Skip to content

Nadodikattu – 1

January 8, 2009

Nadodikattu is a famous Malayalam film featuring Mohanlal and Sreenivasan and it means “Wandering Winds”, and hence I think it would be apt to call my American chronicles exactly that!!

It is five in the morning and I have been up since four thanks to Jet Lag. It is dark and it is cold but as I happily have my Bru coffee, I feel content that I have atleast brought over, a whole crate of Bru coffee with me.

I do, at this moment feel like the Pole Star which keeps shining brightly in the lone dark cold night.
Some say that the hardest part in living in America is the food; some say it is the culture difference and some say that it is the feeling of indifference towards one another.
You meet anyone here and almost 90 percent of the time, they greet you with either a “Good Morning” (in the mornings) or “How are things going” but almost none wait for a response from you.
Almost no one walks on the roads here, but you have these big cars which roar past you all the time (so much waste of petrol… no wait, gas here).

Even though, I am here for the third time, I just cannot get used to this feeling of not being a part of this whole setup.
The feeling of solitude does overtake me at times, especially when you know that you cannot pick up the phone and call anyone……. (12 hour difference) and yes, I do miss my country, my family and my friends.

I know that everybody likes their nation the best and it is the same with me. In India, this ordinary guy can be just himself but here, he has to be a polished “ordinary guy” and wear proper ironed clothes to office. LOL

But there is one reason why I like America so much. I am an Indian here, I do not have to explain to anyone that I am a tamilian, a south Indian or I am a Hindu (my previous rant).

Hence this post is dedicated to my mom whom I miss the most.
Mothers are mere mortals who certainly are angels on earth.
Mothers are mere mortals who will always think that their children are rock stars no matter how dull or boring they are.
Mothers are mere mortals who will always think that their children are the most beautiful/handsome no matter how they look.
Mothers are mere mortals who will always think that their children are the BEST.

And Mothers are mere mortals who are always there……….

Nothing else to add at this moment, but yes, let me try to sleep once again (for 2 hours atleast). If I cannot, then also it is not a problem as I anyways sleep between 9-6 in my cubicle.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. Renu permalink
    January 8, 2009 4:06 am

    I also wondered sometimes that what is so different in US, then i realised that there nobody is seen on the roads, so much of peace, silence evrywhere.
    felt very happy with your ode to mother:), i also identify more with the mother now:)

  2. Bones permalink
    January 8, 2009 4:55 am

    “Mothers are mere mortals who certainly are angels on earth.
    Mothers are mere mortals who will always think that their children are rock stars no matter how dull or boring they are.
    Mothers are mere mortals who will always think that their children are the most beautiful/handsome no matter how they look.
    Mothers are mere mortals who will always think that their children are the BEST.”

    I hope my daughter will think of me like this one day :)!!!

  3. Ajit permalink
    January 8, 2009 4:56 am

    renu,
    Peace and silence is good at times, but seeing the roads deserted is not what an average indian is accustomed too….
    (like me)….. It feels odd at times due to this….

  4. Ajit permalink
    January 8, 2009 4:57 am

    Bones, she will……. it is genetically coded within us 🙂

  5. Renu permalink
    January 8, 2009 5:02 am

    even I dint like that silence, me being habitual of all the noise around me…maid in the kitchen, horns on the road and crows on the balcony:)
    Even my children say that in India sunday is so happening and there sunday is so boring as everyone is inside around 5PM:)

  6. Ajit permalink
    January 8, 2009 5:09 am

    you are absolutely right renu….

  7. Kislay permalink
    January 8, 2009 5:53 am

    Mother

  8. Indian Home Maker permalink
    January 8, 2009 8:47 am

    I read about the Bru coffee and made myself a nice cup of tea, then sat peacefully to read the rest of the post…
    Loved the lines about your mom!!!!

    Mothers are mere mortals,
    who are very prone to tears!
    When any talk of moms being missed
    they happen to hear 🙂

  9. Ajit permalink
    January 8, 2009 9:02 am

    brilliant IHM…..
    sheer brilliance 🙂
    and I love Tea as well…….

  10. Indian Home Maker permalink
    January 8, 2009 9:19 am

    Ajit no it isn’t brilliance, it was just a way to say your post made me teary eyed without sounding soppy.
    We mommy bloggers are always sharing such stuff, and when we fear we are getting too silly about something we email instead of leaving comments. My kids say the only thing they dislike about motherhood is how fast all mothers seem to get teary eyed …

  11. Smitha permalink
    January 8, 2009 10:08 am

    Ajit, What a wonderful ode to your mother! I am sure she must have been so so touched on reading this .. As Bones said – I can only hope that my daughter will think this one day …

    I remember the feeling abt the US being all empty.. It used to feel so lonely.. The first time I went there – I actually missed being able to call out for an auto and go where you wish 🙂

    And about being just an Indian – yes that is nice in the US. Here is the UK – we are all assumed to be Asians – along with Pakistanis, Bangladeshis and Srilankans – not too fond of that classification. So I try to clarify wherever I can – I’m Indian 🙂

  12. Ajit permalink
    January 8, 2009 3:15 pm

    ok IHM, I did get that yesterday but did not mention it 🙂

    and Smitha, Asians is not bad…. but Indian is better 😛
    and LOL for the auto

  13. Ajit permalink
    January 8, 2009 3:17 pm

    and IHM, my mom is also like that 😛

  14. Indyeah permalink
    January 9, 2009 7:32 am

    well…I have watched quite a few malayalam movies in my time..courtesy DD and a close friend from Kerala..:) …all with subtitles ofcourse..and I loved all of them…
    ‘Wandering Winds’ is a beautiful translation…

    Your ode to mothers is so beautiful….yes, mothers treat us like lil babies even if we grow to be 60!:D…..and rock stars?? for sure!:)and moms have a really soft spot for sons…the kind where he’s always a lil baby boy to her forever…:)

    PS:-I hope nobody peeks into ur cubicle

  15. Ajit permalink
    January 9, 2009 7:35 am

    yeah Indyeah….moms are always like that 🙂
    and yes, I will also hope that none look into my cubicle….

Leave a Reply

