Skip to content

A Return to Vedic Hinduism

January 15, 2009

I wish I had a time machine. Is that asking too much…?

Okay, if not then, then I wish I could remember one of my previous births around 3000 years ago and I hope that in that birth, I was born around Kashmir among the many tribes which later organized themselves as the Vedic Hindus.
I hope that once upon a time, many great leaders and seers walked the very land that we are treading now, and it would have been my pleasure to be living with that company.
I wish I could know if the Ramayana and the Mahabharata really happened.
I wish I could know if such people really existed or our ancient ancestors had nothing better to do than write such big mega serials!!

I wish I could see the pristine waters of the Indus, the Ganges and the Brahmaputra before we defiled them.
I wish I could live among the people who admired and respected nature so much.
I wish I could meet the people who brought in the revival of Hinduism when it under threat from Buddhism and Jainism; the people who thought that the best way to do so was thought self improvement and not through the sword.
I wish I could read the archaic Rig Veda in its original format; not through the Sanskrit of today but the original Vedic Sanskrit.
I wish I could understand the hidden gems in such texts in a time when they were not hidden!
I wish I could understand the reasons behind so many traditions we have in a time when there was a reason behind every action; not like today.
I wish I could meet the people who propagated atheism in a time where tradition was everything.
I wish I could learn more about the unlucky gods (Indra, Varuna, Agni and Vayu) who were relegated into second position soon after.
I wish I could meet the great Yogis of that time.
I wish I could understand the technology behind the various astras that our warriors used to have (if true).
I wish I could meet the propagators of this great religion who spread their teachings all over the Indian sub continent from the north to the south and beyond.
I wish I could study in the ancient universities of Taxila and Nalanda.
I wish I could learn Yoga in its truest form back then.

I wish I could know “The mystery behind the Indus Valley Civilization”.
I wish I could meet the people who lived at that time and know their culture.
I wish I could learn the language that they used back in that time.

But alas, one of the most admired and misunderstood phase of our nation is under scrutiny now. Why did we not keep records???
Why didn’t the Indus valley Civilization either keep written records of their life?
We have always been good story tellers, but unfortunately, over the years, most of the facts have been merged with fiction and now it is hard to sift through material as we have a different story in every part of India.

I still believe that the answers are in front of us; we just need to look in deeper to get to know the truth and I also believe that the answers can be found in our Vedic Gods and old texts and digs.
Our gods can provide vital clues about our past but as I said, we just need to look!!!
Indra might still, have the last laugh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Till then, I will remain a Mleccha doomed to wait and spend his time searching…..

22 Comments leave one →
  1. Kislay permalink
    January 15, 2009 3:46 am

    Bravo Mate . Second everything . And add this , I wish I could see the wars of Ramayana and Mahabharata , for I believe they are true . Some historian came up with the year 3067 B.C. as the year of the great war of Kurukshetra , using astronomical data . And have you read “The Gods were astronaut” or “Chariots of God” ? They give a new twist to the tale . I haven’t read those books , but friends tell me that , the books alien-izes everything .

  2. Indian Home Maker permalink
    January 15, 2009 4:19 am

    Tathastu 🙂

    But the vardan comes with two conditions.

    You won’t remember your previous births , instead you will be a girl in that era … in your mind.
    And you will have to write a post about what your life was like in that era.
    As an ordinary middle class girl 🙂
    Choose your caste, wealth, husband, education, parents, siblings …

    🙂 Just kidding.

    I feel, ‘We have always been good story tellers, but unfortunately, over the years, most of the facts have been merged with fiction and now it is hard to sift through material as we have a different story in every part of India.’

    We were I think basically the same. Humans were never gods.

  3. Vinod_Sharma permalink
    January 15, 2009 5:40 am

    That is a huge wish list which will send all gods scurrying to muster all their powers to grant it to you.

    One reason why no historical records have ever been kept, exceptions apart, is that the focus has never been on the individual and his deeds on earth. The focus has always been on the philosophical and metaphysical aspects of existence.

    When the Vedic time span is conceptualised over hundreds of thousands of years and more, what is a couple of thousand years? What, within them, is a few years that an insignificant individual spends here, birth after birth? http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hindu_cosmology

    The books that Kislay has mentioned have been written by Eric von Daniken…fantastic reading.

  4. Quirky Indian permalink
    January 15, 2009 5:47 am

    Very very interesting. Think I’ll accompany you on this quest!

    Cheers,

    Quirky Indian

  5. Indyeah permalink
    January 15, 2009 6:08 am

    ”I wish I could know if the Ramayana and the Mahabharata really happened.”
    ”I wish I could study in the ancient universities of Taxila and Nalanda.”
    ”I wish I could live among the people who admired and respected nature so much.”
    ”I wish I could meet the people who propagated atheism in a time where tradition was everything”

    ”I wish I could understand the technology behind the various astras that our warriors used to have (if true).”
    ‘I wish I could know “The mystery behind the Indus Valley Civilization.”

    All of the above.for sure…and then some…
    Awesome list !:)
    How DID you come up with these?:)
    what an exotic,mind boggling list..!!:)

  6. Ajit permalink
    January 15, 2009 6:46 am

    Kislay,
    Now I need to read these books now….. thanks…

    IHM,
    LOL hehehehhehehe…
    i would not mind being Sikhandi…… 🙂 and yeah Humans were never gods….. I agree but I would like to meet them nevertheless….
    and I hope that we were different then…. 🙂 only god knows….

    Vinod Sir,
    Thanks for the link….
    but unfortunately I would like some evidence……

    QI,
    you are most welcome mate….

    Indyeah,
    Thanks…. and yes, I suppose many people would also have the same list…….
    🙂 we just need to look back so that we can know what standards we need to live to….. 🙂

  7. Ajit permalink
    January 15, 2009 6:49 am

    and kislay one more thing…
    Actually many people have come up with dates for the war…. right from 5000 BC to 500 BC….. depending on stars…..
    for ex:
    http://www.hindunet.org/hindu_history/ancient/mahabharat/mahab_vartak.html
    Who is correct…. god knows….

  8. Smitha permalink
    January 15, 2009 11:04 am

    @Ajit – your wishlist is amazing! You sure do a lot of thinking!!!!

  9. Vinod_Sharma permalink
    January 15, 2009 1:26 pm

    Ajit, no religion can give you the kind of ‘evidence’ that you want in the manner that you want it. For example, despite Charles Darwin, Christians and Muslims believe in Adam and Eve while the Hindus, Buddhists and Sikhs have their own versions of how man and woman first appeared.

    And here the evidence you seek is of perhaps millions of years.

    But, if you really want it, the you are in wrong place. Get to the Himalayas quick! And once you can yell “Eureka!”, let the world know…but then this world and its need for “evidence” will be of no interest to you!

  10. J P Joshi permalink
    January 15, 2009 2:01 pm

    First let me congratulate you on a very comprehensive, ‘I wish’ list. Sure wouldn’t mind following you on your journey.

    We have inherited the oral tradition of the Vedas and probably that is the reason for no written records. Also, putting things down in writing brings finality…..and we are never final, always a work in progress. When i say, ‘it generally happens’…an indian never questions me……but say that to a North American and he will ask you to be specific and provide data to authenticate your theory. We are never final…….our long civilisation has probably given this trait to us, but we are changing……. slowly!!!!!!!!

  11. Ajit permalink
    January 15, 2009 4:23 pm

    Thanks Smitha,

    Vinod Sir,
    well said Sir…… 🙂 maybe I should……just go there 🙂

    JPJ,
    yes you are right Sir… Maybe I should stop questioning for evidence like you and Vinod Sir pointed out….

  12. Kislay permalink
    January 15, 2009 5:06 pm

    I think somebody in the International Conference on Indian History cam up with that year .

    As far as wishes are concerned , I would also like to go back and meet Mahapurush Bhagat Singh .

  13. Ajit permalink
    January 15, 2009 5:19 pm

    yeah…. I would like to as well 🙂

  14. Solilo... permalink
    January 16, 2009 5:54 am

    That’s a great wish list!

    I want to see Mahabharat era too and yes! Indus valley civilization. Want to burst the myth of Aryan invasion.

    Aah! us bloggers now need to invent a time machine.

  15. Ajit permalink
    January 16, 2009 6:42 am

    yeah Solilo….. Time machine…
    I am trying here… 😛

  16. Renu permalink
    January 16, 2009 10:11 am

    Nice wish list..i was reading the post with utmost seriousness, till came the end and the word..Mlecha..and when i read the explaination..LOL:), because whenevr we did something wrong like touched anything in the kitchen without washing hands, my mother would say..u have become a mmlicha and scold us:)

  17. Chirag permalink
    January 16, 2009 12:07 pm

    I too wish I had a time machine. That’s not at all asking too much. However we should take battery backup laptops and DigiCam so we can post the Mahabharata, Day on Day on the blog . LOL brilliant idea. ALso if we get time try and disturb the meeting where they were planing on introducing caste in society.

  18. Ajit permalink
    January 16, 2009 4:13 pm

    yes Renu…. :)LOL
    I get called that all the time.. in my house 😦
    hehehehehe

    chirag,
    that is a good idea….. we might have had the chance to prevent caste formation…….

  19. Charakan permalink
    January 16, 2009 6:56 pm

    Interesting post.If you could really go to those times you might be in for a surprise.Many of the romantic scenes [influenced by TV Serials] in your mind you may not see.
    Harappan period is believed to be from 2600 to 1700BC and Vedic period from around 1500BC. Ramayana and Mahabharatha must have originated after 1500BC.

  20. Ajit permalink
    January 16, 2009 7:15 pm

    yes Charakan,
    I know that, but still would like to be there…. when History happened…. 🙂

  21. Happy Kitten permalink
    January 19, 2009 6:58 am

    Here is one non-Hindu who believes that Ramayana and Mahabharata is not an epic but true.

  22. Ajit permalink
    January 19, 2009 4:54 pm

    Hi Happy Kitten,
    Nice to know that….
    but I am not to sure about it…

Leave a Reply

