Skip to content

Renu’s Tag

February 26, 2009

Renu had tagged me on “Holding Hands” and she was not happy with my earlier piece on the same. So here we go again!

The quotidian beats that rule the universe shall always beat with the same detached ardor.
The earth will always rotate around the Sun; the seasons will always keep changing; day will be followed by night and vice versa and this cycle will go on indefinitely (till doomsday).
A true Sanyasi might say that death is nothing but a habit of the body. A young child is totally oblivious to the “word” but the people who get affected by it are normal people like you and me. We all know that it is all finally dust to dust and ashes to ashes but something keeps us alive in our lives; something that eggs us on to achieve things; something that makes us smile and cry.

I say that we find meaning in life only because of a generous dose of emotion and passion and one of the most important ways we express our feelings is by holding hands or by bear hugging each other.

In my limited experience in this particular journey called life, I can say that there is not a more powerful expression of self. No words need to be spoken, no emoting is required when we hold our loved one’s hand whether it be parents, relatives or friends.
From my earliest memories, this is one thing that has always stood out. As a young kid, I used to be filled with warmth, a confidence that someone is looking after me and all fears vanish when that happened.
I can also say that the emotions and feelings which arise on holding hands change as one grows up, but that is the beauty of it. When I go back home to Chennai to meet my family after a long time, the first thing that we all do is hug. That is the beauty of the whole thing.

There is actually not much I can say on this subject except that Man/Woman is a social animal and he/she needs the acceptance and love of the society for sustenance of his/her soul and mere words are just not enough to keep the soul happy and the heart light…………

There occurred a certain incident in my life long back due to which I thought that “showing emotions” was bad and decided that I needed to be stoic and be Spartan in my emotions, but it was only when I grew up did I realize that it is all wrong. The power of touch and emotions is something that I simply cannot describe, but we all need it. If we try to hide it, the dam that holds it will eventually break………………(as it did in my case).

The archaic meaning of the word “Passion” is: The sufferings of a martyr.

If we think about it, we are all martyrs in life. We always sacrifice something for someone or someone for something and that passion is made stronger by the power of Touch!!!!!!!!!!!
I tag Chirag, Vimmuuu, Aathira, Ajith and Bones.

PS: I am sorry Renu. I do not think that I have done justice to the Tag, but this is a subject that I cannot write much about…….

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Renu permalink
    February 26, 2009 2:52 am

    Thanks Ajit, and i feel honoured:), and you have done it beautifully, in your style, i just loved it.
    ashes to ashes, dust to dust–so surreal and what i feel cant even express.
    words are just not enough to keep the soul happy and the heart light………… this is the fact.

  2. Bones permalink
    February 26, 2009 3:46 am

    You have done the tag beautifully…
    Thanks for passing on to me…I too don’t have much to write about it plus I don’t write as well as you do…I’ll try…

  3. Ordinary Guy permalink
    February 26, 2009 3:57 am

    Thanks Renu… 🙂

    and thank you Bones… 🙂 you will do a great job… 🙂 i know it…

  4. vishesh permalink
    February 26, 2009 5:48 am

    🙂

  5. Aathira permalink
    February 26, 2009 5:49 am

    Nice piece there!

    Holding Hands … An interesting something to write about. I can not say that it will be very good, but will certainly try!

  6. Ordinary Guy permalink
    February 26, 2009 6:37 am

    🙂 to you too vishesh….

    Thanks Aathira, waiting for your piece….

  7. Chirag permalink
    February 26, 2009 6:52 am

    Me tagged again ;). Seriously Dude, we all do a lot of sacrifice each day. We need to start living for our self 🙂 too…

  8. Ordinary Guy permalink
    February 26, 2009 6:53 am

    LOL Chirag… 🙂 take your time dude… 🙂 and yes, we need to live for ourselves as well…

  9. Indian Home Maker permalink
    February 26, 2009 9:30 am

    The part I liked best is where you thought it was not good to show emotions and then relearned that it was fine to show emotions, in fact good!

    I believe it is good to show emotions, special any emotions that harm nobody and spread warmth and prevent mental stress.

  10. Indyeah permalink
    February 26, 2009 9:44 am

    This was a beautifully done tag Ajit!:)

    ”No words need to be spoken, no emoting is required when we hold our loved one’s hand whether it be parents, relatives or friends.”
    yes:))true..so true..:)

    showing emotions positive ones that are about warmth and love always heal the most battered soul..

    thanks for this post Ajit:)

  11. Ordinary Guy permalink
    February 26, 2009 2:53 pm

    yes ihm, i learnt it the hard way…:P
    thanks…

    yo indyeah,
    thanks!!
    and this is a great line:
    showing emotions positive ones that are about warmth and love always heal the most battered soul..

  12. kanaguonline permalink
    February 26, 2009 6:35 pm

    Quite nicely said by you Ajit… very nice done tag… I have enjoyed each and every word in this…

  13. vimmuuu permalink
    February 26, 2009 9:00 pm

    Entammooo..this is a tough tag !!! Thanks though 😀

  14. Ordinary Guy permalink
    February 27, 2009 12:04 am

    Thanks kanagu,
    and yes Vimmu, it is a tough one…

Leave a Reply

