Skip to content

Filling the missing Lacuna in my Experience

February 3, 2008

I would like to first start by saying that I am a tamilian from Chennai. My family shifted to Chennai a couple of generations ago but we are basically from a small hamlet called “China NagaPudi” which lies about 25 kms from “Sholingur” which is famous for its mountain Temple. This place is basically in the northern part of TN in the Vellore district.

Even though I am a tamilian, I have spent all life in Kerala due to various reasons, and I have grown up being part malayalee and part tamilian. All I had heard about my native place was from my relatives whom I used to pester from time to time and I never did have an opportunity to visit the place.

The feeling or rather the homecoming feeling all began when I first started working. My first job was in Mumbai and I have been here for more than 2 years. Fortunately, I did have an assignment in Chennai which lasted for 3 months and I was determined to go there.

So one fine Sunday, I decided to visit the place. I did not want to visit the place alone and there is no one better than my dear friend, a certain Mr. Joseph Antony to do it along with. This guy is another traveler just like me, so the 2 of us decided to go there (about 150 Kms from Chennai) on a bike.So the 2 of us (one complete mallu and another half mallu) started one fine morning to this obscure remote village that once my ancestors called home.

The trip itself was brilliant. It was a fine morning and the Bangalore-Chennai highway was a treat to drive on. I was amazed when I reached the place. The whole place just had a single street. That is all!!!!!!!! The village surrounded by lush fields and trees was something I had dreamt of all my life and I was finally there in person.

It was a humbling moment when I visited the family temple and at that moment, I felt blessed. It is hard to explain but at that moment, you feel that you are not alone.A hundred years of history looked down on me and I felt that that I had grown stronger on the inside. You fell like there is some power or someone up there who is watching your every single step guiding you in more ways than one.

I am all for being strong and independent and modern but at the end of the day, we cannot forget who we are nor can we forget where we come from.

At the end of the day, as they say, it is all ash to ash and dust to dust, but what is important is how you live and how you carry yourself.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 11, 2009 6:53 am

    kudos!! 🙂
    well-written… and i agree with ur humbling theory and abt not forgetting one’s roots… very true
    OG: 😛 😛 😛 😛 😛 😛 thanks 😛 vanna vazhi orikkillum nammallu marakilla

Trackbacks

  1. Nammude Keralam! « Aram + Aram = Kinnaram

Leave a Reply

