanced..:)
    your bhaagyam to meet the second kind:D

  24. Solilo permalink
    March 2, 2009 10:55 pm

    I understand Ajit. Just like these whiny cribbers I can’t stand the preachy kinds either.

    If this guy always crib about India then it is time to put him in ignore mode but if it is because of a personal experience which is mostly the case even when you see the blogs. We have different views about diff. people and places every day.

    Anyways hope this guy doesn’t irritate you anymore. :)):))

    BTW did you plan your move to wordpress yet?

  25. Ordinary Guy permalink
    March 2, 2009 11:10 pm

    LOL Indyeah, hope my “Bhagyam” is better in the future…. πŸ™‚
    and yes, I would like to meet him again….

    Hey Solilo,
    I would like to meet him again… πŸ™‚ to tell him about my views now….

    and yes, it is still in planning phase… have not found time to check out all features in wordpress but I did register… πŸ™‚ will mail you soon as I cannot understand some of the features…. πŸ™‚

  26. L. Venkata Subramaniam permalink
    March 3, 2009 7:08 am

    You are right but there is also the other side.

    Most Indians who go out of India are affluent ones and do not really know that there is still a lot of poverty in India. Most Mumbaikars do not know that half of Mumbai lives in slums. Actually for people looking into India from outside, poverty is the most visible thing. That is why Slumdog found wide acceptance abroad. India is perceived as the land of slums that is rising because of IT.

    But also NRIs live in this no mans land. They are forever unhappy with where they are and also cannot go back. They become cribbus for life because of that.

Leave a Reply

