Skip to content

Indianism -2

September 18, 2008

I finally managed to get my hands on the lyrics of the song “yaar yaar sivam” from the film “Anbe Sivam”.
Here goes:

1. yaar yaar sivam? nee naan sivam
2. vaazhvae thavam anbae sivam
3. aaththigam paesum adiyaarkeLLaam sivamae anbaagum
4. naththigam paesum naLLavarukkoe anbae sivamaagum
5. anbae sivam anbae sivam yendrum
6. anbae sivam anbae sivam yengum
7. anbae sivam anbae sivam yendrum
8. anbae sivam anbae sivam yengum
9. yaar yaar sivam? nee naan sivam
10. vaazhvae thavam anbae sivam
11. idhayam yenbadhu sadhaidhaan yendraaL yerithazhal thindruvidum
12. anbin karuvi idhayam yendraaL saavai vendruvidum
13. yaar yaar sivam? nee naan sivam
14. anbin paathai saerndhavanukku mudivae iLLaiyadaa
15. manadhin neeLam yedhuvoe adhuvae vaazhvin neeLamada

It means:
1. Who is God? You and I am God.
2. Life is meant to be lived well; Love is God. (my translation)
3. To a person who follows the scriptures; God is love (compassion)
4. To a good atheist; Love is God.
5. Love is God always
6. Love is God everywhere
7. Love is God always
8. Love is God everywhere
9. Who is God? You and I am God.
10. Life is meant to be lived well; Love is God.
11. If the heart is made of mere flesh; hot coal will finally consumed it. (as in cremation)
12. If heart is an instrument to propagate love; then it will live on till posterity.
13. Who is God? You and I am God.
14. To a person who chooses the path of Love; there is no end
15. The depth of his heart is the depth of his life.

The lyrics are simple but effective.
Ultimately, all religions preach kindness and compassion and subconsciously, all men want the same irrespective of all differences.
We have often heard people say “I am fighting this war, so that my children can live in peace”. Makes sense no doubt, but maybe at times, you just have to take that extra step to achieve peace!!!!
This was what Mahatma Gandhi wanted in India; which is still but a dream now.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 4, 2009 8:51 am

    I loved the lyrics OG..thanks for giving the link to this post…I agree every human being wants the same thing irrespective of differences…
    uncanny how we both wrote similar things 🙂
    great minds think alike eh? 😀

  2. May 5, 2009 3:52 am

    Ah lovely translation!! My tamil being the way it is.. (bits n pieces) this translation really helped mme u\s it completely.. i used to know the saaransh but not in detail 🙂

  3. Badz permalink
    May 12, 2009 11:41 am

    WoW OG! I loved the song but didn’t understand what it meant. Thanks to you, I now understand it completely. 🙂

    I just find the song really soothing. And it was buzzing through my head as soon as I woke up. So had switch my laptop on and listen to it on Indyeah’s blog. 😉 😆

  4. TFT permalink
    November 12, 2009 5:02 am

    Beautiful! Thanks so much for the video, the lyrics and translation! I totally agree with the sentiment expressed in the lovely lovely song! 🙂

Leave a Reply

